Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars got on time
great movie! got it on time. it works great. I would say other people would like to see this movie.
Published 14 months ago by sarah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I thought it would be
It's okay, but the kids don't even really like it and they'll watch anything! We much prefer Daddy Day Care.
Published 17 months ago by Lisa Poirier


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars got on time, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle 98 (DVD)
great movie! got it on time. it works great. I would say other people would like to see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I thought it would be, Jan. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle (Widescreen) (DVD)
It's okay, but the kids don't even really like it and they'll watch anything! We much prefer Daddy Day Care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud comedy., Nov. 18 2003
By 
A. Vegan (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle 98 (VHS Tape)
Dr. John Dolittle (Eddie Murphy) has the so called "perfect life", a beautiful wife, two loving daughters and a career that could not be better. All that changes one night when he nearly hits a dog with his car. As he is leaving, the dog calls him a bonehead then runs off. From that day on his childhood ability to communicate with animals is back. Soon, animals are showing up at his home to get help. His colleagues suspect he's going crazy and many decisions still have to be made regarding the sale of the clinic. Just as everything is about to fall apart, a circus tiger falls seriously ill and it's John's turn to prove to everyone that he's not crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Repeats, June 26 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a movie I bought first, primarily for the kids because of the reviews. No one ever asked to watch it a second time. I say this because one of my kids was watching the Lion King last night, for the umpteenth time. So yes, I agree that eddie murphy impressed me again with his talent... but it just didn't grab my kids, 3 boys and 2 girls. I had to give it a good rating of 3 rather than a 2 to encourage the making of good movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where's Richard Pryor when we need him?, June 16 2003
By 
M.C (out there in la la land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle (Widescreen) (DVD)
eddie murphy is a comical guy, but is he really the right guy to play in something as stupid as this? Of course, who is the right guy for it? One of the questions i can't stand to think about in this movie, is how Dolittle hears the animals speak, but their lips move and nobody notices. Can't they connect the dots? Obviously not. And obviously, the filmmakers couldn't either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Dolittle, Jan. 10 2003
By 
E. Batica (MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle (Widescreen) (DVD)
Based on the children's story and brought to life in a new way, Eddie Murphy in DR DOOLITTLE is a cute kids comedy and a pretty good comedy in general. And there's a lot of funny parts with the animals in this movie and it's very touching as well.
As a kid, John Doolittle (Murphy) didn't have too many friends but the friends he did have were special to hum because he was the only who could understand him. Why? Because they were animals. He could talk to and understand animals. But after he got in trouble for talking with the family dog, he was forced to stop talking to animals. Now as an adult, after an accident where he hit a dog, he realizes that he heard the dog talk to him. Now he realizes that he still has his gift and now it's a question if he can keep his sanity and if he can do the right thing and help everyone that needs him, including the animals.
This one is really cute and kids will love this one. Plus it's pretty funny as well. And of course there are plenty of other celebrities pitching their voices for this movie like Pee Wee Herman, Chris Rock, Norm McDonald, Jenna Elfman, John Leguizamo and Albert Brooks to name a few. The soundtrack to this movie is also very good as well with Aaliyah, All Saints, Wu-Tang's Raekwon and more.
The kids will love this one and this a good comedy for the entire family. It's very clean and there isn't any swearing or any adult themes at all. It's a very fun movie. Check out DR DOOLITTLE and don't forget to check out DR DOOLITTLE 2. Enjoy this family comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A LOT OF A LITTLE, Oct. 26 2002
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle (Widescreen) (DVD)
Before the Klumps, before the Nutty Professor, there was Dr. Dolittle. Eddie Murphy tries desperately to obtain some of the magic Rex Harrison had in his own movie version of the age old children's story.
John Dolittle is a M.D. that used to possess the power to communicate with animals and then around twenty years later, reobtains it. He tries to come to grips with this gift using the traditional methods of denial, rejection, and finally accepting what he can do.
After word gets around that the Dr. can talk with animals it brings about several new "patients" with "unique" problems. Some of the funnier ailments was a monkey with an alcohol problem, an obsessive compulsive dog, a suicidal tiger, and a pigeon with an identity crisis.
An excellent acting cast is included in this movie. Oliver Platt (Three to Tango, Three Musketeers, Bicentenial Man)plays the role of the self-absorbed partner in Dolittle's practice. He's dead set on the practice being sold to a large conglomerate that will fill his pockets with seven figures. Richard Schiff (Toby Ziggler in NBC's West Wing) is the third member in the practice and is hesitant to merge because of his concern for his patients and staff.
That's not all of the cast, though. We can't forget about the animals now can we? There are several star's voices in the movie including John Leguizamo as a rat, Garry Shandling as a pigeon, Jenna Elfman as an owl, and Gilbert Gottfried as a dog. There were three particular animals that played a larger role in the movie.
Foremost was Norm MacDonald's dog character, Lucky. Lucky is a stray and is the first animal voice that Dolittle is able to hear. Chris Rock plays the part of a smart-alec guinea pig that is owned by Dolittle's daughter Maya. He is quite the adventurer and finds himself riding on the roof of an SUV and flushed in a toilet. Lastly, Albert Brooks was very ill tiger. He had symptoms of impaired vision and terrible pressure against his head. He contemplates suicide when Dolittle with the aid Lucky convince him that he can get help. Dolittle later, risks his career to save the tiger's life.
Overall Dr. Dolittle had a wonderful cast and that's why I think it could have been funnier. The movie flows smoothly and special effects are acceptable. I recommend this movie as something for a family, but don't look for a too much of a point to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Dolittle, Oct. 7 2002
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle 98 (VHS Tape)
When my grandchildren brought over to my house the movie Dr. Dolittle, I shuddered to think what kind of language might be on the video. I kept my hand on the remote control, ready to change channels at the first sign of Eddy Murphy's colorful lanugage from his past movies. But I was surprised to see that wasn't to be. Most of the language my grandchildren didn't understand anyway but they enjoyed watching the animals talk.
The Dr. Dolittle movie is a great escape from our everyday life routine. I have watched this movie about 15 times and each time I crack up laughing at the scene where Eddy Murphy (John) wakes up in bed and realizes something is crawling on his chest. John lifts the sheet to find Rodney (the family's guinea pig). John lets out a terrifying scream.
John along with his two partners are trying to sell their medical practice for a large sum of money. John is married to a very supportive wife and they have two kids. Pressures from the sell of the practice and all of the talking animals are taking a toll on poor John. Everyone thinks John is cracking up. John checks into a medical center. One thing after another happens, which I will not reveal because you need to watch this movie yourself.
John medically treats the talking animals anywhere from plucking a twig from an owl"s wing to operating on a lion. Eddy Murphy could not have done such a good job without all of the star menagerie voices of: Chris Rock, John Lequizamo, Norm MacDonald, Albert Books, Garry Shandling and Ellen DeGeneres. Talking animal movies have been done before but they are what makes this movie seem exceptionally funny.
Dr. Dolittle is a "must" see movie, there is a moral to the story. It can teach children that just because you might be "different" does not mean you are "weird".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, July 5 2002
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle 98 (VHS Tape)
This movie is just good including a funny performance by Eddie Murphy, except Kyla Pratt looked really freaky when she played Dr. Dolittle's daughter. I give this movie *** (3 out of 5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Adult Film in PG Disguise., May 20 2002
By 
A. Remington "nameyou'vechosenalreadytaken" (Land of The Shining Corn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Dolittle 98 (VHS Tape)
This film is for adults unless you're into molding youth into being foulmouthed, stupid lackluster people who have no couth, sublety or imagination. As an adult film, it can compete with WWF wrestling PPV events in terms of aggressive dialogue. In terms of being a childrens' film, all I can say is that I was truly embarrassed to be sitting there with my 8 year old companion. Luckily, the jokes fairly much went right over his head. Has Murphy pushed the boundaries? A resounding yes! As the society we live in becomes more primitive and unkind, we can thank "entertainers" like this one for helping it slip down a few more notches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Dolittle (Full Screen)
Dr. Dolittle (Full Screen) by Betty Thomas (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 11.98 CDN$ 10.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews