Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only buy the DVD version!!
If you made it this far, go a little further. Under "Explore this video" you will see the run time of the VHS tape is 240 minutes. The DVD run time is 360 minutes. Hmmmm....
Well, be warned, an intellectually challenged movie distributor has decided to edit 2 hours from Lonesome Dove! That is like touching up the Mona Lisa!
This miniseries was unique...
Published on March 6 2002 by odanny

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Grainy
I love this series; however, some of the scenes are very fuzzy/grainy and certainly did not meet my expectations. When a product is BlueRay it normally means this is a very high quality visual product; Lonesome Dove was not!
Published 17 months ago by James Dorrance


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only buy the DVD version!!, March 6 2002
By 
odanny (Peoria, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonesome Dove [Import] (VHS Tape)
If you made it this far, go a little further. Under "Explore this video" you will see the run time of the VHS tape is 240 minutes. The DVD run time is 360 minutes. Hmmmm....
Well, be warned, an intellectually challenged movie distributor has decided to edit 2 hours from Lonesome Dove! That is like touching up the Mona Lisa!
This miniseries was unique and may never again be equalled, at least in the Western genre. It is 6 hours of riveting televison, and trust me on this folks, you can't find 5 minutes of this former miniseries to edit out. To cut anything out was a serious diservice to anyone who has not experienced this.
Probably what I liked most was the thoroughly convincing portrayals of this cast. There were none who did not project an aura of believability, and each was so convincing that you may forget you are sitting in front of your television. I remember the time I rented this 6 hour series in 1994 not knowing what to expect. What I found was I did not get up from my couch for 6 hours. I was moved by the entire movie, and rarely does any movie elicit emotion in me. Gus McRae and Woodrow Call, backed by an absolutely fantastic supporting cast, will bring your televison to life.
Towards the end, when Woodrow is doing a favor for Gus, and doing so at the risk of his own life, the whole West hears of his exploits. In some dusty cow town somewhere, a local sees him, and reading of the story, questions Woodrow Call.
"Just why are you doing this anyway?" he asks. Call looks back and says "Because I gave him my word." The local, thinking for a second, looks back and says "I can see that you did" and walks away. It is a perfect description of the character of Woodrow Call. Maybe the best mini-series to ever grace televison. Just make sure you see all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Dove, Oct. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Probably the greatest "Western movie" ever made. Over the years we have watched it several time. The Latest copy was purchased as a gift because a friend enjoyed it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dove, June 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
BEST WESTERN I SEEN IN A WHILE MISSED THE TV RUN AS I WORKED ON THE NIGHT RUNS ON THE PAPERS VANCOUVER SUN &PROVINCE NOW I CAN WATCH AT MY OWN TIMES THANKS AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LONESOME DOVE, May 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WHAT A GREAT STORY! I LOVED IT. GAVE IT AS A GIFT TO MY PARENTS AS THEY HAD SEEN IT YEARS AGO. THEY LOVED IT TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift., April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great old movie for my mom.... looking forward to sharing it! Its great being able to find movies like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Dove used DVDs, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dove [Import] (DVD)
Distance images are a little blurry. Don't know why, but may be because it's an old DVD. Great western series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Dove Blu-ray, Dec 9 2013
By 
Tim Savage (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Lonesome Dove Blu-ray arrived in about a week in excellent shape. Lonesome Dove is a 4 part miniseries (approximately 90 min per episode) originally broadcast in 1989. The first 3 episodes are on a dual layer disc 1 with VC1 format encoding and Dolby digital 5.1 surround. Episode 4 and extras are on a single layer disc 2. The picture (16x9) and sound quality are excellent. It was good enough for me to order 2 more copies for Christmas presents (which arrived in about a week as well in separate packages a day apart). Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones are at the top of their game in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd and a very good bargain., Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Outstanding film, great dvd quality and an unbeatable price. What else could you ask for?
Definitely a great bargain for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good western, Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great acting in a good old fashioned western. BluRay picture is outstandng. Story is a little on the slow side but a good western atmosphere nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonesome Dove DVD, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just exactly what I expected. Very pleased with how quickly I received it and it was in great shape. Looking forward to watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonesome Dove [Import]
Lonesome Dove [Import] by Robert Duvall (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 47.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews