Customer Reviews


492 Reviews
5 star:
 (382)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie
This movie is simply a gem. When you finish watching it you will feel giddy and happy all day. One of my favourites!
Published 15 months ago by Julieanne

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for french speaking users
Don't get me wrong, this move is a masterpiece in it's every aspects. Also the video and sound quality is there.

The problem is that the movie has English subtitles burn-in and I wish I would've known that before making this purchase. If you're looking for the clean french version of this movie, don't get the alliance release of it because you won't be able to...
Published on July 7 2011 by Christian


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too sweet, Dec 13 2002
By A Customer
This is a romantic comedy (aka chick flick) with extra sugar added in. By the virtue of being foreign, it is more interesting and refreshing than the usual Julia Roberts movies.
Yet it is even cuter, and much more childish. It has some sickly sweet quality that is hard to describe. It is a long movie where tiny little cute things happen, and Amelie just blinks with her huge eyes. This is like a funnier version of the movie Magnolia - but still there is something not-so-subtly depressing about those childishly naive and one-sided characters.
I went to see a movie that I had hears was good, but neither me nor my date liked it. What astounded me is that later it grew more and more famous and hyped up, and all of my friends like it!
By the way, camera work, colors, imagery are very good. But not outstanding enough to make the entire movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most overrated movie I've ever seen, July 16 2002
By A Customer
I had expected this movie to be great, given all that I'd heard about it, but it goes nowhere. Not every movie has to have a plot, but every movie should have a _point_. (Am I supposed to be happy that she winds up with the porn-shop guy? How sweet.) What really ruins it for me, though, are the pointless references to Princess Diana's death that seem to be there only to make fun of people who were upset by it and Diana, for not being "worthy" of their grief.
One star because I can't give it zero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels Good, Touching, Cause for Pause, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Amélie (Version française) (DVD)
A fresh (for North America) look at life and the impact you can make on others life. Uplifing, funny (some parts are very funny), and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too long and boring, Oct. 3 2002
By 
J. Tan (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I fell asleep when I was watching it. It's too slow and boring. Why do people highly rate this movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i hated this movie, Sept. 7 2002
By 
Popescu Lucian (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
Since there is no "goodness" except into people's minds, the whole idea of the movie tuns into pieces. A predominance of female supporters can easily be explained in the archetype of womanhood Amelie portrays. This is the ONLY plus in the movie. Accordingly, the average woman is utterly irrational and in order to avert responsibility of hers own acts, she typically sees herself as victim. To strengthen this self-indulgent image, she seeks company of other "victims" and frequently involves into "humanitarian" acts. The difference between Amelie and factual reality consists in HOW MUCH the victim-character is working to convey its true nature. Amelie is CRUCIADING against normality. She thinks having the right of intruding people's lives, being backed with such insight truly shameful not being shared with the rest of us, the poor unenlightened. She might be broadly classified as a crossover between the preaching evangelical and infamous "civil rights activist". (It's probably unnecessary to remind you how much I hate these sorry shacks of humans.)
Outside of these considerations, Amelie is extremely long, absolutely boring, pleading for the beauty of ignorance devoid of responsibility, cheaply sentimental and FINALLY filled with recycled religion and postmodern rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Quick Service!, Jan. 17 2011
By 
The movie is wonderful and highly suggested.

The service from Amazon.ca was excellent. I searched high & low for a bluray copy of this movie for a Christmas present and could not find it anywhere. Amazon.ca was the only place that had it and sent it out quickly. Great service, thanks so much.

CSG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate narrating! The narrator's voice sounded so annoying!, Feb. 11 2003
By A Customer
If I new it was going to be subtitles and narrating I would have avoided it all together. First 20 minutes and I just couldn't watch anymore. The scenes were kind of dull. I do not like foreign films and this one didn't change my opinion. I go to a movie to relax and enjoy and let it do all the work to entertain me. I don't want to have to squint and concentrate and rush reading so I can understand the storyline. It just gave me a headache and I was instantly turned off. If I want to read I will get a book. On top of everything else the narrator's voice(male - creepy old man) sounded so dam annoying. I thought this was going to be a charming feel good movie with a sweet girl and nice accents in some nostalgic little quaint village and interesting people who got a second chance at happiness. Who knows, maybe when I get patience or desparate I'll give this movie a 2nd chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CATHOLICS PLEASE READ, Aug. 19 2002
This movie insults the Blessed Mother, in that it is stated one character, "hates the phrase; fruit of Thy womb." Anatomical drawings of the uterus, etc. are interspersed with Marian images. It's really pitiful the director felt the necessity to take a cheap stab at others' beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Amelie": avoid it with someone you love, May 2 2003
By 
J. Figler "jfigl" (portland, or United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
America's relationship with France, never the hardiest, was dealt a decisive blow with France's refusal to give the big "thumbs-up" to our incursion into Iraq. Some feel the enmity thus engendered in U.S. hearts to be more than justified. "Bushwa," I say (mainly because it's fun); if there were indeed a reason to be angry with our snail-eating friends across the sea it would be, rather, the illegal and unjust "Amelie".
It has been noted elsewhere that Audrey Tautou bears a striking physical resemblance to Rowan Atkinson's Mr. Bean, but personally I believe this comment to be "below the belt", and have no intention of dignifying its rancor by repeating it here. More germane: that the relentless symmetry of "Amelie"'s visual design (take note, budding film makers: nothin' screams "MY MOVIE IS A MASTERPIECE!" quite as loudly as having the same things on both halves of the screen) and Tautou's endlessly coy grins, grimaces and pie-eyed glances into the camera (kootchie-kootchie!) turned my face as GREEN as most of the shots in this film, for reasons I have no way of divining, happen to be.
As for the narration, mercilessly cloying in two languages, well!: it is the rare film indeed that would not benefit from the excision of same. Film is a medium consisting of both pictures- THAT MOVE!- and sound. There are many possibilities inherent in this combination. It would be good for film makers to exhaust them all before resorting, ever so reluctantly, to the hiring of someone to stand off-screen and tell us about things we are not being shown (or worse) to explain to us things we ARE being shown, or (also bad) to explain what the characters on-screen are thinking or feeling about what is happening, or not happening, to them, or whatever.
C'est la vie (That Gallic charm is infectious).
It is for now a technical impossibility to give a film a negative-star rating; one star will have to do. Some films, however, are indeed wholly without merit.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WAKE UP!!! RRRRRRIng!!!! RRRRRIIIIINNNNNGGGGG!!!!!, May 1 2003
By 
J. Figler "jfigl" (portland, or United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How in hell do I tell you, Amazon.com, that your "Highest ratings/Lowest ratings/Etc." function hasn't been working correctly for months? I've been searching in vain for a pertinent email address on your site. Geeez. Used to be, one could talk to you guys on the phone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amélie (Version française)
Amélie (Version française) by Audrey Tautou (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 33.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews