Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The New World comes to the Old World
This delightful story has a reputation for being very sentimental, and it is, but it is also filled with humour. Cedric Errol, an all-American boy, discovers to his dismay that he is the heir to an English earldom, and has to go to England to live with his stern old grandfather, who despises Americans (he must have been reading the Guardian, I suppose). Gradually they...
Published on Nov. 6 2003 by L O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Role for Shirley Temple
This story is admittedly sentimental and even syrupy, but admirers of Frances Hodgeson Burnett won't care! If you've enjoyed The Little Princess and The Secret Garden, you surely will want to read her third famous children's classic. The seven-year-old American protagonist is simply too sweet and good-natured to be true; his widowed mother is a study in patient...
Published on Feb. 13 2003 by Plume45


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all readers!, June 4 2004
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy (Paperback)
I found this book in my school library a year ago...and i think it was indeed,a very pleasant heartwarming story.So nice was that i even managed to catch Burnett's other titles!
Basically,this novel is about a boy living in America who realises that his long dead father was actually a lord's son back in old England.The story goes back when the lord's (youngest and favourite) son fell for a young maiden in America.So madly in love with her that he even dare to forsake his home,his title and his father to be with her.Despite they being poor,the trio led a fulfilling and wonderful life,that was,when the son was contracted with some incurable disease and died.
Back in England,the old sire (the lord,of course) never forgave his youngest son for his action.He never liked the maiden,either.Coincidence as it may be,the Lord's two oldest sons either died or ran away(sorry,but i can't remeber this part).Knowing that his time was up,and he needed a heir,the Lord called for his long-lost grandson to come stay with him in England.
For a boy who was born and bred in America,and had friends like the baker,the apple seller,the barber and roams round the street during his leisure time,moving in with a stern and grouchy old man in a cold castle was a far cry from his life in America.
The old Lord found children a nuisance,but had it not been a fact that he needs a heir,he'd have probably wished his grandson to continue rotting away in America.Cedric Roy (the protagonist and grandson)was nevertheless,the sweet and innocent 7-year-old.He never questions why his grandfather was old and bitter,or why the servants were extremely afraid of their master,or why the castle was cold and dark and empty,or why his mother could not come and live with him (the Lord refused the maided to be within his castle grounds).
Overtime,as Cedric Roy discovered more of his grandpa's self,the latter too,was amused by his grandson.A boy of 7,compassionate and caring for others,the old man began to open up...and change his perspection of life...
It was amazing indeed,that this lovely bond between a boy of 7 and an old elderly man could get along easily.Burnett's novel was extremely well-written...depicting the childishness and innocence of a child,as well as the black-hearted old Lord.I give this book two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New World comes to the Old World, Nov. 6 2003
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy (Hardcover)
This delightful story has a reputation for being very sentimental, and it is, but it is also filled with humour. Cedric Errol, an all-American boy, discovers to his dismay that he is the heir to an English earldom, and has to go to England to live with his stern old grandfather, who despises Americans (he must have been reading the Guardian, I suppose). Gradually they learn to like each other, and the grandfather even comes around to liking Cedric's American mother. There is a melodromatic sub-plot involving a false heir, but the story is really interesting enough without it. The best character in the book is Cedric's friend Mr. Hobbs, a staunchly Republican grocer who despises earls "I'd like to catch one of em inside here; that's all!" he tells Cedric, before he knows Cedric is one of them "I'll have no graspin tyrants sittin round on my buiscuit barrels!" By the end of the book though, he has become so attached to Cedric that he sells his grocery business and settles in England, where he becomes an avid follower of aristocratic doings. He says he'll never return to America "It's a good enough country for them that's young and stirrin - but there's faults in it. there's not an aunt-sister among em - nor an earl!" Which pretty much sums up how I feel about America too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow: is the only thing that I can say..., July 17 2003
By 
This is an excellent book. The man who wrote the book is called F.H.Burnett (Francis Hodgson Burnett).
I read this book because my sister was telling me all day long to read it. Now I have to say thanks to her, because it's a great book, what's more, is one of the best books I've ever read.
It is about a boy called Cedric Errol. He's not only intelligent but also kind and beautiful. He used to live with his father and his mother, but his father died, so he started trying to make his mother happier.
One day, he was in the corner with her close friend Hobbs (he is a man, not a boy), when the woman that works in his house, Mary, went to the corner to tell to Cedric that he have to return to his house. There he saw a man... This man was called Mr.Havisham, he was the lawyer of Cedric's grandfather. This man was there to go with Cedric and his mother to Dorincourt (that was the castle of his grandfather). Cedric would become a Lord, Lord Fauntleroy. At first, he doesn't like that but then...all the things change.
The lawyer of his grandfather gave him a lot of money to do what he wanted. The surprise was that Cedric, instead of buying things for himself, decided to help other people. For example: he helped the old woman that sold apples in the street to buy a shop.
When Cedric met his granfather, he thinks that his grandfather is the kindest man in all the world, but this opinion is not the same that the poor people that lives there have.
Cedric and the countess become very close. But suddenly, a woman appeared telling to all the people that her son was the real Lord Fauntleroy. This new Lord was very stupid and he was not what we can call "beautiful". Obviouslly, the countess doesn't accept that this stupid boy was the son of his son, and he starts investigating.
Here I have to stop, if not I will tell you all the book, no?. Well, I recommend this book, it is really amazing!!!
Andre (=_0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Role for Shirley Temple, Feb. 13 2003
This story is admittedly sentimental and even syrupy, but admirers of Frances Hodgeson Burnett won't care! If you've enjoyed The Little Princess and The Secret Garden, you surely will want to read her third famous children's classic. The seven-year-old American protagonist is simply too sweet and good-natured to be true; his widowed mother is a study in patient suffering.
Suddenly informed that her son is the heir to an Earldom in England, the mother gives up her homeland to restore her son to his rightful legacy. But his crusty old grandfather
(who cast out his youngest son when he married a mere American) proves mean and selfish-universally hated by his tenants. Now this unexpected grandson may be his last chance--not only to continue the family name and honor, but more importantly, for the old man's personal growth.
It's a challenge for American readers to understand the dialogue which Burnett often presents in dialect, while ignoring the distinction between New Yorkese and British peasant slang. Neverthless, this book is a gently told tale which will touch those unjaded readers who remain. The underlying theme may be that of the restorative power of innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the story of what happened to a little boy, Jan. 21 2002
By 
Little Lord Fauntleroy is a story about a little American boy, Cedric who suddenly finds himself the heir-apparent to a title in England. His grandfather, the present Lord Fauntleroy, (who originally disowned the boy's now-dead father for marrying his American mother) sends for the boy to live with him. His faultless mother of course agrees to let him take this opportunity, while she goes to live in a nearby cottage.
Then a woman appears with a boy she claims to be the son of an older son, apparently displacing Cedric as heir. It is a testament to Little Lord Fauntleroy's sweetening effect that his grandfather unites with his mother to fight against this alternate claim (successfully, of course...this is no book for bittersweet endings--the good always triumph, the evil always meet they're downfall, and the good and the evil are always on opposite sides).
Enough sugar to gag a horse, but no story. From the start, the little boy is perfect...charitable, pretty, strong, and smart--but infinitely oblivious of others' defects. He does not grow or change. He does not wrestle with problems. He does not even realize there are problems. He is not a character--he's a pro-American fantasy.
The real protagonist is the present Lord, the boy's grandfather. His transition from conceited grump to true grandfather is mildly interesting. However, far too often Cedric's perfect little self takes center stage, constantly presenting himself to be admired by the other characters, who were not so fortunate as to be perfect or American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!, April 27 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy (Hardcover)
Little Lord Fauntleroy stirred my emotions. Would I have let my seven-year-old live with his ill-tempered grandfather who despised me? Probably not! Yet as the story unfolded, I admired the wise words and kind ways of Fauntleroy's mother, Dearest. I empathized with the mother's caring for her only child and her concern for the poor and less fortunate. This book renewed my faith in goodness and kindness. It made me reflect on all that I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A charming story about a young boy and his gruff grandfather, Aug. 5 1998
By A Customer
When the Earl of Fauntleroy decides to bring his favourite son's son to England from America, young Cedric's life is dramatically changed forever. With an ever-innocent and trusting perspective on life he manages to turn his bitter grandfather into a loving, generous man while also endearing himself to every other person he comes in contact with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantasic story. that will last for ever, Sept. 22 1999
By A Customer
I have a 1886 edition of Little Lord Fauntleroy in good condition and it is for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Lord Fauntleroy
Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Hardcover - 1927)
Used & New from: CDN$ 11.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews