Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not having what you want; it's wanting what you've got
Nice social message wrapped up in hip clothes, cool music, adorable female lead, nerdy hero, and morality tale. But the crux of the flick is about learning to accept yourself, to stand tall for what you believe to be true, AND above all, to recognize when you have what you need. If our hero had realized he should be satisfied when our cute female lead was dating him,...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by Alicia Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars horrible customer service
I ordered this video Nov. 30th and was told that it would be delivered by Dec 22nd (which was long enough to wait). On Dec22nd I checked the status of my order again, and now it says it will be delivered after Dec 24th. Four weeks to wait for a video? This is ridiculous.
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Joe Sorrell


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars its a great movie!!! Please make it available for sale, Sept. 27 1999
This review is from: Cant Buy Me Love (VHS Tape)
I really love this film. Theres just one problem I cant buy it anymore it appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, April 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cant Buy Me Love (VHS Tape)
It makes you believe that you could be liked more and not be laughed at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was only in English...., Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
If the movie was bilingual, I would like it for sure... This is existing in french on DVD???
I hope you can help me with this question
Thanks for your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1980s classic!!!, Jan. 7 2004
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
Patrick Dempsey plays nerdy Ronnie Miller, who is so on the outside of society at his high school that he is known simply as "Lawn Boy" because he mows everyone's lawn for his part-time job. He wants to be popular for his upcoming senior year, and he sees his chance when cheerleader Cindy Mancini is in a jam, having ruined her mother's suede outfit at a party and needing $1000 to replace it.
Ronnie happens to be at the mall at the same time, purchasing a new telescope with his lawn-mowing money when he sees Cindy's dilemma. He offers to pay for the new outfit if she will pretend to be his girlfriend for a month and introduce him to the popular circle.
Although this seems completely crazy to Cindy, she does it (after a great little makeover -- quite the staple of 1980s teen movies!) She even starts to like Ronnie as a person, until popularity goes to his head.
People are lemmings and will believe whatever they are told, particularly in the classic scene where Ronnie starts doing the "African Anteater Dance" which he saw on a show he mistook for 'American Bandstand'. Everyone at the school dance follows him instantly.
Don't miss a very young Seth Green as Ronnie's annoying brother! He is great as a smarmy kid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie -- but DON'T BUY the DVD..., June 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
...unless they add decent DVD extras. If we consumers stick together and avoid buying *bad* DVDs of great movies, maybe distributers will do the work that that is worthy of the movie, the medium, and the price. I would give the movie itself five stars for story, script, humor, message, and acting.
Enjoyable features: original aspect ratio, audio commentaries (by director, writers, actors), "making of"/other featurettes, interviews, deleted/extended/blooper scenes, cast & crew info, etc. Also, since DVD "Region 1" includes USA and Canada, each DVD should have both English and French audio and subtitle support. DVDs are expensive, but a versatile medium for movie lovers, so should not be just the bare-bones movie. (Otherwise, a Special Edition should come out at the same time the bare-bones version is released.)
A minor beef I have with Disney and Buena Vista is their excluding the original movie release year from the packaging, forcing movie lovers to have to look it up elsewhere. Every movie (DVD/VHS) should have the movie runtime and original release year on the packaging. (Similarly, music CDs should have track numbers, names, and durations on the back of the case, unless a multi-disk set where space doesn't permit -- but many apathetic producers leave off some or all of this information.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
Great video, quick delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars love this movie, Sept. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
As a member of this time period, I loved this movie and recommend it to all the teenagers who work for me in place of the, "She's all That" which I felt was just not as good as this. I must agree that until this movie appears in the Widescreen version I am not interested but will be first in line when and if it does. I only buy widescreen in dvd and dvd is all I buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Regarding no WIDESCREEN, Oct. 2 2002
By 
Glenn M. Schoditsch (Richmond, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
This is Disney's reply as to why this and most of their live action releases are in full screen format. They say that DVD is ready for TVs of the future, which are widescreen. TVs of the future? What century are they living in? Check the Disney web site under FAQ. Do as many have suggested. Don't buy until they come up with a release in it's OAR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No widescreen, no sale, Aug. 31 2002
By 
tmm (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
This is an excellent movie, and I would buy it in a second, were it not for the fact that it's only available in 'full-screen' (pan & scan) format. I want the whole picture! Until then, i'm not buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No widescreen?, Aug. 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Can't Buy Me Love (DVD)
I was really looking forward to buying this DVD when it was released until I saw that it was fullscreen only. I refuse to buy the DVD until they release it in widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Buy Me Love
Can't Buy Me Love by Steve Rash (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 6.25 CDN$ 5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews