Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars no problems for me
i did not have problems with the set it all worked fine also the episodes are great ones i highly recommend it.
Published on Feb. 6 2004 by frank kranz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How do I get a replacement for Volume 3?
I have nothing but good things to say about Stargate SG-1. My gripe is the missing voice of Aphophis in the episode "The Nox". Can anyone out there tell me if there is a way to get a replacement for it? I can afford to replace it, but why should I have to pay for something that should have been right to start with.
Published on Jan. 9 2003 by Mark E Nichols


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars no problems for me, Feb. 6 2004
By 
frank kranz (fairfield, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
i did not have problems with the set it all worked fine also the episodes are great ones i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great series of personal episodes for the SG-1 crew, July 19 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
Volume 3 of Season 1 of "Stargate SG-1" offers up episodes 9-13 from the inaugural 1997-98 season, as the science fiction series starts to hit its stride. You will notice that one of the recurring themes in this episode is the quest of technology and/or knowledge from advanced civilizations and that several of the episodes have to do with the revelation of deep dark secrets:
Episode 9, "The Torment of Tantalus" (Written by Robert C. Cooper, Aired October 3, 1997) uncovers a story about the early days of the Stargate Project. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) is going over all the old records about the Stargate when he discovers footage of someone going through the Stargate in 1945. Confronting Catherine Langford (Elizabeth Hoffman) about the incident, the SG-1 team learns that Ernest Littlefield, Catherine's fiancé, went through the Stargate and never returned. Using computer enhancements SG-1 is able to go re-dial the location and go there, with Catherine, to see if they can find out what happened to Ernest. What they find is Ernest (Keene Curtis), which is good news, and a broken Stargate that will prevent them from returning, which is bad news. Meanwhile, Ernest shows Dr. Jackson the marvelous wonders left by alien races. 4.5 Stargates.
Episode 10, "Bloodlines" (Story by Mark Saraceni, Teleplay by Jeff King, Aired October 10, 1997) has Teal'c (Christopher Judge) revealing to his SG-1 teammates that he left a family behind on Chulak when he joined them. He kept the secret because he did not want them to doubt his loyalty. But now his son, Rya'c has reached the age at which he will be given his Goa'uld larva, and Teal'c wants to stop this from happening. General Hammond (Don S. Davis) allows SG-1 to go to Chulak, with the provision that they bring back a Goa'uld larva that can be studied. When they get to Chulac they discover that Teal'c's family has been declared outcasts and the news just keeps getting worse from there. Certainly a very personal story for Teal'c, it only heightens the sacrifice he made in betraying Apophis. 5 Stargates.
Episode 11, "Fire and Water" (Written by Brad Wright, Aired October 17, 1997) finds SG-1 returning from the planet Oannes almost immediately after leaving on a mission, but without Dr. Jackson, who was apparently consumed by flames. While Stargate has a funeral service for their friend, Jackson is being held captive by a creature called Nem, who is looking for information about his partner, who apparently lived in ancient Babylon. Daniel learns he and Nem have something important in common while the rest of the SG-1 team cannot shake the feeling that Jackson is not really dead. The only real problem with this episode is that it suffers in comparison to the rest of what is on this DVD. 4 Stargates.
Episode 12, "The Nox" (Written by Hart Hanson, Aired September 12, 1997) has the government really pushing the Stargate Project to show results in discovering and bringing back superior alien technology. Teal's suggests they visit a planet where the locals, the Fenri, have the power of invisibility. But when they arrive there they find the Goa'uld are there for the same reason, led by Apophis (Peter Williams) himself. Colonel O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) tries to ambush the Goa'ulds, but only succeeds in getting the SG-1 team killed. However, this does not prove to be a problem to the Nox, the strange creatures who also live there and whose leader Anteaus (Armin Shimerman), seems totally unconcerned by the threat of Apophis and his warriors. This is simply a classic episode, although I have to admit you would think O'Neill had watched enough "Star Trek" episodes to know that simple folk on alien planets are not always simple folk. 5 Stargates.
Episode 13, "Hathor" (Story by David Bennett Carren and J. Larry Carroll, Teleplay by Jonathan Glassner, Aired October 24, 1997) has everyone going back to their Egyptian mythology to recall that Ra had a wife named Hathor. In this episode she shows up in the flesh (Suanne Braun), discovered in a sarcophagus covered in Egyptian hieroglyphics found in a Mayan pyramid in Mexico. Making her way to the Stargate Project where she proceeds to quickly set herself up as a queen bee. While O'Neill, Jackson, Hammond and the other boys turn into dutiful and obedient worker bees and soldier bees, Captain Carter (Amanda Tapping) and Dr. Frasier (Teryl Rothery) have to come to the rescue the base from the evil seductress, aided by Teal'c. I really like the Girl Power aspects of this episode, which benefits from having a pretty good villainess. 5 Stargates.
These five episodes continue to prove that "Stargate SG-1" was one of the finest first seasons for a science fiction series in television history. The writers do a great job of taking the initial premises and key elements of the series and coming up with good plot lines to play out in each episode. By the time you get to Volume 3 from this first season you will be hooked big time (especially since Volume 4 is even better).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How do I get a replacement for Volume 3?, Jan. 9 2003
By 
Mark E Nichols (Greenville, MS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
I have nothing but good things to say about Stargate SG-1. My gripe is the missing voice of Aphophis in the episode "The Nox". Can anyone out there tell me if there is a way to get a replacement for it? I can afford to replace it, but why should I have to pay for something that should have been right to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voice of Apophis, Nov. 18 2002
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
Hi, folks have complained about the voice of Apophis being inaudible on "The Nox" episode. I think this has to do with the surround sound setup on the disk. So, the voice is there, but if you don't have surround sound, you need to set your dvd player up properly so that it isn't doing surround sound output. Else Apophis is broadcast on channels you don't have, and you can't hear him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't even play, Oct. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
I love the series and would love to see these episodes again. Unfortunately the DVD wouldn't even play. I tried it in three different players and it didn't work in any of them. The only signal I got was a "no disc" signal after the disc supposedly got done loading. I have the other four DVDs from Season 1 and have problems with Vol. 5, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best sampling from Year One, Oct. 2 2002
By 
DrNJP (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
If you are not very familiar with Stargate SG-1, you may not want to splurge on the whole boxed set. If you just want to dip a toe in the water, this individual DVD is probably the best of the group. "The Nox" is considered a classic, but I always thought "Torment of Tantalus" had a good story and good guest actors. "Fire and Water" seemed a little hokey with the alien makeup, but repeat viewings have shown me that the character studies of the SG team are quite good. "Hathor" is an unconventional baddie who will recur in the future. It lets the doctor step out of her bedside manner role. "Bloodlines" not only provides good background for the Goa'uld culture; it lets Christopher Judge do more than arch an eyebrow.
You'll need to buy the boxed set to get the whole pilot-thru-cliffhanger experience (recommended!), but as a sampler, this one is probably the best example of how the series makes good use of the stargate premise and lets the team members have real dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best sampling from Year One, Oct. 2 2002
By 
DrNJP (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
If you are not very familiar with Stargate SG-1, you may not want to splurge on the whole boxed set. If you just want to dip a toe in the water, this individual DVD is probably the best of the group. "The Nox" is considered a classic, but I always thought "Torment of Tantalus" had a good story and good guest actors. "Fire and Water" seemed a little hokey with the alien makeup, but repeat viewings have shown me that the character studies of the SG team are quite good. "Hathor" is an unconventional baddie who will recur in the future. It lets the doctor step out of her bedside manner role. "Bloodlines" not only provides good background for the Goa'uld culture; it lets Christopher Judge do more than arch an eyebrow.
You'll need to buy the boxed set to get the whole pilot-thru-cliffhanger experience (recommended!), but as a sampler, this one probably the best example of how the series makes good use of the stargate premise and lets the team members have real dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No problems!, Sept. 26 2002
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
I have this DVD and I have no problems with any of the voices. Like all the Stargate episodes, these are first rate. If you like SG-1 you will like this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Apophis - Speachless, Sept. 19 2002
By 
Ronald A. Weller (Orange, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] (DVD)
I have had the boxed set since it's release. The only problem
was this disk. The NOX episode is missing the voice for Apophis.
He talks but nothing comes out.
I rate this low only because of a real missed opportunity.
Though this disk was available in the boxed set. It was only
recently released as an individual DVD. It has been a year at
least, you think they would have fixed it before this release.
But, NO!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import]
"Stargate SG-1: Season 1, Vol. 3 (Widescreen)" [Import] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 8.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews