Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taut legal thriller
Joseph Finder's bestselling novel comes to life in this well-made, though somewhat predictable, thriller as a savvy and love-struck lawyer is pitted against the military and its covert actions. Ashley Judd plays Claire Kubik, a lawyer on the way to a partnership until her husband is arrested for a military crime he swears he didn't commit. To defend him, Claire must...
Published on July 9 2004 by Debbie Lee Wesselmann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Welcome portrayal of military as lying scumbags, but......
.....this movie was so ineptly and poorly done it was almost pathetic. Cliche-ridden script, wooden and unimaginative directing, and laughably contrived plot twists make this one a real zero. It's a real shame, too, because we don't nearly hear about this side of the military enough.
A capable cast does what it can with truly wretched material.
Published on April 2 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taut legal thriller, July 9 2004
By 
Debbie Lee Wesselmann (the Lehigh Valley, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
Joseph Finder's bestselling novel comes to life in this well-made, though somewhat predictable, thriller as a savvy and love-struck lawyer is pitted against the military and its covert actions. Ashley Judd plays Claire Kubik, a lawyer on the way to a partnership until her husband is arrested for a military crime he swears he didn't commit. To defend him, Claire must navigate military law and threats, getting in deeper and more dangerously with every half-truth she uncovers.
The plot has fewer holes than most thrillers, although most viewers will see the "twist" a mile away. And that a law firm would jettison one of its promising stars because her husband was arrested is preposterous. Wouldn't they help in the defense? Still, given the holes in most thrillers these days, these lapses are minor. The acting is solid, with Judd creating a gutsy, smart woman who is capable of both unfaltering love and fury. Morgan Freeman does a fine job with his thin material as a once-alcoholic lawyer who is "a thorn in the military's side." James Caveziel, as Claire's husband, is less complex; his pleading got on my nerves by the end. Supporting roles by Amanda Peet (Claire's floozy sister) and Adam Smith (a young military lawyer) are adequate, though not highly memorable.
The strength of this film is in the pacing and the seamless way in which it unfolds. The issues it raises about the United States's involvement in El Salvador provide an interesting, though not fully developed, frame. Highly enjoyable, though not perfect, this film is a good way to spend two hours with a bowl of popcorn at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PREPOSTEROUS BUT ENJOYABLE, May 29 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
There are so many things in this movie that just couldn't happen, starting with a wife and non-military lawyer, defending her husband, and the inconsistencies in the plot line. However, director Carl Franklin keeps the movie going so briskly and the cast is so good, that I overlooked these and found myself enjoying the movie very much.
Ashley Judd plays Claire Kubik, who discovers that her husband isn't who he says he is, and then has to confront her own doubts as she tries to save his life.
Morgan Freeman is the recovering alcoholic, former military attorney, who decides to help her out and keep off the juice.
Jim Caviezel (Passion of the Christ) is Ashley's husband and his performance is deeply moving, yet somehow dark and disturbing.
Bruce Davison's small role as the big shot general, is coldly efficient.
Amanda Peet plays Ashley's somewhat self-centered sister to the tee, and Adam Smith as Embrey, the green lawyer assigned to the case, also does well.
HIGH CRIMES pulls a twist at the end that's kind of "cheap" but it does work.
Joseph Finder, the author of the book on which this movie was based, gives some interesting commentary on the extras, and even has a featured role in the film.
Not a bad way to spend a couple hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Welcome portrayal of military as lying scumbags, but......, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
.....this movie was so ineptly and poorly done it was almost pathetic. Cliche-ridden script, wooden and unimaginative directing, and laughably contrived plot twists make this one a real zero. It's a real shame, too, because we don't nearly hear about this side of the military enough.
A capable cast does what it can with truly wretched material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Great Movie!, Nov. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: High Crimes [Import] (VHS Tape)
This suspenseful drama starring Ashley Judd and Morgan Freeman is really awesome! The surprising turn of events will keep you on the edge of your seat, and the performances are spectacular. Ashley Judd captures the intense emotion of her role exceptionally, and I think this should have been oscar-nominated. I also thought that Morgan Freeman was perfect for the role of the alchoholic lawyer. They are both excellent actors, and their chemistry is undeniable. This is a definete must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Our family was disappointed, March 8 2004
By 
Angela (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
Even though the movie was well paced, it was so very fictional as it had such an awful message against the armed services. Everybody in the Marine was depicted as being a bad person or a moron. We were hoping at least the main character stayed a good person to offset all the other bad ones, but it didn't happen that way, either.
We were all disappointed at the twisted plot at the end. We felt that all the twist did was to surprise the viewers, that was all. It rendered everything else in the movie senseless, failing to explain any of the mysteries throughout the film.
The main actors did a good job acting, though. What a waste of a solid cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Mystery, Feb. 11 2004
By 
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
"High Crimes" has so many twists and turns its like a road out of hell.However,the twists are carried out in a marvelous if not predictable way.The film is about Claire Kubik(Judd) whose husband is being accused of murder.With the help of Charles Grimes (Freeman),Lt.Embry,and her sister Jackie (the lovely Amanda Peet),she discovers a conspiracy inside the milatary.
The plot twists are just like "The Recruit" in a way,except this movie was made first.Plot twists such as assasination attempts and ones such as one of the characters might be a mole are carried out ni a way that give you tunnel vision while watching the movie and making you not want to take your eyes off the screen.Why 4 stars then?,some,okay most of the plot is pretty much predictable,but this a must see movie for mystery fans.B- for the movie,B for the acting.Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When Mediocre Movies Happen to Good Actors, Dec 20 2003
By 
Hippolytos (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
Morgan Freeman and Ashley Judd are two of the best character actors in the business, and their chemistry together can be phenomenal, as the pedestrian "Kiss the Girls" demonstrates. "High Crimes," however, is a movie that is simply not worthy of its stellar cast. The plot is pejorative, riddled with holes, and at times quite boring, and the denouement is incredibly trite and predictable. The story is semi-interesting, but is nothing you haven't seen in a Lifetime movie, and it makes you wonder why the two leads signed onto this project at all, other than the chance to work together again. The movie is supposed to be a mix of drama, suspense, and action, but in its attempt to incorporate all three, it falls short in every respect. Definitely a movie to rent, and not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well acted, tight plot, (better than some review[er]s say)., Dec 9 2003
This review is from: High Crimes (VHS Tape)
This movie with Ashley Judd [Mrs. Dario Franchitti] and Morgan Freeman, is well acted with a fairly tight plot. It's much better than some of the reviews give it credit for. It makes one question the military establishment considering the lengths they went to in the movie to silence her and others around her.
(See the movie and you'll see what I mean.) Morgan Freeman, as always, is especially good as the sometimes drunk, seemingly disinterested, lawyer, who helps her and who the military establishment considers as a thorn in their side[s] (to be polite). Refers to VHS version [which I picked up fairly cheap-$3.99 + tax].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I hate, hate, hate this movie., Nov. 29 2003
By 
T. Sparks (Leesville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
Maybe I'm a little bit biased--I come from a military family--but I found this movie to be horribly disrespectful to the Armed Services.
SPOILERS
The fact that Marines go around giving women miscarrages in this movie isn't suspensful or thought-provoking; it's stupid. It's not often that something can offend me, but this movie actively pisses me off.
The plot is full of holes; nothing makes a shred of sense. The fact that a civilian lawyer is at a court martial wouldn't happen. As I said before, Marines not only give women miscarriages, they're portrayed as jackals that ENJOY doing it. And the ending? The ending is weak, stupid, and seems hashed together.
Don't see this movie. You'll be a much better person for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars high crimes, June 20 2003
This review is from: High Crimes (Widescreen) (DVD)
there's a scene where amanda peet walks by a military guy and she's wearing almost nothing and says "hi GI joe." now thats 10X as effective as any other motivation that those "be all you can be" commercials do, and that scene alone is why i bought the DVD
amanda peet is asom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0517204)

This product

High Crimes (Widescreen)
High Crimes (Widescreen) by Carl Franklin (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 15.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews