Customer Reviews


272 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd
Control - 10/10
Drift and Die - 10/10
Out of my Head - 9.5/10
Nobody Told Me - 9.5/10
Blurry - 10/10
She hates me - 9/10
Bring me Down - 10/10
Never Change - 8.5/10
Basement - 9.5/10
Said - 8/10
Piss it all away - 5/10
Published on July 7 2004 by spokenstaind

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can thank yourselves for this abomination of music
The only person you have to thank or blame (whichever way to look at it) for this brand of stale, faux "alternative" rock is yourselves. You guys are the ones who voted for Puddle on MTV's TRL. Puddle of Mudd and the state of all Rock music recently can be summed up in one disgusted expression: Ugh. Nirvana was never that great to begin with, and this carbon...
Published on June 29 2004 by seattleshift


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can thank yourselves for this abomination of music, June 29 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
The only person you have to thank or blame (whichever way to look at it) for this brand of stale, faux "alternative" rock is yourselves. You guys are the ones who voted for Puddle on MTV's TRL. Puddle of Mudd and the state of all Rock music recently can be summed up in one disgusted expression: Ugh. Nirvana was never that great to begin with, and this carbon copy of Kurt and company is even worse. Wes is such a tryhard. He tries to get Cobain's blond looks and mannerisms down pat, but failed miserably and fell to the concrete ground with a splat. Wes is such an arrogant misogynist. I heard this is Fred Durst's pet project of a band, and it's quite obvious. And what's younger peoples' beef with rap, dance, and techno when you've got decent artists?! It's all good. And you DO have a choice of music to chose from, you know. There's no rule written in stone that you have to like Alternative and, in this case, whatever he hell Puddle of Mudd is. There's no reason to be embarrassed to admit to liking slick, produced pop, especially the classics. Puddle of Mudd is no classic, and should be forgotten because it isn't relevant in any day and age.
Want some alternatives to stale music like Puddle O' Crap? Then here ya go...
NWA "Straight Outta Compton"
Salt & Pepper "Cool & Vicious"
Heavy D "Peaceful Journey"
Cypress Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, July 7 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
Control - 10/10
Drift and Die - 10/10
Out of my Head - 9.5/10
Nobody Told Me - 9.5/10
Blurry - 10/10
She hates me - 9/10
Bring me Down - 10/10
Never Change - 8.5/10
Basement - 9.5/10
Said - 8/10
Piss it all away - 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sick of the critisism., Dec 8 2003
By 
Deborah L. Rentz (Charleston, sc. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
People, wake up. Grunge is dead. As dead as Kurt Cobain or Layne Stayley. The bands sounds similar to Nirvana or Alice In Chains, but, Metallica sounds simalar to Motorhead and Judas Preist,and no one says anything about that! Hell, Tool sounds like Alice in Chains, but no one says anything about that!Bands influence other bands, it happens! Get over it! Get a life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Album is a Classic, Nov. 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
This album is a classic. Wes Scantlin, Paul Phillips, Greg Upchurch and Doug Ardito combine the brilliance of hard rock with a ton of stuck-in-your-head melodies. Puddle of Mudd have come a LONG way in a hurry. Wes Scantlin (singer & guitarist) is the only surviving member of what Puddle of Mudd USED to be. Back in the early to late 1990's, the band consisted of Jimmy Allen, Sean Sammon, Wes Scantlin and Kenny Burkitt. They had 2 official releases: "Stuck" (E.P.) and the full-length "Abrasive" album. With songs like 'Drift & Die', 'Control', 'Out of My Head', and 'Blurry', this album is IMMUNE to just sitting on the shelf. In the words of Wes Scantlin, Puddle of Mudd will be around for a long time. I wouldn't understand why they wouldn't be; I am probably one of their biggest fans.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEYOND 5 STARS!!! THE BEST DEBUT ALBUM IN HISTORY!!!, July 30 2002
By 
mike ezawa (CLINTON, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
The band Puddle of Mudd is the best band in history. If you purchase this CD, it'll stick with you 'till you die.
-"Control" is the first song on the CD and is awesome.
-"Drift & Die" is the next one on the album, and shows great musical talent' both instrumental and vocal!!! My favorite song on here!
-"Out of My Head"-- Brace yourself for a great-sounding rock tune that far surpasses any song of their style (other than "Blurry" and "Drift & Die"!
-"Nobody Told Me" is a great song- even when following a hard rock jammer like "Out of my Head"! This song itself is worth half the price!!!
-"Blurry" is the song that has really made this CD famous. The combo of great lyrics, elite instrumental talent, and awesome vocal ability by Wes Scantlin will bring quite a sound to your eardrums!
-"She Hates Me"-- great song, and likely the most explicit. However, even more instrumental ability and vocalizing talent make this song a hit.
-"Bring Me Down"-- what can I say? It's mainly just a kick-butt song!!! The band lives in this song!
-"Never Change" is the best song after track #5, "Blurry". Hard rock and smashing vocalizing will rock your CD player so hard, it may skip.
-"Basement"-- this song is truly a masterpiece!!! If you like songs like "How You Remind Me", "Basement" will be a definite hit for you-- it's even better than "How You Remind Me"!!!
-"Said" demonstrates some of the finest rock material ever. Wes Scantlin and his band rock the neighborhood with this tune!
-"Pxxx it all away"-- the final song. This album goes by way too fast. The best song I've ever heard that concludes a CD!!! Wes and his band are at it again!!!
As you can see, "Come Clean" is a CD that is most definitely worth buying. It's better than Metallica, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Linkin Park, Sublime, and even Led Zepplin!!! Now that's saying something!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it seems., June 7 2002
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
The infamous Fred Durst...the only thing he's ever been good at is selling-out...and discovering new bands, those that are great (Cold, Staind) and those that aren't so great (Puddle of Mudd). Puddle of Mudd is a your typical 80's metal band; big hair, loud guitars, and a sometimes annoying singer. I bought this for "Control", which I thought was OK, not great. I figured that because I liked all the other bands Devil Durst brought around, I'd like these guys, too. Nope. They are very talented, you pretty much have to be if you are in the music-buisness. The only problem as I see it is their singer. I agree with the other reviews, he does sound a lot like an 80's rock 'n' roll singer. They should just make him another guitarist (he does play guitar, folks) and get a new singer. That's just my view, though. But, there is hope for these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, March 14 2002
By 
drew m (maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
I miss Alice in Chains. Nobody did dark, brooding rock/metal better. They were powerful on their full length albums, and astonishingly fragile on their acoustic EP's. But unknown forces have driven Alice in Chains underground, and the closest someone's come to approximating their sound lately is Puddle of Mudd.
Come Clean isn't revolutionary, and the lyrics leave something to be desired (particularly on "Control," the opener). But Puddle of Mudd's echoing of AIC's debut album Facelift gives their own debut a solid quality to it that most current metal bands just don't have (especially if said bands employ a DJ). Heavy riffs are piled on top of heavier riffs without the holier-than-thou preciousness of a band like Creed. It's simple, straight driving metal that doesn't try too hard and isn't over-produced. For today's music scene, that's the best you can ask for.
Most critics have bashed Come Clean as derivative. It is, of course, but I also think the band's gotten a bum rap for its incredibly stupid name (apparently Korn was already taken) and its ties to Limp Bizkit frontman Fred Durst. POM's songs have strong melodies (particularly on "Blurry" and "Out of My Head"), and singer Wes Scantlin has a solid, if indistinguishable, voice. Clearly this is a band that has potential beyond this album, but this is a nice start.
On another note, POM's live show (which I saw here in NYC) is still pretty weak. I'd wait another album or two to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Had potential to be good, Nov. 16 2001
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
The first bands that introduced me to music were Soundgarden and Nirvana. Ever since then, I have had a soft spot for the 90's grunge scene. However, after awhile it has become over saturated and filled with so many bands that you can't tell one from the other. I now have little to no interest in new grunge and keep closely to my Nirvana and Soundgarden. Enter Puddle of Mudd, criticized by many (and rightfully so) for being a poor-man's Nirvana, signed by Fred Durst, who has brought us Staind and Cold, whose music I have enjoyed very much. So after being happy with those bands and hearing that Puddle of Mudd were in the same vein, I had to check them out. Needless to say, I was very disappointed. The lyrics are so cheesy and cliched, and the music is so outdated, it's ridiculous to listen to it. I like the song "Blurry" but there isn't really anything else to get too excited about. There isn't really anything powerful or compelling on here that makes you say "Wow," I've never heard that before. It's a pretty plain CD overall. If you like this CD, but feel that it left much to be desired, try some better new-grunge like Full Devil Jacket, Staind and Cold. And make sure you dust off those old Nirvana CD's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, Sept. 13 2005
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
Puddle is one of my favourite bands. ALL of their songs are catchy and awesome. Wes has a great voice, and I hate when people say he is trying to be like Kurt Cobain, since Puddle clearly writes modern rock. They have their own identity, people, and their songs are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, June 29 2004
This review is from: Come Clean (Audio CD)
u losers keep dissing nirvana AND saying these people r just like them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! a**holes
u dis the lyrics come (...) lyrics NEVER make the real music music all about the lyrics if RAP that sh*t blows monkey nuts if u really wanna feal the music u gotta get into it, beyond the lyrics, where u not only hear the music, u feel it and how it all fits together the lyrics dont matter the notes do u can even ask an old person that like classical that
so (...) the music before u reveiw it, and if u cant feel the music, go listen to rap sh*t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Clean
Come Clean by Puddle of Mudd (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews