Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great family movie from Disney (4.5/5)
this a great Disney flick.it is the story of an aging high school
baseball coach(Dennis Quaid),who was once on his way to the big leagues
as a pitcher,but suffered a career ending injury.but through series of
events,Jimmy Morris(Quaid)gets a second chance.you can probably guess
the rest.this is a great family film.it is inspirational,but doesn't...
Published on Sept. 17 2007 by falcon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Product may be good. Yet to get it. Prime is a waste.
I received the product, but the whole 'get it within the next 48 hours using Prime' was a bogus as one could endure. Days turned into well over a week and some.

The only reason I made the order was to get the products in time before I departed. I was actually delayed in going and still did not get some of the overall shipment, and what did arrive was a...
Published 5 months ago by D.W.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great family movie from Disney (4.5/5), Sept. 17 2007
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
this a great Disney flick.it is the story of an aging high school
baseball coach(Dennis Quaid),who was once on his way to the big leagues
as a pitcher,but suffered a career ending injury.but through series of
events,Jimmy Morris(Quaid)gets a second chance.you can probably guess
the rest.this is a great family film.it is inspirational,but doesn't
pour it on too thick.it's fun and entertaining.adults will enjoy this
movie as well as kids.it is based upon a true story,though i'm sure the
filmmakers took some liberties in telling the story.Quaid is
sensational as the title character,very convincing.if you're looking
for a film the whole family can enjoy,look no further. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Product may be good. Yet to get it. Prime is a waste., Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the product, but the whole 'get it within the next 48 hours using Prime' was a bogus as one could endure. Days turned into well over a week and some.

The only reason I made the order was to get the products in time before I departed. I was actually delayed in going and still did not get some of the overall shipment, and what did arrive was a nightmare to actually get.

So ... Prime was a waste and I hate, Hate, HATE ... I LLOOOOOOOAAAATHHHHeeeeee UPS.

Otherwise, the products were as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars encouraging, Nov. 25 2013
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a Disney production based on the true story of Jim Morris, a father, teacher, and high school coach who played baseball but injured his shoulder before he could realize his dream to make it to the big leagues. Jim was coaching a perpetually losing team when the students challenged him to try again to fulfil his dream, and they would guarantee to start doing better.

Without spoiling the outcome, I'll say that this story is challenging to anyone who has an unfulfilled dream, no matter how old he/she is. Jim Morris was a fantastic role model for his own children, but for all of us who are willing to try again. We enjoyed this movie very much, and we recommend it for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good dvd, March 16 2010
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Rookie is mone of the best movies ive seen for a while.I would recommend it to a good evening with your family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great movie, Nov. 18 2009
By 
Liz. C (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
not all of disney's movies have been great, in my opinion, but this one is an exception. The true story of a man who loves baseball,but gets busy with the usual life and family. Later he gets an unexpected second chance to play in the majors. If you like baseball movies, this one should be enjoyable. Also a good family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good family film., Jan. 29 2004
By 
Erkle (Blue Bells) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
I enjoyed this moview quite a bit. It had a nice cast, likeable characters, excellent music and a terrific story. The movie starts with his childhood just long enough to set the story and then we are re-introduced to the grown up Jimmy Morris (Dennis Quaid), his family and the high school baseball team he coaches. Its impossible not to like and root for him.
On the negative side, it was a bit long and the other weakness is that it did not always convey Jimmy Morris' love of baseball when he undertakes his unlikely quest to the major leagues. While the movie shows his ambivalence in missing his family as he begins his second shot at the majors, it doesn't capture the positive aspect of a man chasing his dream quite enough. Still, it was a nice movie that I have seen a bunch of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best clean movie I've seen in years!!!!, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Cindy (Omaha, Nebraska) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
I happened to come across this movie on a Cable Channel a few weeks ago. Being a "Baseball Mom", I love to watch movies in the off season. This was such a fantastic, inspiring movie we just had to buy it. I think I have watched it now 4 times. Dennis Quaid was excellent in this part, and very believable as a Pitcher. I only wish that there were more movies like this one out there. Thanks to Mr. Morris for the story and Mr. Quaid for his exceptionl acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss This Movie!, Jan. 4 2004
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is the kind of movie that comes around only once every ten years or so. This movie has so much going for it one could type for quite a long time. But I don't want to spoil the storyline for any potential buyers. I will just point out that if you are looking for a great - no, make that OUTSTANDING movie for the whole family, this is it.
Dennis Quaid was made to play this role; and play it he did. If this movie doesn't touch your heart, you must not have one. If this movie does not inspire your passion, you must not have any. And last but not least, if you spend the money on this movie, you must be broke!
:-)
Peace-out!
God Bless.
Look for the ossuary! Nero's Guard is watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great family film, Nov. 14 2003
By 
David M. Lovin (Willow Spring, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Rookie is the real life story of Jim Morris, a science teacher who doubles as the coach of the high school baseball team. Football is the sport of choice in those parts of Texas, where he lived, so the baseball team has to play on a substandard field with second hand equipment. He used to be a minor league pitcher with potential, but had to quit due to numerous injuries and a fastball that just wasn't very fast, only in the mid 80 mile per hour range (below average for major league pitchers)
However, when he starts pitching batting practice for his team, he somehow has the ability to throw in the mid to upper 90 mile per hour range. He has no idea, of course that the pitches are so fast. He tells the kids that they are not really that fast and that it just seems faster. The players on the team get used to batting practice against major league fastballs and as a result are able to hit high school pitching easily.
Success has not come easily to this bunch, and after a particularly tough loss, he rallies the team to tell them they can do whatever they want if they only dare to dream. They respond that he should do the same--that he should try out for a major league team. He makes a deal with them. If they win the district championship, he will find an open tryout with some team and show what he can do. They win, of course, and he goes for the tryout. This starts a chain of events which eventually leads him to a pitcher's mound in Arlington, Tx and a major league game against the Rangers.
What makes the movie so great is the warmth of the characters and the story. The story is wonderful, especially because it's basically 100% true. But Dennis Quaid is great as Jim Morris. He is believable as a small town teacher who realizes just how lucky he is. Rachel Griffiths does very well as his wife who has to support him through the low times on the way up the ladder. The DVD is a nice package. There are some very good deleted scenes which really round out the story nicely and a 20 minute documentary piece featuring the real Jim Morris who shows exactly what happened when he made his debut on that September night.
Finally, because this is a G rated movie, it will be a favorite among all members of the family. It is just one of those stories which comes around every few decades. You don't have to be a sports fan to love the story of the underdog coming out on top. Jim Morris is the ultimate underdog. Great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Family Movie, Oct. 4 2003
By 
"bgoofi" (Jamul, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rookie (Bilingual) (DVD)
Finally a movie that is for the WHOLE family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rookie (Bilingual)
The Rookie (Bilingual) by John Lee Hancock (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 12.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews