Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The gloriously funny Epps and Cube make this junk tolerable
Right before the opening credits hit in "All About The Benjamins," there is a moment where star/writer/producer Ice Cube takes a tazer to a man's genitals. It's rather appropriate, because if you're not a fan of Mr. Cube's, "Benjamins" will feel about as comfortable to sit through as that tazer's sting.
"Benjamins" stars Ice Cube as bounty hunter Bucum Jackson, sent...
Published on Sept. 27 2002 by SID

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Never thought it would be THIS bad!!!
On first viewing of "Next Friday," I was disappointed. Not that i was expecting anything on caliber with the original "Friday," but perhaps something almost on par with it. However, after repeated viewing of "Next Friday," it grew on me....or should i say the character Day-Day (Mike Epps) grew on me. He has so much energy, but at the same time, his delivery seems laid...
Published on Aug. 31 2002 by N. Whitworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The gloriously funny Epps and Cube make this junk tolerable, Sept. 27 2002
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
Right before the opening credits hit in "All About The Benjamins," there is a moment where star/writer/producer Ice Cube takes a tazer to a man's genitals. It's rather appropriate, because if you're not a fan of Mr. Cube's, "Benjamins" will feel about as comfortable to sit through as that tazer's sting.
"Benjamins" stars Ice Cube as bounty hunter Bucum Jackson, sent on assignment to recover a bail jumper named Reggie Wright (Mike Epps). Reggie is in deep trouble. Not only did he witness a diamond theft and murder, but he also left his wallet - containing a winning lottery ticket - at the scene of the crime. Reggie's only help is Bucum, but the grumpy bounty hunter wants nothing to do with the felon, that is until 20 million in stolen diamonds becomes up for grabs.
I'll give him this much: Ice Cube certainly knows his audience. "All About The Benjamins" is as familiar Cube terrain as a movie can get, filled to the breaking point with the fireballs, profanity and ad-libbed laughs that made his previous two "Friday" films such hits. However, this time out, Cube and his team are trying to resuscitate the buddy film genre, long since laid to rest in the land of straight-to-video releases. "Benjamins" is an old-school, Joel Silveresque actioner, circa 1991. It delightfully traffics in the business of over-the-top villains, gorgeous females, constant shoot-outs and one explosion after another. Long gone are the weed and sex jokes of the "Friday" films, here replaced with bullets and a bigger budget.
Somehow, first time director Kevin Bray makes this work, if only slightly. A highly energized, stylishly directed film that actually features a perfect mood setting opening credit sequence, "Benjamins" can at least serve as eye candy if nothing else. The editing has no pulse, and the photography isn't all that interesting, but "Benjamins" at least moves. It's an action film without a brain, but the two charismatic stars to help it along, often tricking the viewer into enjoying this mess a lot more then should be allowed.
What the people really have come to see is the reteaming of Cube and Epps. Fresh from their inspired work in "Next Friday," the duo returns here in "Benjamins" with the same easy back and forth comic touch. Think of them as the urban Hope and Crosby. While Ice Cube is his typical stoic self, Epps takes the comedy baton and runs like hell with it. Epps is hilarious in "Benjamins," making even the most painful aspects of the production seem like cherry pie with his alert comic timing and his gift for improvisation. This gift is so beloved by the filmmakers that they keep letting the camera roll on Epps as he does his free-flowing thing with the screenplay. Normally, a very destructive method to wring a laugh. But with Epps, it works.
Cube and Epps make an impressive comic team, and they make the shamelessly hackneyed "Benjamins" a worthwhile sit for fans of the duo. Everyone else, save your benjamins and stay far away. ---------- 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Never thought it would be THIS bad!!!, Aug. 31 2002
By 
N. Whitworth "Fan of Real Hip-Hop" (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
On first viewing of "Next Friday," I was disappointed. Not that i was expecting anything on caliber with the original "Friday," but perhaps something almost on par with it. However, after repeated viewing of "Next Friday," it grew on me....or should i say the character Day-Day (Mike Epps) grew on me. He has so much energy, but at the same time, his delivery seems laid back. So, in short, i liked the team of Cube/Epps and couldn't wait for another team-up on the big screen.
However, "All About the Benjamins" is something i wish i could've forgotten and since viewing it only two days ago, i have mostly forgoten anything that happened in the movie. I was hoping that Epps would save this movie but he was gven nothing to do for the most part. He had his moments, but they were "short-lived" moments.
Ice Cube is his usual self. I'm glad he is sticking to movies now. Cube isn't a bad actor. I give him credit for his roles in "Higher Learning" and "Friday." The fact is that he can't and shouldn't (co)write scripts anymore. Leave that to the people who actually know which buttons to push so that people actually laugh at a joke.
Bottom line is that even if you enjoy the team of Cube and Epps, you should wait until "Friday After Next," which hopefully will not be as horrible as the trailer makes it out to be, to see them again. However, if you feel so compelled to see this, just remember that I told you so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I give you "BENJAMINS", you give me funny!, Sept. 30 2002
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
Here is a movie that you don't have to take seriously to have a good time. Ice Cube as a bounty hunter was really on the money, because he had the grit and savvy to pull it off, but the show belonged to Mike Epps, who played the con artist. Epps is no Chris Tucker, but he's also not afraid to go the distance, and that is what makes his appearances memorable. This time around, Mike portrays a con-artist with more on his plate than his latest scam. Not only is he being chased by Cube, but he makes the mistake of stumbling onto a murder involving 26 million dollars in diamonds. On top of that, he loses his wallet with the killers. Scary enough they know where you live, but what if the wallet contained a lottery ticket that your girlfriend paid for with her hard earned money, and it hit for sixty million? Throughout this flick, both actors looked like they were having a ball. If your looking for a load of comedy mixed with a little mayhem, this could be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good plot and hella funny!, Sept. 19 2002
By 
Jamel Morrow "jamel_m" (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
This is a very good movie and Ice Cube has proven himself as a filmmaker. Mike Epps is one of the funniest people out there today and if you don't think so then you don't like or understand black comedy. That's cool though because a lot of times I don't understand white comedy. We as people just think different and there is nothing wrong with that. Anyway, before I get to deep with y'all out there, back to the movie. Like I was saying, the movie has a very good plot or theme to it. It was well thought out and was not just a movie to make you laugh, but make you think "what's go happen next." It had twist in it that you was not expecting. I don't want to write a whole two page article about the movie because it is time consuming and plus I'm not getting paid. I bought it before I ever saw it and I was very pleased with the purchase. Rent it or buy it, you won't be diasppointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite replayer!!, Sept. 11 2002
By 
Guru bound "guru bound" (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
I at first hesitated to rent the video, but did anyway one day, and laughed so much, tears were streaming from nowhere.
I replayed it about 4 times. It was unpredictably funny.
Mike Epps seemed to take his role very seriously as an actor in a very funny way. He played the story well, but I could not help but notice improvising of lines between him and Ice Cube in the movie. It worked out well anyway. Epps is more "the star" than co-star in this film. He's convinced me, he's to be up there with the big boys.
Take a chance and see it!
I am definitely buying!! ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Yikes!!, Sept. 2 2002
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
I Don't even wanna remember this junk.Ice Cube is a Cat that back in the day Made Some truly Great Music but after around 95 He truly fell Off&became one Big Logo.while I applaud His Success His work as a Film Maker&Music Maker leaves alot to be desired.as for Mike Epps? He is about as Funny as a Byron Allen Film or anybody that has Served as Host of the MTV Video Awards Show after Chris Rock.in other words it's very Wack Company.the Stunt Camera Work was interesting for a minute as was the Background Music in places but overall you gotta No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Going [for it]!!!, Dec 4 2002
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
The bounty hunter Bucum (Ice Cube) is tracking down the conman Reggie who has skipped bail. During the hunt they stumble into a diamond heist that has turned bad and now Reggie is also being hunted by the diamond thieves. On top of this, Reggie wins the lottery with his girlfriend while Bucum is closing in on him. Can Reggie convince Bucum to keep him out of prison and maybe even help him? All About the Benjamins provides thrills and amusing situations that will entertain the audience, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat fun... with a TWIST!!, Oct. 12 2003
By 
Paul (Brampton, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
This movie is different from other action/comedies, there are a lot of things going on and it's fun to keep up with them. I didn't know what to expect, and it left me wanting more. It's a fun (and funny) movie. It's about a lost wallet with a winning lottery ticket inside it, and a 20 million dollar diamond deal, and they're all revolving around each other. It wasn't that big of a hit in the box office (raked in about $25,000,000) but I loved it. It's all about the benjamins...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY OUTRAGEOUS!!!, July 28 2002
By 
Owen O. Villalta "Owen O Villalta" (Norfolk, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
Putting it in simple words, if Mike Epps is going to be in the movie, you know its going to be funny. Once again, Mike Epps has put his talents to work and made us all laugh who went to see the movie. This is a must own DVD for those who like to laugh. Let's not forget about Ice Cube either, he is a great actor. It's not everyday you see a rapper/rock star/pop singer/athlete, etc. who can actually act. I must recommend this DVD to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hell yeah!, July 25 2003
By 
A. Jahn "annekensj" (da) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import] (DVD)
i loved to see ice cube and mike epps acting in next friday, so i bought this dvd "all about the money", whats it called very stupid here in germany......but the film is so funny plus some action, its great!!!!!!!!!!!!
and the specials also very funny with outtakes, a hidden special, trailer, video(trina) and some more.....
even if i'm europeen, buy this dvd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All About the Benjamins (New Line Platinum Series) [Import]
CDN$ 6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews