Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Just What I Needed".
If you've ever thought their original "Greatest Hits" was too little, or that the 2-disc "Anthology" was too much, then I think you'll find the "Complete Greatest Hits" just right. It favors the debut and "Heartbeat City" albums, but everything essential is here. This 20 track disc includes the classics "My Best Friend's...
Published on Nov. 19 2003 by H3@+h

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really Necessary, But Still Good
As with most of today's bands, record companies have a knack for releasing "greatest hits" or "best of" collections ad nauseum to entice us consumers to give up our hard earned bucks. This CD is a perfect example. Although this collection contains tracks not originally included in "The Cars Greatest Hits", there's very little here that...
Published on March 11 2002 by Sam Bethune


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really Necessary, But Still Good, March 11 2002
By 
Sam Bethune (Lincoln, Nebraska USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As with most of today's bands, record companies have a knack for releasing "greatest hits" or "best of" collections ad nauseum to entice us consumers to give up our hard earned bucks. This CD is a perfect example. Although this collection contains tracks not originally included in "The Cars Greatest Hits", there's very little here that wasn't already available in the excellent Anthology set, "Just What I Needed", that Rhino Records released several years ago.
This collection does the original "Greatest Hits" album one better in that it includes many favorite album tracks that get considerable "deep cut" airplay on classic rock stations, but it really isn't superior to the anthology. As is usually the case with "greatest hits" albums, fans will lament the exclusion of certain songs or the inclusion of certain others. Personally, I could have done without "Tonight She Comes" and "You Are the Girl", both of which I consider inferior songs and which were not included in the original "Greatest Hits". Nevertheless, they were minor hits for the band and probably should be included in this collection if for no other reason than to satisfy completists.
Unless you're a rabid fan or a completist, there's no reason to buy "The Complete Greatest Hits" if you already own the anthology. If you don't and are trying to decide which one to purchase, I'd still go with the anthology because it comprises overall a much more interesting collection of songs, has rare alternate versions of a few tracks, and a very thorough and informative booklet on the band's history and career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roll With The Cars, Feb. 26 2002
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Cars' Complete Greatest Hits compiles twenty of the band's best from "Just What I Needed" from their debut album to "You Are The Girl from their swan song Door To Door. In between you get classics like "Shake It Up", "Let The Good Times Roll", "You Might Think", "Moving In Stereo" and "Since You've Gone". The Cars were a stylistic, sleek band that was considered new wave but has turned out to be timeless music thanks to big hooks, catchy choruses and flawless production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Will The REAL Greatest Hits Please Stand Up, Feb. 22 2002
By 
Gumbeaux13 (New Orleans, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Based on its own merits, Complete Greatest Hits is a good representation of the best of The Cars. It's certainly a more complete and representative collection of their music than the 1985 Greatest Hits realease.
As an avid Cars fan however, the 1995 release, The Cars Anthology-Just What I Needed, is a much better choice. It's a 2-CD, 40 cut anthology that includes all of the songs on Complete Greatest Hits plus a bunch more that die hards like me enjoy, including previously unreleased songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hits And Misses, Feb. 21 2002
By 
G.C. "greg27" (Potomac, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you are buying one Cars CD this should be the one. The sound is great and the collection wisely focuses on the early years by devoting 6 of 20 tracks to songs from the debut 'Cars' LP. While there were 3 tracks from 'Candy-O', at least two others, "Got A Lot On My Head" and "Candy-O", should have been considered. And why to all of the Cars hits packages only include the hit "Touch and Go" from 'Panorama'? I will be the first to admit that 'Panorama' is not one of their better records but there are a few good songs, particularly "Gimme Some Slack", along with "Misfit Kid" and "Down Boys". The tracks that I would remove from 'Complete Greatest Hits' are "I'm Not The One" and "Why Can't I Have You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complete? Not quite, but close enough, Feb. 20 2002
By 
The Scenario (Roseville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This definitely improves on the 1985 release "The Cars Greatest Hits", and may appeal to casual fans a lot more than the excellent-but-sprawling "Just What I Needed: The Cars Anthology". But it leaves out three favorites of mine - "Candy-O", "Don't Tell Me No", and "Gimme Some Slack". All three were singles, but all three appealed more to the band's New Wave fans than the Top 40 crowd. All three of them are available on JWIN, however, JWIN omits the excellent "Bye-Bye Love", which should rightly be there side-by-side with its companion piece "Moving In Stereo" like it is here on "The Complete Greatest Hits".
I own JWIN and the Cars' self-titled debut, so I'm as complete as I need to be. This would be an excellent CD for anyone who doesn't care about "Candy-O" or any of the other tracks I mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THE HITS! ALL OF THE AWESOME!, Feb. 20 2002
By 
K. M. Morris (Reno, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD is Outstanding! Finally a greatest hits CD that actually contains all the hits from all The CARS albums. Not one track on this CD lacks. This is the best CD to drive to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cars Take Their Right Turn., Feb. 19 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Here's a late 70s and early to mid-eighties band that churned out many top ten hits in their heyday.Since THEY'RE gone, you can now enjoy ALL their best hits. ............... This is not the first "Greatest Hits" compilation for Bostons Cars, but it's the better one of the two. Since the original left out my all time favorite "Dangerous Type" from the classic "Candy-O" LP release, I was glad to see it included here. All the original hits from the debut are here too, as well as tracks of interest from the subsequent releases until the bands demise. ................ If you liked The Cars and Rick Ocasek when they were on the charts, this is a terrific collection of all the songs you will remember them by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e19768)

This product

Complete Greatest Hits
Complete Greatest Hits by the Cars (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews