march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars1,831
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 9, 2002
Pop music has been dying for an artist like Avril Lavigne. Not only does she write her own music, she performs it live too using...get this...instruments! AAAGGHHH!!! For those people who enjoy good, personal lyrics and a fun time. Get this CD! Now I'll rate each song
1. Losing Grip - (3.5/5) Good guitar. Obviously very mad when she wrote this one.
2. Complicated - (4/5) Well, it was a 5/5 the first 500 times I heard it.
3. Sk8er Boi - (5/5) Fun punk about going for what ya want.
4. Mobile - (4/5) THis song really grows on you. A good song for graduates too. Go class of '02
5. Unwanted - (4/5) Awesome, guitar driven song, great chorus.
6. Tomorrow - (3/5) One of my less favorite songs on the CD, but a nice sullen ballad.
7. Anything But Ordinary - (5/5) Unbelievable beautiful rock singing by Avirl. Gave me the chills.
8. Things I'll Never Say - (2.5/5) My least fav song on the CD, a little too girly for me.
9. My World - (4/5) Any suburbanite will appreciate this song.
10. Nobody's Fool - (4/5) Avril raps a little bit, which is fun. Memorable line: "I've got a backbone stronger than yours."
11. Too Much to Ask - (3/5) Pretty good song, nothing really special about it.
12. Naked (3.5/5) - [stinks] that Jennifer Love Hewitt came up with a song so similar coz this might have been a cool single.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2002
This CD is one that both teens and adults will love. In some songs, you can tell that she's singing from a teen perspective, but it wouldn't be real if it didn't have any of those songs. Musically, this CD is just as grown up as anything the Bangles or Go Gos did. Avril is an innovator and a genius! She has taken the music of Alanis, Pink, and Jewel, and has added her own punk & folk distinctiveness. Songs like Sk8ter Boi already have timeless melodies. If you love the power pop style, this is one of the best CDs you could buy. The lyrics have room for growth structurally, but they have loads of charisma. This CD is a bit more rough around the edges than Michelle Branch's CD, but it's hard to pick a favorite of the two. For the people saying she's not punk enough musically, remember that a punk attitude is most important. I'm convinced that she's not fake. Even the Ramones weren't always hardcore, yet they deserved the punk label. She's young, and I think she'll grow more punk and alternative musically. But, I hope she doesn't lose the charm of Let Go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2002
Avril Lavigne's debut CD, "Let Go" has been selling off the hook since it's release date of June 4th, 2002. Her CD features the #1 hit, "Complicated" which has topped both Canadian, and American music charts. The CD has reached #5 on Billboard charts, after only 3 weeks of release.
"Let Go" has variety of moods in every song, almost like Avril took the whole CD out of her diary. Songs like "Naked" and "I'm With You" show the deep side of this 17-year-old punk from Napanee, Ontario. Tracks such as "Losing Grip", and "Unwanted" lets the listeners more into Avril's personal life, loud and clear. This angsty girl has a lot of gut and emotion.
One of the more bounce along, jump around songs on the album is "Sk8er Boi". This one is about how a girl turned down a 'boi' because of the way he dressed, and Avril claims the boy and rubs it in the snobby girls face. Harsh, but true. That just shows how kick-[rear] this girl can get.
The track, "Mobile" is about how she has to pack up, and leave all of her friends. "Everywhere I go, I am Mobile" she sings, putting it lightly.
Avril, who is only 17... co-wrote all of the songs off of this 13 track CD. "Let Go" also includes an Enhanced feature, which includes a bonus track, EPK, and the video for "Complicated".
This CD is full of surprises. Rap, punk, the list goes on... Avril is here to stay, and this is only the beginning.
Pick up your copy of "Let Go" today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2003
Avril, her stlye; baggy clothes, white tank, tie, Many accesories(punk). But some say her clothes rock more than her music!? Though many of her songs may not be as hardcore as other rising punk bands like GC, New Found Glory, or sum 41 her songs have strong lyrics w/ a punk sound. This album came just in time to save Hollywood from sluty pop-stars who lipsing and don't write their own music! Her songs are pure with lyrics teens can relate to. So if u like bands like GC, Sum41, simple plan, and New Found Glory... buy this album!!!
Songs:
1.Losing Grip- 5/5
2.Complicated- 4/5
3.Sk8er Boi- 4/5
4.I'm with you- 5/5
5.Mobile- 5/5
6.Unwanted- 5/5
7.Tomorrow- 4/5
8.Anything but ordinary- 5/5
9.Things i'll never say- 4/5
10.My world- 5/5
11.Nobody's fool- 10/5 *MY FAVORITE SONG ON THE ALBUM*
12.Too much to ask- 4/5
13.Naked- 6/5
I cant wait for the next album, rock on Avril & boys! peace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2003
Avril Lavigne's Let Go has got catchy lyrics, and it's good enough to keep you entertained. Avril Lavigne is for those who just want to listen to "just regular stuff"--anything with a good beat and catchy lyrics. Some of my favorite tracks include "Sk8er Boi" and "Anything but Ordinary" opposed to the popular "Complicated" and "I'm With You". However, I doubt her self-declared "punk" personality has made its way into her music, which remans a mild level of foot tapping, but no head bashing or flailing. Despite her attempts (both in self-declaration and dress) to be "punk" and perhaps different, she's probably just normal. She would do better to drop the wanna-be punk.
Overall though, if you like Michelle Branch, you'll probably like Lavigne too. She's got a good voice, and even if her lyrics aren't profound, it makes for a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2003
Alright, don't get me wrong, but you may be confused. See i rated the cd 5 stars but have a title that's not very complementary. See, I love her music, i really do, there's not a single song I don't like. (Tomorrow and I'm With You took a little while, but oh well) But it's HER i can't stand!!! She thinks she's SOOOOOOO unique when really she's just another preppy poser that I hate!!!!!!!! She says she's so different and she doesn't care what people think, when really, she does, and she is just pretending so people will like her! I find it ironic that what she sings about in "Complicated" is not at all what she TRULY lives by. It's people like her that give true unique people who like to express their individuality (SUCH AS MYSELF!) a bad name. We truly need to take her out with the trash and make our superficial world a better place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon June 28, 2003
This is an album of surprises. It is best enjoyed if you ignore the punk image issues. In particular, don't watch the music videos, or you'll get turned off the music before you listen to the album.
Watching Avril squint and snarl and scowl, and wear unflattering clothes detracts terribly from the music, which is for the most part extremely well done. "Complicated" and "I'm With You" are the better songs on the album, and "Sk8er Boi", while light and silly, has a catchy tune that you find yourself singing along to despite your best efforts. "Losing Grip" and "Anything But Ordinary" are also first rate songs, and deserve lots of airplay.
Avril should change her image advisors, and stop trying so hard to be punk. Her voice at times reminds you of the Corrs, and she can certainly sing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2003
Forget about the image. Forget about whether she is or is not a "punk" or a "phony". Forget about whether she did or did not write the songs, or whether she can or cannot play.
The fact is, this is a strong debut CD, with very little filler. While some of the lyrics sound like they were written by a 16 year-old (lending support to the argument that she did at least HELP to write the songs), it does not overshadow the fact that the playing is tight and the hooks are catchy. She handles the ballads and the up-tempo material with equal skill.
View this for what it is...a very good POP disc that you should not feel ashamed to own. Nothing more. Nothing less. And sometimes, especially in light of the Jeschritney Simpspaguilera product that is still out there, that is not a bad thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2003
taht debut album from avril lavigne sure knocked me out!! I fisrt thought that no c.d. has only good songs but I was wrong! they all deserve 10/10, 100/100! now i'm looking for another c.d. with only 10/10 songs but never found. i keep searching! now I highly recommend that c.d. to all I mean all fans of pop,rock and even a little punk! well I recommend that c.d. to everyone! this is a masterpiece! I cant wait for her next album... some songs take time to grow on you but now its been more then a year(bought it the first day) and I absolutly love all the songs not one was disapointing dont let anyone tell you otherwise then that: BUY IT! its worth your money!
her 4 songs out on the radio prooves it(complicated sk8er boi, losing grip, im with you) believe me!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2003
I love avril so much, she's changed the pop charts into more of a rock sense of music! Avril is like the best person for anyone to look up to! Some ppl say that she is a poser, well, she's not, she never said that she was punk, and she does play guitar a little bit, if she didn't then she wouldn't use it in her videos! All of the ppl that are calling her a poser are just mad because Britney could never ever be that great of a vocalist or a person!
Toodles!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items