march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars1,008
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Yes, Eminem is a controversial public figure, however The Eminem Show by Eminem is another cd (hip-hop collection) that I found in my husband’s music collection in order to open my mind to the type of music he likes (this was another cd that he purchased around the time that it was released, which would mean that he either purchased it in Iceland or Japan). Cleanin Out My Closet and Without Me are some of the popular and thought provoking songs that are on The Eminem show. However, I admit to finding Soldier also to be a buzzworthy type of song because of the controversy that still brews today among people from various walks of life on what is best for the military industrial complex system and manpower discussions (especially in the wake of recent online news that the Army is scheduled to implement a massive troop cut). Nonetheless, The Eminem Show by The Eminem is also a strong cd for those who are eclectic music collectors of music from the early 2000’s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2004
This really is a great cd. Listening to it almost feels like an autobiography. Em continues where he left on in "The Marshall Mathers LP" and keeps everything very fresh.
2.White America--Em bashes Lynne Cheney, the "hypocrisy" of America, and what he calls "The United States of Embarrassment". At the end of the track though, em laughs and utters "I'm just playin America, you know i love you."-4/5
3.Buisness--Em shows his "Sidekick" partnership with Dr. Dre in this "Batman and Robin" feel type track. My favorite parts of this song is the end of each chorus when Em ask "Can i get a witness?", and Dre yells "Hell yeah!".-4/5
4.Cleanin Out My Closet--Everyone has heard this song and anyone can recognize the catchy chorus. Slim tells us about this drug-addict mother, his cheating wife, and his bad public persona. Nothing you haven't heard before. Nonetheless, great lyrics-4/5
5.Square Dance--Very deceiving title...This song bashes the Bush administration and doesn't let up. Great song to get mad to. The chorus can get very annoying though.-3/5
7.Soldier--This song has a very interesting beat. Very good lyrics too, about how em has learned to take all of the hard times in his life like a soldier. One of my favorites on the cd-5/5
8.Say Goodbye Hollywood--This song really isn't that bad. The beat sounds like it took only a few minutes to create, but I really like the lyrics-3/5
9.Drips--A very amusing song about sex (etc.) feat. Obie Trice. The edited version of this album does not include this song.-4/5
10.Without Me--Em brings back his alter-ego Slim Shady for this song and does not dissapoint. The beat on this track reminds me of "The Real Slim Shady". This is a very funny song.-5/5
12.Sing for the Moment-Em's take on the classic Aerosmith tune "Dream On". Dream On is one of my favorite (rock) songs of all time, and I think Em really does the song justice. A little slow, but great rhyming-5/5
13.Superman--When I bought this cd, I expected this track to be a lot better. To be honest, I was quite dissapointed at this song. I do like the hook in the middle, though, but the chorus is more annoying than not-3/5
14.Hailies Song--I love this song. Eminem takes time out to actually sing a very heartfelt song for his daughter, and does a very good job. Em is actually an o.k. singer and the chorus in this song is song has been stuck in my head for days-4/5
16.When the Music Stops--This track could have easily been on a D12 cd, since every member of the group has a verse in it. I actually like Bizarre's verse the best in this song no matter how crazy that sounds.-4/5
17.Say What you Say--A pretty cool song w/ Dre, but the chorus is very reppetitive and boring. This song could have used some re-tooling-3/5
18.'Till I Collapse-A very basic beat, and some very above-average lyrics. And, what modern rap song in this day is complete without a chorus by Nate Dogg?-5/5
19.My Dad's Gone Crazy--This is definitely the most underrated song on the cd. I did not even know this track existed until I bought this album. Em's daughter, Hailie Jade Scott, sings a line in the chorus that makes this a fun song to listen too. While the second verse is kind of disgusting, the third verse in this song will have you re-winding your cds to listen to it over and over and over again. Wow-5/5
This CD is definitely worth the money and is a good choice to buy. Part II of the Marshall Mathers LP, and even better. 10/10 lyrics, 9/10 beats, and 10/10 production
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2002
Ok, everyone, it's about time that people put aside their doubts about Eminem's skills or staying power! Slim Shady's third album, "The Eminem Show" proves once and for all that Mr. Mathers is extremely talented, in addition to being a lightning rod for controversy. With his debut album in 1999, "The Slim Shady LP", it would easy to have written him off as another white rapper being a pretender to the throne of hip-hop greatness. Even with catchy songs like "My Name is" and "Guilty Conscience" making loud noise on the Top-40 charts, critics were in a hurry to lump him with other 'Great White Hopes' that flamed out like Vanilla Ice (just a complete joke) and Snow (just never found an audience). The success of his sophomore album, "The Marshall Mathers LP" shocked many and showed he had staying power, but the truth is, Eminem was destined for success from the start.

First, Eminem is a gifted lyricist and free-stylist, which already separates him from the pre-fabricated hip-hop garbage like Ja Rule and such. Second, he made the crucial decision early on to ally himself with arguably the most respected and skillful name in the hip-hop world, Dr. Dre. With Dre's expert and ORIGINAL sound backing up Shady's vocals, it was inevitable that he would be successful and that eventually people would come around to realize his talent.

"The Eminem Show" continues to show the evolution of that talent. "Without Me" captures the same fast-paced, light-hearted slams at popular culture that "The Real Slim Shady" did on his previous album. In addition to such 'amusing' songs like that and "White America", Eminem delves deeper into, and makes some peace with, his sordid past. "Cleaning Out My Closet" goes right to the heart of his pain about his upbringing and his fractured relationship with his mother. If his lyrics in this song are indeed and accurate depiction of his life growing up, then it's no wonder he's such an angry individual. Yet, through that anger, he seems to be making peace with himself, even if it means terminating any relationship with his mother. It's gritty, harsh, but real material.

Eminem is branching out into movies now with a loosely autobiographical "8 Mile". Early reviews there seem positive, too. It's always fascinating to see what he will produce next. The controversy he generates grabs people's attention the first time. The skill and talent that he displays keeps people returning each additional time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2002
Shady seems to get wizer with his lyrics ever album. This album explodes with great lyrics, beats, and a tight production. Dr. Dre and Eminem are the best duo. Marshall tells about social issues in America he expresses his thoughts in great detail throughout the album you get a sense of what he is going through in his life.
Curtains Up Skit- Show's Eminem ready to talk on the microphone.
White America- Displays Eminem's talent to reach out to his fans and how's he's influenced them awesome song! Very heavy
Business- One of my favorite tracks it's awesome with Dre's beats. It's kind of a batman and Robin duo. Great Lyricsm on this track it's a standout!!
Cleanin Out My Closet- Eminem talks about his fame, his ex wife, and his mother, this song tells the fans what Eminem's feeling.
Square Dance- Don't let the title fool you. Eminem seems mad on this track he trash talks canibus! It's a good rap song.
The Kiss Skit- The events that led to Eminem's arrest.
Soldier- Tells about how even though Eminem has had lawsuits against him, the press against him, and his newfound fame, he takes it all in and still moves on like a soilder.
Say Goodbye Hollywood- Talks about all the things that have happened to Shady and how he needs to keep his feet above the ground.
Drips- Talks about Obie Trice he raps about sex and STDS. Basically a son about Eminem's fictional girlfriend.
Without Me- One of my favorite tracks. Eminems first lead single and he basically tells about how he's back and better then ever. Very funny song.
. Paul Rosenberg (Skit)- Em's manager telling em not to carry a gun around anywhere.
Sing For The Moment- Aerosmith tune telling how his fans and other enterainers are attached to em.
Superman- Tells about his ex wife. And how he can care less about the situation. How's he single and his laid back attitude.
Hailie's Song- Lovesong to his daughter. Describing his feelings in this heartfelt song.
Steve Berman(skit) - The head of Interscope records says what he wants to say about this album.
When The Music Stops- Awesome talks about Em's issues and what he's feeling tight beat guest spot by D12 one of my favorite songs on this album.
Say What U Say - Em and Dre rap dissing Jermaine Dupri.
'Till I Collapse- Don't really like this song tells about how em is going to continue with his rap career till he collapse how much he loves the game and how rapping is his life!
My Dad's Gone Crazy- Eminem shines on this song it tells about him and what we've known all along Em is a little crazy!
The Curtains close- The Em show sadly ends.
*****5 stars great album!! Funny
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2002
The last two albums were great! They both, like this one had amazing crazy lyrics. But those two only had a few serious songs and the rest of the cd was joking around. Not this one, most of the cd is serious and deep. Its a lot more fersonal that the rest.
Track Assesment:
1 Curtains Up(skit)
2.White America- Great anti government song 5/5
3.Buisness - cool song, coll lyrics 5/5
4.Cleaning Out My Closet - serious, deep, personal, amazing 6/5
5.Square Dance - cool beat, cool lyrics 5/5
6.The Kiss(skit) - kim....
7.Soldier - I'm at a loss for words 6/5
8.Say Goodbye to Hollywood - cool song, personal, 5/5
9.Drips(w/obie trice) - little too nasty, but cool 4/5
10.Without Me - ya'll know this one 4/5
11.Paul Rosenberg(skit) - em, dont bring you're gun around..
12.Sing for the Moment - awsome remake of areosmith classi, 6/5
13.Superman - cool song 5/5
14.Halies Song - to halie, em has the balls to try and sing, peronal, meaningfull 5/5
15.Steve Berman(skit) - he finaly dies!
16.When The Music Stops - realy cool song 5/5
17.Say What You Say(w/dr.dre) cool song, dre disses dupri!!5/5
18.Till I Collapse(w/ nate doog) - cool chorus by nate, cool backroung 5/5
19.My Dads Gone Crazy(W/Halie Jade) - really cool, halie pust good touch on song, 5/5
20.Curtains Close(skit) - Ken Kaniff is back!
After reading that you should relize how amazing this cd is.
The bonus dvd is pretty cool. It has a couple live preformances, a few interviews, I Just Dont Give A ... video and an episiode of The Slim Shady Show.
In the DVD em says its best for an artist to grow each cd and get better, and he sure ...did on this one, ...
ps-I dont know if its possible for him to grow after this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
I CANNOT stop listening to this CD, something that came as a shock and unexpected delight to this over 40 mom/lawyer/folk music fan (maybe there IS a little Slim Shady in all of us....). After I saw the movie 8 Mile, I had to check out Eminem's music (more than just the soundtrack, that is) so I bought this and was floored. I now have all of his CDs (I think), including the early ones pre-dating his relationship with Dr. Dre. The Marshall Mathers LP was great, but I like this one better, and like it MUCH more than the Slim Shady LP. My favorite tracks are Business, Square Dance (which, as a Texan, I NEVER listen to without laughing out loud, though I think the lyrics wander off a bit at the end), and Sing for the Moment. I also like Without Me very much, though it certainly is more pop oriented than the others. If you like Eminem, you should not delay any longer. You will LOVE this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2002
Eminem may have the talent and the truth, but this album [stinks], poor stupidity and ridiculous skits, and everytime he bashes over and over and over again, is this talent?, the only talent in this cd is in the candy store, This album may have done well at the billboard charts, but in my opinion, it will never be as good as 2pac, for a better white rappers try listening to beastie boys or even that new white rapper Bubba Sparxxx, even though I Didn't buy this album (thank god I Didn't), eminem is the most overrated rap artist in music since vanilla ice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
I was never impressed with Eminem when he first came out with Slim Shady. It was music that the loser, pissed off kid in the corner of the high school gym listened to. I was on the underground tip with Dilated Peoples' "The Platform", Swollen Members' "Balance", etc. I dug some mainstream stuff like old school Jay-Z (Reasonable Doubt), Nas (Illmatic), and Tupac. Eminem rapped about raping his mother and killing his wife in front of his daughter. I wonder to this day why somebody would get enjoyment out of listening to some of those songs released on his 2nd(Slim Shady) and 3rd(Marshall Mathers) L.P.s
Then something strange happened, Eminem released an intelligent, introspective, angry, politically charged, and seductive album with sick beats and an aggressive flow. In short, he used a gimmick to get on top and now that he's there, he's not messing around with his talent. He's an amazing artist and now that he's made his millions, he wants you to know it. This album is defined by contradictions and that is precisely what makes it attractive.
He viciously attacks the very hand that has fed him as well as foreign policy and the war on terrorism with his song "White America". Em addresses the state of hip hop in the bouncy track "Business" and throws in a little braggadocia. He attacks his mother, his inner issues about his upbringing, and his insecurities on "Cleaning Out My Closet." He attacks Bush and the war on terror again with "Squaredance," warning kids that the threat is real as well as takes some time to tell Canibus how he feels about him and threaten his life. There's an angry, humorous commentary about STD's on "Drips" where I felt like Em got a little too violent but Obie drops one of the most hilarious verses I've heard. There's the single "Without Me" which is one of the only tracks I skip. This is followed by a truly inspired song "Sing For The Moment." Eminem raps with an urgency not many MC's can get across in their music.
Hailie's Song Quote:
"Just know that I grow colder the older I grow
This boulder on my shoulder gets heavy and harder to hold
And this load is like the weight of the world
And I think my neck is breakin'
Should I just give up
Or try to live up to these expectations?
Now look
I love my daughter more than life in itself
But I got a wife who's determined to make my life livin' hell
But I handle it well, given the circumstances I'm dealt
So many chances, man, it's too bad, coulda had someone else
But the years that I've wasted are nothin' to the tears that I've tasted."
Eminem spits fire right up until the climax with 'Til I Collapse, which is one of the most intense pieces of rugged hip hop I've heard in recent years. "The criminal, cop killin hip-hop villian/A minimal swap to cop millions of 'Pac listeners/You're comin with me, feel it or not you're gonna fear it like I showed you the spirit of God lives in us."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2004
it pains me 2 see people give this cd bad reviews. eminem is 1 of the best rappers out there and this is more of an emoational cd for him here are the list of songs and my rating for them.
1. skit: curtains up. 1/5
kind of a stupid way 2 open up but ok
2. White America 4/5
great song where eminem talks about people who feel the same way as him
3. Buiness 4/5
good song em and dre do a kind of a batman and robin thing in the start. good song with a good beat
4. Cleaning out my closet 3/5
an ok song where em talks bout his mom. beat is ok but a little slow
5. square dance 3/5
strange song, but a good beat and a little funny
6. skit: the kiss
tells bout his wife kissing a bouncer and leading up to the next song
7. soldier 5/5
GREAT SONG! fast beat, good lyrics and a little comedic at some points
8. say goodby 2 hollywood 2/5
not the best song he ever made but ok lyrics
9 drips 5/5
dont know y he kalled it that but o well. good song obie and em funny on ems part. they rap bout eminems fake girlfriend cheating on him with obie. and obie trice goes into detail bout what he and the "girlfriend" did
10 without me 5/5
great song!! very fast but funny, catchy lyrics, great beat, and very funny. u kould listen 2 it all day long
11. skit: Paul Rosenberg
ems lawyer telling him not 2 kary a gun around
12. sing for the moumnt 3/5
iffy song but good if ur in a bad mood. kinda slow but lyrics are good
13. superman 5/5
good song good beat, a little slow but not country slow. where em talks bout his wife and hos
14. skit: Steve Berman 2/5
i gave this 1 a rating kause it is kinda funny. it is the head of interscope telling em what he thinks of the album with aint nothing but music playing in the back round
15. till the music stops 5/5
d12 makes a guest apperance on this song. great song fast, good lyrics, and a good end
16. say what you say 3/5
em and dre rapen bout another rapper but i kant rember his name, but all in all a good song. the only problem is the beat. it is ok but not the best
17. till i colaps 4/5
a great song with a great beat, but not the best. he talks bout that he'll never leave the rap game till he colapes
18 dads gone crazy 5/5
1 OF THE BEST SONGS HE HAS EVER MADE!! this song has got it all, increadable beat, great speed, witty lyrics, and very humrous. what more kan i say? this song is the bomb!!
19. skit: curtains close
ken is back doing an empresion of without me. and is funny my band takes a line from it.
this cd is defintly worth the money i would advise u 2 buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2004
A Phenominal piece of work by a rapper who has offically put himself in the ranks of Hip Hops ellite. Not saying he's the greatest rapper alive he'd have to fight Jay-z and Nas for that title. But on "The Eminem Show" Slim Shady is rarely seen, you see more of Marshall Mathers rather than his two alter egos. If you want smart ass sarcasm sorry you only have "Without Me" and "My Dads Gone Crazy" to choose from. "Superman" explores mysogony and "Buisness" has a banging Dre back drop. But Eminem seems like he has actually found something to fight for on this album and not just swinging at pop stars and people who have backed him in a corner. "Square Dance" "White America" and "Say Goodbye to Hollywood" are great pieces of work that fight for himself and others. Cop this disc it's money well spent, "Cleaning out My Closet" and "Sing For the Moment" with an Areosmith sample are tear jerkers and hearing Dre & Em toss rhymes back and forth like hot potatoe on "Say What You Say" is entertaining to listen to. "Drips" and "When the Music Stops" are the only songs that blow fat ones but two songs out of a 20 track LP doesn't leave this album tainted. Eminem is pushing thirty and he can't be rapping about what he used to, so it's good to see that has matured to an adult even though Slim Shady peeks his little head out a few times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse