Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kevin Smith Fans
I really liked the movie. Lots of self referential gags make it a must to have seen the other Kevin Smith movies. This is a sort of formula road picture with a couple of characters I have really grown to love. This is in the same class as movies like Strange Brew which take familiar characters and give them a simple plot line to follow. No great surprises but...
Published on March 8 2003 by William Rodawalt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Plotless, but who cares? It's hilarious!
I've been a fan of Kevin Smith for years; I can say that right off the bat. And this movie definitely requires your having seen all of his movies -- or at least most of them.
In honesty it is stupid and the plot is weak. Who cares? That's not the point of this movie.
The point of this movie is that it';s hilarious in dialogue. The problems Jay and Silent Bob...
Published on May 1 2002 by S. Katz


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kevin Smith Fans, March 8 2003
By 
William Rodawalt "teacher" (Dillingham, Alaska USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really liked the movie. Lots of self referential gags make it a must to have seen the other Kevin Smith movies. This is a sort of formula road picture with a couple of characters I have really grown to love. This is in the same class as movies like Strange Brew which take familiar characters and give them a simple plot line to follow. No great surprises but surprisingly witty in parts. This is a straight low brow comedy with none of the controversy of Dogma. If you are looking for the somewhat awkward but brilliant dialogue from some of Kevin Smiths other films you may be disappointed, but as a straight buddy road movie it delivers all the laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD Rocks!, Aug. 8 2002
This is one of the most entertaining dvds I own. It's packed with extra features. The commentaries with Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith before the deleted scenes are worth the price alone, those guys are hilarious even when they are trying not to be. The extra features are as much fun as the movie itself - you totally get your money's worth with this one. If you loved this movie, you've gotta pick up this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jay & Bob's Last Hurrah DVDeserves Better, Aug. 7 2002
The following review only talks about the features found on the DVD, not the movie proper.

"Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" is an intentionally slapdash movie that deserves an intentionally slapdash DVD treatment. I'm just not sure that it needed an intentionally slapdash double-DVD treatment.
Disc one features the movie, presented in all its crisp colourful glory. The commentary track that accompanies it, usually a solid staple of all Kevin Smith DVDs, is a real let down. Only Smith, producer Scott Mosier and Jay Mewes show up. And what they deliver could best be described as falling somewhere between a vapid Oscar speech and three drunk guys hanging on too long at the end of the party, well past the point when they were amusing. They basically play a game of "See how many Askewniverse members you can point out that the audience has never heard of." At one point near the end, Smith realizes that they're not doing much more than reading out the closing credits, and wisely says to the audience, "You could do this yourselves." And he's right. The only shining moment on the track is when Mewes excuses himself to go the washroom, and the second he's out the door, Smith and Mosier good-naturedly rag on him. When Mewes returns, they reassure him that they said nothing but niceties while he was gone. That's about the only highlight I can come up with.
Also featured on disc one are a couple plugs promoting other entries in the Dimension Collector's Series.
Disc two is heavy on the extras, most of which are amusing. The rest point only serve to point out the fact that there was a lot of good -- and a lot of puerile -- footage left on the cutting room floor.
The deleted scenes, titled "The Secret Stash" in homage to the comic books store that Smith repeatedly plugs on all his DVDs, function just like the deleted scenes on the "Dogma" DVD: they're useless and pointless. Showing them now only proves why they weren't in the film in the first place. Most deadly are the unfunny Judd Nelson ad-libs, and Ben Affleck's non-sensically riffing on a scene funny enough on the page. However, a lot of hilarious Will Ferrell moments are featured (including a delicious improv scene where he and Jon Stewart throw sexually suggestive puns back and forth) proving that in an alternate universe, this would have been his movie.
The treasures here are the intros that Smith and friends do, specifically, Jay Mewes' sweetly innocent comments. My two favourites: at one point, after Smith discusses the problems he had with G.L.A.A.D. before the movie came out, Jay says, with mock retribution, that he's "not going to send his cheque in this month" to them. Later, Smith self-debates whether Gus Van Sant's name rhymes with 'ant' or 'font', prompting Jay to comment, "Yeah, like do you say tomatoe or potatoe". You've gotta love this stoned-out guy!
There's also an eight-minute long gag reel, which is of the pretty standard, "I can't stop laughing" variety (notable for, once again, Will Ferrell's hilarious straying from the script; this time he's teamed with Jason Lee, who can't keep a straight face). And you get not one but two behind-the-scenes featurettes. It's an exercise in redundancy, if you ask me. The first, produced by Comedy Central, is a rather tame affair. The second, produced specially for this disc, is not. It features the no-holds-barred language that is Smith's bread and butter.
Two features highlight the work of Morris Day and the Time. The first features Smith and Mewes learning the band's relatively simple dance steps, before they are called on stage to end the film. Be warned: the sight of Kevin Smith attempting to dance may scare young children. The second feature is an exhaustive textual history of the band. If you ever have to write a paper on The Time, your research efforts will stop here.
Finally, in the disc's graphical section, you get an on-set photo gallery, what seems like a hundred different possibilities for the film's poster, and comic versions of Jay and Bob. The storyboards section is a dubious inclusion, Smith not being noted for his visual flair. But it does show how wild the Scooby-Doo parody would have been if Smith had had his druthers.
Although I laughed lovingly at the movie, despite its lack of desire to raise itself above the sophomoric, I was slightly disappointed by this DVD. It's a bloated effort, hardly up to the standard Smith and Co. have set by their other issues. Still, for the Smith completist (and who else would see "Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" but a Smith completist), the disc is a necessary addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rude, Crude, and Wicked Funny!, June 21 2002
Films Director Kevin Smith and his real life friend Jason Mewes, have played side characters, Jay, and Silent Bob, in all of Smith's films since, ''Clerks''. In Smith's 5th film they finnally play lead characters.
For those unfamiliar with other films in the series, Jay and Silent Bob are two stoner friends from New Jersey, who hang outside a convience store dealing dugs. There origin will be explained at the begining of the movie.
The plot of, ''Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back'', is a bad one, so the film mainly relys on laughs which it delivers a lot of. After finding out that internet geeks are ripping a movie based on a comic book whos characters, Bluntman and Chronic, are based on Jay and Silent Bob, the duo travels to Hollywood to stop production of the movie.
On the way they meet 4 jewel theives, 3 who trie to kill the duo, and one (Shannon Elizabeth) who falls in love with Jay.
The movie is a full of acting talent but a lot of that talent is wasted by putting stars in cameo roles, which isn't neccesarily a bad thing.
Jason Mewes, Kevin Smith, Shannon Elizabeth, Wll Ferrel, and a loveable little Orangatang are the most important characters.
Like Smith and Mewes do in Smith's other films, Jason Lee, Ben Afleck, Jeff Andersen, and Brian O'halloran, reprise there roles from characters of Smith's other films.
In the cameo department this movie is loaded, With cameo appearances by, Chris Rock, Matt Dammon, George Carlin, Jason Biggs, Sean William Scott, James Van Der Bergh, Tracy Morgan, Diedrich Baker, Carrie Fischer, Mark Hammil, and many more.
Fans of rude comedy will love Jay and Silent Bob, its loaded with laughs. Offensive but funny this is a Hillarous movie to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith's big mistake, May 15 2002
Kevin Smith is a talented writer and director. It is a pity that he besmirched himself with this scatological trash. Smith has included vignettes with Jay (Jason Mewes) and Silent Bob (Kevin Smith himself) in most of his films to add comic relief. These characters became his trademark and they developed a cult following. Smith was inundated with requests to expand the characters and feature them in a film. Unfortunately, he capitulated, and this fatuous film is the result.
This film is targeted at boys 14 to 19 years old, most of whom were precluded from seeing it because of its R rating. As a result, the box office was disappointing. Most of the film is jejune, with occasional glimpses of Smith's comedic genius peeking out from the imbecilic slapstick humor and the tsunami of profane language and crude sex jokes.
Smith has given us insightful comedies such as "Chasing Amy" and "Dogma" that are both thoughtful and funny. In this film, he is a good sport and pokes fun at himself and the actors, particularly Ben Affleck who berates himself constantly. The movie parodies sprinkled throughout the film are innovative and humorous, taking pot shots and his films and other blockbusters such as "Star Wars", "Scream", "ET", and "Batman". However, whatever comedic value these skits had was negated by the completely pointless script and the vulgar and boorish behavior of Jason Mewes, who spewed profanity literally every other word.
From an acting perspective this ensemble cast is nothing more than a Kevin Smith reunion party, with most of the actors having worked with him before. Cameos abound. As for the main characters, Kevin Smith is always excellent as Silent Bob. He is a master of facial expressions and physical comedy. Jason Mewes is not really an actor. He has little on his resume other than playing Jay for Kevin Smith. All that can really be said of him is that he has an incredible ability to behave like a foul-mouth teenager, despite the fact that he is approaching 30.
This film is a temptation that Kevin Smith should have resisted. It is puerile and disjointed with little redeeming value other than the movie parodies. I rated it a 3/10. It will have appeal to certain pubescent boys, but to anyone else it is likely to be a vile and offensive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Ain't for You..It's for the Fans, May 14 2002
By 
Jay Smith (Harrisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This is another great DVD package for a Kevin Smith film. Enough extras on the set to keep you coming back, searching for easter eggs and enjoying the behind-the-scenes material for days.
As far as the movie goes, here's the secret. I think I sussed it. Kevin Smith made a movie he wanted to make for himself and the fans of his other flicks. It's the perfect "fan film" made by the biggest fans of the series - the creators themselves.
J&SB is for the fans. If you haven't seen it, you won't get many of the references or understand who the many characters are. There are a LOT of cameos and countless in-jokes and blatant Star Wars references. But if you're interested in watching a film that follows the hijinks of two stoners and a monkey, you've either already seen the other Kevin Smith flicks, or you have one weird fetish, my friend. So if you HAVEN'T seen "Clerks" or "Mallrats" or "Chasing Amy" or "Dogma" or "Clerks: The Animated Series" you owe it to yourself to do so FIRST and THEN come back when you're ready to collect the big, funny THANK YOU card that is Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back.
Oh, and the jewel thieves in catsuits are great. Just magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, especially for View-Askew fans, May 7 2002
I had been looking forward to this "New Jersey Trilogy" finale for a long time and I am happy to say that it was well worth the wait. Not only was this movie the funniest of all 5 of Smith's films, it was one of the funniest I have seen in a very long time. I'll be the first one to admit that (especially compared to its predecessors) the plot and main storyline are pretty thin, but it doesn't take long to realize that that is kinda the point. Its pretty obvious that after the first 4 films in the "trilogy", Smith finally had the freedom to do whatever he wanted when making this movie, and takes full advantage of it. Jason Mewes is at his best as the "in your face" Jay and his comments are made that much funnier when you are looking at Silent Bob's facial expressions & body language whenever Jay goes on one of his rants. I was a bit disappointed that Dante & Randall had such small parts, but at the same time, I can't imagine this movie being any funnier. And any movie with even a brief appearance by George Carlin is worth watching. George is the king of comedy, and his short part is one of the most hilarious parts of this movie.
One thing needs to be understood by people interested in this film (and really all of Smith's films). Kevin Smith makes his movies for the movie fan, because that is what he is. If you aren't the type of person who can watch the same flick over and over again, recite your favorite quotes, remember actors & actresses; there is a lot in this film (and other Smith films) that will go right over your head. As one reviewer put it, Smith writes his dialogue in a way that lets us movie buffs feel like we are "in the know", and this is usually alienating for the viewer who could care less about any of that stuff. So if you are wondering why the customer reviews for this movie tend to be extreme (a lot of 5 & 1 star ratings), there is your answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith Strikes Back, May 3 2002
By 
Scot P. Livingston (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
I've been a Kevin Smith fan from way back, which is kind of unusual since I'm not really a fan of dick and fart jokes. For me, the main attraction is his movies' dialogue, his sparkling rapier wit. For example, Smith's debut, Clerks (which sometimes feels like a 24 hour Andy Warhol film written by David Mamet and shot on a surveillance video camera), is not only an exercise in a great script overcoming everything else (uneven acting, static cinematography), but is also an example of dialogue overcoming plot (or lack thereof) within said screenplay. Really, the only movie where characters talk more and do less is My Dinner With Andre. His dick and fart jokes (of which his films aren't really as replete or dependent upon as he implies) are always the most excruciating moments for me. And those moments are far more frequent and noticeable in Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back. The scene with the soda cup and the fart-activated alarm particularly made me cringe in this flick.
All of Kevin Smith's other films (Mallrats, Dogma, Chasing Amy) have succeeded to varying degrees over their respective drawbacks for the same reason -- interesting characters spouting memorable lines. Now Smith presents his entry in the Dude, Where's My Car? genre. How will this film appeal to those who are also tempted by Bubble Boy and Rat Race is hard for me to say, as I'm not really in touch with that demographic. The real audience is the hard-core View Askew-ers who've taken to quoting those memorable lines ad nauseaum and figuring out how all these interesting characters are related throughout the previous movies. Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back is Kevin Smith's valentine to his fans. Smith says that this is going to be his last film in the Askewniverse, but Smith says a lot of things. His fans are still waiting for the promised Fletch Won, Superman Lives, and Clerks 2.
So as one of Kevin's hard-core followers and his intended demographic, how well did the movie work on me? While I may not go in for the dick and fart joke, I am a sucker for the inside joke, the kind of wink-wink that makes me feel smart and in the know. At least three times in Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back do all the characters turn to the camera to indicate that the punchline is "this movie you're watching right now". These inside jokes are an odd combination of sly, smart wit for those who are paying attention surrounded by cheap, dumb laughs for the masses. Anytime Will Ferrell or Dietrich Bader was on screen, I hung my head in shame. It felt a little like The Simpsons, only I watch The Simpsons at home I don't have to listen to the large laughs when Homer falls down, which helps.
Actually, what it really reminded me of is one of the early Muppet movies (anything done after Jim Henson's death just plain sucks). As many characters as possible are trotted out on-screen regardless of how necessary they are to the "plot" (such as it is), with all the other roles filled with an A-to-Z list of celebrity cameos. In fact, what little plot there is, is almost taken directly from the best two movies -- the road trip to Hollywood from The Muppet Movie, and the diamond heist from The Great Muppet Caper.
Of course, the movie also has a monkey, which is usually not a good sign (anyone rented Dunston Checks In lately?) But Tango turns in a rich, understated performance as Suzanne the orangutan, by simply not really being in that much of the film.
Overall, I really enjoyed the flick. Whether or not you will to depends on how you felt (or if you've even seen) the rest of the Smith oeuvre. Or maybe it doesn't. You'll just enjoy it on a whole different level for completely different reasons. The real question is where will Kevin go from here? Apparently phasing his old characters out slowly (as it looked like he was trying to do in Chasing Amy) won't work for him. Apparently, he's decided to make a clean break. Sometimes the riskiest move produces the most ambitious work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Plotless, but who cares? It's hilarious!, May 1 2002
By 
S. Katz (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a fan of Kevin Smith for years; I can say that right off the bat. And this movie definitely requires your having seen all of his movies -- or at least most of them.
In honesty it is stupid and the plot is weak. Who cares? That's not the point of this movie.
The point of this movie is that it';s hilarious in dialogue. The problems Jay and Silent Bob hit are as comical as in any other movie, and the many cameos and flashbacks that happen throughout the movie, as well as the references to the past films, are priceless.
Ben Affleck's dual roles made me almost die laughing, especially when he cameos himself... after already having appeared as Holden (from Chasing Amy) and making pot-shots at his own casting in movies!
Don't go in expecting a good plot or a coherent story. Go in expecting to enjoy Kevin Smith's dialogue (but keep in mind that this movie did have an NC-17 rating until they trimmed it a bit, and the language is very very blue), revisit the rest f his movies and to just flat-out laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even funnier on DVD than it was in the theater, April 24 2002
First of all, don't see this movie unless you've seen every other movie that Kevin Smith has made, because you just won't get all the in jokes. Then if you are going to watch this, be in the right frame of mind to laugh your head off. The plot of Jay and Silent Bob taking a road trip to California to stop the movie version of Bluntman & Chronic from being made is somewhat secondary to all the hijinx. Jay and Silent Bob run into a gang of female jewel thieves, Scooby Doo and his cronies, and George Carlin teaching them about "the rules of the road." They end up kidnapping a gorilla, and somehow make it to Hollywood to stop the movie. The fun really starts when they run into Miramax studios and an entertaining satire of the entertainment industry ensues. We get to see Good Will Hunting 2 being filmed by Gus van Sant who is just counting his money (not to spoil this scene, but having Ben Affleck and Matt Damon playing overly affected versions of themselves is just hilarious). The cameos in this movie are a large part of the fun, particularly when Jay and Silent Bob meet the "actors" who will be playing them in the Bluntman and Chronic movie (Jason Biggs and James van der Beek). Plus the DVD is loaded down with extras that any Kevin Smith fan will go "ape" over. I found the things that made me chuckle on the first viewing made me laugh hilariously on the second viewing. Definitely a movie you can see again and again for laughs. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back by Kevin Smith (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews