Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not their best, but a wonderful effort nontheless
As many people have said, this CD has more of a mainstream appeal to it than other GBS discs. Particularly Clearest Indication, Stumblin' In, and Sea of No Cares. And, while they may be more pop than Celtic, they're excellent songs. Older fans of the band seem to have a problem with this new direction, but there are still plenty of traditional songs. Scolding Wife is...
Published on July 16 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but overproduced
Having waited so long to for the next GBS album, I couldn't wait to put the CD in. Perhaps I had my hopes up too high. (Yes this band does have a tendancy to develop fervor amongst people who have heard them)
The first track, Sea of No Cares sounded so much like any other garage band effort out there. If you've seen a band play at a local club and bought their CD...
Published on Jan. 30 2004 by cmtulo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not their best, but a wonderful effort nontheless, July 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
As many people have said, this CD has more of a mainstream appeal to it than other GBS discs. Particularly Clearest Indication, Stumblin' In, and Sea of No Cares. And, while they may be more pop than Celtic, they're excellent songs. Older fans of the band seem to have a problem with this new direction, but there are still plenty of traditional songs. Scolding Wife is absolutely fantastic, as is Gideon Brown. And then there's French Perfume, which sounds traditional but isn't. Widow in the Window is a beautiful song. About the only song on the disc I can take or leave is Barque in the Harbor. Not that it's a bad song, per se, but I have to be in a particular mood to listen to it.
For someone like myself, making my first foray into GBS and Celtic music, this was an excellent introduction. I do wish, however, that there was more of the bodhran and less of the drums because I simply adore the bodhran. For an older fan of the band, it's still GBS, and it's still better than most of the mainstream stuff out there. Regardless of how "mainstream friendly" it may sound.
Personally, _up_ (sadly, an import for those of us in the US) is a much better record, but this one is awesome too. And I think that says a lot for it. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sea of Great Big Cares, April 19 2002
By 
Catherine M. Dorkin "willow100cm" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
Great Big Sea's forth album, Sea of No Cares hits all the right buttons. With just over half the CD being of traditional celtic/Newfoundland music, it gets you up and jumping. An actual drum (oppose to traditional celtic drums) is put into the mix and many guest artist, including Liz Pickard on track 10.
The first solo song out was Sea of No Cares which sparked great controversay in Toronto, Canada. Radio stations did not want to play it because it 'did not fit in the sound of the station'. Mix 99.9 agreed to play it and it's been on the chart for weeks due to popular demand.
Scolding Wife, track four, is the first song of the CD to express 'true celetic sound'. It's upbeat and shows great talent of all four musicians of the band.
Great Big Sea produces another great hit for Newfoundlanders and Canadians alike to be very proud of. Grab yourself a copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their roots, April 15 2002
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
FINALLY! Alan, Sean, Bob and Darrell have returned to their roots. This album, although more mature in sound, is much like their second and third albums, UP and PLAY. I thought Turn sounded too studio-ish, so I am happy to see that they have returned to their own style. This album also gives you the flavour that can be seen only in their live shows. I haven't seen them play in three years--Guys, you HAVE to come to Japan!--but always loved hearing them play live and this album excites me once again about being a Great Big Sea fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Canadian music!, Sept. 24 2002
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
This great Canadian music by a great Canadian band. All the
tracks are quite enjoyable and can be played again and again.
My only question is why is Great big Seas Cd's mostly listed as
IMPORTs on a web sight that is supposed to be Canadian. Last
time I looked Newfoundland was still in Canada and I'm sure
they still consider it an honour not an honor to be Canadian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit for Newfoundland's Great Big Sea!, Feb. 26 2002
By 
"hallieosu" (Columbus, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely wonderful! Great Big Sea scores another hit with this one. It contains the perfect mix of orginal folk/pop songs and traditional tunes. "Sea of No Cares," the first single, is already on the charts in Canada. Traditional songs include a rousing rendition of "Scolding Wife," and the fun "A Boat Like Gideon Brown." Both of these will make great sing-a-longs in concert! If you have never heard GBS's music, this may be the one to start with. This album, dear Amazon readers, may be the one to break GBS into the big time here in the States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BAND, GREAT CD!, Nov. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this album as well as all of GBS albums. My kids get a kick out of listening the cd. With all of the new music and pop singers out there, it is nice to have a band out there that plays the "good old stuff" with a new twist. Having worked with the band in NYC in 2001, I have to say, they are the nicest group of men out there, and their music shows their personalities. I recomend this album and all of GBS's albums to anyone who enjoys celtic folksongs with a 21st century beat. You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but overproduced, Jan. 30 2004
By 
"cmtulo" (Drexel Hill, pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
Having waited so long to for the next GBS album, I couldn't wait to put the CD in. Perhaps I had my hopes up too high. (Yes this band does have a tendancy to develop fervor amongst people who have heard them)
The first track, Sea of No Cares sounded so much like any other garage band effort out there. If you've seen a band play at a local club and bought their CD because you got caught up in the moment, then you already know what I mean. That first track sounded, of all things, amateurish and overproduced. Now, this is one of the most polished bands out there, so It came as an affront to me and tainted my view of the rest of the album. This is also the first time they have included a drumset and a drummer. So I guess they were trying to make a point by opening it with a drum solo. But I was not impressed.
There are some absolutely phenomenal songs on this album. My favorite is "Stumbling In" and the CD is worth it just to hear that. Another jems is "Own true Way" and "Clearest Indication" is a song I've lived more than I care to admit. "Penelope" could have been written by Jimmy Buffet. That sounds like a song he should sing. I found it a little out of place and totally out of character for the boys from Newfoundland. And somehow a little patriotic flare shot up at the apparent disparagement of an American city by these Canadians. (I said I was honest...)
GBS continues to be my favorite band because they produce absolutely fabulous, honest, optimistic music. There are some genuine keepers on this album, but if you want a better introduction to them, try Rant and Roar. If you've already been introduced to GBS, then what are you waiting for? Get this CD and you will be happy you did.
Why did I give it only three stars? Because of the albums I have this is about average. Maybe I have nothing but stellar albums in my collection, but that's my honest review. It takes a lot to get five stars out of me. Only one album has so far and, by the way, that album is Rant and Roar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD for every person!, Dec 23 2003
By 
Curt (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
GREAT BIG SEA is a mixture of culture and time. Their songs stretch from classic Irish tunes to modern pop music. But, make no mistake, they are great songs.
This CD incorporates the bands talent for music, with today's desire for pop music. Anybody who appreciates music will love this CD! Their smooth melodies and accentual chords make this a CD constant repeat in your CD player, both in the car and at your dinner parties.
This CD represents a more commerical appeal than their previous CD's (PLAY also had commercial appeal). But, once you learn what Great Big Sea is about, you will be in a must have situation for all of their previous CD's. You can forget the bad language, and the hard electric guitars. We are talking about music in a pure form. Lyrics that hit, instrumental collections that support, and most of all, a feeling of.. well, Greatness.
You would be hard set to find a CD that would be able to be put on repeat and not hated after a day. Great Big Sea does that wiht Sea of No Cares. Your friends will instantly be asking you, "Who are they?!?"
Answer: They've been around for over 10 years, and won five (5) awards at the 2003 East Coast Music Awards (Group of the Year, Album of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, Video of the Year, and Pop Group of the Year). Those Left Coast people (like me) are missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars supper mix of traditional and new songs., July 29 2003
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
The boys from the rock have again mixed traditional 'cagin' music
and new pieces with their usuall fine results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Find, June 8 2003
By 
K. Conrad "lady_kalaria" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea of No Cares (Audio CD)
I stumbled upon Great Big Sea completely by accident when I ran across their rendition of The Night Pat Murphy Died, which I absolutely loved. Unfortunately, it's difficult to find all but Road Rage and Sea of No Cares in the stores in my area. Anyway, I was quite impressed by this CD. It's a nice combination of original material and traditional tunes, which have been arranged to give a slight contemporary taste. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf89a7bc)

This product

Sea of No Cares
Sea of No Cares by Great Big Sea (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews