Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars charming Anime
SAILOR MOON is a charming Anime series based on the popular Manga comic books. Follow Serena and her friends as they battle Queen Beryl and her minions from the Negaverse!
Fighting evil is a tough job and even superheroes like Sailor Moon and Sailor Mercury can use a little help from their friends...especially when it is someone you can trust. Get ready for all-new...
Published on July 21 2002 by Byron Kolln

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Bad Dub
These DVDs contain DiC's dub of the first and second "Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon" series from Japan, Classic and R. They are in English only; there are no original Japanese episodes. The episode previews and the Sailor Says segments are included, but the commercial bumpers aren't. There are no bonus features except for previews of other ADV titles. The DVDs and...
Published on March 7 2004 by Mark Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Bad Dub, March 7 2004
By 
Mark Moore (Homosassa, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
These DVDs contain DiC's dub of the first and second "Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon" series from Japan, Classic and R. They are in English only; there are no original Japanese episodes. The episode previews and the Sailor Says segments are included, but the commercial bumpers aren't. There are no bonus features except for previews of other ADV titles. The DVDs and the episodes aren't numbered, so you'll have to check either an online episode guide or Amazon to figure out which volume to watch first. 6 of the episodes were skipped, and 2 of the episodes were chopped up and merged into 1. In fact, all of the episodes have been chopped up. DiC felt the need to remove or alter shots of Japanese writing (but not all of them), add in extra bits of animation, and use weird scene transition effects. The translations are pretty inaccurate for the most part, and some of the casting (such as Luna and Molly's voices) are totally wrong. The dialogue is also dumbed down to make the series (which was originally intended for junior high and high school girls) suitable for children. Sailor Moon and Sailor Mars each have 2 voice actors. Tuxedo Mask has 3. Rini's voice is really annoying. The dub was my first exposure to Sailor Moon, though (well, technically, "Lunarock" was), and it's an okay series as long as you don't compare it to the original Japanese series. If you've never seen Sailor Moon before, get the "Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon" boxed sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont get this buy the season1 uncut boxset, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Mami (Somewhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
hi to all u moonie fans i just wanted to say you should get the season 1boxset thats totally uncut with subs. If you love sailor moon get the ultamate boxset lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No uncut version. Yuck., April 14 2003
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
[I LOVE Sailor Moon. That's the reason I have to be so critical in this review.]
For those of you who don't know, Sailor Moon is an anime series about a group of girls with the ability to transform into warriors so that they can battle the forces of evil. It sounds like something that's been done to death, but this series pulls it off nicely. Each episode of the series contains a good deal of dramatic action, with some comedy thrown in to make the series a bit more appealing. Originally it was intended for pre-teenage girls in Japan, but it has drawn in fans from many age groups and nationalities. The series began airing in America as early as 1995, but the episodes were horribly edited, and the dialogue was butchered. SOME ENTIRE EPISODES NEVER EVEN AIRED IN THE STATES! The poor time slot didn't help things ever, and eventually it vanished without a trace, until it was picked up by the Cartoon Network, which aired several new episodes, but these suffered the same flaws as their early North American predecessors.
This DVD is of the series as it appeared on Cartoon Network, and that is NOT a good thing. The main reason I buy anime DVDs is for an uncut Japanese subtitled version, AND THIS DVD DOESN'T HAVE ONE! That pretty much ruins the DVD. IT IS AN UNWRITTEN RULE THAT ANIME DVDS HAVE AN UNCUT JAPANESE SUBTITILED TRACK. The only thing that saves this from a single star is that it's part of the Sailor Moon series. If you want the uncut version of these episodes, you're not gonna find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charming Anime, July 21 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
SAILOR MOON is a charming Anime series based on the popular Manga comic books. Follow Serena and her friends as they battle Queen Beryl and her minions from the Negaverse!
Fighting evil is a tough job and even superheroes like Sailor Moon and Sailor Mercury can use a little help from their friends...especially when it is someone you can trust. Get ready for all-new excitement, as Raye discovers that she is Sailor Mars and joins the team. It will take the combined power of all three to defeat the evil being unleashed onto the Earth in this stunning second volume of SAILOR MOON!
Contains the following episodes - "An Uncharmed Life", "Nightmare in Dreamland", "Cruise Blues", "Fight to the Finish", "Match Point for Sailor Moon" and "An Unnatural Phenomena".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Otaku, June 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
I love Sailor Moon. Who cares both versions are one in the same show. Grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What? It's not bilingual?!!, May 27 2002
By 
L. Hill "sailorharmony" (Greenville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
The season itself it just fine, being that I want to get all of the seasons on DVD. However, I was a bit disappointed to only see a dubbed version in English only. It's a bit weird that the Sailor Moon S and Sailor Moon SuperS seasons were (and are still being) released in both English and Japanese and were uncut, yet the DVDs from the first season are not. I would have preferred this DVD to be like the other 2 seasons, but I guess I can't complain too much. Originally, I would have tried to record these same episodes in the same format at home. I suppose something is better than nothing. I just hope they don't release a 'dub only' DVD of the R season...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I think I'm going to be sick....., May 25 2002
By 
"cosmicdragon" (Lexington, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
The Sailor Scouts themselves would keel over if they seen these DVD's of the first season coming out. We should be getting the first of the Sailor Moon season the same way we are getting Sailor Moon S & Sailor Moon Super S. The episodes on the second DVD should be:
7. Usagi/Serena reconsiders! The way to stardom is tuff.
8. Is the genius girl a monster? The brain-washing cram school.
9. Usagi's/Serena's misfortune! Beware of the rushing clock.
10. The cursed bus! The fighter of flames, Mars, appears.
11. Usagi/Serena & Rei face off? The nightmare of dreamland.
12. I want a boyfriend too. Trap of the cruise ship.
With this DVD's release we are missing 3 episodes. By the time all the Sailor Moon season 1 DVD's are released a total of 6 episodes will never be seen. To make it worse is one of the episodes skipped is the next to last episode.
I would advise against getting the first season Sailor Moon DVD set. Tape the show off TV. You'll be getting the EXACT same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More from Sailor Moon, March 4 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2) (DVD)
The first DVDs of Sailor Moon series 1 are edited and are dubbed English only, a huge disappointment for fans who, up until now, have been given a choice of original japanese language with english subtitles and the English dub on an uncut DVD edition.
These edited dubbed DVDs could go up until Sailor Moon epsiode 80 (The end of the Sailor Moon R series) or hopefully before then they will stop making the simply edited dub version and expand into bilingual uncut.
Thankfully episodes 81 onwards are the uncut bilingual DVDs that are already available for purchase.
I can only hope that the producers of the uncut DVDs will be the ones who (if) get the rights to produce Sailor Moon: SailorStars, the last series which hasn't been translated at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sailor Moon - Sailor Scouts to the Rescue (TV Show, Vol. 2)
CDN$ 169.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews