Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly is the Bomb
Molly Ringwald is pregnant! Hard to believe, since I can't get the 5'0, 100# or so image of her out of my head. I have watched this movie so many times, I could probably recite it backwards. It worked so perfectly for me as a high school student, ridden with the usual teenage angst. Molly (or Andie, as she is called in the movie) lives with her father, and they don't...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Me

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in an enjoyable movie
Some interesting characters appear in this film based around the traditional American movie standby, the High School Prom. Who is taking whom, what will they wear, who loves whom, and who is whose true friend. This is about a group of teenagers, specifically one girl and her attempts to cop off with a rich boy. The insight into the American 'class system' will enlighten...
Published on Sept. 24 2001 by D. M. Farmbrough


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly is the Bomb, Dec 22 2003
By 
Me "ajs-bookseller" (Houston, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Molly Ringwald is pregnant! Hard to believe, since I can't get the 5'0, 100# or so image of her out of my head. I have watched this movie so many times, I could probably recite it backwards. It worked so perfectly for me as a high school student, ridden with the usual teenage angst. Molly (or Andie, as she is called in the movie) lives with her father, and they don't have a lot of money. She falls for Andrew McCarthy ("Blaine") who "drives a BMW!" Her best friend Jon Cryer (Duckie) is also un-wealthy and is totally in love with Andie. She sees him only as a friend. Duckie is quite upset when he finds out that Andie and Blaine end up falling for each other. Tensions mount as Andie suspects that Blaine is uncomfortable with her lack of wealth. Andie finds out that Blaine asked "someone else" to the prom! Andie decides to go to the prom on her own, and meets Duckie there. Her, Blaine, and Duckie all make amends at the prom, and live happily ever after. No, the plot is not deeply intellectual, spiritual, or otherwise thought-provoking but it leaves one with a feeling of, "you go, you unpopular, unwealthy girl!" Jon Cryer also provides a stellar performance as the guy that got turned down, along with Andrew McCarthy as the guy that realized that with true love, financial status is no issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 Star Classic, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my all time favourite movies and at a great price!!

A good movie to have in your collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty in Pink is a classic! I loved it as a teenager and I love it still as an adult, my daughter even loves the movie and owns it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For mainstream--it's critical! Hughes' best ever!, May 4 1998
By 
syoung1@rachel.chatham.edu (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, U.S.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
In the 1980's U.S., of course teen flicks were the rage, and who other than John Hughes would bring it to us? While Reaganism saturated politics and conservative notions of a "classless" society were rapidly being thrown about, Pretty in Pink arrived. Although all of Hughes' teen-angst films of the 80's dealt with class issues in the predominantly white high schools of the U.S., Pretty in Pink demonstrates the most critical viewpoint of class, consumerism, capitalism, and how they all affect the high school hierarchy of popularity in suburban and more small town schools in the U.S. in comparison to its contemporaries like Some Kind of Wonderful, The Breakfast Club, or 16 Candles. Pink's main character, Andi, is a young woman from a lower-working class, single parent household. She is academically robust, semi-financially independent, creative and thrifty, and assertive. She doesn't try to "play the game" of the "richies," as she calls them, and rather, she stands up for herself and her friends in the face of "benevolent" middle to upperclass school administrators (read: the principal), smitten and haughty female classmates (read: benny and her friends), and exploitive and egotistical male classmates (read: Stef). Her relationship with Blane is something which she takes with a grain of salt, and while she feels great affection for Blane, she is frank about her personal boundaries of acceptable behavior and treatment. Thus, from a feminist perspective, Andi is a welcome young female character in the 80's Hollywood theatre which usually provides female characters so constructed by dominant ideologies that they no longer differ from each other, and become a token image (for example, the main character in Girls Just Wanna Have Fun or Cindy's friends in the film Can't Buy Me Love). While the film is not immune from this tokenism, it offers definite progress in comparison to the aforementioned examples. The film also takes a different approach to the then increasing "phenomenon" of the single-parent household (which was/is usually headed by the mother), in the fact that Andi's father runs the household. While he struggles with his wife's abandonment, this seems to heavily influence his ambition to "find a job." While this issue is not awarded much complexity in the film, it is at least mentioned, and hopefully encourages viewers to critically discuss this situation outside of the film. For a mainstream film, Pretty in Pink offers many alternatives to the popular films so-far of 1998. Rather uninterrogated images of class differences and class oppression like those seen in Titanic or in Clueless provide a surface critique of class hierarchy and how it permeates youth cultures and high school "societies." I recommend Pretty in Pink with the utmost sincerity. While it proves problematic in certain areas, no film exists outside of power structures, culture, or oppression and it is our task as viewers to critically immerse ourselves in discussions of film and cinema. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Aug. 15 2003
By 
KINNZE_HH (Crescent City, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
OMG, I ABOSOLUTALLY LOVE THIS MOVIE. WHEN I FIRST SAW THIS I FELL IN LOVE WITH DUCKIE, HE IS SO SWEET. IT WAS SO FUN WATCHING THIS BECAUSE IT IS THE TYPE OF MOVIE THAT IS SO EASY TO RELATE TO. I THINK THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN.YOU MIGHT BE THINKING IT WILL BE A WAIST OF YOUR TIME BECAUSE IT WAS MADE IN THE 80'S, BUT ACTUALLY, THIS MOVIE IS BETTER THEN MOST MOVIES THEY MAKE TODAY, EVEN WITH ALL THE SPECIAL EFFECTS. THIS IS ONE MOVIE I RECEMEND TO EVERYONE.
L.B.S 4-LIFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, July 19 2002
By 
D. Barreto "ladydi4476" (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (DVD)
Well finally we are getting this movie on Dvd! I can't wait to check it out in all it's widescreen glory. I saw this movie in the theater when I was 10 years old and I loved it! I just swooned for Andrew McCarthy back then. Jon Cryer is excellent!! He makes me laugh so hard in this flick. "Blane?! His name is BLANE? That's not a name, it's a major appliance!" Yeah and uh what exactly kind of name is Ducky? LOL, awesome awesome movie. This is one of the examples of why of love 80s teen movies. God Bless John Hughes! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great!, March 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (DVD)
PRETTY IN PINK is one of my favorite movies. It combines love, comedy and relationships w/ both friends and family. Not only is Molly Ringwald a great actress, but there's Duckie too! He's halarious. Though I think the original ending would be more suitable (Andy ending up with Duckie rather than Blair), it still is a fabulous movie. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY IN PINK REVIEW:, Dec 5 2001
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (DVD)
Well first off read the paragraph at the top of this page!!! AND VOTE FOR A DVD EDITION!!! I'm "DYING" to see it on DVD because I'm sure it will include the original ending where Andie get's "Ducky" not Blake!!! And...The reason they changed the ending was because on preview screenings ppl booed at the ending because she ended up with Ducky!!! And I'm dying to see the one where she get's Ducky, so even if you don't like this movie or haven't seen it vote anyways, PLEASE!!! *THANKS* a TON!!!
Lol, the movies good for a teeny movie, the only thing that could be better is the ending. John Cryer(Ducky)is so cute and harlarious(also NOTE: he kinda looks like a duck!!!seriously!!!)Anyways...Its your basic girl get's dreamy looking guy...Not that she much cared for him, of course it would have been girl get's her best friend....Anyways...I'm sorry this prolly isn't helpfull at all!!!
But no really this movie is worth watching and if you liked Breakfast Club your bound to like this, or if you like ANY teeny bopper movies for that matter you'll love this!!!
God Bless ~Amy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great!, Nov. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
This film is beautiful, Andrew McCarthy is hot! I prefer Some Kind of Wonderful but this is just sweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty In Pink!, Oct. 22 2001
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
I just saw this movie 4 the 1st time this weekend, I liked it a lot, it was on right after the movie sixteen candles, so it reminds me of that movie since the main girl is also in that movie too, anyway, this is a great movie. Its an older one about a girl who is poor and not very popular who has a popular rich guy crushing on her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty in Pink (Widescreen)
Pretty in Pink (Widescreen) by Howard Deutch (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews