Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE DOLLS TRYING TO KILL ME THE TOASTERS LAUGHING AT ME
The Simpsons rock!
I just had to get this for christmas-and I got the first season too-strange I never got the second season!
doh!
This Simpsons dvd set is full of sweet Homer-all the Homer you can handle!
I have alot of Simpsons merchandise-and this summer my room is gonna be transformed into a Simpsons room-with the whole family painted on my...
Published on July 6 2004 by bekki rosie kalk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great moments, overated and the animation is problemati
Some of the animation is too weak for me. It either needs to be cheap like the earlier Beavis and Butthead or major. But that problems comes and goes. And don't get me wrong there are great moments throughout. Stark Raving Dad has some big moments, Flaming Moes and so on. My problem isn't that there aren't happy endings far from it. It's that all the episodes I have...
Published on Jan. 27 2004 by Stu O' Boogie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE DOLLS TRYING TO KILL ME THE TOASTERS LAUGHING AT ME, July 6 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Simpsons rock!
I just had to get this for christmas-and I got the first season too-strange I never got the second season!
doh!
This Simpsons dvd set is full of sweet Homer-all the Homer you can handle!
I have alot of Simpsons merchandise-and this summer my room is gonna be transformed into a Simpsons room-with the whole family painted on my walls-that is my ultimate dream come true!
It really is!
So buy this-its hilarious-and you wont get tired of it-unlike Family Guy!
SIMPSON HOMER SIMPSON HE'S THE GREATEST GUY IN HISTORY FROM THE TOWN OF SPRINGFIELD HE'S ABOUT TO HIT A CHESTNUTT TREE!
AHH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Modernist" Simpsons comes to DVD, June 19 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
They cleaned up the animation a bit for the busy (24 epsiodes) third season in the Simpsons franchise. Straying from the style of the first season, the writers have adopted a more satircal style for the second and third season.
"Mr. Lisa goes to Washington" takes a vitriolic look at Capitol hill as Lisa finds out what turns the wheels of the American government, culminating in the phrase, "...one nation, under the dollar, with liberty and justice for none." An episode that can rightfully be called the greatest of the third season, "Like father, like clown" is a sincere look at the relationship between the young, comedic Krusty and his autere, Rabbi father, voiced by Hollywood veteran Jackie Mason. "Burns verkaufen der Kraftwerk" is rife with sharp, caustic referneces to the state of safety with nuclear power. "Lisa the Greek" is a mature, yet risible look on the relationship between Homer and his young daughter and the confidence she has in the shaky fathering of Homer. Danny DeVito reprises his role as the once affluent American car magnate looking to regain the opulence of the American businessman in "Brother, can you spare two dimes?"
The most represenative of the season three episodes, "Homer at the bat", displays the burgeoning hold on American culture as the eminence and ubitiquous nature of the show helped to bring in the vocal talents of a plethora of baseball greats, such as Cooperstown bound Roger Clemens and Wade Boggs. This Hollywood power has also helped to snare other wolrd renowned figures such as English prime minister Tony Blair.
Season three will always be symbolic of the popularity of the show and nealry hipnotic effect on the 13-23 year old age group. Fans who have lost interest in the post season 7 Simpsons now have a DVD collection to recall with pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doh the third season, June 18 2004
By 
timothy p doyle (griffin, ga. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
They said it took so long because of the extras. Which I do not believe because they had the commentary on every episode. which should not have taken more than a week. All they had to do was get plugged up play the episodes and talk. They also had that that juke box thing which all they had to do was take it from the episode and put it together. Oh and they also had that thanksgiving parade all they had to do was take the tape and put it on the disk. so what would normaly tke about a month took a year. Well anyway they had 24 episodes and those stupid dvd extras I just mentiend. So buy them for the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great season on the way to the peak, July 23 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Season three is where the show comes in the magic period of faultless episodes and incredible plots unlike today's junk. After the crude animation of the first two seasons the animation improves dramtically.
19-Sep-1991 Stark Raving Dad
26-Sep-1991 Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington
03-Oct-1991 When Flanders Failed
10-Oct-1991 Bart the Murderer
17-Oct-1991 Homer Defined
24-Oct-1991 Like Father, Like Klown
31-Oct-1991 Tree House of Horror II: A Simpsons Halloween
07-Nov-1991 Lisa's Pony
14-Nov-1991 Saturdays of Thunder
21-Nov-1991 Flaming Moe's
05-Dec-1991 Burns Verkaufen der Kraftwerk
26-Dec-1991 I Married Marge
09-Jan-1992 Radio Bart
23-Jan-1992 Lisa the Greek
06-Feb-1992 Homer Alone
13-Feb-1992 Bart the Lover
20-Feb-1992 Homer at the Bat
27-Feb-1992 Separate Vocations
12-Mar-1992 Dog of Death
26-Mar-1992 Colonel Homer
09-Apr-1992 Black Widower
23-Apr-1992 The Otto Show
07-May-1992 Bart's Friend Falls in Love
27-Aug-1992 Brother Can You Spare Two Dimes?
These episodes are classics Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington and When Flanders Failed are to of my favourite. The other are just as good, really there are no faults in this season and the next four seasons are just as good if not better. The plots are really good here, especially flaming moe's which is a true classic i love that episode so much. This is the peak of tv, nothing comes close to the simpsons at it's best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The (insanely long) wait is nearly over!, Aug. 7 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
[THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE EPISODES DIRECTLY, NOT THE DVD ITSELF, AS IT HAS NOT BEEN CURRENTLY RELEASED. WHEN THE ITEM IS RELEASED I WILL POST A REVIEW FOR THE SET IN ITS ENTIRETY]
By the time the Third Season of The Simpsons rolled around, the characters and animation style had been fully developed. The first season was more like a standard sitcom than later Simpsons seasons, only it was animated. The second season used more experimental storylines. And of course, with the third season came pure excellence. The animators/writers had finally figured out the best ways to use the characters, and had come up with excellent storylines. Read on for brief episode summaries:
-Stark Raving Dad: Homer is thrown in a mental institution with a fat guy who thinks he's Michael Jackson.
-Mr. Lisa Goes To Washington: Lisa wins a local essay contest and is sent to Washington DC to participate in the national finals, but loses faith in democracy when seeing a senator taking a bribe.
-When Flanders Failed: Ned opens up a store that sells nothing but left-hand items. The store is a complete flop.
-Bart The Murderer: Bart begins working for the Springfield mob, and is soon arrested for Principal Skinner's supposed murder.
-Homer Defined: Homer pushes a random button and averts a meltdown at the power plant. He becomes a local hero.
-Like Father Like Clown: Bart and Lisa plot ways to reunite Krusty the Clown and his father, a Jewish rabbi.
-Treehouse Of Horror II: Bart, Lisa, and Homer all eat too much candy, and have three nightmares.
-Lisa's Pony: Homer, thinking Lisa doesn't love him, buys her a pony. This forces Homer to take two jobs.
-Saturdays Of Thunder: Bart and Homer build a soap box racer together for an upcoming race, but when Martin Prince is injured beyond racing condition, Bart decides to use his racer instead.
-Flaming Moe's: Moe steals credit for a beverage Homer invented, and it turns his bar into one of Springfield's most happening places.
-Burns Verkaufen Der Kraftwerk: Mr. Burns sells the power plant to Germans, and Homer is laid off.
-I Married Marge: Flashback episode in which Homer retells the story of how he and Marge got married.
-Radio Bart: With his new radio, Bart tricks the town into thinking there is a boy trapped in a well. He falls down the well trying to recover the radio, and becomes trapped himself.
-Lisa The Greek: Homer and Lisa start watching football together. Lisa isn't aware Homer is just using her to win bets.
-Homer Alone: Marge goes on a vacation. Homer stays home and loses Maggie, while Bart and Lisa stay with Patty and Selma.
-Bart The Lover: After getting lengthy detention, Bart decides to play the ultimate prank on his teacher - answering her personal ad, with a fake name and picture.
-Homer At The Bat: Mr. Burns challenges his Shelbyville rival to a power plant softball game bet. To ensure a victory, Burns gets major leaguers to join his team.
-Separate Vocations: After an intelligence test, Bart becomes interested in law enforcement and becomes a hall monitor, while Lisa falls in with the bad girls of her school.
-Dog Of Death: Santa's Little Helper gets very sick, and the family must pay for an expensive operation. Eventually the monetary sacrifices take their toll on the family.
-Colonel Homer: Homer becomes manager to a country singer, making Marge extremely jealous.
-Black Widower. Sideshow Bob gets out of prison and marries Selma. Selma is unaware he is plotting to kill her and take her money.
-The Otto Show: Otto loses his bus driver license and moves in with the Simpsons. At the DMV, he meets Patty and Selma and discovers the three have one thing in common - their hatred for Homer Simpson.
-Bart's Friend Falls In Love: Milhouse falls for the new girl in school, and Bart gets jealous that the two don't spend time together anymore.
-Brother, Can You Spare Two Dimes?: Herb comes to the Simpson house, to try to talk Homer into loaning him the money for the invention that will make him rich again - a baby translator.
The third season of the Simpsons in 5-star material, all the way. When this DVD is released (FOX is notoriously slow with releasing DVDS), I'm gonna get a copy FAST. Fellow Simpsons fans, I suggest you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good as always, Sept. 1 2006
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Season 1 was basic,season 2 extended and season 3 is perfect.The simpsons are one of the longest running serie on t.v,and has numbers of sellout dvds and emmy awards.The simpsons has matured in term of experience but season 3 never gets old.Episodes were aired between 91 and 92 the dvd was released in 2003.Now the simpsons catalogue is huge offering 16 and continuing seasons,multiple dvds but lets not forguet season 3 it contains once again great episodes,the most famous might be flaming moe`s(when homer gives moes a special drink recipe )

but there are also fan favorites like saturdays of thunder(when homer helps bart to make a soap box)and black widower(when sideshow bob gets out of jail and mets selma),when flanders failed,lsa`s pony and many other great episodes.As always the episodes are amazing what can i say.The second horror show is also good.

We get to see homer`s brother who live in detroit who is named

herb powell and the family goes to washington.Despite the simpsons aging this one remains good recomended to all fans of the show.Really there is nothing to say another awesome simpson season.recomended!

i rewiewed every simpsons season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Simpsons Season, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The third season of the simpson's is really really funny (I think that it is the best one out on DVD right now), although the fourth seanson is pretty funny. The third seems to have a bunch of really funny episodes including Stark raving Dad, where Homer goes to a mental hospital and The Otto Show, where the Simpsons take Otto the bus driver into their house to live because he lost his job as the school bus driver because he didn't have a drivers license and therefore had to live in a dumpster until Bart found him and convince his parents to take Otto in to live with them. Anyway this season is hilarious, so if you are only going to buy one season, it should be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, July 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
More Simpsons hilarity. Can't wait for the Stonecutters episode to come out in a future release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent, June 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I own Seasons 1-3 of "The Simpsons" on DVD, and this season has to be the best of them all. This is the season where the voices of the characters really began to sound like they do today. Also, the animation is way better and not as crude. There are quite a bit special features, but some aren't worth viewing. The humor of The Simpsons as we know today is not quite there in this season, but it's getting there. There is a total of 24 episodes on this DVD, and every single one is great. Some classics on this DVD include "Stark Raving Dad" (Homer is put into a mental institute with "Micheal Jackson"), "Bart's Friend Falls in Love" (Milhouse falls in love with new girl Samantha Stanky), and the sequel to "Treehouse of Horror." Buying this funny, but smart, show on DVD is money well spent, especially with this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to The Simpsons for Another Great DVD Set, June 15 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Recently since the DVD series of The Simpsons came out, I've always had a big spot in my DVD Library for these. Season 3 has got to be in my Top 5 in my favorite seasons with all the great Classic Episodes it has.
My Favorite Episodes are Marked with a *
7524 - Start Raving Dad
8F01 - Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington
7F23 - When Flanders Failed
8F03 - Bart The Murderer
8F04 - Homer Defined
8F05 - Like Father, Like Clown
8502 - Treehouse of Horror II
8F06 - Lisa's Pony
8F07 - Saturdays of Thunder*
8F08 - Flaming Moe's*
8F09 - Burns Verkaufen Der Kraftwerk
8F10 - I Married Marge
8F11 - Radio Mart
8F12 - Lisa The Greek
8F14 - Homer Alone
8F16 - Bart The Lover
8F13 - Homer At The Bat*
8F15 - Deparate Vocations
8F17 - Dog of Death
8F19 - Colonel Homer
8F20 - Black Widower
8F21 - The Otto Show
8F22 - Bart's Friend Falls In Love
8F23 - Brother, Can You Spare Two Dimes?*
That's the Episode list that is in the DVD, and although I didn't mark every episode as my favorite, they're all very good episodes. I would strongly recommend this DVD to all fans of the popular T.V. Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season
The Simpsons: The Complete Third Season by Rich Moore (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 49.98 CDN$ 43.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews