Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good as always
Season 1 was basic,season 2 extended and season 3 is perfect.The simpsons are one of the longest running serie on t.v,and has numbers of sellout dvds and emmy awards.The simpsons has matured in term of experience but season 3 never gets old.Episodes were aired between 91 and 92 the dvd was released in 2003.Now the simpsons catalogue is huge offering 16 and continuing...
Published on Sept. 1 2006 by Tommy Skylar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great moments, overated and the animation is problemati
Some of the animation is too weak for me. It either needs to be cheap like the earlier Beavis and Butthead or major. But that problems comes and goes. And don't get me wrong there are great moments throughout. Stark Raving Dad has some big moments, Flaming Moes and so on. My problem isn't that there aren't happy endings far from it. It's that all the episodes I have...
Published on Jan. 27 2004 by Stu O' Boogie


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good as always, Sept. 1 2006
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Season 1 was basic,season 2 extended and season 3 is perfect.The simpsons are one of the longest running serie on t.v,and has numbers of sellout dvds and emmy awards.The simpsons has matured in term of experience but season 3 never gets old.Episodes were aired between 91 and 92 the dvd was released in 2003.Now the simpsons catalogue is huge offering 16 and continuing seasons,multiple dvds but lets not forguet season 3 it contains once again great episodes,the most famous might be flaming moe`s(when homer gives moes a special drink recipe )

but there are also fan favorites like saturdays of thunder(when homer helps bart to make a soap box)and black widower(when sideshow bob gets out of jail and mets selma),when flanders failed,lsa`s pony and many other great episodes.As always the episodes are amazing what can i say.The second horror show is also good.

We get to see homer`s brother who live in detroit who is named

herb powell and the family goes to washington.Despite the simpsons aging this one remains good recomended to all fans of the show.Really there is nothing to say another awesome simpson season.recomended!

i rewiewed every simpsons season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Modernist" Simpsons comes to DVD, June 19 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
They cleaned up the animation a bit for the busy (24 epsiodes) third season in the Simpsons franchise. Straying from the style of the first season, the writers have adopted a more satircal style for the second and third season.
"Mr. Lisa goes to Washington" takes a vitriolic look at Capitol hill as Lisa finds out what turns the wheels of the American government, culminating in the phrase, "...one nation, under the dollar, with liberty and justice for none." An episode that can rightfully be called the greatest of the third season, "Like father, like clown" is a sincere look at the relationship between the young, comedic Krusty and his autere, Rabbi father, voiced by Hollywood veteran Jackie Mason. "Burns verkaufen der Kraftwerk" is rife with sharp, caustic referneces to the state of safety with nuclear power. "Lisa the Greek" is a mature, yet risible look on the relationship between Homer and his young daughter and the confidence she has in the shaky fathering of Homer. Danny DeVito reprises his role as the once affluent American car magnate looking to regain the opulence of the American businessman in "Brother, can you spare two dimes?"
The most represenative of the season three episodes, "Homer at the bat", displays the burgeoning hold on American culture as the eminence and ubitiquous nature of the show helped to bring in the vocal talents of a plethora of baseball greats, such as Cooperstown bound Roger Clemens and Wade Boggs. This Hollywood power has also helped to snare other wolrd renowned figures such as English prime minister Tony Blair.
Season three will always be symbolic of the popularity of the show and nealry hipnotic effect on the 13-23 year old age group. Fans who have lost interest in the post season 7 Simpsons now have a DVD collection to recall with pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to The Simpsons for Another Great DVD Set, June 15 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Recently since the DVD series of The Simpsons came out, I've always had a big spot in my DVD Library for these. Season 3 has got to be in my Top 5 in my favorite seasons with all the great Classic Episodes it has.
My Favorite Episodes are Marked with a *
7524 - Start Raving Dad
8F01 - Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington
7F23 - When Flanders Failed
8F03 - Bart The Murderer
8F04 - Homer Defined
8F05 - Like Father, Like Clown
8502 - Treehouse of Horror II
8F06 - Lisa's Pony
8F07 - Saturdays of Thunder*
8F08 - Flaming Moe's*
8F09 - Burns Verkaufen Der Kraftwerk
8F10 - I Married Marge
8F11 - Radio Mart
8F12 - Lisa The Greek
8F14 - Homer Alone
8F16 - Bart The Lover
8F13 - Homer At The Bat*
8F15 - Deparate Vocations
8F17 - Dog of Death
8F19 - Colonel Homer
8F20 - Black Widower
8F21 - The Otto Show
8F22 - Bart's Friend Falls In Love
8F23 - Brother, Can You Spare Two Dimes?*
That's the Episode list that is in the DVD, and although I didn't mark every episode as my favorite, they're all very good episodes. I would strongly recommend this DVD to all fans of the popular T.V. Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential television, June 2 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Simpsons finally pick up speed. These shows are funny and extremely emotional at times. These shows prove that Homer and Marge are the greatest television couple of all time. This is proof that television doesn't have to dumb down to cater to the lowest common denominator to be hugely popular. What other show tugs so greatly and unpretentiously at the heartstrings (see "I Married Marge", where Homer tells Marge, "you will not see me until I become a man"), and makes you laugh out loud at jokes that aren't smarmy or too ironic (the great Spinal Tap episode). Bart and Lisa's relationship is brilliantly illustrated in "Separate Vocations", where Lisa turns into a rebel after a career test. Nowadays (especially this rather-good last season), The Simpsons are the funniest sitcom on TV, but this DVD set shows how they used to be so much more; honest, real characters with heart and humor. No other show can pull off this kind of material so naturally and in a way that alienates absolutely no one. It's amazing once you realize that season four perfected the show. This set, however, is great, even though there's the bare menus, and aside from the funny and quite educational commentaries, few extras. The transfer is a tad weird (cells are dirty) but the sound is top-notch. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Season of All Time, May 26 2004
By 
Joseph J. Slevin (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Maybe there were many funnier episodes in other seasons, but a compilation like this is extraordinary.
The Simpson's finally settled in as a genre of it's own by the third season. The characters were fully defined, the voices were honed to the rich voices we still hear 12 seasons later and the story line became set.
There are some great one liners in all of these episodes, from dialog between Burns and Smithers to Burns' always saying "Simpson, eh?" this stuff is just a laugh a minute.
One of the best lines, oh so subtle is when Homer flashes back to first being hired at the power plant, Burns turns around to Smithers and asks Homer's name. Burns replies, "Simpson, eh? I will remember that chap...." The funniest part of that is that all of the previous episodes that season features Burns frustratingly asking Smithers whom Simpson is. How hilarious.
There also is the added bonus of great musical pieces too. Jackson sings a song: "Lisa it's Your Birthday." What a happy piece of music, silly? yes, fun? yes, but so what! it's a cartoon.
I think this is the season that really made the Simpson's stick out, Homer with Flanders, Krusty the Clown's life, Homer and Moe. The Flaming Moe episode is just one laugh after another. Also, Homer Defined set up future ideas you will see in later episodes. The underlying theme of "It's a Wonderful Life" in "When Flanders Failed." Wow, this stuff just kept getting better and funnier.
The special features are okay, there are some interesting side lines with the story being discussed by the artists behind the show. Stark Raving Dad has some really funny things in it. Besides featuring Michael Jackson, even hearing the song "Crazy" being played while Marge is holding trying to find out why Homer is incarcerated in a mental institution. Funny, funny funny.
Get this one and the others too. This is worth the investment for years of just plain fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great episodes, cool features, March 29 2004
By 
D. Sessoms - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
As many other reviewers have already listed the episodes available on the third season DVDs, I will try to break down various aspects of the volumes to tell you what works well and what doesnt work so well...
Picture, sound quality: 5/5. The animation looks really sharp on this collection, as in previous releases. Fox takes its time releasing episodes, but it shows in all the work that went into the drawing and animation.
Interactive menus: 4/5. I was annoyed at the menu interface for the season 2 DVDs, due to repetition and time-wasting, but this collection is much better. Every disc plays a different set of randomly-selected segues when moving from the main title (a background of the Simpsons family on the couch) to the episode selection menu. They are quick (good), often humorous (good), and in total there are probably over 20 different scenes (very good.) It is like having additional chalkboard or couch scenes that open every episode. They have also added humorous backgrounds to language selection and subtitle menus- check em out!
Easter eggs: 4/5. The DVDs contain added features that are not listed on the packaging or menus: still photos, additional audio tracks, etc. For example, on the episode "Homer Alone" you can use your remote control to see penciled sketches of Homer, Bart, and Maggie.
Audio commentary: 4/5. The commentaries are good, always featuring Matt Groening, Mike Reiss, the writers and actors, and others. My only complaint is that they lowered the episode volume so much that it can be difficult to follow the story if you are not already familiar with the episode.
Episodes: 6/5. One of the all-time great seasons for the Simpsons. A huge number of must-see shows, including Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington, Emmy-nominated Radio Bart, Lisa the Greek, Flaming Moe's, and others. Great guest stars too, plenty of Phil Hartman as Troy McClure.
Overall: 5/5. A must-have for any Simpsons fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Done, March 23 2004
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Simpsons has been on for so long now. The producers at this point (The Season 3) are experience, Homer's lines are improved from the sometimes korny jokes you find from earlier episodes. Bart too has better lines when prank calling Moe and ask for some one such as "Alk aholic". Lisa has as much growing up problem as ever, Marge too has had enough of this family. Sounds just like a soap opera, except it is well animated and I love the way they do the celebrities and their voices. Simpson also has a thought behind it, its not all about the tipical American guy and his son who defies authority and story about how the mother and sister has to deal with the mess these two make. In many episodes, you will find creators of the Simpsons making fun of the things you find wrong with the world. Chief Wiggum (corrupted policemen) is a very good example. Also, how people judge people by their looks in the "Stark Raving Dad". These character are characterized as some of the real human thoughts, some of them are very deep even though portraid in simple ways. How can a football represent the complex relationship between a addicted gambling father and a daughter who guesses every game right but still cannot get her father's attention. Also, it displays childhood friendship like Bart and Milhouse and display their trouble, also family problems between HOmer and Marge.
Visual: A+
Sound: A+
Story Line: A+
Rewatch Value: A+
Overall: A +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great season of TV, March 22 2004
By 
Bryant Burnette "Bryant Burnette" (Tuscaloosa, AL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
"The Simpsons" really hit its stride in this, its third season on the air. Though well over a decade old at this point (2004), almost all of the episodes seem as fresh as when they first aired (though occasional jokes, such as the mention of Milli Vanilli-like group Funky See Funky Do may be lost on a LOT of people now).
Some of the series' best episodes ever aired during this season. Amongst them:
Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington -- a cool trip-to-Washington episode in which Lisa enters a contest based around patriotic essays
When Flanders Failed -- in which Flanders opens the infamous Leftorium to less-than-overwhleming success
Like Father, Like Klown -- a Krustycentric episode that manages to be hilarious and really rather touching at the same time
Flaming Moe's -- a great episode that parodies "Cheers," features Aerosmith, and shows Homer at his down-and-outiest
I Married Marge -- a sweet and funny flashback episode showing how Homer and Marge got married and had Bart
Lisa the Greek -- in which Lisa, in an attempt to bond with Homer, becomes an expert football prognosticator
Bart the Lover -- another surprisingly touching episode (but funny too), in which Bart makes up a man for Mrs. Krabapple
Homer at the Bat -- in which Mr. Burns places a million-dollar bet on a company softball game and hires nine major-league ringers to better his chances at winning
Colonel Homer -- in which Homer becomes the manager for an up-and-coming contury music singing sensation named Lurleen Lumpkin
These are just the standout episodes; all 24 are excellent. Also highly entertaining are the cast/crew commentary tracks, which -- despite occasional times when people seem to stop talking for a while -- are informative and often very funny.
You're not going to do much better with your money than spending it on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons in general and the DVD, March 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Simpsons is a cherished cartoon in my heart. Probably the best cartoon ever to hit Prime Time T.V! Praise to Matt Groening and the people who created this hilarious, satirical, great show! With great characters too!
Homer-Who does not like the stupidity on this character! Hilarious fellow, pronbably my number one favorite cartoon charcter! Who can forget these quotes, "Why you little!" or "Doh!"
Bart-Mischevious, devilish little ten year old kid who does have some atttitude. Friends with a total dweeb, Bart can con anyone from his best friend to his principal to his family! Praise for Bart and his quotes, "Eat my shorts!", "Ay Carumba!", "Don't have a cow, man!" or "This sucks!" Praise to Bart or should I say Brat!
Lisa-Smart girl that has the reading ability of a 14th grade level kid. She can go to college at age eight. Not funny all the time, but can be great at times! I don't remember a lot of quotes, but I do know one, "There goes my chance at college."
Marge-My least favorite character, actually I just don't like the hoarse voice! But at times, she can be great!
Maggie-I like her a lot. She shot Mr. Burns, she ripped up a lot of money when The Simpsons were having a dinner party, she went to live with bears! There is only one word she ever said, "Daddy!"
The Dvd is great! Some of my favorite episodes:
Bart the Murderer
Mr. Lisa goes to Washington
Flaming Moes
When Flanders Failed
Treehouse of Horror II
Homer at the Bat
Bart the Lover
Black Widower
Brother, can you spare me two dimes
That's basically it. All those episodes are great, it's just if I had to pick favorites.
As for the DVD, I don't see any flaw!
HURRY UP WITH THE FOURTH SEASON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You broke my DVDs, man., March 12 2004
By 
B. Erickson "boycorrupted" (Overland Park, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
...The "folding book" design is stupid - they'd be better off packaging Simpsons the way they do Futurama.
So now I'll have to review the actual content from memory, but it's not like that's exactly a challenge. These are the truly classic Simpsons episodes, the ones you've seen hacked in syndication for over a decade. I mean, "Flaming Moe's" is here. What more do I need to tell you. Season 3 is indeed the season in which the Simpsons hit their stride. We all remember the choppy, sketchy, badly drawn 1st, and the 2nd in which certain anomalies lingered to differentiate it from later seasons, but many episodes in 3 are virtually indistinguishable from 13 as far as drawing style (with the exception of details like Wiggam's black hair, etc).
This season also includes one of my favorite "Treehouse of Horrors," in which Burns creates a formidable-looking robot but makes the mistake of giving it Homer's brain, while Bart acquires the Twilight Zone-like power of making his wishes come true, which he uses to turn Homer into a giant Jack-in-the-box (Homer never fares too well in these Halloween shows).
Also included are such memorable episodes as "Colonel Homer," in which Homer manages a sexy country western hopeful much to Marge's consternation, and "Radio Bart," in which Bart pretends to have fallen down a well as a prank, only to actually do so later.
One thing I do enjoy about these Simpsons DVDs - every episode includes a really informative commentary by the producers, writers, runners, etc. So many TV box sets only include commentary on certain tracks, or the really stupid "commentary as the characters" which is always death. For a show as concentrated and detail-obsessed as the Simpsons, these commentaries really do expand one's appreciation of the show. As an illustrator, I'm especially interested in the technical details of how the show was produced, and I've learned quite a bit.
Anyway, you don't need me to tell you to go buy this set. What you do need is my advice to treat it with kid-gloves in lieu of the self-destructive packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season
The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season by Rich Moore (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 54.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews