Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental, Touching, and Sure to Make You Smile
While it's true that this movie has a high quantity of cheeziness, in this case it works. This movie reminds you that all things happen for a reason, even if you can't see it right away, it shows the value of beleiving, and it restores your faith in people.
The cast is very well chosen. All of the characters are well established, with very definite personalities,...
Published on June 28 2004 by Liz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angels help California win season; Hell freezes over
Not-very-good remake about a last-place baseball team(the then-California Angels; the now-ANAHEIM Angels, thanks to Disney) which gets their help from Heaven all thanks to a little boy who just wants his father back.
Innocuous plotting and dialogue doesn't help much and why in the HECK would anyone want their kids to think that angels are biased spirits who help...
Published on June 13 2001 by Matthew Perri, also...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angels help California win season; Hell freezes over, June 13 2001
By 
Matthew Perri, also... (Pleasanton, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Not-very-good remake about a last-place baseball team(the then-California Angels; the now-ANAHEIM Angels, thanks to Disney) which gets their help from Heaven all thanks to a little boy who just wants his father back.
Innocuous plotting and dialogue doesn't help much and why in the HECK would anyone want their kids to think that angels are biased spirits who help random sports teams CHEAT?!? Imagine explaining to your child that the very reason he didn't win was because there were no angels there to help his or her team...
I suppose all that wasn't the point, however. The movie just suffers from over-silliness and shows us that even though we have needless suffering throughout the planet, God will take his angels and let them play ball in order to help a child in need of role model(even though his sweet caregiver will do nicely). And can somebody tell me what kind of an orphanage will let their children go to a baseball game day after day even if it means travelling all over the CONTINENT???
The least favorite of all my favorite sports-movies is still okay for kids but I'm not entirely sure they'll fall for it either.
Followed by "Angels in the Endzone"(from Disney's quickee-department) and the enomously idiotic "Angels in the Infield"(from the part of Disney's department that's headed by six-year-olds).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disney, What Did You Expect?, March 15 2001
This movie is not funny (unless you like to watch people to fall down), it's not charming, it's not warm, it's not good. Like most movies of their genre, the acting is very second rate. I could only see liking for nostalgic reasons. The same recycled plot really doesn't capture anything here. The Disney machine cranks out another loser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental, Touching, and Sure to Make You Smile, June 28 2004
By 
Liz "LoftyKitten" (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
While it's true that this movie has a high quantity of cheeziness, in this case it works. This movie reminds you that all things happen for a reason, even if you can't see it right away, it shows the value of beleiving, and it restores your faith in people.
The cast is very well chosen. All of the characters are well established, with very definite personalities, and all of the actors step up and fill their shoes nicely. Your heart will be touched a thousand times over during the course of this movie. You'll laugh, and you'll cry, and when the movie's over you'll feel like maybe the world is a little bit better place.
The film is greatly suited for children, as it doesn't involve the sort of foul humour that so many movies do now. It's just good old fashioned fun, as any baseball movie should be. There IS a heavy dose of morals in the mix. Beyond the over-all theme of believing in yourself, and having faith that God has a greater plan, the film also touches on the dangers of smoking, and how unnecessary profanity is.
Many scenes in this movie are truly beautiful and inspiring. Everytime the crowd stands up to flap their arms in support of Mel Clark (Tony Danza) I can't help but shed a tear, and when Roger's prayers are answered and he gets a family my heart melts all over again.
This movie is truly among the most uplifting of children's movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !!!, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Loved it and a great film that I have always enjoyed.Since I was a child actually.My dad loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love this movie, Dec 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
i watched this as a kid and loved it to bits, im so glad they made it for dvd. recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching an Excellent movie!, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
I love this movie is definatly my favourite my friend and I have watched it over 30 times, it never gets old! we've memorized it! A great movie for all ages you have to check it out!
~Nikki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for the movie, 2 for the DVD, Aug. 27 2003
By 
This review is from: Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
"Angels in the Outfield" is a charming family film from Disney, certainly one of their better live-action productions. The story's premise is somewhat silly - a boy wishes that the Angels will win the pennant so that his father will take care of him again and he can leave his foster home. Nonetheless, it's perfectly-executed, in the style of '90s Disney films that work (such as Man of the House, Jungle 2 Jungle, Cool Runnings).
"Angels" blends comedy and drama without ever feeling like either element is forced. Kudos must go to the cast. Joseph Gordon-Levitt does an apt job in his starring role as Roger, and Danny Glover puts energy and heart into his performance as Angels manager George Knox. Christopher Lloyd is wired to comedic effect, as usual. Tony Danza is compassionate as a troubled, aging pitcher. Supporting cast does well, also - Milton Davis Jr. is likable as Roger's friend J.P., and Tony Longo provides some comic power. You'll also recognize some faces that have gone on to get lead work in a number of notable films, including Matthew McConaughey, Neal McDonough (TV's "Boomtown") and Adrien Brody.
Cynical audiences will surely find fault with the moralistic and uplifting tale of a last place team working their way to the top with some divine intervention. The rest of us will enjoy a very fun movie that is solid family viewing.
The DVD just barely makes it to first base. The good: the film is presented in widescreen and 5.1 Dolby Digital. The bad: the transfer is a direct port of the laserdisc, not enhanced for 16x9 televisions, and not as sharp or clear as you'd hope. Worst of all, after waiting for several years for the film to come to DVD - there's not a single extra feature. Not even the memorable theatrical trailer. More effort should have gone into the DVD presentation for this wonderful family film.
Nonetheless, it's appropriately low-priced, and the movie is a home run. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sappy stuff, July 11 2004
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Foster-child Roger (Joseph Gordon-Leavitt) prays for the California Angels to win the pennant in the mistaken belief that it will lead to reconciliation with his father (Dermot Mulroney). Angels begin to intervene on the Angels' behalf, bringing hope, faith, and a renewed sense of self-worth to bitter manager George Knox (Danny Glover) and his clumsy team. Diabetics should avoid this film at all costs. It goes for easy sentimentality every step of the way, leading to a very predictable outcome. Kids may like it, though I don't want to be the one to explain why God would pick sides in a sports contest, especially since He and his angels ought to be well aware that answering Roger's prayers will not lead to the outcome he so desperately desires. Oh well, if you can put your brain on hold and get misty-eyed over a stadium full of spectators flapping their arms like angels, you ought to have a good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney at it's best, May 5 2004
This review is from: Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
A spiritual film is what you could name it.Angels really have a presence on the field.They affect how the Basball Team the Angels play.They can help make dazzling catches and hits.Sounds unbelievedle.It is! To better understand the film you have to have imganination.A Christian know Angels do exsict So it's easy for them to not be cynical.Now..I know Angels don't do all those crazy stunts.But it's a very touching moment when Danny Glover the Angel informs his mystic friend Roger,A boy whose father left him,that one of the teamates is going to die and become a basball angel.He knows this six monthes before it happens.It really helps a person to think about divinity.As the foster mother says,players often pray before their big moment to God,so why are Angels running around so strange.Actually a thought provaking film Great for Families.(I heard a reviewer on Amazon critizes the boy Roger for believing his father will take him back if the Angels win the Penent.Geez,He's a child,clinging onto a lost hope.One in despair will ask for the impossible.And the Impossible happened.Just not the way Roger expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs Up!, July 21 2003
By A Customer
Although I wouldn't say 5 stars, this is a really great movie. Wow! What can I say? I've watched this movie around 7 times and it just doesn't get old. It's great! I don't usually cry when I watch movies, but this is one movie I cry when I watch (the happy sort of cry). The "angel scene where everyone stands up at the end (whatever you want to call it)" is really moving. It's especially good for baseball fans. You really feel the excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab7bad2c)

This product

Angels In The Outfield (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews