Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rebounds you'll ever see!
Let's face it...the Second Season for Star Trek: The Next Generation was by far the weakest of the seven, but it did manage to keep the show moving. It introduced the BORG, a villain that would remain a part of Star Trek all the way through Voyager and even into Enterprise. At the end of the second season you saw only 22 episodes due to a strike by the writing staff...
Published on April 13 2004 by Avid Music and DVD Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great set but way too pricey
This is a great set of Star Trek out on Dvd and one of my favorite seasons. I've not purchased this season yet and not sure yet if I will because of the price. I have purchased the first season and several seasons of the X-Files but was very surprised when Buffy season two came out at half the price of both shows!! So in spite of a great set being out I just feel like...
Published on July 22 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rebounds you'll ever see!, April 13 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Let's face it...the Second Season for Star Trek: The Next Generation was by far the weakest of the seven, but it did manage to keep the show moving. It introduced the BORG, a villain that would remain a part of Star Trek all the way through Voyager and even into Enterprise. At the end of the second season you saw only 22 episodes due to a strike by the writing staff. Everyone was wondering how the third season would shape up and if the show would rebound. Boy did it rebound! The third season began with a brand new writing staff including Ronald D. Moore and Michael Pillar and began the series on its final five SUPERB seasons. In the third season we saw the return of Denise Crosby and Tasha Yar and we got a deeper and more personal look at the BORG. Season three also marks the return of Gates McFadden and Dr. Beverly Crusher (GREAT MOVE!). Season three truely ushered in a new era of Star Trek Storytelling.
Personal favorite episodes:
Evolution, The Bonding, Booby Trap, The Enemy, The Defector, Deja Q, A Matter Of Perspective, Yesterday's Enterprise, The Offspring, Sins of the Father, Sarek, and The Best of Both Worlds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars third season, Best of the Best!, March 4 2003
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
This is where Star Trek TNG carved its own niche in television history. This is where it finally grew its own identity and stood alone. Dr. Crusher's return is the precursor to consistently good stories over the next season. Many have already mentioned the classics, "Yesterday's Enterprise," "The Best of Both Worlds," and "Deja Q." In this season, Data will become a father in, "The Offspring," Riker will be accused of murder in, "A Matter of Perspective," and Spock's father will make an appearance in, "Sarek." We also begin a major plot thread concerning Worf and the Klingon Empire in, "Sins of the Father." Geordi falls in love with a holodeck woman in, "booby Trap," not knowing that he'll meet her real version next year. Picard finally gets more action than his first officer in, "Captain's Holiday." Probably the only episode I wasn't crazy about was, "The Bonding," but it has its appeal. The crew finally seems to attain that comfortable, friendly chemistry that eluded them in the first two seasons. Picard has mellowed, Troi stops being a sex symbol and becomes credible and Worf finally gets more screen time. This season combined the perfect blend of drama, action, suspense and character development. It was TNG at its best and it foreshadowed the superior entertainment that TNG would give us until the end of the sixth season. If you are only going to purchase one DVD gift set from TNG, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TNG now has it's running legs!, Sept. 8 2002
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
From the beginning of the third season to the very last show of season 7, "All Good Things,", TNG is now running at full stride. In the Hiatus between seasons two and three, the shows producers made some very good and very important changes. They hired Michael Piller, who from then on showed what a consistently good writer can do. They finally got rid of the terrible spandex uniforms, which from what I've read were actually causing the actors physical problems. They changed the main title, lead in for the show. Overall there were a great many wonderful scenes/episodes to come out of the third season! Some of the shows that really made the season:
The Ensigns of Command
Who Watches the Watchers? (One of the top shows of the series)
Booby Trap
The Enemy
The Vengeance Factor
The Defector
The High Ground
Deja Q
Yesterday's Enterprise
The Offspring
Sins of the Father
Allegiance
Captain's Holiday
Hollow Pursuits
Sarek
Menage A Troi
The Best of Both Worlds Part 1
With Best of Both Worlds, we received the first and inarguably the best cliffhanger of the entire series. If you were like myself, watching these shows every week as they came out. You were probably in agony over the summer to see the season four opener and find out if they got Captain Picard back. This like all the other seasons is worth the hefty price for the DVD. In addition to having all the wonderful shows, there are plenty of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where TNG finally hit its stride, Aug. 13 2002
By 
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Star Trek: The Next Generation didn't really hit its stride until the middle of the third season. After the shaky first season and the short second season, in the third season we finally get to see some The Next Generation in all of its glory.
Unlike most of the 1st and 2nd season episodes, the third season took the time to explore more of the backround of the characters:
1) Worf's backround was thoroughly explained in "SINS OF THE FATHER." In that episode we meet his long lost brother and learn more about his true father.
2) Another noted episode is "THE ENEMY," where Geordi is stranded on a desolate planet with a Romulan. It's great to see the La Forge character actually do something besides speaking techno-babble.
3) "THE OFFSPRING" was a great Data episode and "SAREK" showed that Patrick Stewart is a magnificent actor.
(Keep in mind that there are also other character-driven episodes to watch that are also enjoyable.)
That aside, there were many action-packed episodes:
1) In "THE HIGH GROUND," the Enterprise must battle terrorists after they kidnap Dr. Crusher. A great scene is when the terrorists come aboard the Enterprise and try to hijack it by force so they can destory it.
2)Another action-packed episode is "THE HUNTED," which is about a genetically superior veteran of planetary war that comes aboard the Enterprise. The last 10 minutes of this episode are some of the best minutes I'sve ever seen in an TNG episode.
For comedy lovers, there are also some humurous episodes that let the crew lighten up for a few episodes:
1) In "DEJA Q," Q comes aboard the Enterprise with all of his powers lost, but no one belives him. The "going away present" that he gives to Data at the end is great.
2) In "MENAGE A TROI," Riker, Troi and her mother are captured by Ferengi. Troi's mother ends up giving "ear foreplay" to a Ferengi and Picard is forced to use his knowledge of poetry.
And finally, to the classic of the season, "THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS, PART 1." Just a little better than the second part, this episode is the best overall epsiode. It has great music, stellar acting, awesome special effects, some good action, and THE BEST ENDING EVER TO A TNG EPISODE. The last 7 minutes are outstanding.
Overall, the 3rd season of TNG isn't only a great one; it's the season that started TNG on its four-season greatness. (Seasons 3-6) Finally TNG has hit its stride.
1989-1990; Approx. 20 hours; All episodes are Rated PG for for brief language and mild violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic along with season 5, July 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
I have read review after review that has praised the third season of TNG and I absolutely agree with them. I have always thought that TNG is by far the better Star Trek series compared with, say the new Enterprise series and I'm sorry but that theme tune does not cut it. It is one typical aspect of that series which comes across as obvious back slapping on the part of America (sorry but true) as opposed to TNG that has none of this as I'm sure Gene wanted and is all the better for it. That said, all the scripts are improved as a result of writer reorganisation at the time and it shows.
As a series this ranks as the best along with Season 5 but as a DVD set I have my misgivings. As one other review noted unlike say, X-Files, there are no commentaries of any kind, no deleted scenes or even bloopers. (I have heard that there are reels archived away) therefore like the other sets they are let down by this. That said this is still worth owning as Paramount won't be re-releasing these sets with all new extras any time soon (or at least they better not).
Everyone has given an episode by episode account of the series but all I feel inclined to say is this: Borg. There are no obvious let downs in the season but then I never felt that let down by the first seasons when I first saw them. The difference with the third season is it stands up to the test of time.
Amazon offer the best price on this set that I have come across and aside from the little nit picking relating to the features is a fine set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TNG has won me over!, July 15 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Until the release of TNG on DVD, I was a stubborn original series faithful. Wow, what I have missed! I purchased the first season DVD upon it's release hoping to become a TNG fan and I became hooked immediately. I am very pleased with TNG's arrival on DVD. When the series first aired, I had trouble tuning in due to a busy schedule of classes among other things. Now that the series has been released on DVD, I can watch the episodes sequentially and at my leisure. And it looks and sounds outstanding! Thanks to Star Trek and Paramount!
Being fairly new to the TNG universe, many may disagree with my opinions of the third season. I give year 3 of TNG four out of five stars. Season 3 winners are as follows:
1. Best of Both Worlds Part 1: This episode is believed by many to be the best episode ever. City on the Edge of Forever from the original series comes in at a close second.
2. Yesterday's Enterprise: Excellent plot and story, great special effects. A temporal rift sends the Enterprise-C 22 years into the future. Picard and crew must send the ship back to the past to avoid war against the Klingon Empire. I almost like it better than Best of Both Worlds.
3. The Offspring: Jonathan Frakes' directorial debut is a hit. Data constructs an android child, who attempts to adjust to life on board the Enterprise.
4. The Defector: An excellent adventure about a Romulan officer who comes to the Enterprise with vital news about a potential Romulan attack on Federation outposts near the neutral zone. The defector's questionable past creates a credibility issue.
5. The Bonding: So many episodes could have been tied for fifth best. TNG tackles the issue of death and letting go.
6. The Enemy: On a ravaged planet, La Forge teams up with a Romulan to save themselves from certain death.
7. Sins of the Father: Picard and Worf challenge accusations that Worf's father was a traitor, aligning himself with the Romulans.
Other big winners: The Ensigns of Command, The Survivors, Who Watches the Watchers, Booby Trap, Deja Q, Sarek, The Price, Transfigurations, The Vengeance Factor, Tin Man.
[Not as good]: Evolution, A Matter of Perspective, Hollow Pursuits, The Most Toys, Menage a Troi.
This season is huge because we get to know the characters on a more personal level than we did in the first two seasons. The extras in the box set itself were satisfying to me, but if I were as familiar with TNG as I am the original series, I probably would find it lacking. However, the CD-ROMs that have been packaged with the DVDs as a bonus are a nice extra (episode guide with season 1, enterprise interactive technical manual with season 2, and two MP-3 audio books with season 3). I have noticed that many stores have the CD-ROMs but you will pay ... more. The picture and sound are fabulous. It's tough watching the episodes on TNN even with DSS. I'm glad TNG is kicking it in syndication, and I continue to tune in. However, the DVD experience is unmatched.
Gene Roddenberry was right when he said Star Trek would take off in season 4, but I don't think the writers, producers, directors, and actors had any idea during the course of season 3 that this would turn out to be the best season of TNG. From what I have read, there is quite a debate as to which season is the best, season three vs. four. I can't wait until early September to find out for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TNGers dream come true!, July 6 2002
By 
"ja1864" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
As the other reviewers have pointed out this is an awesome DVD set. The other two seasons were very good but this is the one all the fans have been waiting for. I won't mention all the episodes, since other reviewers gave excellent summaries. Mine will be just my favorites and opinions.
The Booby Trap (Picard saving the ship at the end is priceless and that music matches perfectly), The Defector (the suspense if the Romulan will attack or not and the surprise Picard has for them), The Hunted (nice to see someone give our heroes a run for their money and the message on war), Deja Q (Q being human and having new experiences very good), Yesterday Enterprise (man that is one of the best all time!! This is one of the best what if, time-warp episodes), Sins of the Father (the beginning of what I call the Klingon saga, this is the springboard), Hollow Pursuit (Barclay's fantasy world), and the Best of Both Worlds (every Trek fans know about that one!).
The interviews that they have on the DVD are very cool especially how this was a season where they had lots of new writers and basically writing on the fly. It also features heavily Michael Piller. He gives his insight on a lot of the episodes and why the Best of Both Worlds was so good. When he talks about it, makes a lot of sense!!
The interface of the DVD has changed and the last episode there is a surprise I won't say but is very cool. I strongly recommend any fan to get this set and if you can only pick one this is the one to pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Season Best, July 5 2002
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
The third season of Star Trek-TNG is by far the best of the show's entire 7 year run. There were a number of changes, in front of, and behind the camera, to liven things up a bit. Dr. Beverley Crusher (Gates McFadden) is back on board the starship Enterprise, to further her relationship with her son, Wesley (Wil Wheaton), and continue the backstory between her and Captain Picard (Patrick Stewart) There were episodes featuring the return of fan favorites Q (John De Lancie), Lwaxana Troi (Majel Barrett), Tasha Yar (Denise Crosby), Guinan (Whoppi Goldberg) the Borg, and original series favorite Sarek (Mark Lenard). It also introduced us to recurring characters Vash (Jennifer Hetrick) and Lt. Reginald Barclay (Dwight Shultz) and marked the start of series star Jonathan Frakes as a director on the series. The Starfleet uniforms were tinkered with, as were a number of the sets for the ship itself, all of the changes are noticed, but not in your face. After a shortened 2nd season, the writing staff is much more stable then ever before. This is thanks to the arrival of eventual staff writers Michael Piller and my presonal favorite, Ronald D. Moore, who has a real sense of what works best when it comes to TREK There are very few "clunker" episodes in season 3. My favorites of year three are:
The Survivors
The Bonding
The Enemy
The Defector
The High Ground
Deja Q
Yesterday's Enterprise
Sins Of The Father
The Offspring
Captain's Holiday
Sarek
The Best Of Both Worlds
The seven DVD set is laid out like the previous season box sets. There is about an hour's worth of featurettes that cover season 3 on the seventh disc The interviews are made up of new and previously seen material. None of the information presented in these documentaries will offer anything earth shattering about the series, still it's nice to have and look back on that stuff to see how far the show came, in a very short time. The 3rd season box set is highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Short of Being A Great Box Set..., July 3 2002
By 
Carl Malmstrom (Monument, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
By it's third season, "Star Trek: The Next Generation" was, undoubtedly, a great series. Some of the series' finest episodes were made during this season and it is considered to be arguably the finest season of television the people of Star Trek have ever done. That said, it's still a bit of a shame to see them not pull out all the stops for the DVD release - the format that's made for bells and whistles.
Aside from the twenty-six episodes of the series - for which there is little reason to go into detail here given the large number of other reviews that discuss the episodes in detail - the seventh disc of the set features four extra segments - a season overview, a look at the changes in the crew in Season Three, and two "Departmental Briefings": this time around focusing on episode production as well as the usual "Memorable Missions" segment. They're all great segments and they do a great job of bringing the behind-the-scenes community to life. These segments especially illuminate what Michael Piller - who would go on to be one of the most influential backstagers on "Next Generation", "Deep Space Nine" and "Voyager" - brought to the show when he signed on board that season. Much of the interview footage was shot new for the episode and it highlights and gives anecdotes for many of the episodes.
All that said, though, the set - as with the previous two - seems to be missing something. There are no episode commentaries, no scripts, no storyboards, no deleted scenes, and no TV ads. While much of what would be covered in some episodes' commentaries is in the extras segments, it would still have been very nice to see a play-by-play analysis of "Yesterday's Enterprise" or "The Best of Both Worlds, Part I" - or even "Who Watches the Watchers" by Executive Producer Rick Berman and the aforementioned Michael Piller - or by Michael Okuda or Jonathan Frakes or any of the other Trek actors and creators that make the show so great. Likewise, there must be an absolute ton of material in the vaults - segments cut for time, episode promos, screen tests, etc. - that are still waiting to see the light of day. To really wow us with a box set, it would have been nice to have more of that in here.
Nonetheless, this is still a wonderful DVD set and certainly worth owning - even by the casual Star Trek fan. As many others have said, Season 3 was the breakout season for the show - it's worth having on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TNG comes roaring alive in the third season, June 21 2002
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
We have a theory at home that it takes until the third season for shows like TNG, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, to really come alive and get the jitters out. They seem to need that amount of time to get good cast interaction and to rid the scripts of all kinds of bad mistakes. Well, almost all bad mistakes. The Ferengi still cropped up after the second season; without a doubt they are the most annoying race Star Trek ever created, making even "Q" look adorable.
The Third Season of Star Trek Next Generation really showed us what Picard and his crew were capable of. This DVD is worth it for just a few of the episodes such as "Yesterday's Enterprise" which is a perennial winner in "vote for your favorite" polls. The development of Data as more than a circuit-filled Pinocchio is welcome and really set the stage for the later seasons. But I love the last episode "Best of Both Worlds I" most of all. I was totally blown away by this episode, some of the most exciting science fiction to hit the small screen ever.
It always amazes me how this show progress from some real blunders in the first two seasons (Troi's bad hair and worse accent, that episode where Tasha Yar has a cat fight, complete with claws to earn some vaccine, puh-leeze!) The third season takes all the promise of the first and second season (and there were many bright spots) and totally delivers. Great stuff.
Episode list:
Evolution
The Ensigns of Command
The Survivors
Who Watches The Watchers?
The Bonding
Booby Trap
The Enemy
The Price
The Vengeance Factor
The Defector
The Hunted
The High Ground
Deja Q
A Matter of Perspective
Yesterday's Enterprise
The Offspring
Sins of the Father
Allegiance
Captain's Holiday
Tin Man
Hollow Pursuits
The Most Toys
Sarek
Ménage à Troi
Transfigurations
The Best of Both Worlds, Part I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3
Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 by Robert Scheerer (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 78.99 CDN$ 75.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews