Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even the mundane contains magic
Director Jean-Pierre Jeunet is a master of his craft--pure and simple. His ability to make even the most mundane situations and twist and turn them into something magical is beyond fantastic.

And if this movie doesn't want you to hop on a plane and go to Montmartre in Paris to experience this world of Amelie, then there is no hope for you.

As far as...
Published on March 3 2009 by Brian Maitland

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for french speaking users
Don't get me wrong, this move is a masterpiece in it's every aspects. Also the video and sound quality is there.

The problem is that the movie has English subtitles burn-in and I wish I would've known that before making this purchase. If you're looking for the clean french version of this movie, don't get the alliance release of it because you won't be able to...
Published on July 7 2011 by Christian


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, April 9 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amélie (Version française) (DVD)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most overrated movie I've ever seen, July 16 2002
By A Customer
I had expected this movie to be great, given all that I'd heard about it, but it goes nowhere. Not every movie has to have a plot, but every movie should have a _point_. (Am I supposed to be happy that she winds up with the porn-shop guy? How sweet.) What really ruins it for me, though, are the pointless references to Princess Diana's death that seem to be there only to make fun of people who were upset by it and Diana, for not being "worthy" of their grief.
One star because I can't give it zero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMELIE, May 6 2009
By 
Gerald Bradley "traveler" (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amélie (Version française) (DVD)
It is a European movie which is different from a Hollywood movie. I watch the movie from a broad international perspective and I enjoy it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring Boring Boring, Aug. 16 2002
By A Customer
Did I mention it is boring. BTW you must also speak French to fully appreciate how boring this movie is. It may just be a joke on the Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars un moment de détente en amoureux, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Que de bons moments avec une super musique, une histoire simple et touchante avec de bons acteurs ! A regarder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too sweet, Dec 13 2002
By A Customer
This is a romantic comedy (aka chick flick) with extra sugar added in. By the virtue of being foreign, it is more interesting and refreshing than the usual Julia Roberts movies.
Yet it is even cuter, and much more childish. It has some sickly sweet quality that is hard to describe. It is a long movie where tiny little cute things happen, and Amelie just blinks with her huge eyes. This is like a funnier version of the movie Magnolia - but still there is something not-so-subtly depressing about those childishly naive and one-sided characters.
I went to see a movie that I had hears was good, but neither me nor my date liked it. What astounded me is that later it grew more and more famous and hyped up, and all of my friends like it!
By the way, camera work, colors, imagery are very good. But not outstanding enough to make the entire movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cutesy, at best, Jan. 25 2003
By 
J. Black (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The filmmakers seem desperate to capture the viewer's attention. Perhaps I should have been impressed by the use of bold colors and surprised by the presentational style. But I wasn't. Unfortunately, those gimmicks don't distract from the thin storyline and beige characters: quirky gal looks for Mr. Right and interacts with her eccentric friends. Yawn.
If, by chance, this film is intended as a parody of art-house films, then it sort of succeeds. Luckily, I only wasted a few bucks by renting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels Good, Touching, Cause for Pause, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Amélie (Version française) (DVD)
A fresh (for North America) look at life and the impact you can make on others life. Uplifing, funny (some parts are very funny), and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i hated this movie, Sept. 7 2002
By 
Popescu Lucian (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
Since there is no "goodness" except into people's minds, the whole idea of the movie tuns into pieces. A predominance of female supporters can easily be explained in the archetype of womanhood Amelie portrays. This is the ONLY plus in the movie. Accordingly, the average woman is utterly irrational and in order to avert responsibility of hers own acts, she typically sees herself as victim. To strengthen this self-indulgent image, she seeks company of other "victims" and frequently involves into "humanitarian" acts. The difference between Amelie and factual reality consists in HOW MUCH the victim-character is working to convey its true nature. Amelie is CRUCIADING against normality. She thinks having the right of intruding people's lives, being backed with such insight truly shameful not being shared with the rest of us, the poor unenlightened. She might be broadly classified as a crossover between the preaching evangelical and infamous "civil rights activist". (It's probably unnecessary to remind you how much I hate these sorry shacks of humans.)
Outside of these considerations, Amelie is extremely long, absolutely boring, pleading for the beauty of ignorance devoid of responsibility, cheaply sentimental and FINALLY filled with recycled religion and postmodern rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Quick Service!, Jan. 17 2011
By 
This review is from: Amelie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is wonderful and highly suggested.

The service from Amazon.ca was excellent. I searched high & low for a bluray copy of this movie for a Christmas present and could not find it anywhere. Amazon.ca was the only place that had it and sent it out quickly. Great service, thanks so much.

CSG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amélie (Version française)
Amélie (Version française) by Audrey Tautou (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews