Customer Reviews


272 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars There aren't enough stars to tell you... LOVE THEM
It really sucks to see so many bad reviews. Yes people, we all have our opinions don't we. My opinion is that Wesley Scantlin is HOT, his voice is HOT, his body is HOT, the drummer is HOT. It's all good! What's the problem?
Rare is it to find an album that has it all. Come Clean is about LIFE. Love. Anger. Coming clean. Do you get it? I do. I dig it too...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by M. Rolf

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can thank yourselves for this abomination of music
The only person you have to thank or blame (whichever way to look at it) for this brand of stale, faux "alternative" rock is yourselves. You guys are the ones who voted for Puddle on MTV's TRL. Puddle of Mudd and the state of all Rock music recently can be summed up in one disgusted expression: Ugh. Nirvana was never that great to begin with, and this carbon...
Published on June 29 2004 by seattleshift


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can thank yourselves for this abomination of music, June 29 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
The only person you have to thank or blame (whichever way to look at it) for this brand of stale, faux "alternative" rock is yourselves. You guys are the ones who voted for Puddle on MTV's TRL. Puddle of Mudd and the state of all Rock music recently can be summed up in one disgusted expression: Ugh. Nirvana was never that great to begin with, and this carbon copy of Kurt and company is even worse. Wes is such a tryhard. He tries to get Cobain's blond looks and mannerisms down pat, but failed miserably and fell to the concrete ground with a splat. Wes is such an arrogant misogynist. I heard this is Fred Durst's pet project of a band, and it's quite obvious. And what's younger peoples' beef with rap, dance, and techno when you've got decent artists?! It's all good. And you DO have a choice of music to chose from, you know. There's no rule written in stone that you have to like Alternative and, in this case, whatever he hell Puddle of Mudd is. There's no reason to be embarrassed to admit to liking slick, produced pop, especially the classics. Puddle of Mudd is no classic, and should be forgotten because it isn't relevant in any day and age.
Want some alternatives to stale music like Puddle O' Crap? Then here ya go...
NWA "Straight Outta Compton"
Salt & Pepper "Cool & Vicious"
Heavy D "Peaceful Journey"
Cypress Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Fu$%en Hate Them, LaLaLaLa!! I Fu&*en Hate Them, LaLaLaLa!, June 2 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
I guess the worst kept, dirty secret is out already, even though indiscriminate, braindead sheep keep buying their trademark-infringing music. What these impersonators planned to do, at the time of their 1st cd's recording, was listen to as much Nevermind and In Utero as they possibly could-so that their thinking was synonymous with Nirvana's sound-to create a cd that, note for note; chord for chord; lyric for lyric; tries to EXACTLY reproduce the Nirvana catalog. The singer, uhhm, what's his name again???? It's Wesley Reid Scato...Wesley Reid Scatological. Whoops, I meant to write Wesley Reid Skanklin, which, by the way, sounds like a cliché character name for an outlaw from the old west. If you were blind, you would be fooled that Kurt Cobain came back from the dead and started singing with this new loser band called Puddle of Mudd from a Midwestern farming commune.
It's just way too heinous of a coincidence that Skanklin's voice "resembles" Cobain's. From every final, lowest, foggy intonation, one can stunningly discover that Skanklin's voice-was most likely plottingly connived on by numerous record company execs to imitatively sound EXACTLY like Cobain's-matches Cobain's in EVERY pitch, warble and shift!!!! In another, similar sense, it's almost abjectly surreal that you could have such infernal symmetry between a poser-whore dictated by his corporate, record executive masters and the originator Cobain, that the only remaining, blatant common sense which guides is that Puddle of Mudd and their impersonating singer were planned to precisely duplicate Nirvana's whole appearance, whether it be their sound or their singer. You cannot-even if you tried your worst-just by accident, sound like a guy who must have been used as the blueprint for every single cover band, from Creed to Staind, to imitate. His vocal "delivery" is willfully meant to match Kurt Cobain's, so much so that he must have listened to NOTHING but the two Nirvana cd's before recording the squalor that 'Come Clean' is! Reason being is record companies gloat that they have the formula to snare unwary teens to their imposter, cover band, corporate inventions by abusing Cobain's model from 10 years ago. I look at people who brainwash themselves that Puddle of Mudd (ever the infamous prostitute of their record company masters' additional scheme to impersonate being "cool" with all the repulsively dislikeable teen-idiots, misallocating the third word in their insincerely marketed name to be misspelled, probably strategizing to pirate even from the fabricated gimmick of another blight-on-society's endorsement of illiteracy through stupid ebonics, rap) is cutting-edge, with the same mix of disparagement and sympathy that a reasonable, unbiased person would looking at a racist.
Something that also, again burdensomely, persecutes me is that Puddle of Mudd's lyrics-the disparagingly remnant waste that's passed off as lyrics after their flimsy fluff disguised as lyrics is scrutinized-misappropriate some of the most degradingly impure of sexual suggestiveness!!!! Clearly, Puddle of Mudd was from the start severely impaired with original content for their lyrics, so they were pressured to exploit what their record company masters assumed as popular among the degenerates known as youth and teenagers!!!! That, of course, is amorally the fixation on sex and profanity to sell marketed crap like this cd!!!! Examine how ghastly blasphemous their lyrics are for Control, and, miserably of course, their notoriously misused song, the "eloquent" She FU$%EN Hates Me, to bait punk youths' misdirected obsession with swearing. In Control, Skanklin, the group's pseudo-singer, prostitute of the record company's marketing tactic, lewdly and gloatingly sings about ass-smacking, getting his own scrawny ass smacked by women in a sickly unhealthy take on getting aroused through violence-which is a mentality disease, incidentally-and sexually dominating women in a way akin to dungeon masters and sadists!!!! In She FU*#EN Hates Me, Skanklin "croons" over tiresomely recycled clichés about his contraband girlfriend "breaking his heart" while he sacrilegiously and abominably gloats over screaming the four-letter F-word expletive a thousand times over!!!! Bleakly, for the rest of society, this coarsely unsanitary maltreatment of what music is is regrettably pillaged onto the stupidly impressionable punk teens as something degradedly "cool". The youth are aggressively and menacingly flocking to this debauched misguidance of what's acceptable in society, because they gloomily fail having any better teaching from parents!!!!
As for their actual product of musicianship-it's not very encouraging, to say in the least. Their songs, which are ALL empty Nirvana clones, don't have any passionate or sonic "meat" in them. There are NO, even half-decent, guitar solos (they don't even go through the effort of producing any solos); Skanklin's "singing", which is used VERY loosely, is like an Arnold Schwarzenegger monotone of only the same, dead range; and their guitar effects are wickedly tame. There is virtually NO feedback, no shredding; it seems like their wimp guitars have yet to be taught that there is such a thing as raising their ampage. The mistreatment in which the guitarist plays lead is totally reprehensible; he rejects composing anything complex or substantial-sounding, instead sinfully backsliding to the weakest, pop-like chords ever!!!! Let's switch to their relentlessly hollow themes for their lyrics that have been used SO many times by better bands in the past, they lose ANY miniscule shred of credibility. This Skanklin and gang crew must be real MIT, post-graduate geniuses to recycle songs having to do with being fed up with a girlfriend, whimpering about not seeing your kid in a while (sniff, sniff; sob, sob), and dishonorably G-E-N-E-R-I-C topics about dying and mortality, that Alice In Chains had the market cornered on, so many years earlier.
I'm striving to warn people that I would punish this CD with a NEGATIVE INFINITY rating, if so allowed. Since these corporate-manhandled posers are preying on the Seattle business plan, which soulless companies are force feeding on a younger, more inexperienced "kid" crowd, it's time to be efficient. If you're even considering this quack attempt at good music, ask for God's forgiveness and patronize Seattle groups instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Fu$%en Hate Them, LaLaLaLa!! I Fu&*en Hate Them, LaLaLaLa!, June 1 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
I guess the worst kept, dirty secret is out already, even though indiscriminate, braindead sheep keep buying their trademark-infringing music. What these impersonators planned to do, at the time of their 1st cd's recording, was listen to as much Nevermind and In Utero as they possibly could-so that their thinking was synonymous with Nirvana's sound-to create a cd that, note for note; chord for chord; lyric for lyric; tries to EXACTLY reproduce the Nirvana catalog. The singer, uhhm, what's his name again???? It's Wesley Reid Scato...Wesley Reid Scatological. Whoops, I meant to write Wesley Reid Skanklin, which, by the way, sounds like a cliché character name for an outlaw from the old west. If you were blind, you would be fooled that Kurt Cobain came back from the dead and started singing with this new loser band called Puddle of Mudd from a Midwestern farming commune.
It's just way too heinous of a coincidence that Skanklin's voice "resembles" Cobain's. From every final, lowest, foggy intonation, one can stunningly discover that Skanklin's voice-was most likely plottingly connived on by numerous record company execs to imitatively sound EXACTLY like Cobain's-matches Cobain's in EVERY pitch, warble and shift!!!! In another, similar sense, it's almost abjectly surreal that you could have such infernal symmetry between a poser-whore dictated by his corporate, record executive masters and the originator Cobain, that the only remaining, blatant common sense which guides is that Puddle of Mudd and their impersonating singer were planned to precisely duplicate Nirvana's whole appearance, whether it be their sound or their singer. You cannot-even if you tried your worst-just by accident, sound like a guy who must have been used as the blueprint for every single cover band, from Creed to Staind, to imitate. His vocal "delivery" is willfully meant to match Kurt Cobain's, so much so that he must have listened to NOTHING but the two Nirvana cd's before recording the squalor that 'Come Clean' is! Reason being is record companies gloat that they have the formula to snare unwary teens to their imposter, cover band, corporate inventions by abusing Cobain's model from 10 years ago. I look at people who brainwash themselves that Puddle of Mudd (ever the infamous prostitute of their record company masters' additional scheme to impersonate being "cool" with all the repulsively dislikeable teen-idiots, misallocating the third word in their insincerely marketed name to be misspelled, probably strategizing to pirate even from the fabricated gimmick of another blight-on-society's endorsement of illiteracy through stupid ebonics, rap) is cutting-edge, with the same mix of disparagement and sympathy that a reasonable, unbiased person would looking at a racist.
Something that also, again burdensomely, persecutes me is that Puddle of Mudd's lyrics-the disparagingly remnant waste that's passed off as lyrics after their flimsy fluff disguised as lyrics is scrutinized-misappropriate some of the most degradingly impure of sexual suggestiveness!!!! Clearly, Puddle of Mudd was from the start severely impaired with original content for their lyrics, so they were pressured to exploit what their record company masters assumed as popular among the degenerates known as youth and teenagers!!!! That, of course, is amorally the fixation on sex and profanity to sell marketed crap like this cd!!!! Examine how ghastly blasphemous their lyrics are for Control, and, miserably of course, their notoriously misused song, the "eloquent" She FU$%EN Hates Me, to bait punk youths' misdirected obsession with swearing. In Control, Skanklin, the group's pseudo-singer, prostitute of the record company's marketing tactic, lewdly and gloatingly sings about ass-smacking, getting his own scrawny ass smacked by women in a sickly unhealthy take on getting aroused through violence-which is a mentality disease, incidentally-and sexually dominating women in a way akin to dungeon masters and sadists!!!! In She FU*#EN Hates Me, Skanklin "croons" over tiresomely recycled clichés about his contraband girlfriend "breaking his heart" while he sacrilegiously and abominably gloats over screaming the four-letter F-word expletive a thousand times over!!!! Bleakly, for the rest of society, this coarsely unsanitary maltreatment of what music is is regrettably pillaged onto the stupidly impressionable punk teens as something degradedly "cool". The youth are aggressively and menacingly flocking to this debauched misguidance of what's acceptable in society, because they gloomily fail having any better teaching from parents!!!!
As for their actual product of musicianship-it's not very encouraging, to say in the least. Their songs, which are ALL empty Nirvana clones, don't have any passionate or sonic "meat" in them. There are NO, even half-decent, guitar solos (they don't even go through the effort of producing any solos); Skanklin's "singing", which is used VERY loosely, is like an Arnold Schwarzenegger monotone of only the same, dead range; and their guitar effects are wickedly tame. There is virtually NO feedback, no shredding; it seems like their wimp guitars have yet to be taught that there is such a thing as raising their ampage. The mistreatment in which the guitarist plays lead is totally reprehensible; he rejects composing anything complex or substantial-sounding, instead sinfully backsliding to the weakest, pop-like chords ever!!!! Let's switch to their relentlessly hollow themes for their lyrics that have been used SO many times by better bands in the past, they lose ANY miniscule shred of credibility. This Skanklin and gang crew must be real MIT, post-graduate geniuses to recycle songs having to do with being fed up with a girlfriend, whimpering about not seeing your kid in a while (sniff, sniff; sob, sob), and dishonorably G-E-N-E-R-I-C topics about dying and mortality, that Alice In Chains had the market cornered on, so many years earlier.
I'm striving to warn people that I would punish this CD with a NEGATIVE INFINITY rating, if so allowed. Since these corporate-manhandled posers are preying on the Seattle business plan, which soulless companies are force feeding on a younger, more inexperienced "kid" crowd, it's time to be efficient. If you're even considering this quack attempt at good music, ask for God's forgiveness and patronize Seattle groups instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There aren't enough stars to tell you... LOVE THEM, Feb. 18 2004
By 
M. Rolf "Minnesota Melissa" (Minneapolis, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
It really sucks to see so many bad reviews. Yes people, we all have our opinions don't we. My opinion is that Wesley Scantlin is HOT, his voice is HOT, his body is HOT, the drummer is HOT. It's all good! What's the problem?
Rare is it to find an album that has it all. Come Clean is about LIFE. Love. Anger. Coming clean. Do you get it? I do. I dig it too! I am a die hard fan, always will be.
For those of you that haven't heard them yet, check them out! Don't let these other people sway your views. Listen for your self. POM is here to stay, they are rising on the charts with LIFE ON DISPLAY and COME CLEAN is just an entire album full of fantastic music. GREAT ANYTIME, ANYWHERE!
First of all, Wes is HOT, hot, HOT! Love him, his sultry, sexy rough voice. He sings with conviction, his heart and all of his emotion, love to see that raw edge when he belts it all out for his fans. Secondly, the drummer is HOT, hot, HOT! Yes, hot. Not a fan of long hair, but with him... I will make an exception. Love the lyrics. They have meaning, purpose and best of all they can be understood.
Thanks POM for rocking my world!
All my love, Melissa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Despicable..., Feb. 16 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
Anyone who thinks this band is good needs to stick a shotgun up their ass. Seriously, this is definitely some of the most wretched 'music' I've EVER heard. For one thing, they're not original at all. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden and L7 have been doing this years before POM have. Second of all, Wes Scantlin has no vocal talent whatsoever. His lyrics are just as bad if not worse (I love the way you smack my ass; She f*ckin hates me!). He's the worst frontman since...Fred Durst. Oh, and speaking of Freddy, of course he's involved. POM only got signed because Wes Scantlin made counterfeit backstage passes at a Limp concert, and whined to get a record deal. What a p*ssy. Oh yeah, and about them being Nirvana clones, well... I think Bush deserves that award for now, but like I said, this band is not original in any way, shape, or form. They have terrible songwriting, and only raw talent at best.
For some decent modern rock bands, I recommend Injected, Tantric, Shinedown, Sevendust, Lennon, Socialburn, Flaw, Memento and Cellophane (feat. POM bassist). Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too many one star reviews, Dec 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
To start off, there are (so far) 234 reviews of this album, and 62 of them gave this album one star. I read most of these one star reviews, and out of the 62, there were only about 20 that, to me, represented a person who actually listened to the album and didn't like it at all. I can read those reviews and, even though I don't agree with them, I can click the helpful bubble because that review helped me make my decision. Remember people, it says "was this review helpful", not "do you agree with this review". Reviews like "These guys suck cos they copy Nirvana" have no merit cos these people hear the radio songs (I'll get to that later) and make their judgement based on that. So the current 3 star rating probably isn't completely accurate. Well, I listened to the album, and here's my reaction.
On its own, the album is OK. Compared to current rock (Creed post "My Own Prison", Nickelback, etc.) this album probably stands a bit above average. There is no comparison to Nirvana or AIC; those guys pioneered this type of music; they're better artists. POM aren't great artists, but they ARE talented musicians. Big difference there. They do a good job of using the guitar in different ways throughout the entire album. Two of the aforementioned radio songs (Control and She Hates Me) are my absolute least favorite songs on the album, mainly because of the lyrics. Those lyrics don't get too much better throughout the rest of the album, but at least the band members play well off each other. The songs are well put together, though the lack of guitar solos are a bummer as well. Those two aspects (lyrics and no guitar solos) dock this album a star.. actually a star and a half if that were possible. The lead singer sounds a lot like Cobain, but that doesn't mean he's copying Cobain. I can understand how that kind of thing would turn people off to the music, but it doesn't turn me off.
To sum it up.. this album won't go down in music history, nor will POM. But don't judge the album by the radio songs. It's very possible that you won't like the entire album, and it's just as possible that you will hate it. However, at least the album isn't 50 minutes of Control or Blurry. In my opinion, it's worth at least one listen, skipping songs 1 and 6. Whether you agree with this review or not, I hope it was at least helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It has it's moments, Nov. 25 2003
By 
Jennifer OGuin "seething13" (Vermont) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
Hey, I know lot's of people hate this CD, but, here's the way I see it. IF you like the mellower songs from Linkin Park, Alice In Chains, and Helmet, you'll most likely really like this album. I DO like all of those bands, so I think it's a good CD. Of course, every CD has it's few bad songs, with stupid lyrics (some entire CDs are like that, LOL), but all in all, I think it's worth buying. The only fault I can point out is that it lacks the ANGER you find in most albums with lyrical content of this nature, I think maybe one day, these guys will pop and create something with the edge they need to release their true feelings. It's like mellowed out unhappiness, but if you're just taking a bubble bath and need something less edgy, it's right on track. It's one of those things, you just have to be able to relate to the lyrics to enjoy it, if you can relate, you'll like it. I wish everyone would stop being so hard on these guys. They aren't horrible musicians, and they are following a style they like. So what is it happens to sound a lot like someone else's music? It's what they like, and imitation is the highest form of flattery. Not everyone that comes out has to be totally original to be good, it's not easy to create new genres!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's not music, it's population control., Nov. 21 2003
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
Puddle of Mudd is proof positive we need another musical revolution and we need one six years ago. From the first moment I heard the asinine "Control", I was certain of two things. One; it had to have been one the most wretched recordings, including but not limited to music, ever produced. And two; given the current mainstream musical climate, PoM was going to be huge. I wish I could say it was over, but then came the horribly banal "Blurry" and the Mother of All Songs That Are an Anathema to Anything that Can Remotely Be Called Listenable "She Hates Me". When I first heard "She Hates Me", I thought it was a Saturday Night Live parody of alt-rock kind of like John Belushi's side-splitting Joe Cocker impersonation (with Cocker himself in the act). The only differnce was that I wasn't laughing here. I found myself in a slough of despond after learning one simple fact - I listened to something that was dredged up from the lowest bowels of Hell.
I do not dislike PoM simply because of their lack of musicianship, or the fact that they are mainstream. I dislike PoM because their music is an insult to the thousands of truly talented musicians who consider themselves lucky to be playing next to a hot dog stand. PoM base their songs on predictable early to mid 1990s alt-rock structures, lyrics with as much integrity as the Clintons during the Whitewater hearings, and angst that is so manufactured that Nike shoes look convincingly homemade in comparision. And does anyone honestly believe Wes Scantlin when he says, "I've been playing that there grunge since Neil Young was an itch in his daddy's pants."? Not me, not now, not ever!!!
Instead of sullying your CD collection with PoM, might I suggest a few alt-rock bands who did this before and better by geometric proportions: The Pixies, Sonic Youth, Mudhoney, Husker Du, Soul Asylum, etc? Trust me, you'll be a better person for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Dazzling Sphincterian Masterpiece, Oct. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
With an ingenious, multi-layered pun as album title, Puddle of Mudd (formerly known as Prepuce Moderne and originally hailing from the slums of Ouro Preto) has come a long way in this, its sophomore effort. They are indeed Coming into their own, so to speak, in an omphaloskepsis of onanism. And they are as Clean as a tabula rasa, upon which their corporate masters may write as they please.
But this is not necessarily a bad thing: As Marcus Delacour once noted, "Wir schaufeln ein Grab in den Lueften da liegt man nicht eng." Given such a subrogation, PoM has a clear duty to retreat in the face of such privileged communication. But here we are faced with so trychocystal a rogation, so soroptical an urceolate, that we have no recourse to standard "Uberscheissverheilenlicht" defenses. We must manumit our proceedings entirely unaided by any known felicific calculi.
Quite simply put, this album is a masterpiece of multinucleolated mycelia worthy of the young Claude Taylor, before he degenerated into an epigonoidal senescence redolent of the middle-period works of Nestor Kalandrakis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cobain is turning in his grave!, April 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
A few weeks ago I was playing "Nevermind" on my stereo, teen spirit to be exact. My cousin in the other room hears the beggining riffs to Teen Spirit and calls out, "TURN IT UP!" Ok, so I do, and a few minutes later she calls out again, "NEVERMIND! I THOUGHT THAT WAS SOMETHING ELSE!"
So I ask what she thought it was. Surprise, surprise, she thought it was "She hates me."
From the first time I heard Puddle of Crudd on MADTV, I knew they were god awful. The lead singer is a terrible song writer. To the best of my knowledge, "She Hates Me" is a love song, of love gone wrong. You want a love song? Listen to "In Utero." Plenty of disturbing love songs in there, much more clever than Puddle of [Mudd]. Tell me, which is more meaningful? "SHE HATES ME! LA LA LA LA!" or the famous "I've been trapped inside your heart shaped box for a week"?
Puddle of Crudd is sickening. This is not rock. It's not even music. You want music? Alice in Chains, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Led Zeppelin, and the best band of all time, Nirvana are all real, talented. You want an album? "In Utero" is grunge, and it costs less than ... Come Clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Clean
Come Clean by Puddle of Mudd (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews