Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say?
Having Jay & Silent Bob on Blu Ray is a treat. My original DVD was worn out and needed replacing.
Published 19 months ago by Cattieluver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Stupid
This was definitely not what I expected this movie to be. Story wise. The fart and sex humour I expected and liked. The story was funny, acting was good, and the lightsaber seen was funny, but it just didn't have an pizzaz to it. Once you see it it's not very funny. Jay and Silent Bob were better supporting charcaters than the main, like in the film I thought was better,...
Published on July 21 2002 by Justin York


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Jan. 15 2014
By 
Kaylee Pansieri (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back (DVD)
Funny movie for any Kevin Smith fan!
Honestly if you watch this movie out of context, it makes no bloody sense, with all the references to past Smith View Askew-inverse films.
Do yourself a favour, watch Mallrats, Chasing Amy, and Clerks at least and the hilarity of this film goes up over 9000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say?, Dec 4 2012
By 
Cattieluver (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having Jay & Silent Bob on Blu Ray is a treat. My original DVD was worn out and needed replacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kevin Smith Fans, March 8 2003
By 
William Rodawalt "teacher" (Dillingham, Alaska USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really liked the movie. Lots of self referential gags make it a must to have seen the other Kevin Smith movies. This is a sort of formula road picture with a couple of characters I have really grown to love. This is in the same class as movies like Strange Brew which take familiar characters and give them a simple plot line to follow. No great surprises but surprisingly witty in parts. This is a straight low brow comedy with none of the controversy of Dogma. If you are looking for the somewhat awkward but brilliant dialogue from some of Kevin Smiths other films you may be disappointed, but as a straight buddy road movie it delivers all the laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD Rocks!, Aug. 8 2002
This is one of the most entertaining dvds I own. It's packed with extra features. The commentaries with Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith before the deleted scenes are worth the price alone, those guys are hilarious even when they are trying not to be. The extra features are as much fun as the movie itself - you totally get your money's worth with this one. If you loved this movie, you've gotta pick up this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jay & Bob's Last Hurrah DVDeserves Better, Aug. 7 2002
The following review only talks about the features found on the DVD, not the movie proper.

"Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" is an intentionally slapdash movie that deserves an intentionally slapdash DVD treatment. I'm just not sure that it needed an intentionally slapdash double-DVD treatment.
Disc one features the movie, presented in all its crisp colourful glory. The commentary track that accompanies it, usually a solid staple of all Kevin Smith DVDs, is a real let down. Only Smith, producer Scott Mosier and Jay Mewes show up. And what they deliver could best be described as falling somewhere between a vapid Oscar speech and three drunk guys hanging on too long at the end of the party, well past the point when they were amusing. They basically play a game of "See how many Askewniverse members you can point out that the audience has never heard of." At one point near the end, Smith realizes that they're not doing much more than reading out the closing credits, and wisely says to the audience, "You could do this yourselves." And he's right. The only shining moment on the track is when Mewes excuses himself to go the washroom, and the second he's out the door, Smith and Mosier good-naturedly rag on him. When Mewes returns, they reassure him that they said nothing but niceties while he was gone. That's about the only highlight I can come up with.
Also featured on disc one are a couple plugs promoting other entries in the Dimension Collector's Series.
Disc two is heavy on the extras, most of which are amusing. The rest point only serve to point out the fact that there was a lot of good -- and a lot of puerile -- footage left on the cutting room floor.
The deleted scenes, titled "The Secret Stash" in homage to the comic books store that Smith repeatedly plugs on all his DVDs, function just like the deleted scenes on the "Dogma" DVD: they're useless and pointless. Showing them now only proves why they weren't in the film in the first place. Most deadly are the unfunny Judd Nelson ad-libs, and Ben Affleck's non-sensically riffing on a scene funny enough on the page. However, a lot of hilarious Will Ferrell moments are featured (including a delicious improv scene where he and Jon Stewart throw sexually suggestive puns back and forth) proving that in an alternate universe, this would have been his movie.
The treasures here are the intros that Smith and friends do, specifically, Jay Mewes' sweetly innocent comments. My two favourites: at one point, after Smith discusses the problems he had with G.L.A.A.D. before the movie came out, Jay says, with mock retribution, that he's "not going to send his cheque in this month" to them. Later, Smith self-debates whether Gus Van Sant's name rhymes with 'ant' or 'font', prompting Jay to comment, "Yeah, like do you say tomatoe or potatoe". You've gotta love this stoned-out guy!
There's also an eight-minute long gag reel, which is of the pretty standard, "I can't stop laughing" variety (notable for, once again, Will Ferrell's hilarious straying from the script; this time he's teamed with Jason Lee, who can't keep a straight face). And you get not one but two behind-the-scenes featurettes. It's an exercise in redundancy, if you ask me. The first, produced by Comedy Central, is a rather tame affair. The second, produced specially for this disc, is not. It features the no-holds-barred language that is Smith's bread and butter.
Two features highlight the work of Morris Day and the Time. The first features Smith and Mewes learning the band's relatively simple dance steps, before they are called on stage to end the film. Be warned: the sight of Kevin Smith attempting to dance may scare young children. The second feature is an exhaustive textual history of the band. If you ever have to write a paper on The Time, your research efforts will stop here.
Finally, in the disc's graphical section, you get an on-set photo gallery, what seems like a hundred different possibilities for the film's poster, and comic versions of Jay and Bob. The storyboards section is a dubious inclusion, Smith not being noted for his visual flair. But it does show how wild the Scooby-Doo parody would have been if Smith had had his druthers.
Although I laughed lovingly at the movie, despite its lack of desire to raise itself above the sophomoric, I was slightly disappointed by this DVD. It's a bloated effort, hardly up to the standard Smith and Co. have set by their other issues. Still, for the Smith completist (and who else would see "Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" but a Smith completist), the disc is a necessary addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snoothies!, July 21 2002
By 
Pie (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Finally, a movie with Jay and Silent Bob as the main characters! I've seen Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy and Dogma, which were all great especially when Jay and Silent Bob are on screen. Now, they star in their own movie and is the final and the BEST of Kevin Smith's Jersey "trilogy" series.
Jay and Silent Bob are headed to Hollywood to trash a movie, based on a comic book "Bluntman and Chronic", which is based on them, after knowing their not getting any profit. On the way they meet all kinds of characters and there are LOADS of movie stars in this flick. The best and a very good farewell bid to Jay and Silent Bob by Kevin Smith. Hopefully not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jay and Silent Bob...RECOGNIZE!, July 21 2002
By 
BooBooKittyFk (Jersey...RESPECT!) - See all my reviews
It's Crude, It's Rude and it's Hilarious!
It's definately not for those who are offended by hearing the "F" word. Jay and Silent Bob, don't ever change! BONG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Stupid, July 21 2002
By 
Justin York (Lake Mary, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This was definitely not what I expected this movie to be. Story wise. The fart and sex humour I expected and liked. The story was funny, acting was good, and the lightsaber seen was funny, but it just didn't have an pizzaz to it. Once you see it it's not very funny. Jay and Silent Bob were better supporting charcaters than the main, like in the film I thought was better, Dogma. Mallrats was funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How could it be bad!, July 21 2002
By 
Patricia Honts "divecattt" (Bushnell, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Kevin Smith movies. I think this is one of his very best. This movie really made me laugh. We only got small parts from Jay and Silent bob in past movies, now a whole movie of them. How could it be bad? Buy it, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff., July 19 2002
Kevin Smith movies aren't for everyone. That's a good thing. It takes a special kind of person to get his humor and I thank God that I'm that kind of person. More so than any of his previous movies, you not only need to get Kevin Smith to enjoy this film but you also need to know him. Jay & Silent Bob is described as one big inside joke; it's an accurate description. If you've never seen Clerks (what's wrong with you?!), Mallrats, Chasing Amy and Dogma, there's a good chance you won't understand the backstory well enough to laugh. Except during the George Carlin, Carrie Fisher and Scooby scenes; they speak for themselves. As long as you know these movies, though, you're in for a treat and a slew of deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back by Kevin Smith (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 13.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews