Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly is the Bomb
Molly Ringwald is pregnant! Hard to believe, since I can't get the 5'0, 100# or so image of her out of my head. I have watched this movie so many times, I could probably recite it backwards. It worked so perfectly for me as a high school student, ridden with the usual teenage angst. Molly (or Andie, as she is called in the movie) lives with her father, and they don't...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Me

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in an enjoyable movie
Some interesting characters appear in this film based around the traditional American movie standby, the High School Prom. Who is taking whom, what will they wear, who loves whom, and who is whose true friend. This is about a group of teenagers, specifically one girl and her attempts to cop off with a rich boy. The insight into the American 'class system' will enlighten...
Published on Sept. 24 2001 by D. M. Farmbrough


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly is the Bomb, Dec 22 2003
By 
Me "ajs-bookseller" (Houston, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Molly Ringwald is pregnant! Hard to believe, since I can't get the 5'0, 100# or so image of her out of my head. I have watched this movie so many times, I could probably recite it backwards. It worked so perfectly for me as a high school student, ridden with the usual teenage angst. Molly (or Andie, as she is called in the movie) lives with her father, and they don't have a lot of money. She falls for Andrew McCarthy ("Blaine") who "drives a BMW!" Her best friend Jon Cryer (Duckie) is also un-wealthy and is totally in love with Andie. She sees him only as a friend. Duckie is quite upset when he finds out that Andie and Blaine end up falling for each other. Tensions mount as Andie suspects that Blaine is uncomfortable with her lack of wealth. Andie finds out that Blaine asked "someone else" to the prom! Andie decides to go to the prom on her own, and meets Duckie there. Her, Blaine, and Duckie all make amends at the prom, and live happily ever after. No, the plot is not deeply intellectual, spiritual, or otherwise thought-provoking but it leaves one with a feeling of, "you go, you unpopular, unwealthy girl!" Jon Cryer also provides a stellar performance as the guy that got turned down, along with Andrew McCarthy as the guy that realized that with true love, financial status is no issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For mainstream--it's critical! Hughes' best ever!, May 4 1998
By 
syoung1@rachel.chatham.edu (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, U.S.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
In the 1980's U.S., of course teen flicks were the rage, and who other than John Hughes would bring it to us? While Reaganism saturated politics and conservative notions of a "classless" society were rapidly being thrown about, Pretty in Pink arrived. Although all of Hughes' teen-angst films of the 80's dealt with class issues in the predominantly white high schools of the U.S., Pretty in Pink demonstrates the most critical viewpoint of class, consumerism, capitalism, and how they all affect the high school hierarchy of popularity in suburban and more small town schools in the U.S. in comparison to its contemporaries like Some Kind of Wonderful, The Breakfast Club, or 16 Candles. Pink's main character, Andi, is a young woman from a lower-working class, single parent household. She is academically robust, semi-financially independent, creative and thrifty, and assertive. She doesn't try to "play the game" of the "richies," as she calls them, and rather, she stands up for herself and her friends in the face of "benevolent" middle to upperclass school administrators (read: the principal), smitten and haughty female classmates (read: benny and her friends), and exploitive and egotistical male classmates (read: Stef). Her relationship with Blane is something which she takes with a grain of salt, and while she feels great affection for Blane, she is frank about her personal boundaries of acceptable behavior and treatment. Thus, from a feminist perspective, Andi is a welcome young female character in the 80's Hollywood theatre which usually provides female characters so constructed by dominant ideologies that they no longer differ from each other, and become a token image (for example, the main character in Girls Just Wanna Have Fun or Cindy's friends in the film Can't Buy Me Love). While the film is not immune from this tokenism, it offers definite progress in comparison to the aforementioned examples. The film also takes a different approach to the then increasing "phenomenon" of the single-parent household (which was/is usually headed by the mother), in the fact that Andi's father runs the household. While he struggles with his wife's abandonment, this seems to heavily influence his ambition to "find a job." While this issue is not awarded much complexity in the film, it is at least mentioned, and hopefully encourages viewers to critically discuss this situation outside of the film. For a mainstream film, Pretty in Pink offers many alternatives to the popular films so-far of 1998. Rather uninterrogated images of class differences and class oppression like those seen in Titanic or in Clueless provide a surface critique of class hierarchy and how it permeates youth cultures and high school "societies." I recommend Pretty in Pink with the utmost sincerity. While it proves problematic in certain areas, no film exists outside of power structures, culture, or oppression and it is our task as viewers to critically immerse ourselves in discussions of film and cinema. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY IN PINK REVIEW:, Dec 5 2001
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (DVD)
Well first off read the paragraph at the top of this page!!! AND VOTE FOR A DVD EDITION!!! I'm "DYING" to see it on DVD because I'm sure it will include the original ending where Andie get's "Ducky" not Blake!!! And...The reason they changed the ending was because on preview screenings ppl booed at the ending because she ended up with Ducky!!! And I'm dying to see the one where she get's Ducky, so even if you don't like this movie or haven't seen it vote anyways, PLEASE!!! *THANKS* a TON!!!
Lol, the movies good for a teeny movie, the only thing that could be better is the ending. John Cryer(Ducky)is so cute and harlarious(also NOTE: he kinda looks like a duck!!!seriously!!!)Anyways...Its your basic girl get's dreamy looking guy...Not that she much cared for him, of course it would have been girl get's her best friend....Anyways...I'm sorry this prolly isn't helpfull at all!!!
But no really this movie is worth watching and if you liked Breakfast Club your bound to like this, or if you like ANY teeny bopper movies for that matter you'll love this!!!
God Bless ~Amy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in an enjoyable movie, Sept. 24 2001
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Some interesting characters appear in this film based around the traditional American movie standby, the High School Prom. Who is taking whom, what will they wear, who loves whom, and who is whose true friend. This is about a group of teenagers, specifically one girl and her attempts to cop off with a rich boy. The insight into the American 'class system' will enlighten British viewers as there are closer comparisons with our own class system than might at first be obvious, although the American system seems to be based on money rather than anything else. Having said that, the 'can love exist between people from such different backgrounds' plot was hackneyed after Shakespeare did it with Romeo And Juliet, so by the time we get to 1984 we don't really care whether she gets him or the other guy. This is entertaining, yet examines the relationships of young-adulthood with a subtle intelligence. The sets, costumes, and music are very clever in that they evoke the 1950s whereas they firmly pinpoint the movie in the 1980s. Ringwald shows here that you don't need to be conventionally attractive to be a star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in an enjoyable movie, Sept. 24 2001
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Some interesting characters appear in this film based around the traditional American movie standby, the High School Prom. Who is taking whom, what will they wear, who loves whom, and who is whose true friend. This is about a group of teenagers, specifically one girl and her attempts to cop off with a rich boy. The insight into the American 'class system' will enlighten British viewers as there are closer comparisons with our own class system than might at first be obvious, although the American system seems to be based on money rather than anything else. Having said that, the 'can love exist between people from such different backgrounds' plot was hackneyed after Shakespeare did it with Romeo And Juliet, so by the time we get to 1984 we don't really care whether she gets him or the other guy. This is entertaining, yet examines the relationships of young-adulthood with a subtle intelligence. The sets, costumes, and music are very clever in that they evoke the 1950s whereas they firmly pinpoint the movie in the 1980s. Ringwald shows here that you don't need to be conventionally attractive to be a star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Sept. 21 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
I don't understand some of the comments I am reading..oh well..This movie is so good, I guess I would say that Andie is a girl who does not live in the rich part of town, but not exactly the slums either, and its not that she is unpopular, she is just her own person, and some of the rich, popular girls tease her about her clothes, which she makes herself and are a little different, but cool, but I think the girls that pick on her are just mean, and those types of people do exist in highschool, and they always find someone to pick on...Andie has friends, they are just not the rich, popular ones...And they are seniors, so H.S. is almost over, and Andie is pretty, so I can see Blaine wanting to ask her out, why not???? Then he gets a little nervous about losing all his friends over it, well he probably realizes, he likes Andie, and she likes him, and there is life after H.S. right? Well Andies best friend "Duckie" who is so awesome, especially when he does that little lip sinc to "try a little tenderness" that was one of my favorite scenes in any movie ever...very cool!!!!He is in love with Andie and is mad when she decides to go with with Blaine, which he says is a major appliance not a name...haa haa...but it all comes together in the end...Great Movie...Two thumbs up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty In Pink movie review, July 22 2001
By 
Debra (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Pretty in Pink is a 3 thumbs up movie. It's about an underprivileged girl named Andie Walsh. She is bright, beautiful, independent and really talented on the sewing machine (if you know what I mean)Her mother walked out on her and her father 3 years earlier, so this causes her dad to not be able to hold down a job. She's hassled at school by popular "richies." Her best friend, Duckie, who's real name is "Phil," secretly loves her. Her mentor is her boss at a small record store, Iona. Her life suddenly turns up when she's asked out by a rich romeo, Blane McDunnough. They're very happy until all of the richies force Blane to dump her while Duckie is mad at Andie. Now Andie, an underprivileged Cinderella, has to choose between two prom prince's, a rich guy of her dreams, or the person who dedicated his life to her.
This movie has a happy ending and a genius plot that will bring tears to your eyes. I highly recommend this movie for everyone! Molly Ringwald did a stunning performance and really opened up the 80's eyes to what people who aren't rich go through in suburban america.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Hughes At His Best, July 10 2001
By 
"lamanda513" (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Movies like this are what make one want to cry over the media-provoked labeling and fall of "The Brat Pack". The stars of the 1980s teen films were expected to form the next generation of great actors until Hollywood tore them apart and sent them scraping for whatever cable-movie parts they could get their hands on. Though Pretty in Pink was more-or-less the swan song of John Hughes'-masterminded films, to this day it continues to bring in fans to the genre with it's sweet and simple poor girl/rich guy romance and the social issues therein. Though star Molly Ringwald is occaisonally over-emotional in her portrayal of the girl from the wrong side of the tracks, it is not unfitting with her strong but somewhat neurotic character, Andie. Andrew McCarthy, though of greater acting capability than he displays here, still plays his rich but insecure Romeo (Blane) to a T, and is cute enough to make any teenage girl fall in love with him-despite the wierd eye thing. Annie Potts and Harry Dean Stanton are both memorable in their roles of somewhat bizzare parental-type figures, as is a young James Spader as Blane's perfectly condescending best friend. However it is Jon Cryer, as Andie's best and besotted friend Phil "Duckie" Dale who truly steals the show with what is surely one of the top performances of Cryer's varied career. Though on the outside this movie may appear to be pure teen fluff, the story has an endearing quality that will continually find it back in the VCR on any all night movie fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Hughes written all over it., July 3 2000
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
You can tell this is a Hughes film from all the vivid color and wacky bits of humor mixed in with teen angst. Girl from the wrong side of the tracks falls for rich guy. Tackles issues of class, father-daughter relationships, feelings of rejection and alienation from the mainstream. Today, we look back and realize that the female lead may have chosen the wrong guy. Or maybe not. Maybe after so many Oprah lectures, we just think she made the wrong choice.
I actually had a difficult time relating to the suburban theme of the movie when it came out because I grew up in an inner-city, urban environment. Our issues weren't whether we'd go to prom with the "richie," but rather, would we be evicted at the end of the month? Would we have electricity until then? I remember being confused as to why I should feel sorry for the girl who had a pretty pink sports car, who had a stay-at-home-father (granted, with issues), and who could afford to go out to clubs for drinks. While the urban environment was largely ignored by 80s filmakers in favor of homogenous suburban, white-bread themes, 90s filmakers filled in the gaps with movie references that hit more close to home for me like (Boyz in the Hood, The Wood). With Pretty in Pink, and many other teen angst movies of the 80s, I had a hard time understanding what exactly was the problem. And then I realized that feeling self-conscious about clothes and feeling alienated from the mainstream WAS something that I could relate to.
Side note: Even while James Spader plays the snotty high schooler who looks several years older than everyone else, he is extremely attractive. I've had a crush on him ever since. Lots of cameos. Part of the fun of watching these old 80s high school flicks like Pretty in Pink, Say Anything, St. Elmo's Fire, Fast Times at Ridgemont High is reflecting on the body of work that follows. The casts of these movies kind of grew up with us. That makes for sentimental nostalgia when we try to remember if high school really was that bad as we alternate between laughing at them and with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ringwald must-see teen angst film of the '80s, June 25 2000
By 
Shelley Gammon "Geek" (Kaufman, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty in Pink (VHS Tape)
Annie Potts portrays the owner of "TRAX," a record store where teen Molly Ringwald works and her friend Duckie (Jon Cryer) hangs out. Ringwald and Cryer's characters have less than storybook home lives and they both attend a school in which they are the minority in a school plentiful with snobby, rich, worldy classmates.
Andrew McCarthy crosses the boundaries between the jet-set and the less affluent when he expresses his affections for Ringwald's character... which (unknowingly to Ringwald) breaks the heart of her best friend (Cryer). More than just teen angst, the film develops the story around sacrificial love (Ringwald is the adult in her single-parent home, nurturing her heart-broken, deadbeat father), true love and true friendship. No sex or violence, this is a great teen film. You're not scared for your kids to see this film that told it like it was and has real deep characters (not shallow lust-mongers) who are looking for meaning in their lives. The wardrobe is very '80s and most teens today will laugh at the attire, but it's a great film nonetheless and really timeless in regards to the emotions explored. Great acting through-out and a great nostalgic trip for those of us Gen-X folks who saw it when it first came out in the theater. Another John Hughes masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty in Pink (Widescreen)
Pretty in Pink (Widescreen) by Howard Deutch (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews