Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great show
In a time where good television shows are few and far between, one learns to appreciate the genius of the HBO networks' hit TV shows. Prime time and "Late Nite" TV were formerly dominated by the "main networks": ABC, NBC, CBS, etc... That was until HBO got in on the action. With shows like Six Feet Under, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and the Sopranos, HBO is probably the...
Published on Jan. 1 2004 by Nick Lush

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars [Bad] packaging and zero extras, again. . .
Love the material of this show, and the third season is where it all came together and the characters started moving. All the characters come from the same drag queen with multiple personality disorder (Samantha in particular, though delicious, is all fantasy), and Carrie as a character is SO jewish, in terms of her bookishness and always processing everyone ELSE's...
Published on July 19 2002 by Enzo Lombard


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What a great show, Jan. 1 2004
By 
Nick Lush (Lawrence, KS) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
In a time where good television shows are few and far between, one learns to appreciate the genius of the HBO networks' hit TV shows. Prime time and "Late Nite" TV were formerly dominated by the "main networks": ABC, NBC, CBS, etc... That was until HBO got in on the action. With shows like Six Feet Under, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and the Sopranos, HBO is probably the leading purveyor of good TV today. Sex and the City is probably one of its most enjoyable shows. So that's saying something. As a teenage straight guy, I was definitely a late comer to the series, as, well, let's just say the male heterosexual 18-25 year-old market is not one that Sex and the City is a major factor in. But it damn well should be. This show is written BRILLIANTLY, and takes turns at being both hillarious and touching. It even makes me like Sarah Jessica Parker, and I haven't liked her since "LA Story". Each of the girls has something different to offer us as viewers. Carrie (Parker) keeps us moving from scenario to scenario, Samantha (Kim Cattral) is a single-and-loving-it type that provides much of the sexual humor, Miranda (Cynthia Nixon)is endearing if not a little pathetic, and Charlotte (Kristin Davis) is just simply adorable. Not many shows make me yell at the screen or cheer while I'm watching, but after just two episodes, even I was starting to feel anxiety watching Carrie and Big tip-toe around their issues. Anyone who appreciates great writing and originality will love this show. Also, I have to tip my hat to the people writing the show, and especially the corporate execs at HBO for having the ... to go out while they're still relatively on top. That doesn't happen very often in today's profit-hungry entertainment industry! (I'm looking at you Wachowski brothers) I don't know what to expect from the final 8 episodes, but I do know when that 8th episode rolls around, the day after it is gonna be a very emotional one for the thousands of devoted fans that this show has captured the hearts of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Show on Television, July 22 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Okay, let's start off with just saying that I started watching Sex and the City during it's fourth season. After I saw a few episodes, I went to Best Buy and bought The Complete First & Second Seasons of Sex and the City.
My eyes were glued to the tv. Side-splitting humor combined with four sexy women and I say you have a winner. One episode after another after another. It never gets old. This show really explores sexuality and what women think about it. I find this show very informative yet funny. Sometimes, I even forget I'm watching a show. I feel like I'm in NYC, with the ladies, talking about sex.
When The Complete Third Season came out on DVD, I bought it the first day it was for sale. Still great sexual humor. I couldn't get enough of it. But in the third season, the show started showing a more dramatic side of the characters. Not that I'm saying its bad, I just like it when you can have humor with information, with drama. And not too much drama, just enough.
As I was watching The Complete Fourth Season, I began to realize, I'm starting to connect with these characters. Thats amazing!
I highly anticipate the fifth and sixth seasons on DVD. The fifth season was short but sassy and comedic. Although I have only seen the first 5 episodes of the sixth and final season, I'm sure it'll be just as good or even better then the last 5 seasons. Though it will be sad to see the ladies go, I'm hoping they'll make a Sex and the City movie, or something to keep us SATC fans going.
So if you're out there...contemplating whether or not you should buy any of the show's DVDs, don't think twice about it, order them NOW. I recommend you order all so you can get the full "dose" of the show. So please, order the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth seasons of this wonderful and fabulous show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, July 7 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
You don't have to worship restaurants, martinis, or expensive shoes to enjoy the addictive indulgence called "Sex and the City". It is a pleasant, if amoral diversion. There are no real lessons to be learned, just a few smiles and glimpses of the high life in New York City. In this third season, our heroine, sex columnist Carrie Bradshaw, finds and loses and new boy friend, rediscovers and loses an old boyfriend, and another friend finds, loses, rediscovers and once more loses a husband. Along the way, "Sex" offers us dream-like visions of New York as the singles capital of the world. In one episode, Bradshaw teaches a class on the subject. She does a poor job; perhaps she hasn't really learned her own lessons.
Setting aside the fact that time, money and work seem to be irrelevant to these four women, this Seinfeld-like quartet offers four versions of the consummate thirty-something (and perhaps then some) single Manhattan female. The weather is unerringly beautiful. Money flows out faster than the alcohol pours in. Men slip through their fingers faster than the feisty foursome can find them. Carrie is oh-so-petite, easy on the eye (despite the unruly mess of roots and tones that constitute her hair color) and hard on the heart and the wallet. She is indecisive and inconsistent. Her brief 'philosophical' reflections that center her column and the title of each episode disguise a life otherwise void of reflection. Samantha, the public relations executive, is sexually obsessed and without qualms and, apparently, traditional morals. Meeting an equally active thirteen-year-old girl only sets her back for a brief moment. Sam feels merely old, not chastened. 'Safe sex' and any STD seem to have eluded her as she cuts a very wide sexual swath through the city. Miranda, now a partner in her law firm, has her own outlandish red hair and a cloying bartender boy friend who allows her to manifest her own multiple insecurities, be they in her career or in her brief encounter with orthodontic braces. She is the 'serious' one of the group, the professional woman climbing the corporate ladder at great social expense. And Charlotte, the classically beautiful and 'innocent' member of the foursome, is intent on following some self-imposed social-climbing order. She succeeds and quickly fails in each step. She may not have the stamina to keep up with the other three, only the nerve to try.
This series is certainly not for the prudish. The language is blunt, direct, and colorful, with some funny, crude lines. This is bathroom - or locker room -- talk around the coffee shop table. The Legion of Decency would ban it outright. There is no real morally redeeming value. The language is unencumbered but more colorful than crude. The sexual nudity is common (mostly Samantha) but usually 'tasteful', that is, not graphically pornographic. These four women are less role models than they are caricatures that provide comic relief and fantasies for people who think that New York singles' life is easy and glamorous. For those who think the single, rich life in Manhattan is an idyllic existence; this show is the storyboard for that life. Enjoy the scenery, look a little harder beneath the surface, tune out the language and nudity, and you find a pretty harsh, unappealing existence, and perhaps some useful life lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best you can get, March 14 2003
By 
Alex (SAN JOSE, COSTA RICA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Sex and the city (SAC) has it all. Four sucessful women who show the world they have it all. 4 different caracters that reflects how hard is for a woman ,who lives in a city like NY, to date guys.
This is one of the greats achivements from HBO and definetly a must-buy.
You can't get bore of watching SAC. It has just the exact levels of eroticism and sex not to fall into a vulgar show. Besides, the scripts are so smart and not to mention the perfomances: Sara Jessica Parker as the smart columnist, Kristin Davis as the conservative lady, Cynthia Nicholson as the judgemental and last but no least (totally the opposite) the marvelous acting of Kim Kattrall as the bitchy, self-confidence, man-eater Samantha Jones (She's hot and she rules! ;)).
If you had had any experiences on bad dates, bad ruptures, bad romances, etc, etc, etc, .... watch this show you. Wheather you are a guy or a girl, you will identify with the comical situations.
Can't wait for the Fourth Season on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Ladies, Even the Guys Watch it..., Sept. 29 2002
By 
John NY (United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Don't let anyone fool you! I am a 25 yr old man from NYC and every sunday night, I gather around the television with 4 or 5 close friends (many of them men)and wait for our favorite mambo jingle to come on, and Carrie's ballerina dress.
This show is the perfect blend of comedy and therapy. I have much to reflect on after an episode about my own relationships and the foolishness involved.
The questions asked as Carrie writes her articles (the basis for her narration in the series)provide quite stimulating conversation long after the episode has ended.
If you are reading this article, i am sure you have already seen seasons 1 and 2, and really don't need me to urge you to buy this season. However, this season is a favorite of mine because it Introduces Aiden, which could be the perfect guy for Carrie, but--well, you will see for yourself.
This DVD is a great way to get your friends hooked if they havent been already. As a matter of fact, 4 of my friends got hooked through the DVD series and not by watching it as it came out on HBO.
Enjoy for yourself, and raise your martini high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Keeps On Getting Better!, July 27 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Never missing an episode of this HBO masterpiece original program, is on the top of my list. So was getting the Third season to add to my First and Second collections. ................. Being a native of New York City, and having worked, dated, and socialized in the one of a kind, glorious, non-stop party that IS life for those lucky enough to live it here, I can honestly say that "Sex.." captures the mood, spririt, and attitude of all the attractive, successful and confident New York women, and those like them elsewhere. While you watch, you really feel like you know Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda. You are at once, sympathetic to their plight, and happy when they're happy. The characters remain as distinct in season three, as they have been through the past two seasons. However. in season three, I think they even go deeper into what really makes each character so fascinating. ................ There are some very "BIG" plots this time around, as Carrie's on again/off again. Mr. Big, (Chris Noth) goes way off and marries the much younger Natasha. I was as angry about this as Carrie! Of course, after he's committed, he wants Carrie more than ever. She simultaneously tries to juggle two men after meeting a very significant other, a sculptor named Aidan. Despite his complete difference from Big, and his solemn aversion to smoking, Carrie gets herself involved. This becomes the perfect fodder for Big's jealousy after a chance meeting with Carrie and Aidan at a furniture show he's attending with his WIFE. ............... Meanwhile, Charlotte meets Trey (Kyle McLachlan) a doctor who seems to be Mr. Right. A whirlwind romance leads to a proposal when Charlotte pops the suggestion and Trey says "Allrightie" much to her chagrin. Her steadfast resolve in saving "it" for the wedding, may lead to her overlooking a very important piece of the marriage puzzle. ............... As Miranda takes up living with the irritating, but simple and sweet Steve, and Samantha is, well, still Samantha, the four friends have more fun than ever. The season culminates in a foray to the west coast, where well known faces like Vince Vaughn, Hugh Hefner and Sarah Michelle Gellar pop in, are glitzy glamorous fun. Although, why a successful woman like Samantha would buy a fake Fendi handbag is beyond me! ............... For anyone who follows this great show, this third season set is a must-buy, must-keep and a must-see, over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Keeps On Getting Better!, July 27 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Never missing an episode of this HBO masterpiece original program, is on the top of my list. So was getting the Third season to add to my First and Second collections. ................. Being a native of New York City, and having worked, dated, and socialized in the one of a kind, glorious, non-stop party that IS life for those lucky enough to live it here, I can honestly say that "Sex.." captures the mood, spririt, and attitude of all the attractive, successful and confident New York women, and those like them elsewhere. While you watch, you really feel like you know Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda. You are at once, sympathetic to their plight, and happy when they're happy. The characters remain as distinct in season three, as they have been through the past two seasons. However. in season three, I think they even go deeper into what really makes each character so fascinating. ................ There are some very "BIG" plots this time around, as Carrie's on again/off again. Mr. Big, (Chris Noth) goes way off and marries the much younger Natasha. I was as angry about this as Carrie! Of course, after he's committed, he wants Carrie more than ever. She simultaneously tries to juggle two men after meeting a very significant other, a sculptor named Aidan. Despite his complete difference from Big, and his solemn aversion to smoking, Carrie gets herself involved. This becomes the perfect fodder for Big's jealousy after a chance meeting with Carrie and Aidan at a furniture show he's attending with his WIFE. ............... Meanwhile, Charlotte meets Trey (Kyle McLachlan) a doctor who seems to be Mr. Right. A whirlwind romance leads to a proposal when Charlotte pops the suggestion and Trey says "Allrightie" much to her chagrin. Her steadfast resolve in saving "it" for the wedding, may lead to her overlooking a very important piece of the marriage puzzle. ............... As Miranda takes up living with the irritating, but simple and sweet Steve, and Samantha is, well, still Samantha, the four friends have more fun than ever. The season culminates in a foray to the west coast, where well known faces like Vince Vaughn, Hugh Hefner and Sarah Michelle Gellar pop in, are glitzy glamorous fun. Although, why a successful woman like Samantha would buy a fake Fendi handbag is beyond me! ............... For anyone who follows this great show, this third season set is a must-buy, must-keep and a must-see, over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars [Bad] packaging and zero extras, again. . ., July 19 2002
By 
Enzo Lombard (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
Love the material of this show, and the third season is where it all came together and the characters started moving. All the characters come from the same drag queen with multiple personality disorder (Samantha in particular, though delicious, is all fantasy), and Carrie as a character is SO jewish, in terms of her bookishness and always processing everyone ELSE's opinions, it is odd that they claim she came from "somewhere upstate", never mentions a mother and finally, had a father that abandoned her at a young age and is no particular religion. Very thrown-together. Doesn't make sense, never has.
But my real beef is the packaging. At first I thought the plastic cover style (which has remained consistent through the seasons)was cool. Until I cut my hand open on it. Then on eBay I noticed many people selling the DVDs used mention the cover had come off (so either they got cut, too or the packaging wasn't designed for longevity).
I'd love LOTS more info on behind the scenes, outtakes, and they really skimped all of that away. The material is great, but you might as well have video if all you can do is play episodes.
Love the shows though and glad to have them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!, July 7 2002
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
What a great series!!! I had no idea what I was missing! I hadn't watched any of the "Sex and the City" shows on HBO. I wrongly assumed by the title that it would be a shallow show -- WRONG. I now watch it regularly on HBO, never, ever miss it.

This show is not about sex so much as it's about a group of four friends and their journeys through love, loss, and questioning what's really important. The main character, Carrie (played so well by Sarah Jessica Parker), writes a newspaper column where she muses on the meanings of relationships and love. The story revolves around her friendships with the other three characters: Samantha -- a very loose woman who deep down longs for a lasting relationship but goes through lots of sexual escapades; Charlotte -- an uptight, but sweet upper-crust rich girl who loves and loses terribly; and Miranda -- a type A lawyer who can't seem to reconcile sharing her life and her personal space even if she's in love. The characters are very well developed and the actors portray them so well that you completely believe they are who they play.

The greatest pleasure of all is that this show is available on DVD. So if missed the show up until now like I did -- you must buy the DVDs. Be sure to start with season #1 and work your way to this set. I now own the first 3 season sets and anxiously await season 4. I promise you, you won't be disappointed with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From the First Notes of the Theme Song. . ., June 27 2002
By 
"karilynx" (in Oz, of course) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sex and the City: Season 3 (DVD)
I have HBO. And I've been a very avid Sex & the City fan for almost a year now. (Which means I live on those oh-so-infrequent reruns that air on HBO every Tuesday and Friday.)
From the moment that theme song plays, you know this is going to be good. And those very unwholesome but endearing conversations between Samantha (my brother, 11, loves the episode where Samantha seduces the college student of the same name. . .don't worry, I flicked away during the parts that should not be viewed by little eyes.), Charlotte (who doesn't love Charlotte, anyway?), Miranda (the braces were the best), and of course, Carrie (who mirrors me in personality and thought, not to mention those slinkster cool outfits she gets to wear.) Though Sex & the City is a little explicit in places it does show the best side of women's friendships and DON'T WE ALL WANT CARRIE AND BIG JUST TO GET TOGETHER?
The final episode of Season Four is definately my favorite, especially with the "If I ever get lonely" plane tickets for Carrie, giving us some hope.
(Yes, I do realize this review is for Season 3, not 4. They don't have Season 4 on DVD/VHS yet.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex and the City: Season 3
Sex and the City: Season 3 by Michael Spiller (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 37.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews