Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars My second favourite movie
This and the Casablanca are my favourite movies of all time. great for any collection. I've played it many times.
Published 1 month ago by Gordon Rickards

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warners Doesn't Do It Again
Warner Brothers has one of the greatest film catalogs of any studio; yet they don't appear to take their DVD issues very seriously. Who on earth would put "Goodfellas" on two sides of a disc? or not release the "Director's Cut" version of "Eyes Wide Shut" (imagine the added revenue if they had)? or release a slapdash collection of...
Published on Feb. 21 2000 by Nowhere Man


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warners Doesn't Do It Again, Feb. 21 2000
By 
Nowhere Man (Farmington, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Warner Brothers has one of the greatest film catalogs of any studio; yet they don't appear to take their DVD issues very seriously. Who on earth would put "Goodfellas" on two sides of a disc? or not release the "Director's Cut" version of "Eyes Wide Shut" (imagine the added revenue if they had)? or release a slapdash collection of Kubrick's films? or almost never digitally enhance the audio or visual transfer or provide any significant extras? Compared to the deluxe packages that Universal, Criterion, and, even, Paramount has mustered, Warners' issues - all released in cheap and easily breakable snap cases - are a peculiar desecration of a vaunted film legacy.
Case in point: "The Maltese Falcon". Arguably the greatest detective film ever made, Warners at least releases it with a decent video transfer. Unfortunately, the audio synchronizing is off during the last 15 minutes of the movie (by a second but it's still noticable) and I wasn't able to access all the people on the "Cast and Crew" menu (no, it wasn't a machine error, as I tested on several discs thereafter). Moreover, although I enjoyed the "Trailers of Humphrey Bogart" section, it would have been nice if Warners spent the money to create a documentary history of the film the way they did on Universal's "Casablanca" release.
Much ink has been spilt praising "The Maltese Falcon" so I won't go into any panegyrics here. It's just a shame that Warners doesn't take this market seriously enough to put more care into the DVD releases of their finest films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My second favourite movie, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This and the Casablanca are my favourite movies of all time. great for any collection. I've played it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps The Greatest Movie Ever !, Sept. 4 2013
By 
Fraser D. Riddell (Vancouver, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a high quality DVD that has a twist, it contains 3 seperate versions of the movie. The best known being Bogarts version, but one of the others come very close. What a cast of characters, even a young Gunsel who went on to play Icepick on Magnum PI as an old man. Greenstreet and the lovely Mary Astor shine. Great movie, great actors. Buy this DVD, you won't be disappointed. I recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Humphrey Bogart mystery, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Excellent Humphrey Bogart mystery, he playing the private detective Sam Spade. Good supporting cast . Good quality DVD. Suspenseful and well worth it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1936 or 1941, July 12 2008
By 
Stephen H. Ford (Thornhill, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The date given for this item is 1936 (why?), but the film was made in 1941.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In 1539 The Knights Templar of Malta..., July 22 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
...paid tribute to Charles V of Spain, by sending him A Golden Falcon encrusted from beak to claw with rarest jewels..."

The Falcon was lost in time.

Our mystery begins when a beautiful but enigmatic woman (Mary Astor) shows up at the Spade and Archer detective agency. She gives them a story that is implausible; however they are well paid. This leads to the death of Archer.

Who did it and why? The police suspect Sam Spade.

Who do you suspect?

As the story unfolds many interesting characters (suspects) show up and the story takes different turns as the mystery of the missing falcon continues.

I will not go through the whole story However there is many well know actors and Hammett dialog.

Be sure to view the earlier version of this story "Dangerous Female" (1931); you will get a different view.

Sam Spade (Ricardo Cortez)

Ruth Wonderly (Bebe Daniels)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bogart classic, June 29 2004
By 
Joseph H Pierre "Joe Pierre" (Salem, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maltese Falcon (VHS Tape)
Director: John Huston
Format: Black & White
Studio: Warner Studios
Video Release Date: February 1, 2000
Cast:
Humphrey Bogart ... Private Detective Sam Spade
Mary Astor ... Brigid O'Shaughnessy
Gladys George ... Iva Archer
Peter Lorre ... Joel Cairo
Barton MacLane ... Det. Lt. Dundy
Lee Patrick ... Effie Perine
Sydney Greenstreet ... Kasper Gutman
Ward Bond ... Det. Tom Polhaus
Jerome Cowan ... Miles Archer
Elisha Cook Jr. ... Wilmer Cook
James Burke ... Luke
Murray Alper ... Frank Richman
John Hamilton ... Bryan
Charles Drake ... Reporter
Chester Gan ... Bit part
Creighton Hale ... Stenographer
Robert Homans ... Policeman
William Hopper ... Reporter
Walter Huston ... Capt. Jacobi
Hank Mann ... Reporter
Jack Mower ... Announcer
Emory Parnell ... Ship's mate
This is a cult classic Sam Spade (Humphrey Bogart) film. The cast included all-time greats Peter Lorre, Sidney Greestreet, Walter Huston, Ward Bond, and other veterans like Mary Astor and Jerome Cowan.

John Huston directed, and kept the tension high throughout.

This is a story about a statue of a falcon that the Knights Templar had made as a gift for the King of Spain in gratitude. It was lost in transit to the king. Crusted with jewels of immense value, but covered with black lacquer to disguise its worth, it was lost for centuries. This story is about the struggle between factions of villains to get the bird.

If you have never see Bogart in this movie, you have missed one which is partly responsible for his fame.

Joseph (Joe) Pierre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Defining Bogart, June 6 2004
By 
H Y Seo (Sac-a-tomatoes USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Of all the movies and reviews of Humphrey Bogart, let this one stand and pronounce that the scene when he slaps Peter Lorre's face and tells him, "shut-up and like it..." is the defining moment in Bogart's career and especially this movie.
Well crafted, but a bit loose on plot developement, The Maltese Falcon is what too many mystery/suspense movies trying to live up to an assumed description of what a "noir" film is supposed to be about, pledge their loyalties.
Entertaining more than a fine film, The Maltese Falcon is a tour de force performance for Bogart. If you are a fan, then this is a must see. The camera work is also a good source for cameramen wannabes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should I stutter?, May 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
In order to follow merely the plot of this story the first time round you need a brain that goes clickety-click fast enough to match Bogart's machine-gun-like delivery. I can't believe anyone ever talked as fast as he did on film. Partly because the plot is so intricate, it gets better each time you see it: everything eventually falls into place with perfect logic. But there's very much more to it. There's a terrific undertow of all kinds of deeper meanings below the surface: the campy amorality of the misfit crooks with their greed and false values, pursuing nothing. The ferocious bitterness in Bogart's staccato angel, precious, darling, sweetheart. It's as if he hated the whole female race. There's no love here, just off-screen pairing. It's pointless to complain that Mary Astor is melodramatic. That's the whole point of her character: she doesn't lie in order to gain some advantage, it's her feminine nature to put on an act, deceive and mislead. Her opposite is the role of the staunch and loyal secretary: "You're a good man, sister!" In fact the whole movie is suffused with gender-bending confusion. The cops are a couple of boyfriends. The womanising jerk, Archer, is Bogart's partner. Add to this the fantastic character-acting of, especially, Sydney Greenstreet. An amazing screen presence, he really was. This is a film which matures the more you see it, and it is definitely for the mature. I didn't think much of it, the first time I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Clever Film, April 25 2004
By 
L. J Nary (Indio, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maltese Falcon (VHS Tape)
The film is very clever and kind of twists you up a bit at the end. You have to pay attention to really capture the essence. Some greedy lowlifes want to get the Maltese falcon which apparently was part of the treasure given to the Knights Templar from the kingdom of Spain. Does anybody remember the Knights from the Da Vinci Code. Anyways, detective Sam Spade gets involved. His partner gets killed early on in the story and he hooks up where his partner left off. The cops think he killed his partner and most everybody sees him as a good for nothing. He plays it like that, trying to play his hand to the highest bidder, acting as if he wants the money, that thats all he is concerned with. The lowlifes project that on to him, because thats what they see in themselves. The cops don't trust him. He seems to be a one man show but is it for the money or for the need to see justice proclaimed. Bogart does a real good job in his character and the film noir is never better! The dialog is snappy and intelligent. I'm glad I am watching these movies. I thought the classics would be sort of silly, and old fashioned but this film shows real clarity.
Lisa Nary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1697fa8)

This product

The Maltese Falcon
The Maltese Falcon by John Huston (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 29.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews