Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't get enough of Gordon and his incredible talent
This is a wonderful compilation of some of his best-loved songs, and I find it common for me to just play it over and over again,ad nauseum. I was a teenager in the 60's and didn't really pay much attention to him during those early years, but somehow the truth, magic and wonder of this man's incredible talent grew on me and its clear to see that it just shines through...
Published on June 30 2005 by Michael R. Sissons

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing gems
All right, I will be one of those who complain about the absence of seminal songs, rather than praise the 20 tracks selected. I agree with the two or three reviewers who noted (and missed) that fundamental songs, like Affair on the 8th Ave. (above all), or Did she mention my name are not in this compilation. To these I will add two other which I find essential (I'm...
Published on July 3 2002 by Nahuel Sugobono


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't get enough of Gordon and his incredible talent, June 30 2005
By 
Michael R. Sissons "numberone fan" (Parksville BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful compilation of some of his best-loved songs, and I find it common for me to just play it over and over again,ad nauseum. I was a teenager in the 60's and didn't really pay much attention to him during those early years, but somehow the truth, magic and wonder of this man's incredible talent grew on me and its clear to see that it just shines through the plethora of artists who have come and gone over the years. His songs such as 'Stay Loose' and 'Ribbon of Darkness'(not on this album) are so powerful , they helped me feel, and understand the depth of pain and the eventual recovery of a tragic period in my life when my marriage failed. After he is no longer with us, generations will be able to listen , reflect , and admire with pleasure this icon of Canada's contribution to music this past century. He makes me very proud to be a Canadian and to have had the good fortune to have been here while he composed and performed so many wonderful, wonderful songs. Just a remarkable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Single Disc Retrospective Available, May 9 2002
By 
James E. Bagley "Jim Bagley" (Sanatoga, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Until now, Canadian Gordon Lightfoot - the most folk-oriented of the singer-songwriters who made it big on the pop charts in the '70s - has never had a single disc retrospective of his work that was even remotely worthy of him. His prior collections on Reprise (1975's Gord's Gold and, especially, 1988's Gord's Gold 2) were filled with inferior remakes of many of his most celebrated recordings.
Complete Greatest Hits is a vast improvement over those sets, with the original versions of all of his best-known songs. It leads off with six recordings from his years at United Artists (1965-1969). While Lightfoot's warm, deep voice and engaging melodies were present even on these early efforts, it was others who initially charted with his songs, such as Peter, Paul, & Mary with the enclosed "Early Morning Rain" and "For Lovin' Me."
In 1970, Lightfoot signed with Warner Brothers subsidiary Reprise (highlights of his twenty-plus years at this label make up the remaining fourteen tracks found here). Soon after signing with Reprise, Lightfoot began to make a name for himself as a singer with the introspective top five hit "If You Could Read My Mind." He also continued to write songs that were popularized by others, such as the enclosed "Cotton Jenny" for fellow Canadian Anne Murray.
In the early 70s, singer-songwriters became the rage in popular music and Lightfoot certainly contributed to the movement's success with the big hits "Sundown," "Carefree Highway," and "Rainy Day People." His 1976 six minute-plus epic "Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald" would prove to be Lightfoot's artistic peak as well as his final major commercial success, although he would continue to make some fine music during the rest of the '70s.
Lightfoot's '80s output is represented here by the set's two most generic, forgettable recordings: "Baby Step Back" and "Stay Loose." The compilers of this collection would have been better off ditching those tracks and selecting a couple of the countless gems not included from his United Artists tenure, such as the breezy "Did She Mention My Name" or "Black Day in July," an intensely hypnotic account of the '67 race riots in Detroit (get the double-disc United Artists Collection for a thorough overview of this period).
Complete Greatest Hits concludes on a positive note with "Restless," a 1993 ode that finds Lightfoot descriptively ruminating about looking forward to the future while not forgetting the past. It reminds us of what a special observer and documenter he has been of life's events, both monumental and trivial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compilation That Actually Works, Nov. 21 2003
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The most commonly used cliche people use when describing a greatest hits album is "It's a great introduction for new fans." Most of the time, compilations are merely attempts for a check, but this 20-track capsule of singer-songwriter pioneer Gordon Lightfoot works fantastically; it contains many of his own (better) versions of songs he wrote that were hits for other artists (the melancholy 'Early Morning Rain' and 'For Lovin' Me,' a song Lightfoot describes as "the most chauvinistic song I ever wrote"), and dives into hits he rightfully enjoyed for himself, such as 'If You Could Read My Mind,' the warning of infidelity 'Sundown' and the mournful 'The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald,' all of which were some of the most popular songs of the 1970s. Also represented are Lightfoot's best known songs from his later career, including excellent moments like 'Daylight Katy' and 'Baby Step Back,' a song that boasts Lightfoot's most sneering, deliciously snide vocal performance. It should be considered a blessing that an artist as great as Gordon Lightfoot has been given a compilation treatment that actually does him justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Lightfoot, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD. Gordon Lightfoot was, and is one of the greatest singer/songwriters in Canadian history, and I would highly recommend this to any fan of Lightfoot. Gordon has been on the music scene for almost 50 years, and continues to perform to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, Dec 23 2013
By 
N. Fisher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift, and my brother who is a Gordon LIghtfoot fan, loves it . He told me it has all of his greatest songs on it, and he is so pleased with his gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, Nov. 28 2012
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Has most of Gord's great stuff, and high quality recordings, but where is "Black Day In July"? Love it nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing gems, July 3 2002
By 
Nahuel Sugobono (Saenz Pena, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
All right, I will be one of those who complain about the absence of seminal songs, rather than praise the 20 tracks selected. I agree with the two or three reviewers who noted (and missed) that fundamental songs, like Affair on the 8th Ave. (above all), or Did she mention my name are not in this compilation. To these I will add two other which I find essential (I'm running out of synonyms): The last time I saw her and Ghosts of Cape Horn. I appreciate Mr. Tierney's effort, and I know it's hard to put everything into one CD, but definitely it could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Canadian Class - Terrific, April 3 2004
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One of my favourote singers of all time. The is a marvellous collection of classic Lightfoot tracks. All the hits that this very underrated singer-songwriter had, either himself or by others' interpretations, are here from "Early Morning Rain" through "If You Could Read My Mind" and "Sundown" on to "Restless". OK, there are some obvious omissions which other reviewers have, quite rightly, pointed out.
Lightfoot was one of those who had the tag of "the second Bob Dylan", which is like having a monkey on his back. They are very different writers, with Lightfoot being a dispationate observer and reporter of love, the wonder of Canada, great events and all with a wonderful baritone voice.
His usual band - Terry Clements, Red Shea, Rick Haynes, John Stockfish and Pee Wee Charles - deserve a mention. They hold it all together and enhance Lightfoots delivery.
Lightfoot's recent (September 2002) illness and long (many months) hospitalisation will have shocked and horrified his fans. However, they will be relieved that he it is reported that he is on the way to full recovery. More good news is the imminent release of his 20th album at the end of April 2004.
As for this collection, it shows just what a top class artist he is. If you are new to Lightfoot, you have the choice of albums to introduce yourself to his music. You could buy the 4-CD box-set "Songbook" - 5 hours of glorious Lightfoot. Or you could buy "Gord's Gold" (the first album - not Vol. 2), which has some other tracks; or you could have this. Personally, I would have them all, as the man is a genius. In fact, spend some serious money and buy ALL his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Canadian Class - Terrific, April 3 2004
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One of my favourote singers of all time. The is a marvellous collection of classic Lightfoot tracks. All the hits that this very underrated singer-songwriter had, either himself or by others' interpretations, are here from "Early Morning Rain" through "If You Could Read My Mind" and "Sundown" on to "Restless". OK, there are some obvious omissions which other reviewers have, quite rightly, pointed out.
Lightfoot was one of those who had the tag of "the second Bob Dylan", which is like having a monkey on his back. They are very different writers, with Lightfoot being a dispationate observer and reporter of love, the wonder of Canada, great events and all with a wonderful baritone voice.
His usual band - Terry Clements, Red Shea, Rick Haynes, John Stockfish and Pee Wee Charles - deserve a mention. They hold it all together and enhance Lightfoots delivery.
Lightfoot's recent (September 2002) illness and long (many months) hospitalisation will have shocked and horrified his fans. However, they will be relieved that he it is reported that he is on the way to full recovery. More good news is the imminent release of his 20th album at the end of April 2004.
As for this collection, it shows just what a top class artist he is. If you are new to Lightfoot, you have the choice of albums to introduce yourself to his music. You could buy the 4-CD box-set "Songbook" - 5 hours of glorious Lightfoot. Or you could buy "Gord's Gold" (the first album - not Vol. 2), which has some of other tracks; or you could have this. Personally, I would have them all, as the man is a genius. In fact, spend some serious money and buy ALL his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars proudly Canadian, March 7 2010
By 
? - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Complete Greatest Hits by Gordon Lightfoot
canadian folk legend, this cd has a good selection of his music but it is missing a few song versions i would have picked. i will admit that this cd gives you a good cross section of his years of music. it's worth the money to add to ones collection. check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb50d2804)

This product

Complete Greatest Hits
Complete Greatest Hits by Gordon Lightfoot (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews