Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome
This cd was my first Judas Priest cd. I have to say it is the best Heavy Metal album I have ever heard. The drums are great, the guitars are great and vocals are awesome. If you have wondering which Judas Priest album you should get, GET PAINKILLER!!!
P.S. great art on cover.
Published on July 20 2004 by aldoman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too late
To be sure, 'Painkiller' (1990), the last record to feature Rob Halford on vocals, was a well-intended middle-finger to the forces behind the ridiculous suicide litigation and the abandonment of radio. However, aside from "Touch of Evil" and the title track, those Priest fans who were there from the beginning found it to be a little too little, little too late...
Published on May 10 2004 by S B


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, July 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This cd was my first Judas Priest cd. I have to say it is the best Heavy Metal album I have ever heard. The drums are great, the guitars are great and vocals are awesome. If you have wondering which Judas Priest album you should get, GET PAINKILLER!!!
P.S. great art on cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Speed Metal Album Ever, July 14 2004
By 
Painkiller (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
I like to think of Judas Priest's 1990 metal masterpiece Painkiller as a speed metal Exile On Main Street. Both albums are examples of stunning perfection in thier respective genre's from start to finish. I've always noticed that Judas Priest's role in heavy metal is similar to the Rolling Stones in rock n roll ( The Stones combined the best elements of r&r, r&b, blues, etc. perfected it into thier own definitive style, in every conceivable way became the epitome of rock n roll music and would be the reference point for all real rock n roll music that followed. Judas Priest did the exact same thing for heavy metal.) so I couldn't resist the Exile/Painkiller comparison. Painkiller is the band's fastest and heaviest album to date and easily one of their best. The sound is simply classic Priest fueled by the influence of 80's speed metal bands such as Metallica and Megadeth. Basically, if you like speed metal at all, Painkiller is essential. Everyone in the band is in top form and each gives an inspiring, breathtaking 110% over-the-top performance, especially noteworthy is drummer Scott Travis since Painkiller is his first Priest album and his ferocious double-bass technique gives the band's sound a new power. Every song on Painkiller is a classic beginning with the ferocious beast of a title track on which Rob Halford screams and wails at the top of his lungs for the entire song and Scott Travis unleashes his immortal drum intro and ending with the majestic, epic battle anthem One Shot At Glory featuring one of Glenn Tipton and KK Downing's best ever guitar soloing duels. Also notable is A Touch Of Evil which is the one non-speed-metal song on here; its a heavy, midpaced, atmospheric ballad, of sorts, which sounds not quite like anything else they've ever done and has one of Tipton's greatest guitar solos ever to boot. In my opinion, Judas Priest are the greatest metal band of all time and Painkiller is one of their best albums. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop the Painkiller, March 1 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
In the late 80's, after the robotic Priest...Live! and the false start that was Ram It Down, a lot of metal fans wrote off Judas Priest as a vital metal band.

They were a tad premature.

Perhaps it was Halford inking a few too many tattoos into his noggin', perhaps it was the long overdue departure of Dave Holland on drums, or maybe they were just angry. The band had spent the summer of 1990 defending themselves in the United States against accusations of murder. Not directly, but through backwards messages supposedly embedded in the Stained Class album. It was a show trial designed to blame bad parenting on someone else. But the band triumphed, and came back meaner and angrier than ever before.

Ex-Racer X (the band that also spawned Paul Gilbert among others) drummer Scott Travis, an American, was on board and the band buckled down with producer Chris Tsangarides and made the best record they'd done since at least Screaming for Vengeance if not earlier. Decks had been cleared, the band meant business. This album distills the sounds of Priest over the last 10 years, and puts the turntable from 33 1/3 all the way up to 45. (Young people who don't have a turntable will have no idea what I'm talking about).

This is OTT metal, shiny and mean, Halford screaming higher and harder than any time before, almost to the point of caricature, but not quite. This chrome plated beast blew away expectations. Tipton and Downing still thought they are interesting enough guitar players to do lead break credits on every album, but it's a touch I like. Tipton is the more experimental one and Downing the fast and furious one. As a combo it works, the solos are mostly interesting and suitable.

The production is loud and clear, at the time I felt this was one of the best produced metal albums I'd ever heard. The drums are so loud and clear that it hurts, Travis doing some serious steppin' on the double bass. To steal a phrase from Halford, this is "primo thrash metal". More accurately, speed metal.

Almost every song is worthy. Only a few fall flat. Yes, the lyrics are cartoony, but "Nightcrawler" takes it too far and is too repetitive with a spoken word section that should have been chopped. Also embarassing is "Metal Meltdown", an OTT song that tries but fails to be as dramatic as "Painkiller" itself.

Bonus tracks are the out-of-place "Living Bad Dreams" (a ballad which spoils the record) and an inferior live cut of "Leather Rebel".

Still, quite the album, and realy gets the blood pumping even today. I wish it came with a DVD with the insane video of the title track. Check it out if you want to have a sweat.

5 stars. An mighty if imperfect return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ONLY album that defines Heavy Metal Music, June 18 2004
By 
Rohan G C (Chicago, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Let me tell you something about myself. I am not rebellious or an anti-social person. I am not addicted to any narcotic or addictive substance. Heck, I am your average every-day perfectly normal guy that you bump into in a 7-eleven store...and I LOVE JUDAS PRIEST!! So, if you are a person who thinks "Heavy Metal is for the wierd teenaged junkies." I think you would be interested in the kind of music creted by a certain Mr. William Hung. For the rest of you, read on.
The first ever Heavy Metal music I bought was Judas Priest's " Metal Works '73-'93 " in (GET THIS) 2002 when I was 23 years old-by no means a teenager and definitely not a junkie. The album totally blew me away!! I went back to the store a couple of days later and I found this metal masterpiece-'Painkiller'. I have listened to it an infinite number of times and every time I listen to it, my awe and respect for the band has increased. This is the definition of pure Heavy Metal. It is dark, scary, HEAVY and yet- (you read it right) melodious!! No other band could produce a record that comes close to this one-even Judas Priest themselves.
Each and every song on this albums is a true masterpiece. It's like visiting the Sistine Chapel and gazing and admiring the paintings on the cieling one by one. You never get enough of it. I'll probably listen to the album when I am 50 or 60 years old and tell you the very same thing.
If you are a person into heavy metal-get this album and listen to it. A true connoisseur knows a masterpiece when he sees one. Get this album today and join the club of the true headbangers. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Metal God's Most Divine Creation, Dec 3 2009
By 
Luigi Di Serio (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Something must be said about the sound quality of this 1990 album; it is better than most 2010 material you'll find in this genre. Clean, crisp, solid, heavy and fast, this pacy and racy Painkiller album is an injection of pure adrenaline. This album is a is like an infused hybrid of melodic music with a mean metal machine. Rob Halford's vocals are the best you'll hear on any metal album. The screaming guitar solos and melodic twin harmony guitar attack, with symphonic arpeggios are revolutionary. The double bass drum beats and transition rolls completely bind the whole project into a masterpiece. All combined the music laid out on this album had become the foundation for all future thrash/euro metal (which often imitated but never duplicated it). One Shot A Glory is probably the best heavy metal song ever written, it is a triumphant anthem that really is the apex of Judas Priest's journey as metal pioneers.

Bottom line: If you are sick of diseased versions metal known as "new metal" or "alternative" then Painkiller is the cure. If you like high octave/octane vocals, guitar harmonies and blazing solos and double bass drums, all tied together into melodic pop-like songs, ones that you can actually related to. Then Painkiller will heal all your phonetic suffering and sooth your sorrows from the plague of modern music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEVER A DULL MOMENT!, April 25 2007
By 
J. Mustard (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Not only is the best Priest album but it's the best album period. Pure speed and agression from start to finish with the finest guitar work by Glenn and K.K, Drumming that Dave Holland could never match up to and Rob's best vocals since Stained Class. I recommend this album no matter what kind of metal your in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the many best metal albums!, Sept. 17 2006
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Let the bay area thrashers listen to thrash only, they obviously don't listen to groups who have established heavy metal as a style before they have been born. Typical for the new generation fans. In the seventies, when Priest started, there was no such such term as style. Groups like Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Queen, Pink Floyd and Genesis were different from each other as day and night but they were all in the same pot. The more the "styles" were defined, the duller the bands sounded. Judas Priest is one of the best groups ever who never feared to try different things although the results were not always good. Their early albums were progresive, then Stained Class was heavier, then they were some poppy albums like Point of Entry and Turbo (terrible albums). Painkiller is their heaviest album from 1974 to 1990 (the two Ripper Owens albums from 1997 and 2001 were probably heavier). I don't know what a metal fan could not like in this album-it's heavy, the songs are great -Painkiller, Metal Meltdown, Touch of Evil are still classic metal anthems. I wish the new groups had vocalists like Rob Halford. Nope! They are all barking the same way while some pretentious guitarist is trying to amaze you with his technicality. And nobody cares that the songs suck. There are exceptions, of course, and the less style definitions, the better the bands. But Judas Priest still rule after so many years and Painkiller will remain one of their finest albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Painkiller is the heaviest cd release from Judas Priest, Aug. 1 2006
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
16 years ago, this was the first Judas Priest album that I purchased. Painkiller was heavy. 16 years ago, I couldn't get into this album. Now in 2006, my taste in music has changed and I'm more interested in heavy metal. Judas Priest has to be considered one of the best metal bands of all-time and this album is simply brilliant. After releasing pop metal tunes in Breaking the Law, Turbo Lover and Before the dawn, Judas Priest gets hard with this album. This is a blistering piece of speed metal. Painkiller will silence any critic of Judas Priest because they always deliver.

Painkiller is their best album and a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was so proud of this CD..., June 22 2004
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
And of course i still am. I mean it was 4 years removed from that drudious Turbo and 2 years later from Ram it Down, which wasn't too bad but this jump here is what sealed the deal for the return...until Rob decided hey i'm just gonna leave you guys and split.
Track listing:
1. Pain Killer: 5/5 if this self titled track isn't enough to prove the jump was a good one then you need a kick in the @$$. This one kills from start to finish.
2. Hell Patrol: 4/5 Simple yet affective track which lends it's self to speed metal sounds and great piercing screams from Rob.
3. All Guns Blazing- 4/5 After the weird introduction this song ain't too bad really...would i lie?
4. Leather Rebel- 4/5 Perhaps the title was driving home a point from the guys in leather after all.
5. Metal Meltdown- 5/5 Simply put: KILL! THIS SONG MAKES BATISTA SMASH!
6. Night Crawler- 6/5 Most impressive work of a song and they should be proud of it: the lyrics for once ain't too bad and the intro and middle parts are terrific!
7. Between the Hammer and the Anvil- 4/5 Anvil is hard, the hamemr is harder, but the track is the hardest!
8. Touch of Evil- 3/5 Pretty good but it took me longer to get this song into my system then the rest.
9. battle of Hymn- 4/5 See the other 4/5's because the bill fits this one as well.
10. One shot at Glory- 5.5/5 Terrific ending track reminscint of a time when Priest rode higher, like per say the British Steel era by chance, and caps a great orginal cd.
11 and 12: i heard the original and own the orginal and not the re-mastered one so i cannot comment here: sorry.
Overall: 5.3/5 This CD applauded a long climb back in 4 years time from Turbo, and with Scott Travis drumming there was a noticable difference, but the band would go into obscurity for 7 years after Halford left the band announced...HE WAS GAY! Not that this chances my opinion: perfernce does not change my opinion of his singing abilites. Great CD and definately killed the pain of the downhill slide for JP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest go speed metal, June 21 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's Painkiller, released in 1990, was one of the greatest Priest albums I ever heard next to Screaming for Vengeance, Stained Class and British Steel. When I first heard the title cut on the radio in late 1990, I thought I was listening to an album by Slayer but it was Priest. Scott Travis' drumming breathed new life into a band that were heading for mediocrity, Priest were never known for lightning double-bass drumming. Scott's drumming on songs like the title cut, Hell Patrol, A Touch of Evil, Between the Hammer and the Anvil and A Shot at Glory showed Priest were back. Unfortunately, the record buying public disagreed and this album flopped when it first came out because of stuff like Poison and Vanilla Ice. I guess for some people, hearing a whole album of Rob Halford singing in falsetto got on their nerves rather quickly. I say tough! On the older albums, he sang normal and would have maybe a song or two in a high octave. Unfortunately, Rob Halford left in 1993 after this classic. I hope the new Priest album is just as good if not better! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10803e7c)

This product

Painkiller
Painkiller by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews