summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars499
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2002
Read the review from Lolo (written July 14th) and you will understand what is really this "thing" because we cannot call that a movie and it's great to see that's some Frenchs and Americans folks have enough intelligence to clearly discover the hoax !
Zero star !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2011
un film merveilleux pour tout age. Mes enfants (7 et 9 ans) ont adoré. Le montage, les couleurs et l histoire en font un film unique.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2002
I had expected this movie to be great, given all that I'd heard about it, but it goes nowhere. Not every movie has to have a plot, but every movie should have a _point_. (Am I supposed to be happy that she winds up with the porn-shop guy? How sweet.) What really ruins it for me, though, are the pointless references to Princess Diana's death that seem to be there only to make fun of people who were upset by it and Diana, for not being "worthy" of their grief.
One star because I can't give it zero.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2009
It is a European movie which is different from a Hollywood movie. I watch the movie from a broad international perspective and I enjoy it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2002
Did I mention it is boring. BTW you must also speak French to fully appreciate how boring this movie is. It may just be a joke on the Americans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
Que de bons moments avec une super musique, une histoire simple et touchante avec de bons acteurs ! A regarder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2002
This is a romantic comedy (aka chick flick) with extra sugar added in. By the virtue of being foreign, it is more interesting and refreshing than the usual Julia Roberts movies.
Yet it is even cuter, and much more childish. It has some sickly sweet quality that is hard to describe. It is a long movie where tiny little cute things happen, and Amelie just blinks with her huge eyes. This is like a funnier version of the movie Magnolia - but still there is something not-so-subtly depressing about those childishly naive and one-sided characters.
I went to see a movie that I had hears was good, but neither me nor my date liked it. What astounded me is that later it grew more and more famous and hyped up, and all of my friends like it!
By the way, camera work, colors, imagery are very good. But not outstanding enough to make the entire movie worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2003
The filmmakers seem desperate to capture the viewer's attention. Perhaps I should have been impressed by the use of bold colors and surprised by the presentational style. But I wasn't. Unfortunately, those gimmicks don't distract from the thin storyline and beige characters: quirky gal looks for Mr. Right and interacts with her eccentric friends. Yawn.
If, by chance, this film is intended as a parody of art-house films, then it sort of succeeds. Luckily, I only wasted a few bucks by renting it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2003
A fresh (for North America) look at life and the impact you can make on others life. Uplifing, funny (some parts are very funny), and rewarding.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse