Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Spirits In Music Come Together.
For those who aren't very familiar with Talib Kweli, let me tell you... he is without a shadow of a doubt, a savior of hip-hop. He brings new meaning to the art-form, ressurecting the meaning, morals, and ultimately skill that originally backed the hip-hop movement. Talib Kweli has been my favorite emcee for... well, since I really became interested in hip-hop, which...
Published on July 6 2004 by P. T. J.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well... I don't wanna hate, but...
Did I not receive the same CD as everyone else? This is the talk of the town CD in Hiphop right now, but I'm just not feelin' it. The beats are bland and many are not that good, plus Kweli is too frantic to get his message across, so he crams too many words into one line that doesn't match the beat. It sounds very off and I only end up listening to the first half of each...
Published on March 17 2004


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Spirits In Music Come Together., July 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
For those who aren't very familiar with Talib Kweli, let me tell you... he is without a shadow of a doubt, a savior of hip-hop. He brings new meaning to the art-form, ressurecting the meaning, morals, and ultimately skill that originally backed the hip-hop movement. Talib Kweli has been my favorite emcee for... well, since I really became interested in hip-hop, which has been a while. His solo album, "Quality" shows that Talib can truly do anything he wants to and his debut "Black Star" is probably the most thoughtful hip-hop album ever recorded. Those two CD's I just mentioned, I must confess, are my favorites, though don't get me wrong, "Reflection Eternal" doesn't trail too far behind.
As always, Talib's lyrical talent blows me away. His thought provoking and emotional force behind his generally laid back flow comes together to create an awe-inspiring record. Backed with Hi Tek's similarly laid back beats, again re-inforced with a solid beat that you wouldn't expect to accompany such a dreamy melody. I guess what makes this album really great, is that Hi Tek and Talib are really as close as you can get to alter-ego's (musically). Both boast a laid back flow that is the heart and core of their musical style, but catching you off guard, they'll both pull out amazingly strong and powerful lyrics or beats that create a very unique musical current.
Talib is one of those emcees that can pull off rhymes that would sound terrible from any other rapper, but from him, they simply sound natural, flowing smoothly with the beat and making perfect transitions from chorus to verse, etc. Talib just has so much to SAY in his rhymes, that he gets his full worth out of every bar, every line, every verse, and after just listening to one song, you're left dazed, captured by a thoughtful reverie that FORCES you to contemplate your own existence and the troubles of others. Some even leave you guilty. Talib's conscience lyrics strike your core and make you examine yourself. "Is that me?" you'll ask, after a particularly thoughtful tyrade on the evils of today. This CD is very focused on music, not just lyrics though, and there are multiple "songs" or "interludes" (whatever you'd like to call them) that showcase Hi Tek's clever production, generally accompanied with a jazzy melody or balad.
"Reflection Eternal" isn't perfect, however, and there are a few songs on this CD that I know some people appreciate, but I just can't get into. One such song would have to be "Soul Rebels", a song with a very shaky chorus that goes "/We do not/ live for hip hop/ Hip hop/ It lives for us" Repeat. Accompanied by a strangely 'Santana' guitar-ish sounding beat, this song fails to live up to it's big brother and sister songs, so to speak. The ones that are so good, you can't stop hitting the 'repeat' button when it's done.
This is one of those albums where the best songs are easy to pick out, NOT because the rest of the songs don't live up, but because within the first 30 seconds, you find yourself with eyes closed, letting the music flow through your heart, your soul, your muscles, your mind; every fiber in your body, your head slowly nodding along with the dreamy beat as you absorb every word that comes out of Talib's lips. The thing is, there are quite a few of these songs, but I'll list them all for you, just so you get an idea of how good this record really is.
The best songs on the album go as follows... "The Blast" feat. Vinia Mojica, "Too Late" feat. Res, "Memories Live", "Love Language" feat. Les Nubians, "Eternalists", "Touch You" feat. Piakhan and Aupa Dav West, and last but not least, "Good Mourning". These are all songs that boast very thoughtful lyrics and strong production. They are not, however, the only good tracks on the CD. I left one out, since it doesn't really fall into the 'thoughtful' category. It's track 9, titled "Down for the Count" feat. Rah Digga and Xzibit. This song is a masterful showcase of the best battle-rap you'll ever find. Every single Talib Kweli makes, he balances his 'conscience rapper' flow with one or more strong battle-rap tracks. As usual this one blows you out of the water, and it's not just mindless hip-hop either, it's aggressive rap with a message behind it. Any person can be pushed to far. All too true, and well said, since this song brings with it some of the most incredible word-play you'll ever hear. I mean, come on, Xzibit AND Kweli, you KNOW that's a lethal pair.
So, all in all, I'd give this album 4 1/2 stars, JUST because there are a few unlistenable tracks on the CD that jar you out of that heavy reverie Talib and Hi Tek's flow puts you in. Here's a quick summary for you...
PRO'S
*A CD with both incredibly thoughtful messages behind it, and potent lyrical talent. Talib just has so much to say... and he says it all.
*To balance the record out, Talib also brings the best of his battle-rap to the table, showing that his lyrical imagination extends beyond his 'conscience rapper' image.
*A slow and dreamy flow on both Talib and Hi Tek's part, yet at the same time, both seem to be able to pull of an amazingly potent performance, pulling tricks out of their sleeves you never saw coming.
CON'S
*A few unlistenable tracks that jar you out of the flow of the CD, if you decide to play it all the way through.
Obviously, the pro's far outway the con's, so I have to give this CD the 5 star rating it deserves. Although this may not be Talib's greatest performance, when compared to "Black Star", "Quality", and his mixtape "The Beautiful Mixtape", it only pales by a fraction, barely noticeable. "Reflection Eternal" is a timeless album, bringing with it everything and more that you'd expect from an emcee the caliber of Talib, and a producer with the reputation of Hi Tek. Every dollar you pay for this CD is worth it, so my recommendation? Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Music, Sept. 15 2010
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
This album is a certified classic.

Ten years later, reflection eternal is comin strong with a dope new cd.

peace to Talib, nuff respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beyond tight !!!, July 19 2004
By 
R. Garcia (lost angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
A masterpiece not one dissapointing track all the tracks are excellent specially the one with kool g rap. grab this cd immiedietly a true classic for true Hip-Hop heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic, July 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
There is nothing else to describe this CD. Talib is one of, if not the best MC. Hi-Tek's beats are tight thruout this entire cd. Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a poet, July 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
i first saw talib kweli do his performance on chappelle's show and i thought he was very skilled. so around a year later, i heard "africa dream" in my music class and i was extremely into it. that is without a doubt my favorite track on this album. many other tracks on this album prove kweli to be a skilled mc and lyricist, very poetic and doesn't swear in every sentence (ludacris). him and mos def make an amazing team, when they're together they're unstoppable. if you're just getting into kweli, or mos def, check out black star, their group together. great album, great rapper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talib Kweli makes another masterpiece..., June 29 2004
By 
Ali Zaidi "AZ" (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
The collaboration of Talib Kweli and Mos Def on the classic Black Star created, in my opinion, the greatest album of all time. Here, Talib Kweli has continued his hot streak and has made another great album with Hi-Tek. Reflection Eternal displays the thoughtfullness that Talib Kweli and Mos Def displayed on the Black Star, but the reason this album stands just a notch below Black Star is because it lacks the standout track that brings together all the important factors of hip-hop together. Thieves In The Night displayed this on the album Black Star. Nonetheless, with 20 fluid tracks, this is undoubtedly a classic LP by the Talib. Do him a favor, and go out and buy this album. If you have any decent tastes in music, you will undoubtedly be pleased, as I was...
Highlights:
As I said, the album flows quite fluidly, each track being very listenable, over and over again. However, I enjoyed Memories Live the most. This Means You is my honorable mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Kind Of Wonderful (5 Stars), June 24 2004
First off, let's be clear on one thing: I'm not the type to give an album 5 stars unless I think it's a classic. In my mind, the Reflection Eternal LP is a timeless work of art. There really isn't anything bad that can be said about the album. I still have this album in heavy rotation four years after it came out. You can put the CD in and just let it play without skipping any songs. Talib Kweli provides the perfect compliment to Hi Tek's flawless production. Most people would only remeber this album because of the hit single "The Blast", but this album contains many more beautiful tracks that make this, in my mind, one of the best hip hop releases of all time. If you're reading this and thinking about buying this album, go ahead and buy it. You'll love the smooth beats and the tight lyrics. Even guest appearances from the likes of Rah Digga, Res, Piakhan, De La Soul, Kool G Rap, Mos Def, Xzibit, Supa Dave West, Vinia Mojica, and Les Nubian were all flawless contributions. The smooth tracks are as smooth as smooth can get while the hardcore b-boy tracks are top notch as well. On this album Kweli officially steps out of the Black Star shadow with a flow that is approaching the stuff of legend in my opinion and it makes this album that much sweeter to listen to. Whether you're trying to bolster your music library or you're just tired of repetitive pop rap, this album should be included in the collection of any rap fan. This is a great album. If you haven't heard it yet, you're missing out on something special. 5 stars for this Kweli and Hi Tek masterpiece.
Standout Tracks: Down For The Count, Memories Live, Ghetto Afterlife, The Blast, Touch You (My Favorite), Good Morning, & Love Language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Train of Thoughts is off the hook, May 13 2004
By A Customer
This is cd is off the hook. The cd is intense, from the beginning intro to the outro the cd be illin'. This is the only cd I can listen to top to bottom without skipping one song. Or listen to in any mood I am in. It is just hot. Hi- tek has some ill beats and Kweli brings the powerful rhymes fulled with so much of his own life experiences, knowledge, politics, ghetto life, love, everything. This cd is defines true hip-hop.All ya hip hop heads need to cop this cd. Even if you never even heard of this guy before, trust me on this one, just go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different... More than a Train of Thought, April 9 2004
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
This is a tremendous album. Talib Kweli, an amazing lyricist debuts with a blast. His lyrics cna be complex or blunt, straight to the point. His delievery is different. It isn't you average in your face delivery but a more mellow flow. Hi-Tek's production is marvelous. This album is basically flawless. One could not really get a better debut. Reflection Eternal is one of the greatest duos ever. Suprisingly, Hi-Tek flows on "The Blast" The best songs from this album are "The Blast" "This Means You" "Ghetto Afterlife" and "For Women"
This album is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to a hip-hop fan looking for a change from in-your-face hip-hop. I would reccommend this along with Black Star's 'Black Star' Talib Kweli's 'Quality' and Mos Def's 'Black On Both Sides'
I'm urging you all to get a ticket before the train leaves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cant even try to hate it, April 8 2004
By 
C. Kim "smarty pants" (nyc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflection Eternal (Audio CD)
amazing album, another one of those few rap albums with thought provoking lyrics that doesnt get old, i love this album , smart lyrics and hot beats from HITEK, just as good as the blackstar's album and mos's solo effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflection Eternal
Reflection Eternal by Talib/Hi Tek Kweli (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews