Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This review is for the original recording
When Ozzy Osbourne got fired/quit Black Sabbath in the late 1970's, no one thought he would return to the lime light. Years of drinking and doing drugs had come to a kind of peak, and when Sharon (later to be Ozzy's wife) found Ozzy, he was in bad condition. Sharon became Ozzy's manager (to upset her dad who was Sabbath's manager?) and the years have proven that she sure...
Published on May 5 2004 by L. B. Ivarsson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take a stand -- avoid this version!
Buy the original mix of these early Ozzy albums, not these 2002 remixes/remasters. So the story goes, Sharon was a little ticked when bassist Bob Daisley, and drummer Lee Kerslake, wanted royalties for the songs they wrote. For shame! Casual Oz-fans don't know this, but the diehards do: Daisley and Kerslake (especially Daisley) were major songwriters for this band...
Published on April 22 2010 by LeBrain


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take a stand -- avoid this version!, April 22 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
Buy the original mix of these early Ozzy albums, not these 2002 remixes/remasters. So the story goes, Sharon was a little ticked when bassist Bob Daisley, and drummer Lee Kerslake, wanted royalties for the songs they wrote. For shame! Casual Oz-fans don't know this, but the diehards do: Daisley and Kerslake (especially Daisley) were major songwriters for this band. Sharon had then-current Ozzy members Mike Bordin (Faith No More) and Rob Trujillo (Suicidal Tendencies) re-record the bass and drums.

Sharon's pettiness has gone as far as purposely mis-spelling names of musicians she has disputes with. Witness "Bob Daisy" (Daisley) and "Phil Susan" (Soussan) appearing on Ozzy reissues. Pathetic, Sharon.

The original versions and the 1995 remasters do contain the original bass and drum parts. They are not hard to find. They are not even hard to find at good prices. They are also easy to spot. The original issue CDs on Sony have a white spine with red text. The 1995 remasters have a little tiny picture of the cover within a coloured square that says OZZY. Both sound fine and are superior to the 2002 remix.

Take a stand. Don't buy this. There's no reason to. Yeah, there's the bonus track, "You Lookin' At Me Lookin' At You". It is a great song, as good as the album itself, but rather than buy this, just pick up a copy of the original 12" single. They too are not hard to find. If you buy this CD, you don't own the real Blizzard of Ozz.

Some people will say, "Oh come on, this album doesn't sound bad, it sounds fine to me." Sure, casual Oz-fans might not notice the difference because they don't know how it's supposed to sound. You can tell the difference. It doesn't sound right. And let's face it, there's just something creepy about Sharon having two guys re-record the parts, who were just highschool kids when this album was first made. These guys never met Randy Rhoads. Daisley and Kerslake have been consistently snubbed and put down by the Oz-camp for almost 20 years now. If you care at all about integrity, then you need to buy the original mix, the version that contains performances by the guys who actually wrote the songs and were in the studio when the magic was happening.

As an added insult, Sharon said, "Because of Daisley and Kerslake's abusive and unjust behaviour, Ozzy wanted to remove them from these recordings. We turned a negative into a positive by adding a fresh sound to the original albums." Fresh sound? Isn't that like George Lucas claiming that Star Wars was better when Greedo shot first?

Avoid. Besides, as a collector, it's way more fun tracking down something that's a little more scarce.

No stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total trash, July 14 2004
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
This just shows how dumb the Osbourne camp really is. They think that they can stick a new part over something and still catch the minute timing qualities of the original. It cannot be done to suit the discriminating ear of fans who have listened to these songs for 24 years. The fans know every single mistake and triumph within the music. This is a pathetic example of cutting off your nose to spite your face. The Osbournes simply didn't want to pay Lee or Bob their fair share. Contracts aside, they are the people along with Randy who created this music. In my opinion; Mr. Osbourne has made a mistake that unfortunately because of his massive wealth, he will not suffer from, and the only victims are the musicians who originally recorded. Maybe there is something deeper in the reasoning behind this pathetic, sloppy, awful, version of this music. Well obviously the points are, save your money, and go to garage sales and second hand record stores to find the original if you must have it. I fortunately borrowed a copy from a friend and didn't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS ONE BIG MISTAKE!!!!!, May 29 2004
By 
Rob Michaels "axe7734" (portage, mi. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
Before anybody says, 'How could this album only get one star?', let me say, IT ISN'T THE ORIGINAL RECORDING! I think most of the other reviewers agree that re-recording the bass & drum parts was one big mistake! Like the original Star Wars trilogy, the original album is a classic. Why screw with it? And the packaging is very misleading because you don't know you're getting a re-recorded CD until you buy it and open it, and then it's too late. Not that the new bass & drums sound bad, but they are totally unnecessary. The bonus track however, "You Lookin' At Me Lookin' At you" is actually pretty good, but it still doesn't excuse what was done to this once-excellent album. I give the original recording about FOUR stars, but, sorry, Ozzy, this one only gets ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This review is for the original recording, May 5 2004
By 
L. B. Ivarsson (Rock City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
When Ozzy Osbourne got fired/quit Black Sabbath in the late 1970's, no one thought he would return to the lime light. Years of drinking and doing drugs had come to a kind of peak, and when Sharon (later to be Ozzy's wife) found Ozzy, he was in bad condition. Sharon became Ozzy's manager (to upset her dad who was Sabbath's manager?) and the years have proven that she sure has a talent for her trade.
In 1980, Ozzy released his first solo album ("BLIZZARD OF OZZ") and even to this day (almost 25 years later) it's considered to be one of the finest metal albums ever recorded. The line up is of course Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), the by then unknown Randy Rhoads (R.I.P) on guitar, bass player Bob Daisley (later to join Gary Moore) and drummer Lee Kerslake (ex Uriah Heep). The original album includes only nine songs but the standard in material is surprisingly high. Four of the songs are real classics - the opening rocker "I don't know", the melodic master piece "Crazy train" (just as great sung by Pat Boone in a different version as the theme song to MTV's "The Osbournes"), the immortal and best Ozzy Osbourne song ever "Mr. Crowley", and the alcohol tasting "Suicide solution" which resulted in a law sue. Then there's a nice ballad in "Goodbye to romance" and a couple of steamy rockers by the name of "No bone movies" and "Steal away". The rather dark "Revelation" and the short instrumental piece "Dee" might not be equally great but that doesn't matter because "BLIZZARD OF OZZ" is still one of the finest when it comes to heavy metal - a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard of Sabbath..., March 9 2004
By 
David Carling (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
After being forsaken by Black Sabbath in 1979, John "Ozzy" Osbourne took to a drugs rampage fuelled incessantly by copious amounts of alcohol or anything else he had to hand to empty down his gullet. Enter Sharon Arden, daughter of Music Architect Don Arden, and after a blue dispute that would taint both of their lives for years to come, Sharon acquired Ozzy's contract and set him on the road to recovery. Recruiting Classical Guitarist Randy Rhoads, for many the Only Ozzy Osbourne Guitarist, and in March 1980 sat down to record what would be his debut solo album. In September 1980, 'Blizzard of Ozz' was released, reaching No. 7 in the UK charts, and a year later in the USA.
Opening up with 'I Don't Know', Rhoads's mind-blowing picking was instantaneously apparent, spitting out riffs left, right and centre. Ozzy's vocals had returned, Sabbath's front man had done it once more and as with the Track 2 'Crazy Train' Ozzy's vocals and musical aid Ozzy had made an album that would live on eternally. 'Ozzy's serenade 'Goodbye to Romance' was a Ballad worthy of Singer's voice. Track 4 'Dee' is an instrumental highlighting Rhoads's Classical background. Track 5 'Suicide Solution', which would later bring a lawsuit against Osbourne claiming that his song, encouraged a young boy to take his own life. Another ballad that illustrates Ozzy's countless mediums. Track 6 'Mr. Crowley' based on the Dark Magician Alistair Crowley has one of the supreme opening chords to ever grace an Ozzy album. Tracks 7 & 8 'No Bone Movies' and 'Revelation (Mother Earth)' are both fine Ozzy tracks, but quite frankly the low point of the album. However by Track 9 'Steal Away (The Night)' ends the album how it begun, with sharp chord shapes and squealing strings, this is the precise way to end a seamless debut album.
Aged just 23 years old, the pint-sized Rhoads's was Ozzy's wake-up infusion that he so desperately needed which sadly, in Sabbath, Iommi denied him. Praised so warmly that two-thirds of the tracks still appear in his current concerts and Crazy Train which was first re-released after the tragic death of Rhoads two years later after a biplane he was a passenger in hurtled into a nearby cottage, killing him instantaneously; and later as the theme tune for the hot MTV show 'The Osbourne's'. A stand-alone album with all the hallmarks of becoming a prodigy album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Still Waiting for a Remaster of the REAL "Blizzard of Ozz", March 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
Ozzy Osbourne should be ashamed of this release -- editing out the original drum and bass tracks and having them re-recorded. This is therefore an entirely different album than the one released over 20 years ago. And the reason for Ozzy's changes don't even have to do with quality -- instead, they're because of petty personal differences with Lee Kerslake and Bob Daisley, the original musicians.
Some background: After firing Kerslake and Daisley in 1981 because they were too fat and thus looked like pirates (I'm not making that up), Ozzy Osbourne ended up in a royalties dispute with them. After settling with the record company in the mid '80s, Kerslake and Daisley sued Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne in 1998. So the Osbournes responded by deleting Kerslake and Daisley from the first two Ozzy Osbourne solo albums -- just to spite them. Way to put the fans first!! Therefore, even if the performances were better on the new version (which is not the case), this album should be rejected on principle.
What's particularly ashame is how desperate the original is for a remaster; it sounds tinny and empty compared with newer CD recordings. Still, I'd recommend buying a used copy of that release instead. Ozzy Osbourne does not deserve a royalty for what he's done, and a used one will be cheaper for you, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Re-Recording Is Still Good-Not As Good As The Original, Feb. 22 2004
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
MY OPINION: When I heard that Ozzy had done this (rerecording the bass and drums) I was angry. How could he do that to classics?! But then I heard them, and I must admit, it's ok. Mike Bordin and Robert Turjillo do a good job, but it's not up to the original's standards. It's just to different.
1.I Don't Know-great song, but the bass sounds funny on here. 9/10
2.Crazy Train-this song can't be messed up. 10/10
3.Goodbye to Romance-this song still remains a great song, even though the drums sound funky. 9/10
4.Dee-worthless, but a good instrumental. 5/10
5.Suicide Solution-very contriversial song, but it's awesome and the riffs are amazingly genious. 10/10
6.Mr. Crowley-great song, and it's not a tribute to Aleister Crowley as many people thingk 10/10
7.No Bone Movies-great song and cool riffs 9/10
8.Revelation (Mother Earth)-my favorite song on here. The lyrics are good and so is the music. 10/10
9.Steal Away (The Night)-this song comes directly after #8 (meaning the 2 run together). Cool song. 8/10
*BONUS*-You Lookin At Me Lookin At You-this song isn't very good. It doesn't even sound like Randy. 7/10
BOTTOM LINE: Though the album is different, it's still very good. Like the other reviewers say, buy the other version with the small picture on the front with the word Ozzy going down the side. It's better, just cause it's the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS MISREPRESENTATION, PURE AND SIMPLE, Nov. 15 2003
By 
Meteor (North America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
If only I had known that this wasn't the same album I bought in 1981 when I was 15 years old, I sure wouldn't have bought it! I thought that it sounded different, and then when I read the liner notes I knew it wasn't the same album!
I have lost what respect I had for Ozzy, that he would erase Bob Daisley and Lee Kerslake (and I don't have anything against Mike Bordin or Robert Trujillo; they do a commendable job). They did an excellent job musically and Bob Daisley was Ozzy's lyrical mouthpiece (much as Geezer Butler was in Sabbath days), though he's tried to deny it for years (and what's wrong with the Aussie bass master? I've met him and he's a nice guy!). And what of the "bonus" track "You Lookin' At Me Lookin' At You"? Is Randy Rhoads indeed on this? I didn't think any other material existed with him, except for "You Said It All," which I got on a vinyl EP years ago in Canada.
If Ozzy can do this, then Tony Iommi should "re-master" all the Ozzy-era Sabbath albums with a different vocalist (i.e.; one who can sing - I think Tony Martin is still available).
The only reason I got this is because of Rhoads' guitar work. At least Ozzy didn't wipe that...I think...I hope...that's the only reason for the two stars. A heck of a way to honour Randy's memory!
Thank God I still have an original cassette of "Diary Of A Madman."
Stick to MTV, Ozzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A shame...., Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
It's been over a year since I bought this travesty, and time hasn't diminished my outrage over the sonic butchering this once-great record has received. Not only is the bass mixed in way too heavily and the drums too flat and out of time, but Randy Rhoads' guitar work too suffers from the bad remixing job performed on the original tracks. In the process of mixing out the original (and superior) bass tracks, many of Randy's guitar fills (parts dubbed under the lead guitar track, especially during solos and other parts to round out the sound), are either missing or abruptly cut off. Open chords, like those found near the start of "Crazy Train", come to abrupt stops, where before they would fade into the harmony between the bass line and the lead guitar line. As such, there is no sonic connection between the guitar and bass, resulting in a spare sound where the two instruments seem to compete instead of compliment. So much for preserving Randy Rhoads' legacy. The difference between this "remastering" and the original recording is like night and day to anyone who isn't tone-deaf to begin with. Avoid this release at all costs, and find youself a good used copy of the 1995 reissue, which preserved the craftsmanship of the talented artists who created this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Can you sink any lower?, Oct. 6 2003
This review is from: Blizzard Of Ozz (Audio CD)
[This review will cover ALL the flaws of this new remaster series.]
Ozzy Osbourne's solo debut album, Blizzard Of Ozz, has been referred to as a quintessential metal classic my a number of rock and roll fans. And in 2002, the record company announced plans to rerelease the entire Ozzy catalogue with BONUS TRACKS! Sounds too good to be true, doesn't it?
If you said yes, you're correct.
THE 2002 REISSUES OF BLIZZARD OF OZZ AND DIARY OF A MADMAN FEATURE RERECORDED DRUMS AND BASS. IF THIS WASN'T BAD ENOUGH, THESE PARTS WERE MIXED TERRIBLY! THIS ISN'T EVEN MENTIONED ON THE PACKAGE! The reason for the rerecordings is as follows - Ozzy was getting sued by two ex-bandmates, so he rerecorded their parts so he wouldn't have to pay up! So Ozzy has defiled his two finest solo albums, and ordered production of the original versions to be ceased. That means the readily available editions of the albums are the ruined ones.
The sins don't stop there! Bark At The Moon has been horribly remixed as well! Some songs have had parts deleted, and some parts, oddly enough, sound WORSE THAN EVER! What was Ozzy smoking when he decided to remix these classics?
The Ozzman's sins continue. THE ENTIRE OZZY CATALOGUE WAS NOT REISSUED! Speak Of The Devil, his first live solo album, has been deleted since he "doesn't like it"! Ozzy even dislikes Shot In The Dark now, so ANY RELEASE that had that on it has been DELETED. That means The Ultimate Sin, Just Say Ozzy and Live And Loud won't get reissued. The Ozzman Cometh WAS reissued, but they deleted it from the tracklist, and replaced all the Blizzard and Diary tracks with the rerecorded ones!
And last, but certainly not least, this series is a wasted opportunity. Every reissue from No Rest For The Wicked on is JUST FINE in terms of sound quality, and they even have bonus tracks. But unfortunately, they don't fill the discs to the brim with them, meaning many Ozzy songs remain unavailable on CDs. Among these are his cover of Purple Haze, which is a regular masterpiece.
As if this wasn't bad enough, this reissue series was accompanied by the release of Live At Budokan, a new Ozzy live album. Sounds good, right? WRONG! The album is PURE GARBAGE!
FINAL VERDICT: DO NOT BUY THE REISSUES OF THE FOLLOWING ALBUMS: Blizzard Of Ozz, Diary Of A Madman, Bark At The Moon, and The Ozzman Cometh. Also don't buy Live At Budokan. If you decide to buy one of the albums just listed, make sure it's the 1995 version (which features shrunken cover art with a border and OZZY written down the right side in huge letters. To say this series of so-caleed remasters is disgraceful is an understatement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blizzard Of Ozz
Blizzard Of Ozz by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 9 to 11 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews