Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Speed Metal Album Ever
I like to think of Judas Priest's 1990 metal masterpiece Painkiller as a speed metal Exile On Main Street. Both albums are examples of stunning perfection in thier respective genre's from start to finish. I've always noticed that Judas Priest's role in heavy metal is similar to the Rolling Stones in rock n roll ( The Stones combined the best elements of r&r,...
Published on July 14 2004 by Painkiller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too late
To be sure, 'Painkiller' (1990), the last record to feature Rob Halford on vocals, was a well-intended middle-finger to the forces behind the ridiculous suicide litigation and the abandonment of radio. However, aside from "Touch of Evil" and the title track, those Priest fans who were there from the beginning found it to be a little too little, little too late...
Published on May 10 2004 by S B


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Speed Metal Album Ever, July 14 2004
By 
Painkiller (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
I like to think of Judas Priest's 1990 metal masterpiece Painkiller as a speed metal Exile On Main Street. Both albums are examples of stunning perfection in thier respective genre's from start to finish. I've always noticed that Judas Priest's role in heavy metal is similar to the Rolling Stones in rock n roll ( The Stones combined the best elements of r&r, r&b, blues, etc. perfected it into thier own definitive style, in every conceivable way became the epitome of rock n roll music and would be the reference point for all real rock n roll music that followed. Judas Priest did the exact same thing for heavy metal.) so I couldn't resist the Exile/Painkiller comparison. Painkiller is the band's fastest and heaviest album to date and easily one of their best. The sound is simply classic Priest fueled by the influence of 80's speed metal bands such as Metallica and Megadeth. Basically, if you like speed metal at all, Painkiller is essential. Everyone in the band is in top form and each gives an inspiring, breathtaking 110% over-the-top performance, especially noteworthy is drummer Scott Travis since Painkiller is his first Priest album and his ferocious double-bass technique gives the band's sound a new power. Every song on Painkiller is a classic beginning with the ferocious beast of a title track on which Rob Halford screams and wails at the top of his lungs for the entire song and Scott Travis unleashes his immortal drum intro and ending with the majestic, epic battle anthem One Shot At Glory featuring one of Glenn Tipton and KK Downing's best ever guitar soloing duels. Also notable is A Touch Of Evil which is the one non-speed-metal song on here; its a heavy, midpaced, atmospheric ballad, of sorts, which sounds not quite like anything else they've ever done and has one of Tipton's greatest guitar solos ever to boot. In my opinion, Judas Priest are the greatest metal band of all time and Painkiller is one of their best albums. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ONLY album that defines Heavy Metal Music, June 18 2004
By 
Rohan G C (Chicago, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Let me tell you something about myself. I am not rebellious or an anti-social person. I am not addicted to any narcotic or addictive substance. Heck, I am your average every-day perfectly normal guy that you bump into in a 7-eleven store...and I LOVE JUDAS PRIEST!! So, if you are a person who thinks "Heavy Metal is for the wierd teenaged junkies." I think you would be interested in the kind of music creted by a certain Mr. William Hung. For the rest of you, read on.
The first ever Heavy Metal music I bought was Judas Priest's " Metal Works '73-'93 " in (GET THIS) 2002 when I was 23 years old-by no means a teenager and definitely not a junkie. The album totally blew me away!! I went back to the store a couple of days later and I found this metal masterpiece-'Painkiller'. I have listened to it an infinite number of times and every time I listen to it, my awe and respect for the band has increased. This is the definition of pure Heavy Metal. It is dark, scary, HEAVY and yet- (you read it right) melodious!! No other band could produce a record that comes close to this one-even Judas Priest themselves.
Each and every song on this albums is a true masterpiece. It's like visiting the Sistine Chapel and gazing and admiring the paintings on the cieling one by one. You never get enough of it. I'll probably listen to the album when I am 50 or 60 years old and tell you the very same thing.
If you are a person into heavy metal-get this album and listen to it. A true connoisseur knows a masterpiece when he sees one. Get this album today and join the club of the true headbangers. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, July 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This cd was my first Judas Priest cd. I have to say it is the best Heavy Metal album I have ever heard. The drums are great, the guitars are great and vocals are awesome. If you have wondering which Judas Priest album you should get, GET PAINKILLER!!!
P.S. great art on cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the many best metal albums!, Sept. 16 2006
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Let the bay area thrashers listen to thrash only, they obviously don't listen to groups who have established heavy metal as a style before they have been born. Typical for the new generation fans. In the seventies, when Priest started, there was no such such term as style. Groups like Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Queen, Pink Floyd and Genesis were different from each other as day and night but they were all in the same pot. The more the "styles" were defined, the duller the bands sounded. Judas Priest is one of the best groups ever who never feared to try different things although the results were not always good. Their early albums were progresive, then Stained Class was heavier, then they were some poppy albums like Point of Entry and Turbo (terrible albums). Painkiller is their heaviest album from 1974 to 1990 (the two Ripper Owens albums from 1997 and 2001 were probably heavier). I don't know what a metal fan could not like in this album-it's heavy, the songs are great -Painkiller, Metal Meltdown, Touch of Evil are still classic metal anthems. I wish the new groups had vocalists like Rob Halford. Nope! They are all barking the same way while some pretentious guitarist is trying to amaze you with his technicality. And nobody cares that the songs suck. There are exceptions, of course, and the less style definitions, the better the bands. But Judas Priest still rule after so many years and Painkiller will remain one of their finest albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was so proud of this CD..., June 22 2004
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
And of course i still am. I mean it was 4 years removed from that drudious Turbo and 2 years later from Ram it Down, which wasn't too bad but this jump here is what sealed the deal for the return...until Rob decided hey i'm just gonna leave you guys and split.
Track listing:
1. Pain Killer: 5/5 if this self titled track isn't enough to prove the jump was a good one then you need a kick in the @$$. This one kills from start to finish.
2. Hell Patrol: 4/5 Simple yet affective track which lends it's self to speed metal sounds and great piercing screams from Rob.
3. All Guns Blazing- 4/5 After the weird introduction this song ain't too bad really...would i lie?
4. Leather Rebel- 4/5 Perhaps the title was driving home a point from the guys in leather after all.
5. Metal Meltdown- 5/5 Simply put: KILL! THIS SONG MAKES BATISTA SMASH!
6. Night Crawler- 6/5 Most impressive work of a song and they should be proud of it: the lyrics for once ain't too bad and the intro and middle parts are terrific!
7. Between the Hammer and the Anvil- 4/5 Anvil is hard, the hamemr is harder, but the track is the hardest!
8. Touch of Evil- 3/5 Pretty good but it took me longer to get this song into my system then the rest.
9. battle of Hymn- 4/5 See the other 4/5's because the bill fits this one as well.
10. One shot at Glory- 5.5/5 Terrific ending track reminscint of a time when Priest rode higher, like per say the British Steel era by chance, and caps a great orginal cd.
11 and 12: i heard the original and own the orginal and not the re-mastered one so i cannot comment here: sorry.
Overall: 5.3/5 This CD applauded a long climb back in 4 years time from Turbo, and with Scott Travis drumming there was a noticable difference, but the band would go into obscurity for 7 years after Halford left the band announced...HE WAS GAY! Not that this chances my opinion: perfernce does not change my opinion of his singing abilites. Great CD and definately killed the pain of the downhill slide for JP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest go speed metal, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's Painkiller, released in 1990, was one of the greatest Priest albums I ever heard next to Screaming for Vengeance, Stained Class and British Steel. When I first heard the title cut on the radio in late 1990, I thought I was listening to an album by Slayer but it was Priest. Scott Travis' drumming breathed new life into a band that were heading for mediocrity, Priest were never known for lightning double-bass drumming. Scott's drumming on songs like the title cut, Hell Patrol, A Touch of Evil, Between the Hammer and the Anvil and A Shot at Glory showed Priest were back. Unfortunately, the record buying public disagreed and this album flopped when it first came out because of stuff like Poison and Vanilla Ice. I guess for some people, hearing a whole album of Rob Halford singing in falsetto got on their nerves rather quickly. I say tough! On the older albums, he sang normal and would have maybe a song or two in a high octave. Unfortunately, Rob Halford left in 1993 after this classic. I hope the new Priest album is just as good if not better! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest's same speed metal masterwork, May 19 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's Painkiller, released in 1990, was one of the greatest Priest albums I ever heard next to Screaming for Vengeance, Stained Class and British Steel. When I first heard the title cut on the radio in late 1990, I thought I was listening to an album by Slayer but it was Priest. Scott Travis' drumming breathed new life into a band that were heading for mediocrity, Priest were never known for lightning double-bass drumming. Scott's drumming on songs like the title cut, Hell Patrol, A Touch of Evil, Between the Hammer and the Anvil and A Shot at Glory showed Priest were back. Unfortunately, the record buying public disagreed and this album flopped when it first came out because of stuff like Poison and Vanilla Ice. I guess for some people, hearing a whole album of Rob Halford singing in falsetto got on their nerves rather quickly. I say tough! On the older albums, he sang normal and would have maybe a song or two in a high octave. Unfortunately, Rob Halford left in 1993 after this classic. I hope the new Priest album is just as good if not better! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too late, May 10 2004
By 
S B "sdb70" (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
To be sure, 'Painkiller' (1990), the last record to feature Rob Halford on vocals, was a well-intended middle-finger to the forces behind the ridiculous suicide litigation and the abandonment of radio. However, aside from "Touch of Evil" and the title track, those Priest fans who were there from the beginning found it to be a little too little, little too late. That is, the scant lyrics have to be arguably the most inane of any Priest record, and the speed metal thing (i.e., the idea that speed=good music, personified in the addition of Racer-X drummer, Scott Travis) came about a full two years after the trend emerged. Unfortunately, despite the fact that speed-kings Metallica successfully brought back the traditional Prist style of letting the chords ring with its eponymous 1991 smash record, Priest's downward spiral into the irrelevant would nonetheless continue with the 'Ripper' Owens records, 'Jugulator' (1997) and 'Demolition' (2001).
At least there is some good news. Unlike most of the Priest remasters, at least the extra tracks have a connection to the underlying record. We have a live version of "Leather Rebel" (taken from the same 1990 LA show as "Better By You, Better Than Me" on the 'Stained Class' remaster) and a decent outtake, "Living Bad Dreams", from the 'Painkiller' sessions that was probably left off the original record because it was a ballad (god forbid!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest at their peak!, April 25 2004
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Priest rules!!!! Although they weren't off to a great start with the unbeLIEVABLY bad Rocka Rolla, they continued on from there with 13 more records, all of which were good. And this, their last album with Rob Halford (until now), is their best by far. Everything about it is good. Let us review the tunes.
1. Painkiller
The best track Priest ever recorded! The riffs are killer, as is the drum intro, and Rob is screaming at the top of his lungs. I bought it for this song, and loved the rest of the album, too.
2-8: Hell Patrol, All Guns Blazing, Leather Rebel, Metal Meltdown, Night Crawler, Between The Hammer & The Anvil, Touch of Evil
I'll have to say that no songs shred like the title track, but they all have great riffs and the lyrics are very Priest-like, not the lousy ones on the song Parental Guidance (still a good song, though) or the good-but-corny ones on Jugulator and Demolition (the studio albums that would follow this and feature vocalist Tim "Ripper" Owens).
9 & 10: Battle Hymn, One Shot At Glory
Battle Hymn is a good 39 second prelude to the extravagant closer.
Bonus Tracks: Not worth it, I never listen to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best after Defenders of the Faith, April 7 2004
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
"Painkiller" is honestly the best album after their 1984 release "Defenders of the Faith." Because Judas Priest is one of the great bands, each album has its shining moments, but "Painkiller" comes close to the highest expectations that their best albums offer. The virtues of the album include a return to serious music making. "Turbo" and especially "Ram it Down" are disappointing obvious attempts to sell to an adolescent American audience. Maybe "Painkiller" is too, but the music is just better here. The drums are amazing, and the band goes for more of a thrash sound, since this sound is popular during this period. This hardness is a revert back to the "Defenders of the Faith" era sound, with more of a thrash influence. Here is my order of the best albums to the worst.
1. Screaming for Vengeance
2. Defenders of the Faith
3. Sad Wings of Destiny
4. Stained Class
5. Painkiller
6. British Steel
7. Sin after Sin
8. Turbo
9. Hell Bent for Leather
10. Ram it Down
11. Point of Entry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painkiller
Painkiller by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews