Customer Reviews


1,003 Reviews
5 star:
 (664)
4 star:
 (175)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (78)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as described
the cd was in perfect condition nothing bad to say about this purchase. and for less than 5$ i think it was a great deal
Published on Feb. 2 2012 by nix6969

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm
It seems like Eminem has just fallen down the path of all rappers now rapping about the same topics as all other rappers out there. What happend to rappin' bout' shrooms, etc. on his first album? Quite the shame that someone so different and revolutionairy conformed only 3 albums into his fading career.
Published on Feb. 23 2004 by Adam


‹ Previous | 167 68 69101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Eminem's best....Certainly his most versatile...., June 15 2002
By 
K. G. Wheat (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eminem Show (Audio CD)
On his third commercially released album, Eminem is at his most personal... He talks about many things and people in many different ways... On the track "Cleanin Out My Closet" he talks to his mum. Someone who he obviously cares for, but at the same time has hate for, "Cleanin Out My Closet" was produced by Eminem himself and a very eerie beat is what he concocts, it goes perfect with his flow... Another one of the many 'personal' tracks on the LP is "White America" a rock influenced aggressive song taking shots at the U.S government amongst other things. Like quite a large amount of songs on this album this track has a sort of "rock / rap" feel about it.. Eminem's lyrics & flow are incredible here. "Business" is one of the few Dr. Dre produced cuts on the album, and this track wouldn't be out of place on Eminem's debut commercial album [The Slim Shady LP].. It features the return of Slim Shady the commedian, and also has Dre's best beat on the whole album. A standout track is "Sing For The Moment" this song samples the classic rock track "Dream On" by Aerosmith.. Eminem spits three of his hottest verses ever, very politcal and consciensus Hip Hop on this track right here... Another track worth mentioning is "Say What You Say" which features Dr. Dre - who also produces this song - Although I don't personally like the song, The 2 rapppers take shots at commercial Producer/Rapper/Executive Jermaine Dupri..
The album isn't very guest filled, but the rest of D12 step-up their game on "When The Music Stops" a great track about the thin-line between music and reality... New Shady Records signee and Detroit based MC Obie Trice appears on the comic "Drips" a great verse by Obie followed by an -as always- excellent verse by Slim ensue one of the my fave songs on the album...
What some may find about The Eminem Show is that the production doesn't stand-out, It just plays along in the background backing up Eminem's venemous words...3 Tracks are produced by west-coast super producer Dr. Dre and the rest are produced by Eminem, with a little help from others [Mel - Man etc]...
So, overall an incredible album from Eminem which is very personal and should definetly appeal to the hardcore rap fans, as well as the 11/12 year old's...
Final Rating: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE EMINEM SHOW!!!, June 15 2002
By A Customer
Eminem's new albumis exactly what the title says, a show. And a great one at that!! This album is the perfect blend of rock guitar riffs and hip hop beats. Anyone that has ever wondered about the life of this rap star should just listen to the album. The Eminem Show is Marshall's life plain and simple. Which you can clearly hear on the song "Cleanin out my closet". However plain and simple are two words that should not be used to describe the content of the cd. This cd is filled with the many emotions that make up Marshall Mathers the person, which can be heard in "Hailie's song", as well as eminem the hip hop icon, which can be heard in "White America". After a crazy year filled with law suits, divorce and felony charges Slim Shady came out on top in 2002! Showing the world that it takes more than that to silence this "pitbull off his leash!" This album shows eminem's growth as both a person and a lyricist. And shows that eminem is an artist that has true staying power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE EMINEM SHOW!!!, June 15 2002
By A Customer
Eminem's new album is exactly what the title says, a show. And great one at that!! This album is the perfect blend of rock guitar riffs and hip hop beats. Anyone that has ever wondered about the life of this rap star should just listen to the album. The Eminem Show is Marshall's life plain and simple. However, plain and simple are not two words that should be used to describe the content of the cd. This cd is filled with the many emotions that make up Marshall Mathers the person as well as emienm the hip hop icon. After a crazy year filled with law suits, divorce and felony charges Slim Shady came out on top in 2002! Showing the world that it takes more than that to silence this "pitbull of his leash!" This album shows eminem's growth as both a person and a lyricist. And shows that eminem is an artist that has true staying power. This record is definitly worth your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Conaway is out of his mind, June 15 2002
This review is from: The Eminem Show (Audio CD)
If you want to keep hearing Eminem's hilarious lyrics and biting social commentary, get this. If you want to hear the boring, derivative Dre-produced "phat beats" of the first CD, get a Dre CD. This album is musically years ahead of all of Eminem's other work. Some of the reviewers say the lyrics are just re-hashed, to which I say "bull feathers". Sure, there's the occasional mandatory cliche-filled sex ballad, but they're still done humorously. Don't think the whole CD's about the same things as before just because you heard the first single and first couple tracks. Really, the only thing I didn't like was the skits. Ken Kaniff's appearance was nowhere near as funny as it should have been, since his skits on the first two CD's are gut-bustingly hilarious and he was missing on D-12's album. "The Kiss" is pretty funny but should have been a whole song, like "Kim". If it would have replaced the only track I skip, (Say What You Say...blah, Dre is boring even if he helped Eminem get where he is now) this would be a 5-star CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Curtains Open..., June 15 2002
By A Customer
After selling over 20 million copies of his 2000 blockbuster, "The Marshall Mathers LP.", releasing his own cartoon, book, and countless other items, the crazy white boy from Detroit is back... and better then ever? You decide.
Controversial figures in music never last long. The same thing going on with Eminem was the same thing that went on with Marilyn Manson, who released "Anti Christ Superstar" in 1996 with a slew of controversy following right behind it. Then came back two years later with an album that marked the end of his reign as the controversial music figure of the moment.
But just as "The Marshall Mathers LP." went straight to the top, so has "The Eminem Show". The album opens up with the powerful and brutally honest track, "White America" and explains why the MC has been so successful. Even though Eminem might appear to you as a crazy, homicidal maniac who bashes his mom and (ex) wife, it is clear he's held onto his grip of reality.
Then we see the first weak point of the album, "Business" where Eminem sounds so lazy and tired that it comes off like a bad studio session. The beat is trademark Eminem. Goofy, poppy, silly and annoying after the first few listens.
Although Eminem quickly rescues the album with the next two brilliant tracks, "Cleanin Out My Closet" and "Square Dance". We've all heard the hype about "Cleanin Out My Closet", and after Eminem's countless stories about being mistreated as a child, you'll begin to wonder who you really feel sorry for. The mother who received this lyrical attack or Eminem for being pushed so far as to make this song. On the other hand, "Square Dance" is just another silly Eminem track with a BRILLIANT line about 9/11 and The Navy that will leave you amazed.
The next skit, and two songs launch right back into Eminem dragging you into his personal life. "The Kiss" reinacts a particular incident in the summer of 2000 that involved his wife Kim, and a bouncer at a club she was attending. "Soldier" also touches on the same subject, as well as "Goodbye To Hollywood" which also touches on a lawsuit Eminem faced by pulling a gun on an associate of The Insane Clown Posse.
The album hits another downfall. "Drips" featuring new Shady Records act, Obie Trice who is getting annoying fast. SKIP! Next is the single, "Without Me" which is so blatantly targeted towards the radio in hopes to cause controversy for the album that it might sound out of place on a rather personal album. The same reason it gets really old really fast. It's humorous and fun, but Eminem's best work was NEVER represented with his obvious "let's do a pop tracks just to sell the album" songs.
After a huge downfall Eminem picks the album up again from slight doom. "Sing For The Moment" is this album's "Stan" which samples Aerosmith's "Dream On" perfectly. The lyrics are so personal, meaningful and touching to anyone who can relate to them. It's a stand out and a masterpiece.
Another downfall. "Superman" is boring and pointless. Corny sex songs haven't been entertaining in a long while. I skip this mostly every time. Talk about killing the mood WAY too much. But following this song is a plesent suprise. An ode to his daughter that expresses everything he feels about her while maybe politely giving the finger to critics who pre-judged him as being a bad father by songs like "Bonnie And Clyde" and "Kim". Even though Eminem REALLY isn't a talented "singer" (which he points out in the beginning), it's very admirable that he would put a song like this out, leaving the people who wrote him off as a juvenile, publicity seeking moron scratching their heads at this moving tribute and asking "Who's the real Marshall Mathers?!" Much like the comedian Andy Kaufman who Em is an admitted fan of (the front and back cover even resembles the "Man On The Moon" movie cover), we'll never know.
Skip the Steven Berman skit. These are really getting old. "When The Music Stops" brings in Em's Detroit crew D12 and personally gets me hype for the next D12 album dropping next year. "What You Say" rips Jermaine Dupri. What makes this track even more enjoyable is that even before "The Eminem Show" dropped, Jermaine released an embarassing comback that's just laughable. The battle was over with this song. Dre comes off tight on this song even though it's clear his verse was ghost written.
"Till I Collapse" is a DOPE song! Eminem rips it with tight multi sylable lyrics while Nate Dogg on the chorus compliments it even more. It's a perfect combo. Whenever you bring Nate in to do the chorus, it's certain success. The album closes with "My Dad's Gone Crazy". Another ode to his daughter which is slightly more disturbing. With threats of blowing everything except Afganistan off the map, calling out Laura and George Bush, and opening with Eminem doing drugs in front of his daughter, it's typical humor expressed on Eminem's mainstream debut, "The Slim Shady LP." At the present time, news has broken out that Eminem is being targeted by terrorists for dressing up as Osama Bin Laden in his "Without Me" video and with this song as well as the opening track, probably landing him in deep trouble with the government.
Although it's not as good as the first two albums, and maybe not even as good as his two underground EP.'s, it is a pleasing follow up to "The Marshall Mathers LP." and shows us yet another side to Marshall Mathers. Who's multiple personalities will provide us with even more sides to the man as well as more entertainment to keep us interested for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good effort from Slim, June 14 2002
I like this album overall. Sure, there aren't many Billboard- or MTV-bound hits on here like there were on his last albums, but that's the point. This is for his real fans, not those mainstream cats. So don't expect to see any song besides "Without Me" being played in the jukebox of your favorite bar. And "Without Me" is the worst song on here, but you know that Em always makes a goofy commercial track like that just to get mainstream appeal so folks can buy his album (remember "My Name Is" and "The Real Slim Shady"?). Also, you know that you're not gonna like every single song on an Eminem album! Eminem himself doesn't even like every song he does. So just cop the album anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 14 2002
By 
Chris Stringer (Hampton, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This CD is different than his others. Not so much of the music that makes your ears cringe... It has all new beats and sounds that make this one by far, his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Deep, June 14 2002
Marshall Mathers showed up unexpected in 1999 with his first taste of success, the annoying single "My Name Is". The white rapper made toes cringe, mouths drop & tempers flair as he sold millions after millions of copies. Openly bashing gays, lesbians, and numerous different races and cultural groups Eminem took the entire world by storm, selling a staggering 20 million copies in just 4 short years. He has captivated the entire music industry and countless depressed young american teens that were feeling what he was saying and looking for a way out.
I can honestly admitt, I hated Eminem. Though I'm not gay, jewish or a lesbian, I felt bad for these groups of people because he was making them feel terrible about their lifestyles. His lyrical content was terrible, it was all comical & fictional and he never really discussed the problems that surronded him everyday. But Eminem surprised millions, when he dropped -=The Eminem Show=- an emotionally deep and surprising release which dealt with his insecurities, family problems, life in the lime light and the demons that constantly surrond him, which makes out for his best material.
The Nate Dogg laced "Till I Colapse" is easily the albums best track. With Eminem dropping his clever trademark lyrics over a "get-up-and-dance beat", the song is guarrenteed to be a smash. His wordplay on "Without Me" is welcomed as well, and is another party track that easily out does his previous singles, which lacked substance and direction. But these songs are ones that you would expect on an Eminem album, its the "out of place" tracks that really allow Marshall to shine.
"Hallies Song" a track where Eminem flexes his singing talents is absolutely amazing. The track is so personal and Eminem really surprises me with this lyrics which are hand written beautifully. Another surprise track was "Cleaning out my Closet" where he finally confronts the issues with his mother and explains why he has reacted the way he did. He also talks about Kim without going down is imaginative psychotic path and just sticking to the facts.
With Britney & Christina bashing aside, Marshall Mathers has been able to step outside his role as america's most hated white bred, and speak out about the issues that have plagued his career since he first grabbed the microphone on his first album. (Considering "The Slim Shady LP" the first because the underground albums weren't nationally released.) I am proud of Eminem for doing this album, and can say that he really shut me up. The album's a surprisingly progressive step for someone from whom so little was expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, June 14 2002
By 
caryl (Libertyville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eminem Show (Audio CD)
This is the first Eminem CD I have bought/listened to and I am so glad I did. I'm more of a pop girl (I personally find his little digs at Nysnc to be absolutely hysterical as they are my fav. boy band) but this CD blows me away. I can't give a full review as I have only gotten to song 12 on it no matter how many times I listen to it, its guaranteed someone will stop me as song 13 comes on. Its become a running joke with me, actually. But I can tell you that tracks 1-12 are simply amazing.
White America is wonderful. I think he hits the nail right on the head with his lyrics. The second track is by far my favorite in terms of whimsical openings; the Batman/Robin skit makes me laugh every time I hear it and that's impressive considering how often I've listened to this CD on my eternal quest to get past song 12. Cleaning Out My Closet is so poignant it almost makes me cry. The absolute confusion that comes across is outstanding. Even the pistol whipping skit is amusing in its our exaggerated way. I love song 5 and of course Without Me is why I bought it. The only track I don't much care for is song 9. There's just something about it.
I'm skipping some tracks but other reviewers have gone into much greater detail so you should get the picture easily regardless of whether I go through them or not.
I think this CD is truly one of the best I have ever bought. I don't know much about Eminem but this CD makes me want to go out and buy his other ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abrasive and Rude... But Utterly Compelling, June 13 2002
By 
Joe (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eminem Show (Audio CD)
Eminem's albums have always been compelling for me, just because he does not have any qualms about offending anyone and everyone. Like "Marshall Mathers LP" and "Slim Shady LP", this latest release features the tight production work of Dr. Dre. To say the least, Dre's contributions to Eminem's career is immense. The first single "Without Me" is one of the most infectious tracks on the album, and perhaps unintentionally, invokes both "The Real Slim Shady" and "My Name Is" with its bouncy bassline, and Eminem's deliberate cartoonish delivery. Other, more serious, potential jams include "Cleaning out my closet", "Superman", "Say goodbye Hollywood" and "When the music stops". As on his first 2 albums, there is a song dedicated to his daughter here, "Hallie's song", a sweet lullaby-type ballad for which "97 Bonnie and Clyde" is the evil counterpart. On the album's best track "White America", Eminem raps about racism in America, and it very well ranks as his most compelling recorded song yet. My favorite track on the album though, is the funky and upbeat "Business", which I predict will be a massive hit at the clubs. Overall, this album is a highly-polished affair that is surely meant to replicate the multi-platinum success of his last 2 albums, as well as to (ironically) appeal to the teen set, and to rule over MTV's "TRL". Even though as his lyrics suggest, Eminem really hates boy bands like N Sync and Backstreet Boys, he will probably be remembered best as a pretty white boy rapper who could well have fit right in with N Sync (as the MC), if they ever had one. :) Don't hate me, Em. You are still my dawg. You have created an album that I think is the most compelling and entertaining record of the year. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! 5 stars! Just don't diss me in your next record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 167 68 69101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1a93b4)

This product

The Eminem Show
The Eminem Show by Eminem (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews