Customer Reviews


390 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST PLAY Stellar Space Opera
A few sound distortions at the character creation menus but everything ese works PERFECTLY.

If you play the Star Wars Saga Edition or Fantasy Flight Star Wars RPGs, this is definitely a MUST PLAY game to understand how a Star Wars genre story flows and ebbs for anyone writing their own RPG campaign in this (before the Treaty of Coruscant) or any other Star Wars...
Published 3 months ago by Gammon Karn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good storyline
I got this game hoping for Jedi Lightsaber slashing action. Well I did get that. What I didn't expect was an RPG. I was gratified to realize that it was until I realized that the dynamics of this particular RPG made it a worse game than many that I had played.
Pros:
The storyline was good
The characters were great
The fight animation was really...
Published on March 15 2004 by Ryan Pritchard


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST PLAY Stellar Space Opera, Dec 31 2013
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
A few sound distortions at the character creation menus but everything ese works PERFECTLY.

If you play the Star Wars Saga Edition or Fantasy Flight Star Wars RPGs, this is definitely a MUST PLAY game to understand how a Star Wars genre story flows and ebbs for anyone writing their own RPG campaign in this (before the Treaty of Coruscant) or any other Star Wars Era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Jan. 20 2013
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game. Whether it be for RPG fans, or Star Wars fans, this is easily one of the best games on the original Xbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the Nay-sayers: embrace your destiny, July 24 2003
By 
Jeff Strong (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
Ok. Here it is: the definitely review that encorporates over 15 hours of gameplay with some common sense.
This is by far the best Star Wars game produced to date--end of discussion. The storyline is better than anything Lucas dreamed up for the last two "star wars" movies (where were you Bioware?!).
Sound = 5/5. It's tremendous. From the hum of my lightsaber to the voice acting (totally engrossing), you are sucked into a galaxy far, far away...
Music = 5/5. Top notch. Not a lot of the John william's soundtrack here, just a lot more mood being set. Excellent music that fits each scenario/plant/task.
Graphics = 3/5. Are they the BEST graphics ever? No. Are they WAY above average? YES. Solid graphics on all levels (planets are beautiful--I could just explore for hours and hunt sand raiders on tatooine for credits--oh wait, I did!). yes the game "skips" sometimes when you turn to reposition the camera or when you've moving, but only once in a while. It is so minimal you won't even notice after a few hours of play. Nothing to concern yourself over.
Gameplay = 5/5. Totally unreal. Tons to do and tons of ways to do it. the replay value built into this game is enormous. I look forward to playing again and again.
Combat = 4/5. I give four becuase although I think it is a five, some will not like it since they don't 'control' the fighting. You instead 'direct' it. You issue commands to your team and watch as they are carried out, and although it sounds very passive, it is SO enjoyable to be able to sit back and watch your turn-based decisions being played out in real time. It's a lot like being able to direct a fight sequence and to my surprise I found it VERY, VERY enjoyable. I love just picking fights so I can watch my double-bladed red sabre (a la Darth maul) slice through my enemies with ease!
Value = 5/5. Huge replay value. After playing this game for 15 hours. I would honestly consider paying $100 (USD) for it. It is that good. So many different things to do, places to see, people to interact with and ways to interact depending on your force preference (light or dark), you'll be reliving this saga again and again.
OVERALL: 5/5 A GREAT Game that will challenge Halo as the best overall game in the Xbox library. If you are an RPG fan, pick it up. If you are a Star Wars fan--this is honestly your dream come true.
May the force be with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This does look promising..., April 7 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
Even though the game is not out yet...it looks very impressive. Yes, some games that LucasArts released in the past were pretty bad. Like Obi-Wan, The Clone Wars, and Starfighter SE. You have to remember that they did release some really good games after those. Like Jedi Knight II Jedi Outcast, which was the best selling PC game of 2002 in three countries. Bounty Hunter was also pretty cool. Jedi Starfighter was worth the play too.
The release date was also getting pushed back. First it was November 19, 2002 for Xbox and March 5, 2003 for the PC. Second it was February 20, 2003 for Xbox and May 26, 2003 for the PC. Third it was March 25, 2003 for Xbox and June 18, 2003 for the PC. Fourth it was May 1, 2003 for Xbox and August 16, 2003 for the PC. Now it is June 16, 2003 for Xbox and November 14, 2003 for the PC. It seems that LucasArts and Bioware want to put as much effort into this game as possible.
So what I am getting at is that they seem to get better through time. I have seen many screenshots and videos of Knights of the Old Republic and it does look very impressive. You can watch an interview of the game with previews in the backround at ...
The game was told to be 40-60 hours long. At the start you can become a Jedi or Sith, create your own character, build your own lightsaber hilt, choose the type of lightsaber you want (single lightsaber, two lightsabers in each hand, or a double bladed lightsaber like Darth Maul's), choose the blade color of your lightsaber, choose your force powers, and in the game if you are a Jedi you can gradually fall to the Dark Side or if you are a Sith you can gradually become good.
In the middle of the game you can perform many upgrades like upgrading your lightsaber. If you want to change the blade color, you have to seek out the crystals that will give you the color you desire and take out the old crystals and pop in the new crystals.
There is also laser turret games like in A New Hope with the Millenium Falcon being attacked by Tie Fighters and Luke and Han get into their laser turrets.
The game also features where you can play in what is called a "Real-Time Mode" which is basically without pausing the game and choosing your attacks. An example of a "Real-Time Mode" game would be Jedi Outcast. Your other choice is to play it in "Traditional RPG" where you do pause the game and choose an attack. An example is Final Fantasy.
This game is to be very dramatic and to let the player live and embrace themselves as a Jedi Knight or Sith Lord in the Star Wars universe.
Who knows what this game will bring? Lets hope it will make every Star Wars fan happy and satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So fun and so addicting, May 31 2008
By 
F. Collier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
I just got this game yesterday and have played for tons of time. Also if you like star wars BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Game is Sooo Addicting, April 2 2007
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
I seriously couldn't stop playing this game when i got it. I played all the way through until i won. It's soo good.

I thought the fighting was sweet, and the story line was pretty cool (the ending has a crazy twist).

I also thought it was awesome how you could flirt and become lovers with another character in the game. If you're a male character, you can hit on Bastilla, if you're a female, you can hit on Carth Onasi.

I thought the talking was really well thought out, really good conversations. You have lots of choices on how to answer, and everything you do affects your game.

The graphics are nice, and the gameplay is good too.

It did lag a bit while in battle sometimes, but that's alright, the game rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for 14 and up!, Dec 13 2005
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
I'm 23 years old, and I'm not usually one who get's into to RPG type games (I am a die hard stratagy gamer), but this one is so addictive I couldn't stop playing it. The story line is really cool, and if you like the movies you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Game with Real Plot, Jan. 28 2005
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
If, as a gamer over the age of 25, you have been searching for a game that has plot, look no further. Yes, as many reviews have said, this game excels on many levels - graphics, combat, RPG elements, etc. However, the thing that really stands out is the in-depth storyline and the multiple paths you can take through it. I was not really a big fan of the recent Star Wars movies, as they destroyed the romance of my youthful experience in the first movies. KOTOR redeems the franchise, with no thanks to Lucas himself.
Video-games are still experimenting with what is really possible in the medium. They are not movies, they are not books, they are not boardgames, and - yes - they are way more than 'arcade' games. The developers at Bioware are blessed with the ability to infuse the games they make with the REAL stuff. The real mark of a classic is that, even when technology has moved on, we still enjoy the experience. Think of old movie classics. In 10 years, people will still be playing this game...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To be blunt, this game is simply phenomenal., July 17 2004
By 
Spo (Mars, Solar System) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
Ah, the realm of Star Wars... Filled with so many good - and bad *cough hayden christensen cough* things. And to not name Knights of the Old Republic amongst the good should be punishable by law. To be blunt, this is game is simply phenomenal.
As it should be in any good RPG, KotOR features an insanely good plotline. You'll begin your journey at one of three "professions." Soldier, Scout or Scoundrel - all either male or female. It's up to you as to whether you'd like to customize each aspect of your character or just have the computer create a quick one for you. You're stationed on a Republic Battle cruiser - the Endar Spire. From here, it's up to you to escape your doomed ship and make it off to Taris - the planet you're in orbit around.
Right from the first minutes of the game, you're choosing your side - or path if you will - which will ultimately result in your fate and place in the galaxy. It comes down to you to choose through your actions and dialogue whether you will side with the Republic - or the Sith.
Those who are not very familiar with RPGs (as I've noticed in some of the other reviews) sometimes find the combat style of Knights to their disliking. I myself am a fan of first person shooters like Halo. You'll soon find that Knights in the COMPLETE opposite of Halo when it comes to combat. Combat is turn based and auto- targeting and while you might formulate a picture of a slow tedious time watching the computer aim, fire,miss aim, fire, hit... it's quite the contrary. Utterly unlike Halo, combat doesn't resolve around pumping your opponent with as much lead as fast as possible (which is awesome, don't get me wrong) but around strategy. You main characters and accompanying party members each wield different skills. A Jedi might use a skill like force choke to mercilessly drain the life from an opponent while a soldier might use grenades and the rapid fire skill to take out targets. Trust me, if you're willing to try it and get into the game, combat is far from a con.
On top of the stellar storyline, combat, and the ability to decide how the game's going the end - Knights wields additonal positives. One thing I was impressed about right off the bat - before I even got into the storyline - was the sound and graphics. The voices of each of the main characters are performed by actors who do a great job with tone and rate. The sound of a lightsaber springing to life or a blaster going off are instantly recognizable. On one particular planet, you can hear the breeze blowing across the plains. The music is decent. The most important things is that it doesn't get really annoying after a lot of gameplay time. It changes accordingly during exploring time and time spent in combat. The graphics are impressive. Those displayed during the various movie clips are better than the in-game ones, though the in-game graphics are still satisfactory.
Finally - plus the graphics and sound, Knights features great replayability - something that sometimes hard to find in XBox games. The variation of games you can play are stunning. You might play your first game as the Light Side male soldier while you take a couple side quests because you're still getting the hang of things. Then you may go back and play the game as a Dark Side female scoundrel with a completely differnt set of powers and storyline. You may take a few more side quests - opening up further possibilities. Depending on the side quests you take, game might anywhere from 24 hours to 40 hours.
Overall, I'd go back and shell out $100 dollars for this game. I can't say enough about it - as is obvious by the above.
Hope I've helped give you some insight into one of the best games I've ever played! (BTW, look for the sequel on December)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!!, July 15 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic (Video Game)
This game is one of the best games ever made, I've been playing video games for many years and i am pretty picky about the ones i buy and praise. But i bought this game as soon as it came out. Even if you are not a star wars fan you will love this game. not only for the story line but for the features as well. It treads the line of 3rd perspn shooter to Rpg extremely well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4002744)

This product

Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic
Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic by LUCAS ARTS - VIDEO (Xbox)
Used & New from: CDN$ 22.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews