Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best...
McCabe and Mrs. Miller illuminates (and debunks) what life was like on the frontier in the late 1800s-early 1900s. Interwoven with songs by Leonard Cohen's (which seem like they were written for the movie), this film shows Warren Beatty at his best in addition to another outstanding performance by Julie Christie. It's Robert Altman's (director) at his best!
Published 17 months ago by Don Myers

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's all the fuss?
Thirty years ago this film left me feeling cold and empty, but after seeing these five star reviews I decided to give it another chance. I was ready to admit that perhaps I had missed something in my youthful days. No such luck. This film did not age gracefully. I am a great fan of Leonard Cohen but thirty years ago he lacked the deep somber tones he does so well today...
Published on Nov. 4 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best..., Feb. 26 2013
By 
Don Myers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: McCabe & Mrs. Miller (DVD)
McCabe and Mrs. Miller illuminates (and debunks) what life was like on the frontier in the late 1800s-early 1900s. Interwoven with songs by Leonard Cohen's (which seem like they were written for the movie), this film shows Warren Beatty at his best in addition to another outstanding performance by Julie Christie. It's Robert Altman's (director) at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, unique 'Western' that turns a genre upside down. But no DVD in Canada?!?, April 21 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mccabe and Mrs. Miller (VHS Tape)
A beautiful tone poem of a film. The story is a bit thin, but the cinematography, the Leonard Cohen songs, the style of the acting creates a western unlike any other, at once surreal and dreamlike, and yet somehow also hyper-real, as though we were eavesdropping through history. The first half has an intentionally meandering feel, that tightens ever more to a terrifically tense climax. This is a film much more about tone, mood, and feeling than story or even character. Sadly the DVD transfer of this amazing looking film is mediocre at best. If ever a film begged for the Criterion treatment or Blu-ray, or both, this is it.

What's even worse is that the DVD isn't even available at Amazon.ca! However it is on the US Amazon. As much as it's an imperfect transfer, that's still wildly preferable to an aging VHS tape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable portrayal, Aug. 4 2008
By 
Kenneth Cohen "misanthrope" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this movie in the theatre many years ago, my first exposure to Robert Altman's fluid style. The movie is a portrait - the cinematography is beautiful, it left me with the same feelings I get while looking at great photographs. I was stunned by the dark mood the movie creates and by some of my feelings, especially my shock at the central murder scene on the bridge.

I thought Keith Carradine's role as the cowboy is the best acting in this film, and if you watch him play Bill Hickok in Deadwood, you'll hardly believe you're seeing the same actor, so great are his talents.

This movie has remained on my all-time favourites list since 1971. But you will not find "excitement" or "action" here. It's simply an exceptional portrait of a special time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST BY ONE OF THE BEST, June 14 2007
By 
Bernie Koenig (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I will keep this short since so much has already been said, but I was recently making my own lists and realized that this film is in my all time top 5. This is the film where style MEETS substance, or perhaps where style DETERMINES substance.

Altman is arguably the most important American director after Welles. His use of panorama and flow---every tv show today uses Altman's flow through technique---make you want to watch this film over and over. Once for the story, once just to appreciate his fluid camera motion, once to appreciate how he maintains large groups and then focuses on one person in the group, and once again to watch how it all works.

Even Altman's failures, and he had his share of those, are still interesting to watch. I would rather watch a bad Altman film than films by most other directors, and that especially means directors like Woody Allen and Martin Scorsese, who i think are highly over rated.

But this is one of Altman's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best kind of movie--as good as it gets, July 29 2002
By 
This review is from: McCabe & Mrs. Miller (DVD)
Put together Robert Altman, Warren Beatty, and Julie Christie 30 years ago and you have an excellent piece of work. This is a classic tragedy, and colors, lighting, scenery, behavior of chatacters, all mingle to act out a story whose end is predicted in the opening scenes by the singer in the background. The conclusion comes inexorably, always foreshadowed by the ballad in the background. In between we have vices, beauty, nearly everything from the human condition. Don't miss this beautiful, tragic story of greed, love, and hopelessness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+++, Nov. 21 2011
This review is from: McCabe & Mrs. Miller (DVD)
Fast service. Very quick delivery. Item in perfect condition. Highly recommand this seller to potential buyers. Will buy again. A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only a Handful of Great Westerns & This Is One of Them!, July 4 2002
This review is from: McCabe & Mrs. Miller (DVD)
"Red River" and "Unforgiven" top my list of the greatest Westerns ever made. Right behind those classics is this film. Director Robert Altman gives us the West as it probably really was if you can peel back the stuff of myth and legend. Warren Beatty and Julie Christie play the hardly heroic leads who are trying to reinvent themselves in the West out of lack of other choices. Beatty is a very flawed, somewhat cowardly entrepreneur while Christie is a madam for the local prostitutes, potentially a much better entrepreneur, albeit a bit of a hop head. They have an affair of sorts that is about the best this twosome can ever hope to have and that's not saying much. After you experience living in this hard scrabble, barely standing town, you will be so glad you were not a hearty pioneer! I know I am. There is nothing glamorous or romantic about this existence in the least and Altman does not flinch from the task of laying before us the unvarnished West. Beatty and Christie also do not flinch from playing these disreputable founders of the Old West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John C., March 17 2002
By 
john caulfield (Old Bridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: McCabe & Mrs. Miller (DVD)
McCabe and Mrs. Miller, in the opinion of this observer, is among the 10 best films made in the United States in the second half of the 20th century. There is a subtlety to this film that is unlike any other made during this most fertile period of American cinema. The cinematography (by the great Vilmos Zsigmond), sound editing, and - most important ly- acting are nonpareil, especially the performances of Julie Christie and John Schuck. The film established Robert Altman as a director and writer to be reckoned with. The experience of watching this film - even on tape and DVD - is blissful, and reminds one of the potential that American cinema presented between 1967-1975, before "Jaws' and "Star Wars" altered the economic landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Release on DVD!!!, Aug. 31 2001
By 
David A. Silva "cubby1102" (Elk Grove, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mccabe and Mrs. Miller (VHS Tape)
This is one of the great films of the last 50 years. Altman at his best along with a soundtrack by Leonard Cohen that matches the poetry of the photography beat by beat, and a one more thing... It is impossible to watch this film and not appreciate that Warren Beatty must be one of the most underappreciated actors working.
This great film needs to be released on DVD. Just for the scene with the cross being raised on the church at the beginning of Leonard Cohen's rendition of "Sisters Of Mercy" alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Contemporary Western, May 1 2001
This review is from: Mccabe and Mrs. Miller (VHS Tape)
Simply brilliant in every aspect. Acting, photography, writing, direction, sound track etc. Altman has crafted one of his finest and most enduring films as well as one of the top five best films of the 70's. Warner needs to issue this on video and DVD in widescreen to give it proper justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McCabe & Mrs. Miller
McCabe & Mrs. Miller by Robert Altman (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 14.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews