summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2013
A few sound distortions at the character creation menus but everything ese works PERFECTLY.

If you play the Star Wars Saga Edition or Fantasy Flight Star Wars RPGs, this is definitely a MUST PLAY game to understand how a Star Wars genre story flows and ebbs for anyone writing their own RPG campaign in this (before the Treaty of Coruscant) or any other Star Wars Era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Wrong platform identified...it was for the original Xbox, not the 360 or One. They should change the title to Xbox "generic" or something like "original"...

No idea if the game is good though. It was returned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
Warning don't buy anything from Video Flash he's nothing but a scam, he sold me a game that's damaged and that doesn't work every time i load or want to save.

Beware people, Video Flash is a Fraud and a scam don't ever buy from him his products are all used garbage that doesn't work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2004
Ah, the realm of Star Wars... Filled with so many good - and bad *cough hayden christensen cough* things. And to not name Knights of the Old Republic amongst the good should be punishable by law. To be blunt, this is game is simply phenomenal.
As it should be in any good RPG, KotOR features an insanely good plotline. You'll begin your journey at one of three "professions." Soldier, Scout or Scoundrel - all either male or female. It's up to you as to whether you'd like to customize each aspect of your character or just have the computer create a quick one for you. You're stationed on a Republic Battle cruiser - the Endar Spire. From here, it's up to you to escape your doomed ship and make it off to Taris - the planet you're in orbit around.
Right from the first minutes of the game, you're choosing your side - or path if you will - which will ultimately result in your fate and place in the galaxy. It comes down to you to choose through your actions and dialogue whether you will side with the Republic - or the Sith.
Those who are not very familiar with RPGs (as I've noticed in some of the other reviews) sometimes find the combat style of Knights to their disliking. I myself am a fan of first person shooters like Halo. You'll soon find that Knights in the COMPLETE opposite of Halo when it comes to combat. Combat is turn based and auto- targeting and while you might formulate a picture of a slow tedious time watching the computer aim, fire,miss aim, fire, hit... it's quite the contrary. Utterly unlike Halo, combat doesn't resolve around pumping your opponent with as much lead as fast as possible (which is awesome, don't get me wrong) but around strategy. You main characters and accompanying party members each wield different skills. A Jedi might use a skill like force choke to mercilessly drain the life from an opponent while a soldier might use grenades and the rapid fire skill to take out targets. Trust me, if you're willing to try it and get into the game, combat is far from a con.
On top of the stellar storyline, combat, and the ability to decide how the game's going the end - Knights wields additonal positives. One thing I was impressed about right off the bat - before I even got into the storyline - was the sound and graphics. The voices of each of the main characters are performed by actors who do a great job with tone and rate. The sound of a lightsaber springing to life or a blaster going off are instantly recognizable. On one particular planet, you can hear the breeze blowing across the plains. The music is decent. The most important things is that it doesn't get really annoying after a lot of gameplay time. It changes accordingly during exploring time and time spent in combat. The graphics are impressive. Those displayed during the various movie clips are better than the in-game ones, though the in-game graphics are still satisfactory.
Finally - plus the graphics and sound, Knights features great replayability - something that sometimes hard to find in XBox games. The variation of games you can play are stunning. You might play your first game as the Light Side male soldier while you take a couple side quests because you're still getting the hang of things. Then you may go back and play the game as a Dark Side female scoundrel with a completely differnt set of powers and storyline. You may take a few more side quests - opening up further possibilities. Depending on the side quests you take, game might anywhere from 24 hours to 40 hours.
Overall, I'd go back and shell out $100 dollars for this game. I can't say enough about it - as is obvious by the above.
Hope I've helped give you some insight into one of the best games I've ever played! (BTW, look for the sequel on December)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
First off: this game is awesome. Best Star Wars game I've ever played, surpassing even Bounty Hunter, which is saying a lot.
Now, here's the thing that prompted me to write this "review" in the first place. I decided to take a look at some of the less flattering reviews for this game, and what do I find but pages of reviews in which a bunch of [people] neglected to actually rate the game (Number one on the review list, people! Wake up!). What really irked me about this was that a good deal of these no-star reviews were positive, heaping nothing but praise upon this excellent game. Please, prospective reviewers, I beg you, I implore you, RATE THE GAME. Its overall rating is down because of those who neglected to do so.
Yeah, well, anyway, KotOR pwnz j00z. "Savior, conqueror, hero, villain. You are all things, Revan, and yet you are nothing. In the end you belong to neither the light nor the darkness. You will forever stand alone." Best line in the game. Doesn't that line pwnz j00? I thought so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
This game has one highly original idea that's a lot of fun to mess around with. You can move towards either the dark or light side of the force depending on your choices throughout the game. The game plays quite differently according to your choice (it's fun to be evil).
The battles are sort of interesting but also frustrating. They're kind of hard to describe; they're turn-based and action-based at the same time. You can only use one item per turn, and enemies frequently drain your health faster than it's possible to restore it.
Graphics are fair. Texturing is hit-and-miss, and animation is only passable (this is kind of surprising, because there isn't much of it).
Almost everything in the story is taken from the various Star Wars movies, which is fine. The elements taken from the films are tied together in different ways and you end up with a better story than the new movies. The characters are fairly likeable (my favorite's HK-47, who calls humans "meatbags").
There are some sidequests, including a racing game that uses the exact same sound effects as the pod racers in Episode I. All quests are kept track of in a handy logbook.
There is a TON of voice acting, probably about 10 hours' worth. Most of it's quite good. After a few hours through the game, though, you'll probably just read the text and skip most of the voice clips. Cutscenes (especially the "battle" ones) look lame because all of them play out inside the game engine, with the normal battle animations and calculations. It may look lame, but it's usually different each time. For example, sometimes a Jedi may whiff a few times where they once took down an enemy with one hit.
My conclusion: you'll enjoy this game, especially the first 20-30 hours or so. Eventually, though, you'll get tired of it. It's worth 30 bucks or so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2004
Star Wars at its best!
Knights of the Old Republic (KOTOR) is the best RPG you will find on your Xbox, PLUS it probaly is one of the best games around on the Microsoft Console.
Story: 10 out of 10.
Absolutely awesome. KOTOR is well scripted, has great plot twists and gives you the possibility of roaming both sides of the power in the best way any Star Wars game ever did. Forget Jedi Knights, if you liked that game, you will LOVE this game.
Furthermore, KOTOR is the best thing that happened to the Star Wars franchise since "The Empire Strikes Back." In my humble opinion, this game would have been a great movie and is BY FAR a better movie than the last two we have seen at the theatre.
Graphics: 10 out of 10.
Yo-hoo, go along in this awesome graphics bonanza. The Star Wars universe is wonderfully recreated in many of its aspects. Cities are wonderful to visit and explore, character skins and movements are close to perfection. Jedi powers are rendered in the best way ever, giving you the uttermost feeling of wielding the force in all its forms and ways.
Sound: 10 out of 10.
Compelling soundtrack is well blended into your actions, passing from mellow to upbeat themes as the action gets more frenetic. Sound FX are incredibly well done.
GamePlay: 10 out of 10.
Behold, this is an RPG. So it's not a first person shooter or a beat'em up. Combat has been a sort of an issue for fans of the latest Star Wars games (such as Academy). The Bioware Combat system is however the BEST I have ever seen on an RPG. You get all possibilities of deciding your tactics, but there still is the action flavour to what is going on.
Other Cool Things:
1)You get a bunch of NPCs (non playing characters) who will tag along, All have their own background and powers. Furthermore, you can talk to them whenever you want, ask suggestions, info or opinions. Plus, they will be actively part of the story and sometimes you will see them chat or discuss with each other. VERY REALISTIC.
2) Character creation is well done, decently customizable. Plus, the game uses the basic rules of Dungeons & Dragons for attributes and power building, so any old time RPG fan will get in gear quite easily.
3) One of the NPCs that will follow you is a psicotic war version of C3PO. It curses and hates everything, plus he considers you a "meatbag." It's the funniest thing ever.
4) You get to travel around the galaxy in a retro style Millennium Falcon callled the Ebon Hawk. The ship is so well done you will think you're in a movie.
I'd go on, but there are WAY TOO MANY COOL THINGS TO THIS GAME.
Bottom line:
Folk, this game is Fanta-freakin-tastic. This is a MUST BUY for anybody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2004
I give this a full five stars. The reason is that this is simply the best game I've ever played. When I wasn't playing XboxLive, I was playing this game. If this game was on Live, then this would be the best Live game. The storyline is absolutly breathtaking. The first time I played though the game, after the ending, I just said "Wow". This game is just like a movie that you control. You control what your reactions are and everything. Their are two bad things about this game though: The annoying, constant bickering between Mission and Carth, and the fact that Bastila thinks she is the smartest, best Jedi in the world, and she thinks she's the only person that will never fall to the Dark Side. That get's annoying at times. Everything else is perfect. Another thing i dont like about the game is that Darth Malak, at the end, he keeps on using lightning, and in the middle he keeps on running from you after you find out that.....Well, I'll let you figure that out on your own. Bottom line, if you want a game with stunning graphics, an amazing storyline, and you can make your own Jedi character, this game is your game. If anyone says this game is bad, then they either: Simply don't like Star Wars games, or they are a complete nutcase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2004
BioWare has, as usual, cranked out a fantastic game. KotOR is one of the best games I've ever played. For an RPG, it has a fantastic storyline, immersive gameplay, and certainly some of the best realtime turn-based combat I've ever seen. The results are astounding, and the difficulty of the game increases logically and in a way that means it's never TOO tough, but never way too easy, either.
However, this game's real strong point is its universe. Everyone has always loved Star Wars, at least up until EP's 1 & 2, where George Lucas' screenwriting abilities came into serious question - wasting excellent actors and whatnot. But this game does what Lucas himself cannot, capturing perfectly as it does the feel of the original movies and remaining true to the universe while telling an epic new story.
This game is, quite literally, heaven for a fan of the "expanded universe" of Star Wars, with so many ways to play out a storyline as just one of a multitude of characters in the galaxy. It just doesn't get any better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2004
This game is awesome. It is so open and you have to keep playing to see what comes next. The weapons and armor and items are awesome. You can choose tons of party members like wookies and even jedi's. I've never seen a star wars movie and don't get star wars at all, but this game is sweet. I'm gonna watch the movies. I have been playing the game for about 5 hours and i haven't beat the first world thing. It is a very long game and i can tell it will be very playable after a beat it once. I am on a quest to get off the first world, so im almost done with the first world.
People are complaining about the turn-based battling, but its not a problem at all. I actually like it a lot, but for people that dont think it sounds good, listen to this. You can set attacks ahead of time so you can fight them without having to chose your attack later, and there are lots of other things. It's not like Final Fantasy where you go into a battle sequence and your just stuck there battling people and chosing attacks after attacks until you kill them. You can run around, chose new attacks at any time, and switch to other people in your party, so you aren't confined to certain places or people. You can barely call it turn-based. You can also switch between targeted enemies at any time and you dont have to attack one enemy at a time.
The only flaws are how much loading the game has in it, and it has kind of a lot of glitches and sometimes freezes for a few seconds, but it is an rpg, which means it needs to load a lot and sometimes, because of the massive environments and such, freezes. Those are the only bad things!
This game is a must have. I think its better than Halo! You have to get this if you like star wars, role-playing games, or if you dont like star wars or rpg's. You should get this game if you have an xbox!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.