Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Bowl
I was taken with this Merchant Ivory production of Bowl, undeniably opulent and likely the best-looking of all the Merchant Ivory productions. It is near-perfect visually. Most important, I feel Thurman has given a valid interpretation of Charlotte - an opinion not widely shared. It would have been easy to play the role as a cool, reserved fashion plate; Thurman instead...
Published on Jan. 23 2002 by Christopher L Beckwith

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars would have gotten one star....
if it weren't for Jeremy Northam's performance. This movie dragged on and on and on and on... I only finished it because I felt compelled to do so. The characters seemed unreal and the story did not translate well to the screen.
Published on July 29 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Bowl, Jan. 23 2002
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
I was taken with this Merchant Ivory production of Bowl, undeniably opulent and likely the best-looking of all the Merchant Ivory productions. It is near-perfect visually. Most important, I feel Thurman has given a valid interpretation of Charlotte - an opinion not widely shared. It would have been easy to play the role as a cool, reserved fashion plate; Thurman instead chose to play the character as a still maturing, somewhat insecure girl. It is a vastly more honest and truthful depiction - and certainly much more difficult as an acting choice. A passive portrayal of victorian feminine mystique would hardly be news nor much of a challenge for an actress like Thurman. I've never liked her more than in this role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars would have gotten one star...., July 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
if it weren't for Jeremy Northam's performance. This movie dragged on and on and on and on... I only finished it because I felt compelled to do so. The characters seemed unreal and the story did not translate well to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's Emma Thompson When You Need Her?, Nov. 18 2001
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
There must be an old saying about how people with too much money and time on their hands will find a way to misery, unhappiness and trouble before they can seek or find redemption in true love, truth and honesty. But the flawed relationships and imperfections of human nature make "The Golden Bowl," directed by James Ivory, a perfect metaphor for the lives of the four principals involved in this story, which takes place at the beginning of the 20th Century. Prince Amerigo (Jeremy Northam) is broke, and to restore his villa in Italy, as well as the stature of his name and lifestyle, he gives up his true love, Charlotte (Uma Thurman), to marry Maggie (Kate Beckinsale), the daughter of the first American Billionaire, Adam Verver (Nick Nolte). Charlotte then proceeds to marry Adam, and due to some eccentricities on the part of Adam and Maggie, the four become as one big, confused and dysfunctional family, playing out their drama in England and Italy, while Adam pursues his obsessive dream of building a museum in "American Town," which he feels will "give back" something to those who have worked their lives away in the coal mines wherein his fortune was made. It's a world in which the priorities of those involved, however, become twisted, and truth, fidelity and all the things that really matter, become lost or disavowed; a world in which those who seemingly have a choice opt for dreary and overcast, rather than for blue skies and sunshine.
Though the cinematography is superb and the settings lavish, the production team of Merchant/Ivory, who created and delivered such outstanding films as "Howard's End" and "Remains of the Day," come up a bit short with this offering, which fairly plods along and simply takes too long to achieve very little in the way of insight or even just a satisfying cinematic experience. And one of the main problems, perhaps, is the fact that the characters are people with whom you can neither identify nor relate, and as such, it is difficult to sympathize with their respective situations or to embrace their individual fixations. These are people you simply have trouble caring about, and without that connection it puts you at arm's length, so to speak, and watching their story unfold becomes a tedious business at best.
A valid argument could be made, as well, for the casting-- or should I say, "miscasting"-- of the film, beginning with Nolte, who not only seems out of place (even playing an American), but gives a performance that seems forced and too overtly "theatrical;" this kind of acting belongs on the stage, and even there would stretch credibility. It definitely does not translate well to film, and is simply not believable. As he has proved in many films before, most notably in 1998's "Affliction,"-- in which his performance was instrumental in enabling James Coburn to win the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor-- Nolte can act; but this just isn't the kind of role in which he excels. Still, he must be given credit for the attempt.
The usually charming and charismatic Beckinsale also falters in this one. Like Nolte, her performance seems forced and lacks the naturalness that would've made it at all believable. Perhaps in attempting to internalize her feelings, as one could argue would be appropriate for a young woman of the times depicted here, she may have used a bit too much restraint, which adversely affected the perception of her character and the emotions she was attempting to convey. And when she does finally externalize her feelings, it just doesn't seem honest.
Northam also fails to make his character, Amerigo, believable. A good actor, one has to wonder at the reasons behind casting him as the Italian Prince. His accent is decent, but far from impeccable, and the lapses have a tendency to take the viewer out of the story, which breaks the continuity and dispels the drama of the film. And while not disastrous, it is unfortunate, and the film suffers for it.
Uma Thurman probably comes closer than any of her co-stars at capturing the essence of her character, but even her performance comes across as rather tepid; physically and emotionally, she embodies Charlotte, but even her most flamboyant moments are lackluster. And she and Northam lack the on-screen chemistry that would've created the tension needed to make the relationship between Charlotte and Amerigo a viable, believable commodity.
The saving grace of the film, performance-wise, are those of Anjelica Huston and James Fox, in supporting roles as Fannie and Colonel Bob Assingham who, though in a limited capacity, give moments of the most credibility to the overall film.
The supporting cast includes Madeleine Potter (Lady Castledean), Nicholas Day (Lord Castledean), Peter Eyre (Jarvis, the Shopkeeper), Nickolas Grace (Lecturer) and Robin Hart (Mr. Blint). Visually resplendent, but overlong and far from engaging, "The Golden Bowl" fails to live up to the expectations of a Merchant/Ivory production. To say that the story goes nowhere would be erroneous; it's simply a long, tiresome journey with an anticlimax that is less than satisfying. A highly touted film, in the final analysis it can be chalked up as possibly the first misfire in the Merchant/Ivory canon. We can only hope that Emma Thompson will be available for their next project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miscasting, Nov. 10 2001
By 
Giuseppe (Northampton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
How disappointing to have the role of Amerigo, an Italian from Rome, played by British actor Jeremy Northam with a phony Italian accent. It strains credulity to watch him. I'm sure there are plenty of Italian actors who could have given more believability to this role. Northam's casting is the only major flaw in this otherwise excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Northam Makes the Film, Oct. 10 2001
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike other reviewers, I haven't read _The Golden Bowl_ and I hate Henry James. Perhaps that's why I adored this film. Visually, it is even more sumptuous than most Merchant and Ivory films. But what makes the movie more than just a pretty package is Jeremy Northam, who in addition to being stunningly handsome as ever, delivers a performance of depth and nuance. Along with his wonderful roles in _Emma_ and _The Winslow Boy_, the part of Amerigo should help establish Northam as one of the best actors around, up there in my mind with Kenneth Branagh and . . . well I can't think of many others as good. Kate Beckinsale is also astonishing in this film, doing a much better job of playing an ingenue who finds unknown inner strength in a time of need than Winona Ryder did in _The Age of Innocence_. And the ever-reliable Nick Nolte delivers a believable, complex performance. The only thing that made this film a four-star rather than five-star film in my book was the appalling performance of Uma Thurman, who is so bad that at the climax of the film, when she delivers what should be the most poignant line of the movie, I actually burst out laughing in the theatre (very embarrassing). I can't think why directors haven't noticed that Ms. Thurman is these days merely a pretty face, but the rest of the cast and the production was stellar, and the story gripped my interest throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Golden, Nov. 25 2001
By 
Madtea (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Bowl [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the reviewer from Cambridge, MA. The only actor I had a problem with was Uma Thurman, who carried no weight or presence in her role. I didn't know who she was or how I was supposed to feel about her, yet the crux of the movie rested on her shoulders. As a result, the movie seemed tepid and dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, Nov. 14 2003
This review is from: Golden Bowl [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie was very boring, it was hard for me to beleive the actors and enter into the story, I could not wait it to end. I do like Uma thurman has an actress and the atmosphere and all the beautiful costumes was great but it could not help to save this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Bowl
The Golden Bowl by James Ivory (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews