Customer Reviews


339 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare in Love [ Widescreen ] [ Collectors Series ]
I loved this film.
It is about a fictional love affair between Shakespeare & his love for a woman who desires to be an actress.
In Elizabethan Times females were not allowed to act on stage, & their roles were played by males.
The plot of the romance is an inter-play with the play he is writing - Romeo & Juliet.
It is well done & very cleverly...
Published 13 months ago by Robert The Bruce

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Blu-ray ever
This Alliance version is probably one of the worst releases ever! First, there is no menu and no subtitles. This alone would be somewhat acceptable in your case if you understand English accents very well, but on top of that you get a very bad transfer with a noticeable blue tint on the edges of the movie! Looks like bleeding light from the scanner. Really bad. Try to get...
Published on July 11 2011 by Luiz


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Blu-ray ever, July 11 2011
This Alliance version is probably one of the worst releases ever! First, there is no menu and no subtitles. This alone would be somewhat acceptable in your case if you understand English accents very well, but on top of that you get a very bad transfer with a noticeable blue tint on the edges of the movie! Looks like bleeding light from the scanner. Really bad. Try to get the other releases, avoid the Alliance one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, with all the academy awards it won, June 24 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Love (Widescreen) (Collector's Series) (DVD)
Story line not great. Probably historically accurate. Definitely not a "watch-again" DVD or one to be added to a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare in Love [ Widescreen ] [ Collectors Series ], June 10 2013
By 
Robert The Bruce (Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare in Love (Widescreen) (Collector's Series) (DVD)
I loved this film.
It is about a fictional love affair between Shakespeare & his love for a woman who desires to be an actress.
In Elizabethan Times females were not allowed to act on stage, & their roles were played by males.
The plot of the romance is an inter-play with the play he is writing - Romeo & Juliet.
It is well done & very cleverly presented. It is rather amusing & comical as well.
Anyone who loves Romeo & Juliet will enjoy & relate to this film.
Gwyneth Paltrow & Joseph Fiennes give a great performance, as does Judi Dench as an aging
Queen Elizabeth 1. The movie won 7 Academy Awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be disappointed, July 7 2002
By 
C. Court (http://adorio.blogspot.com/) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a lover of Shakespeare, English and/or period movies, be prepared to be extremely disappointed with this movie. If you really want to own a DVD or video of this movie, rent it first. If you like Judi Dench, you may want to buy it for this reason alone, then you can scan the part where she is shown, otherwise this movie is not worth watching again or worse, owning. This is the first movie I've seen of Gwyneth Paltrow and I think this is the main reason why I could care less if I see another movie with her on the cast. Paltrow is dry and artificial. This movie is so ridiculous, it is almost insulting. Not even Judi Dench's magnificent performance (as always) could save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ha ha ha, what a stupid movie!, May 31 2002
I'm still wondering the whole point of the movie to this very day. I mean, I get the whole "Shakespeare has some sorta 'writers' block' thing, and that this chick dresses up as a man to be in a play of his ...and they end up making steamy passionate love one nite...but damn! This movie was nominated for an Oscar...BR>...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars You're kidding right?, Dec 12 2001
This movie won Best Picture over Saving Private Ryan? Who was doing the judging and how much were they paid? I tried watching this movie but literally had to turn it off after 30 minutes. Truly unwatchable in my opinion. What tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bad movie, June 23 2001
By 
Joshua Feibus (Gainesville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
i saw this movie and man seriously it was horrible. if you have any semblance of good taste, please steer clear of this awful movie. robbed many other worthy competitors at the Oscars. the only thing worse would be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOFY YET DELICIOUSLY SEDUCTIVE ROMANTIC COMEDY!, July 16 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The DVD casing claimed in big bold letters "Best Screenplay" Academy Award winner. I can surely see why! Must have been some deviously creative team that crafted this crisp comic period-piece.
The film is really two love stories: one a bawdy romance between two smitten humans, and the other an ode to the art of theatre. The writers'/director's love for showmanship is loud and evident throughout the brilliant screenplay, and if you're a fan of wordplay in any way, well then this is a surefire delight.
Both Paltrow and Fienners turn in lusciously romantic performances in their respective roles -- she pulls off the formidable order of gender-switching without a hitch, and he has just the right pitches and patterns for a young, struggling Shakespeare. Geoffrey Rush is magnetic as usual.
Don't be fooled by the Elizabethan accoutrements, this film and its arsenal of laconic quips could easily shoot several contemporary romances to dust. Buy this one in fact, don't just rent, it quite comfortably stands the test of more than one viewing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Definiion of Barebones, Aug. 23 2011
This is not a review of the film which harvested 7 Academy Awards but of this blu-ray release. It is the worst I have so far. No extra features at all, not even a trailer, and, yes, not even a chapter menu!! The film itself is presented in 1080i at 29.97 fps and not in 1080p/24 which is standard for feature film releases on blu! How low can you go? Only one more step is possible: Remove the lossless audio. Congratulations Alliance, never ever will I buy one of your products again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - okay Bluray edit, Aug. 1 2010
By 
First, my Sharp bluray player had trouble playing this disc. And I have the latest firmware. There is no initial menu, the disc just starts playing and all you can do is change the audio track.

There are NO extras on this disc. I was highly disappointed. The video/audio quality are better than the DVD but not by a great margin. If you love the movie and have a wide screen TV, then buy it. Otherwise, wait until it's on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespeare in Love (Widescreen) (Collector's Series)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 8.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews