Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars166
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$90.99+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 2, 2001
This is the most enjoyable versions of "A Christmas Carol" ever made. Dickens should be flattered. You can't get any better than the muppets, and Michael Caine is delightful. I have made watching it one of my Christmas traditions. It wouldn't be Christmas without it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2001
Anyone who knows anything about Jim Henson's Muppets, needs no introduction to "The Muppet Christmas Carol". Your favorite muppet characters retell the story of Charles Dickens' enduring Christmas tale of redemption with Kermit the Frog as Bob Cratchitt, Ms. Piggy as Mrs. Cratchitt, Fozzy the Bear as Mr. Fezziwig and the rest of the Muppet Family. Michael Caine as Ebenezer Scrooge, plays delightfully off the touching and humorous Muppet family. It's funny and joyous and will surely make a treasured addition to any VHS family library.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2001
Contemporary take on Charles Dickens' classic features Michael Caine as Scrooge. This whimsical adaption offers December delight for all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2001
Since first seeing this movie, I have been unable to watch any other version of the story. It is nearly word for word at times with Dickens' story - yes, I followed along! There is a lot of humor and fun in this movie, but also some touching scenes. I even cried at one point!
I can watch this movie all year round and it is always wonderful. It never gets old and starts the holiday season off on the right foot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2001
It is not Christmas unless this movie has been watched. With a fun twist on a classic story, this is a movie that is not to be missed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2001
Brain Henson son of the late Jim Henson directed this movie. And which I'm sure you all know it is the first muppet movie since the death of Jim Henson in 1990. In the movie, Kermit The Frog, and other muppets play characters from a Christmas Carol. Note that there are humans like Micahel Caine in this movie, but more muppets. As the movie opens, Scrooge hates chritmas and gets invited to spend Christmas with his nephew Fred and his wife Clara.
Scrooge: Why did you even get married?
Fred: Why? Because I fell in love.
Isn't that why a lot of people get married? But to you think since 1990 the muppets has gotten long with out Jim Henson as thier director? But why did it take 2 years to make a new Muppet movie?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2001
I think The Muppets Christmas Carol is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The music is spectacular as well as the theme. I have watched it over and over again and never tire of it. I am just waiting for it to come out on DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2001
Charles Dickens' classic tale "A Christmas Carol" has probably been adapted for stage, screen, and TV more than any other story in the history of literature. Many have been really great -- the Mr. Magoo animated version, Patrick Stewart's one-man stage show, the George C. Scott version, etc. But one of the best is definitely "The Muppet Christmas Carol," directed with heart and intelligence by Brian Henson. This version is particularly noteworthy because it combines two beloved pop-culture icons: Dickens' story and the Jim Henson Muppets.
It's been a long time since I read Dickens' original text, but from what I remember, the MCC is quite faithful to Dickens. Like the other Muppet films, MCC combines human actors with the whimsical Muppet characters (just in case you don't know what a Muppet is, it's a sort of puppet). The great Michael Caine plays Scrooge, and the Muppets play other Dickens characters: Kermit the Frog is Bob Cratchit, Miss Piggy is Mrs. Cratchit, etc.
One clever touch is having Charles Dickens (portrayed by Muppet Gonzo the Great) appear as a narrator in the film. Gonzo/Dickens is accompanied by Rizzo the Rat, and the two have some great comic banter and slapstick humor. This device nicely complements the main story without distracting from it. The film is enhanced by some lovely songs; my favorite is the one sung by the Ghost of Christmas Present.
Dickens' original "Carol" is, at its core, a compassionate and life-affirming story, and the Muppet version is right on target in preserving the soul of the tale. There are some genuinely sweet and moving touches (such as one Muppets' gift to Scrooge) that combine well with the trademark Muppet humor. Add to this good special effects, fine performances (both human and Muppet), and impressive sets and costumes, and you have a true classic: a film for every member of the family. In "The Muppet Christmas Carol," Brian Henson and his Muppets prove that, with imagination and skill, new life can be breathed into a favorite old story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2001
This story is about an old, selfish, money-loving man named Ebenezer Scrooge. He HATES Christmas and he's as worse as ever on that traditional holiday;he's a real old sourpuss. He hates it because everyone is so happy! So, on Christmas Eve, he is visited by 3 ghosts. Before that, his long-dead partner, Marley, comes back, tied up by heavy chains. He warns him that if he is is selfish, he would get these chains, much heavier chains, all around him. It'll be made by his own selfishness. Marley tells him that 3 ghosts are going to visit him: The Ghost of Christmas Past, Ghost of Christmas Present, and the Ghost of Christmas Future.
This movie is so funny and fun! Gonzo as the hilarious Dickens and Rizzo as his sidekick. The songs are fun to listen. You'll love this movie, especially in Christmas!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2001
This movie has great songs. It is a wonderful movie to watch at Christmas; my family watches it every year. Gonzo is a hilarious Dickens, and Rizzo is really funny, too. This movie always makes me laugh. Besides this, it's full of Christmas spirit. If you liked the book A CHRISTMAS CAROL, you will love this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed