Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rebounds you'll ever see!
Let's face it...the Second Season for Star Trek: The Next Generation was by far the weakest of the seven, but it did manage to keep the show moving. It introduced the BORG, a villain that would remain a part of Star Trek all the way through Voyager and even into Enterprise. At the end of the second season you saw only 22 episodes due to a strike by the writing staff...
Published on April 13 2004 by Avid Music and DVD Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great set but way too pricey
This is a great set of Star Trek out on Dvd and one of my favorite seasons. I've not purchased this season yet and not sure yet if I will because of the price. I have purchased the first season and several seasons of the X-Files but was very surprised when Buffy season two came out at half the price of both shows!! So in spite of a great set being out I just feel like...
Published on July 22 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rebounds you'll ever see!, April 13 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Let's face it...the Second Season for Star Trek: The Next Generation was by far the weakest of the seven, but it did manage to keep the show moving. It introduced the BORG, a villain that would remain a part of Star Trek all the way through Voyager and even into Enterprise. At the end of the second season you saw only 22 episodes due to a strike by the writing staff. Everyone was wondering how the third season would shape up and if the show would rebound. Boy did it rebound! The third season began with a brand new writing staff including Ronald D. Moore and Michael Pillar and began the series on its final five SUPERB seasons. In the third season we saw the return of Denise Crosby and Tasha Yar and we got a deeper and more personal look at the BORG. Season three also marks the return of Gates McFadden and Dr. Beverly Crusher (GREAT MOVE!). Season three truely ushered in a new era of Star Trek Storytelling.
Personal favorite episodes:
Evolution, The Bonding, Booby Trap, The Enemy, The Defector, Deja Q, A Matter Of Perspective, Yesterday's Enterprise, The Offspring, Sins of the Father, Sarek, and The Best of Both Worlds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ST TNG 3, May 9 2002
By 
Ned "java_ned" (Eldersburg, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
This third release of Star Trek The Next Generation on DVD contains all of the episodes of its third season. During the third season we see Dr. Crusher return to the series, we see Sarek (Spock's Father) and a favorite of many the Borg are back.
All 26 episodes are contained on 7 disks.
Evolution - The crew assists Dr. Paul Stubbs in a research experiment. Wesley accidentally releases nanites and the ship is plagued by serious malfunction and possible disaster.
The Ensigns of Command - Data is sent to Tau Cygna Five to evacuate the human settlers there before the Sheliak come to destroy them.
The Survivors - The Enterprise finds two survivors on Delta Rana IV, an old man and his wife who refuse to leave. Troi is being driven mad by music in her head, and Picard wrestles with an elusive alien vessel in orbit.
Who Watches the Watchers - Riker and Troi masquerade as Mintakans, in an attempt to find a missing anthropologist. Picard is seen and believed him to be a god.
The Bonding - An archaeologist is killed on an Away mission, leaving behind his young son. Picard must play a game of wits with a powerful alien force that wants to raise the boy.
Bobby Trap - The Enterprise becomes ensnared in a 1000-year-old booby trap.
The Enemy - Marooned on Galorndan Core with a Romulan crash survivor, Bochra, Geordi and he must learn to put their differences aside in order to survive.
The Price - The Enterprise is host to the negotiations of the rights to the Barzan Wormhole. But a Ferengi DaiMon has plans to sabotage the conference, and Troi learns a dark secret about Devinoni Ral.
The Vengeance Factor - The Enterprise attempts to assist in the cease-fire between the Acamarians and the Gatherers.
The Defector - The Enterprise plays host to a Romulan defector who insists that the Empire will wage a war to regain the Neutral Zone in 48 hours.
The Hunted - A genetically altered veteran of a planetary war, escapes and brings his case to the Enterprise.
The High Ground - On Rutia Four, Dr. Crusher is kidnapped by a group of terrorists waging a war for independence.
Deja Q - While the Enterprise is on a mission to rescue a planet from an incoming asteroid, Q returns, deprived of his powers, and forced to live life as a mortal.
A Matter of Perspective - The Tanuga Research Station mysteriously explodes and Riker is accused of the destruction. The holodeck is used to recreate the events preceding the explosion from each witness' point of view.
Yesterday's Enterprise - A temporal rift caused by the Enterprise-C creates an alternate reality where the war-torn Federation is losing to the Klingons and Tasha is still alive. Picard must trust Guinan's intuition that history has been changed, even at the cost of his own life.
The Offspring - Data creates a child android called Lal, whom he adopts as his own, but Starfleet has its own, designs on her.
Sins of the Father - Worf's long-lost brother joins him on a personal mission to the Klingon home world, where Worf must challenge a ruling against his late father - one that condemns him as a traitor to the Klingon race!
Allegiance - Captain Picard is kidnapped by aliens who replace him with a duplicate.
Captain's Holiday - Picard's holiday on Risa is interrupted by an enigmatic young woman and a Ferengi, whom are looking for a legendary treasure
Tin Man - The Enterprise escorts a Betazoid named Elbrun to meet Tin Man, a life form in a remote system that only wants to die.
Hollow Pursuits - The Enterprise is stricken with a strange chemical affliction and an introverted crewmember becomes addicted to the holodeck trying to escape reality.
The Most Toys - Data is kidnapped by a ruthless alien trader named Fajo and made his prize possession in his collection of stolen treasures.
Sarek - Sarek, Vulcan Ambassador (Spock's Father), comes aboard the Enterprise for a meeting with the reclusive Legarans, but when an outbreak of sporadic violence is linked to Sarek, the mission is in jeopardy.
Menage A Troi - While on shore leave, Riker, Troi, and Troi's mother are kidnap by the Ferengi, set on learning the truth about Betazoid telepathy.
Transfigurations - The Enterprise aids the lone survivor of a ship crash, an amnesiac with remarkable recuperative powers.
The Best of Both Worlds (Part 1) - The Enterprise engage the Borg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge hit with a huge blunder, May 30 2002
By 
C. Ochsner (Lincoln, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
In the first episode we see the return of Dr. Crusher. I can't tell you all how much of a relief it was to see her return this season. I was so glad they got rid of the annoying Dr. Pulaski when Beverly came back. The Pulaski character was annoying like nails are on a blackboard. Plus she was too condescending towards Data. Please, someone warp her to the nearest blackhole and shove her out an airlock. Then the return of Tasha in Yesterdays Enterprise...worst thing they could have done. I actually did like her until she left ST:TNG to pursue a career on the big screen. (I feel it did help the rest of the characters evolve though, when she did leave.) Then, she did what she could to get back on the series after her movie career was a huge flop. Can anyone really remember a movie she was in. Lets see, does a glow-in-the-dark condem mean anything to anyone. They should have left her in dry dock. Well, the studio let her come back...again (in future episodes) where she plays her own daughter, which is a Romulan, and who has huge chip on her shoulders towards the Federation for the death of her mother. Hmmmmm, wasn't it Tasha who wanted to return with the Enterprise-C to help make her death mean something and to help the undermanned crew of the ship. I guess Tasha didn't instill that ethic of altruism in her daughter before she died. If anything, the studio should have used her daughter to unite and bring The Federation and The Romulans closer together instead of keeping them enemies.
Otherwise this was an excellent season. The characters have become the crew of the enterprise that I will always think of them as. The actors seem to have grown into their characters and all that needs to be done with them now is to have the characters evolve. There is a lot of excitement this season too. Here are a few plots...Geordi falls in love with a holographic Dr. Brahms while trying to save the Enterprise, Data gets to have an away mission by himself, Deanna's mother, Lwaxana, returns for a visit only to be kidnapped with Deanna by the Ferengi. Data creates himself a daughter in "The Offspring". I am very excited to get this season on DVD. Especially with the season finale where we get to see the return of The Borg and our first glimpse at Locutus of Borg. I think this season is a must for any fan, besides to steal a phrase...RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TREK AT IT'S BEST, July 19 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
THE THIRD SEASON OF STAR TREK THE NEXT GENERATION IS PROBABLY THE BEST OF THE SERIES.THERE IS A GREAT DEAL OF CHARACTER DEVELOPEMENT AND THE STORIES ARE VERY WELL WRITTEN.
BEING A LONG TIME STAR TREK FAN FROM THE OLD DAYS, I MUST ADMIT I WAS SCEPTICAL ABOUT TNG, BUT I WAS VERY IMPPRESSED WITH
IT, AND THE THIRD SEASON IS A DELIGHT TO VIEW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Trek Season...Ever., April 28 2003
By 
Francis R.T.M. Boyle (Narragansett, RI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Season 3 of TNG was the best Season of ANY Trek spinoff...ever. Character development was matched by unpredictable plots and some damn fine acting. By far, the best moment was when the pale-faced Picard/Locutus addressed acting-Captain Riker with the words, "Resistance is Futile".
However, look at episodes: "Yesterday's Enterprise", "Sins of the Father", "The Child", "Tin Man", "Sarek", and the career making episode for Wesley Crusher, "Menage a Troi"... these are the best episodes of the season and the through-lines of the season is an admirable accomplishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars third season, Best of the Best!, March 4 2003
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
This is where Star Trek TNG carved its own niche in television history. This is where it finally grew its own identity and stood alone. Dr. Crusher's return is the precursor to consistently good stories over the next season. Many have already mentioned the classics, "Yesterday's Enterprise," "The Best of Both Worlds," and "Deja Q." In this season, Data will become a father in, "The Offspring," Riker will be accused of murder in, "A Matter of Perspective," and Spock's father will make an appearance in, "Sarek." We also begin a major plot thread concerning Worf and the Klingon Empire in, "Sins of the Father." Geordi falls in love with a holodeck woman in, "booby Trap," not knowing that he'll meet her real version next year. Picard finally gets more action than his first officer in, "Captain's Holiday." Probably the only episode I wasn't crazy about was, "The Bonding," but it has its appeal. The crew finally seems to attain that comfortable, friendly chemistry that eluded them in the first two seasons. Picard has mellowed, Troi stops being a sex symbol and becomes credible and Worf finally gets more screen time. This season combined the perfect blend of drama, action, suspense and character development. It was TNG at its best and it foreshadowed the superior entertainment that TNG would give us until the end of the sixth season. If you are only going to purchase one DVD gift set from TNG, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the SciFi buff out of YOUR hair!, Jan. 4 2003
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Although I'm a fan of ST:TNG, I am not as "fanatical" as my hubby is... however... give the man the Series on DVD and he's out from underfoot so I can roam about the house cleaning, doing crafts, cooking, etc.
If your man loves SciFi and you need him out from underfoot, get this series for him!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Season, Dec 31 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Season Three of Star Trek: TNG was full of spectacular episodes, from the philisophical "Who Watches The Watchers?" to the humorous "Deja Q", and the thrilling "Yesterday's Enterprise" and "The Best of Both Worlds, Part 1". In other words, this season contains something for everyone.
The seven disc DVD set contains 26 episodes, with the special features available on the seventh disc. Special features include both character and episode analysis, which is entertaining. Unfortunately, not every episode is reviewed in the special features, making them seem a bit empty.
Aside from that minor flaw, fans should find plenty to enjoy about this season. Even if you only want the set for the amazing cliffhanger finale (and I would imagine some do) even casual viewers of The Next Generation will find hours of entertainment in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not much stands out until until the season cliffhanger, Dec 10 2002
By 
Scott (Lake in the Hills, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
Most of the main characters have a personal crisis of one kind or another(including Q if you can believe it).The character of Tasha Yar makes a one time reapperence after being killed in the first season.Than the Borg cliffhanger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This IS a great boxed set, Nov. 23 2002
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 (DVD)
We now see the release of Season 3 on DVD, now compare this to the original series,
3 seasons of TNG, 20 discs, right,
3 seasons of TOS, 40 discs, interesting,
Its because TNG is on Dual Layer DVD's, & TOS is on mostly Single Layer DVD's
A complete waiste,
TNG, is however, not a complete waiste, So anybody who wants to complain, Hey, it could have been worse,
Many earlier DVD's come with adds for STAR TREK DVD's, & on the back, it says, TNG coming soon to DVD, 2 episodes per disc,
Is that what you wanted?
The company obviously abandoned that project to do the boxed sets, cause of the angry fans who knew TOS was a complete waiste, So if you dont like these boxed sets than you can go & kiss Paramounts...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3
Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3 by Robert Scheerer (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 113.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews