Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!
Really good, it was a couples years ago since i saw this movie!! Always good and full of action! I recommend it!
Published 24 months ago by LiLy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Behind Enemy Lines
I love Gene Hackman! I try to see all the movies he is in. I am also a big fan of Owen Wilson. Good movie. Would recommend.
Published 2 months ago by Susan Affrunti


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!, April 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (Bilingual) (DVD)
Really good, it was a couples years ago since i saw this movie!! Always good and full of action! I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Behind Enemy Lines, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love Gene Hackman! I try to see all the movies he is in. I am also a big fan of Owen Wilson. Good movie. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool tks, July 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (Bilingual) (DVD)
we watch dvd it very good really amazing story it really more clear and subtitles are prefect we not need audio cuz we are deaf anyway tks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What the F**K???, May 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
this is the worst movie I have ever seen...What happened? Are people too scared to fly in real jets now days to shoot films like they did in top gun, so they reley on computers to do it for them? I think so! The picture might as well be a cartoon because it looks that bad. If you want to see a movie like this see top gun...Better plot, better acting and much better scenes...and all the flying is real in top gun...this one however should find its way to your local landfill and get crushed by a bulldozer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad beyond words., April 20 2004
By 
Brent Hilton (Layton, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
personally i would've been better watching something else then this stupid picture, i try to be fair when watching it , but they broke too many rules in the film. i thought i was watching a corny army video game with matrix moves in it,that the impression got anyway. owen wilson better stick to comedies because i could'nt take him seriously the lines he's given in this film are corny at best & remind me of the comedies he's done so he never fully shakes off his comedy shadow for a serious role sorry owen. it's a shame that gene hackman a very good serious/comedic actor got mix up in this turkey of a film i hope next time he's a little more careful in scripts he picks. anybody would be better off watching top gun , the tom clancy films anything but this turkey.
just thought i should warning you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but the story has holes, April 6 2004
By 
Eric Kassan (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
While I enjoyed this movie, I was discouraged by several major holes, especially those which would have more clearly showed the immorality of America's agreement to stick its head in the sand and blindly obey the U.N.. Also Owen Wilson's character appears to survive more by (incredible) luck than by skill, and that's disappointing. Nonetheless, there were enough good pieces here for me to enjoy the movie.
For a much better, but similar, movie also featuring Gene Hackman, I highly recommend Bat 21. Yet another great similar movie is "Flight of the Intruder", though the plot of that movie is much more than just good guys shot down behind enemy lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Like bad propoganda, Feb. 5 2004
By 
Timothy P. Scanlon (Hyattsville, MDUSA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (VHS Tape)
A few years back, I had the opportunity to watch MI2. Remember that one? Tom Cruise motorcyling away from 200 machine gunners all of whom miss him? He turns around while doing 70 on the cycle and downs half of them with a pistol? It was so ridiculous it was as if it was to be a parody of action movies.
Well, this one's worse.
I don't want to cover much of the story as many a reviewer has done that. But at the beginning, Owen Wilson's character, a navy
lieutenant and flight navigator, is pondering leaving the navy when his tour is over in a couple of weeks. "Poor us. We don't even know what we're doing here? Where's the action, huh?" Oh, so down-home. Over-dramatic Gene Hackman, his admiral and presumed fleet commander, calls him in and reprimands him with the implication that he's trying to get him to stay. Despite the Christmas holiday, Wilson and his pilot--I don't care about the actor's name as I'll never again watch anything he's in--are to fly a recon mission over Bosnia. They go over a no-fly zone--read BREAK THE LAW--and are shot down.
I understand I need to avoid covering too much of the plot here. Despite the plot, the action is, again, reminiscent of parodies of action flicks. While Owen is escaping the enemy, countless machine gunners, tanks, marksmen, and God knows what else distinguish themselves in that they all miss him--again, and again, and again! Like bad propaganda, the Yank always outsmarts the enemy.
That's bad enough. But his running between mines that are destroying his incompetent enemies, with barely a scratch, always being missed by a few inches by the marksman who's been commissioned to kill him. It's painful to watch a story that stupid.
And throughout the whole process, the music is distracting--lots of jazzy drumbeat, hyper-military trombones, souzaphones and drums, or sappy romance music when something sentimental is supposed to be happening. It almost made me motion sick.
But, lest I go on for too long--the film isn't worth it, really--the real height of fantasy is toward the end. First, the marksman misses Owen AGAIN. Then, what a surprise, Owen pops from the snow bank, shoots the marksman five or six times, yet they still fight it out. (Drama, right? Five or six shots from a 9mm and the opponent still fights. Sure.
Surprise again, Owen wins the fight!) Then a dozen Serbian tanks
and a couple of hundred troops pop out from the trees. They're all
shooting at Wilson and ALL MISSING HIM! But Admiral Hackman comes to the rescue in three helicopters full of some tough guy marines. The tanks, troops, marksmen continue to miss Wilson who's running from them, and they even miss the US helicopters that are, oh, a quarter mile from them. But the troops on the choppers are shooting all of the enemy and never missing. Of course, we Yanks are better shots than anyone else in the world, right?
They all lived happily ever after with a homey cheer for Wilson when he gets, barely scratched, back on the carrier with the marching music now mixing with the sentimental. My tears were not falling!
Perhaps most disturbing about the film were its implications. Wilson and his pilot take the law into their own hands. Oh, I see, they found something nasty, and that justified their doing it. That's the end justified the means, something for which the Nazis were held responsible at Nuremburg. The overall theme, from Owen's character to that of Hackman's admiral, is a caricature of rugged individualism: I'll do what I please in spite of treaties, agreements, or respect for other people. That's what was most offensive about the script.
Again, avoiding too much plot detail, Owen decides to stay in the navy, and Hackman retires rather than concede to merely having disobeyed orders, something for which, in the real world an officer is court martialed.
After seeing this, I decided to painfully watch again the L. Ron Hubbard classic that made me chuckle a while back: "Battlefield Earth." That was chuckleworthy because it used every bad-fiction cliche in the book: the superhero, music to cover your ears by, really sappy romance, etc. Well, so much of it reminded me of this film that it was uncanny.
Well, I sat through the credits at the end to take notes. And my
finale is that I'll boycott anything director John Moore does, anything Owen Wilson does, and probably anything Gene Hackman does again. They should have refused to do such a terrible script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action thriller, Feb. 4 2004
By 
Joseph J. Slevin (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
I can't believe I missed this movie until now.
I think the action, Wilson running, his pursuers, reminds of another movie where Hackman was on the run.
Well, turnaround is fair play. Wilson is sarcastic at the beginning of the movie. You cannot tell if it is going to be a comedy at the first.
His character develops, both cinematically as well as personally. This shows the raw change that a person can go through when facing an ordeal.
This is a movie that inspires courage. I consider it to be very watchable. The war scenes are not shoot-em-ups, they tend to add reality to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great escapism for the blow 'em up crowd, Jan. 31 2004
By 
Debbie Lee Wesselmann (the Lehigh Valley, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
"Behind Enemy Lines" is a great example of the action film that is so fast-paced, so visually dazzling, and so tense that the viewer doesn't have much time to think about the film itself. Owen Wilson plays battle-untested Navy navigator Chris Burnett who, while on a reconnaissance mission, is shot down over Bosnia. Although both Burnett and his pilot escape alive, it quickly becomes clear they are in extreme danger. While commanding officer Admiral Reigart (Gene Hackman) begins plans for a rescue mission, he is hampered by those in command over him.
While the premise itself is formulaic - we've all seen this scenario many, many times - the tight pacing serves the movie well, as the viewer is thrust from one suspenseful scene to another, with barely time to breathe between each. The cinematography supplies a gorgeous texture that contrasts powerfully with the destruction Burnett must both witness and turn from to save his life. Both symbolic of the theme and visually powerful is the enormous statue of the Virgin Mary that Burnett parachutes past, her face beautiful on one side, blown away on the other. Upon seeing this early in the movie, you know that this action film will have its message.
This thriller provides great, tense escapism, with people, buildings, and trucks blowing up or being shot to pieces every few minutes. The suspense is aided by several original scenes, such as the heat-sensing satellite images being watched aboard the aircraft by carrier personnel. They can see Burnett being approached but can't understand why his pursuers walk right by him. Unfortunately, if you stop to long to consider things that happen, and how people react, you'll run right smack into implausibilities, clichés, and just plain stupidity.
I was torn about how many stars to give this film. I was riveted throughout despite its over-simplification and relative predictability. The strongest feature of this film is its ability to draw the viewer into the plot and keep him there. Just don't think too much about it afterward. Four stars if you want to get lost in an action thriller, three stars if you want something more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good True Story, Dec 29 2003
By 
David Anderson (St. Cloud, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines (DVD)
Gene Hackman and Owen Wilson star in "Behind Enemy Lines". This true story is based on a young man's undercover mission gone wrong. A lot of action is contained in this movie that keeps the audiences interested. However, the plot could have been more in depth. Despite its fairly accurate events, many unanswered question still remain that the writers never revealed. Most scenes have been done before by many other film producers. The computer effects are at its prime, remaining realistic-looking, that keep audiences amazed. Its sound effects from the weapons offer a more intense experience to the action theme. Gene Hackman and Owen Wilson are unfortunately not at their best in their careers, though their personas are credible. However, not much demand went through their characters, which is mostly the plot's fault. "Behind Enemy Lines" is great for those curious to what happened. Some mixed reviews may arise upon the movie outcome, but it has many interesting moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2306e04)

This product

Behind Enemy Lines (Bilingual)
Behind Enemy Lines (Bilingual) by Owen Wilson (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews