Customer Reviews


437 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful film that may not be appreciated by everyone
The Royal Tenenbaums is a beatiful movie that is very full of life and graced with poetic characters. The story has been described by many people, so I will just say that this is one of those movies where the story dosen't really matter because you are so enamored by the characters. This movie is basically a character study but with a whole family and their various...
Published on May 26 2004 by Taffy Montgomery

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Movies Are Not IQ Tests...
Well, I lasted through this movie recently...but just barely. And for those of you who aren't sure, you can actually dislike this movie even if your IQ is above 85. :) I generally enjoy controversy in the reviews, but the elitism shown in these reviews is simply wretched.
For those who don't know, the story is about the reunion of Royal Tenenbaum (Hackman) and his...
Published on March 7 2004 by T. George


‹ Previous | 143 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self-consciously hip and wildly overpraised, Nov. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
Can a movie be too hip for its own good? The answer in this case is an emphatic yes! This film has nothing more going on in its self-satisfied little brain than a series of ultra-stylized poses and attitudes that gives the entire thing the feeling of one big in joke. The only problem is the audience isn't let in on the joke.
Though some real issues are alluded to, there's no genuine emotion, either on screen or elicited in the viewer. There's also an anything goes mentality that militates against the creation of a coherent alternate world that the stylized filmmaking is clearly aiming for.
Gene Hackman's acclaimed performance is ham on rye and the Wilson brothers' affectless performances exemplify everything that's wrong with the movie. Only the sublime Angelica Huston rises to the occasion, and indeed above it in this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was bad., Dec 31 2003
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
I thought 'The Royal Tenenbaums' was a bad movie. It was like watching a blank screen for two hours. There was alot of mumbo jumbo going on, but no real story happened. I didn't laugh once and the movie was just dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait, Dec 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Le dvd était en parfait état, tel que décrit. Je suis très satisfaite. Il est arrivé rapidement et était très bien emballé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really sucks, Jan. 12 2004
By 
O. Vorobyeva "sweetyqbk" (The place to be, Brooklyn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
I dont know why people thought that this is such a great movie. I personally think this movie was horrible with the dry humor that was not funny. A complete waste of time and money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Royal pain, April 7 2004
By 
D. Hartley (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
First, a note to our sniveling, self-appointed "IQ" experts who have deemed to enlighten us with thier laughably cliched psychological profiles of anyone who doesn't wet thier pants over this pretentious turkey:
1. I am an avid film fan who fully understands the "language" of film.
2. I fully grasp the concept of "irony".
3. I LOVE "quirky".
So why did I feel the "Royal Tenenbaums" sucked with the intensity of 1,000 black holes? Because even Stephen Hawking would agree that if it LOOKS like $#!+, and SMELLS like $#!+... well you know the rest. For a truly ENTERTAINING story about a "quirky" and dysfunctional family that SUCCESSFULLY mixes bathos, pathos, slapstick AND intellect, check out the 1972 cult classic "The Ruling Class" instead (also from Criterion, who have really made a rare, but baffling misfire by adding "Tenenbaums" to thier impressive canon.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood's attempt at being artsy, Jan. 24 2004
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
Hollywood rarely makes a good artsy film, and this one is not one of the rare ones. The movie is packed with mediocre to good actors who give a good effort , yet are inable to bring it all together. I think the problem is that they are all forced to take on roles which are not within their usual strong areas and they all failed miserably despite their good efforts. Take a pass on this one, it's not worth the almost two hours of your life you will spend on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Duped and Disappointed, March 16 2003
This review is from: The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
Don't waste your money on this slow moving, dismal comedy. Big name actors and a defibrillator couldn't bring this "comedy" to life. The biggest disappointment of all was popping it into the DVD player, pushing play and hearing the voice of Alec Baldwin coming through the speakers. Never would I have spent my hard earned AMERICAN money on a film that employed this America-hating, so-called actor who should have left the country long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 143 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royal Tenenbaums
The Royal Tenenbaums by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 15.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews