Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one
If you only ever own one Simon and Garfunkel CD, this is the one to have. The night captured on this disk is the best these two legends ever were, the best they could possibly be. Everything is perfect, the music is magical, the production is flawless.
If you have a special shelf where you keep ten or so CD's that are beyond everything else in recorded music, this...
Published on May 2 2003 by Jefferson T. Packer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Hazy Shade Of Lackluster
As a longtime S&G fan and owner of several live recordings from 1967 to 1969 (many of which are officially unreleased), I figured if this disk was blessed and sanctioned by the masters themselves, it must be about the best in the vault. Well, about 1/4th the way through it, I realized I'd apparently erred. Not to say it's a lousy performance: It just sounds very...
Published on July 7 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Hazy Shade Of Lackluster, July 7 2003
By A Customer
As a longtime S&G fan and owner of several live recordings from 1967 to 1969 (many of which are officially unreleased), I figured if this disk was blessed and sanctioned by the masters themselves, it must be about the best in the vault. Well, about 1/4th the way through it, I realized I'd apparently erred. Not to say it's a lousy performance: It just sounds very flat and lackadaisical compared with other S&G concert performances. Five songs from this show are available on the "Old Friends" boxed set--including "Red Rubber Ball," not on this cd for whatever reason)--and as it turns out those songs are played and sung with the most spirit and gusto of the bunch (particularly "A Church Is Burning," maybe the cream of the crop.) Yes, you'll get a few songs here that are difficult to find any other live versions of, but the only standouts of that group are "The Dangling Conversation" and "A Hazy Shade Of Winter," the latter being the duo's most recent hit at the time--so they likely weren't yet tired of singing it. Also, sometimes the key in which a song is played can make a difference: In the duo's performance at the legendary Monterey Pop Festival just five months after this concert, "Benedictus" and "For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her" were played and sung in a higher key than they are in this New York show--and I prefer the Monterey versions. I cannot, in good conscience, rate this cd lower than 3 stars--simply on the strength of the songs and the performers, but collectively, this is a pretty flat, going-through-the-motions performance. The 12-string guitar sounds OK, but when Paul is playing 6-string, the guitar and microphone sound like they're separated by a beach towel! If S&G and Sony were out to counter the bootleggers with this show, I'm afraid they came up a megabytes short. My alternative suggestion to those of you considering purchasing this cd is the following: First, get the "Old Friends" box if you don't already own it, for along with all the other excellent material contained therein (including two studio cuts "The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings" does not have), it boasts ten live cuts total--all very good! Then track down the seven tracks from S&G's set at the Monterey Festival which were allowed out of Lou Adler's vault for a great 1988 radio special and subsequently bootlegged. Finally, track down the widely bootlegged November 1969 performance at Miami (of Ohio) University. There's more out there, but those three sources will give you a sufficient serving of S&G performing live and on the very top of their individual' and collective game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one, May 2 2003
By 
Jefferson T. Packer (Taos, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you only ever own one Simon and Garfunkel CD, this is the one to have. The night captured on this disk is the best these two legends ever were, the best they could possibly be. Everything is perfect, the music is magical, the production is flawless.
If you have a special shelf where you keep ten or so CD's that are beyond everything else in recorded music, this disk will have a permanent home there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb document of S&G's mid-60s form, March 29 2003
By 
Though a few of these tracks appeared on the 1997 Old Friends box set, it wasn't until 2002 that the bulk of this 1967 concert was made commercially available. Bootlegs of mid-60s S&G shows have circulated for years, but this is the first artist-and-label endorsed package, and it's about as fine a document of the era as one could hope for. The song selection includes the obvious hits, well-picked album tracks (e.g., "Leaves That Are Green") and a pair of obscurities ("A Church is Burning," from Simon's pre-S&G solo album, and a 1967 B-side, "You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies"). The range of material that the duo had racked up by this point in their career, from charged social statements ("The Sound of Silence") to angry, introspective observations ("I Am a Rock") and jangly-pop ("The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)"), was (and remains) truly impressive.
Even more interesting is that the entire concert was recorded without additional accompaniment: Garfunkel sings and Simon sings and plays acoustic guitar. Their stripped-down (or, more accurately, not-built-up-and-electrified) arrangements of tunes from "The Sound of Silence" LP, as well as later songs like "A Hazy Shade of Winter," are both disconcerting and impressive. Simon's qualities as a guitar player were no secret by this point in his career (having been featured on the duo's albums), but his talent and feel as a live performer shows off an added dimension. The bent, plucked notes of "Blessed," the signature introductory lick of "Homeward Bound," and the instrumental run through Davey Graham's "Anji" are just some of the highlights.
This is a pitch-perfect document of folk-rock legends in their prime, capturing not only their artistry, but the freedom and intensity of the times itself. The recording and performance are both crisp and present - a must-have for all S&G fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, March 20 2003
I bought this CD several weeks ago and thought it was absolutely superb! I was not only impressed by Paul and Artie's
harmonic interweaving, but Simon's folksy and innovative guitar playing was what hooked me to the folk guitar many years ago, and in this performance I was thrilled by his talents.
I didn't think 'The Borders of our Lives' would adapt to
a live recording, but they performed it with angelic presence.
I thoroughly recommend this CD. It exemplifies perhaps a dying breed of true artists who could
really perform music on stage (S&G used to busk in Leicester Square, London, in the early 1960's) and not the instant coffee variety of artists who are created and groomed by the PR wizadry of music companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Years Overdue, But Just Right, Feb. 12 2003
By 
J. D Suggs (Atlanta, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
Simon and Garfunkel's live act should have been documented years ago, but when they finally allowed it to be done, they got it right. This fine recording catches them at just the right moment in their career, with a very satisfying songlist, and presents the show in complete and chronological form. It's worth noting that the entire performance is acoustic, with vocals supported only by Paul Simon's guitar, meaning that some of the hits will sound different than you're used to hearing them. Their interaction with the audience, some of whom were actually on the stage, is a lot of fun.
A teaser of this show was included in the S & G box set "Old Friends" several years ago.
I don't mean to be greedy after this terrific release, but we need at least one more to complete the live picture of Simon and Garfunkel: perhaps their Monterey set...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, Jan. 6 2003
By A Customer
LIVE IN NEW YORK 1967 captures Simon and Garfunkel in the first half of their career, pre-Bookends. The concert material is stunning. The words, instrumentaion, and voices blend together to create a perfect aural experience. Notable tracks include "Leaves that are green," "Homeward Bound," "Feelin' Groovy," "A Hazy Shade of Winter," an acoustic "Sounds of Silence," "I am a rock," and "A poem on the underground wall," (the final complete with an amusing explanation from Garfunkel). S&G are in full bloom here, before their union would expand and then crumble with their 2 final albums. The liver versions are preferrable to some of the studio ones, especially on the numbers from PSR&T. ("For Emily, Whenever I may find her," for instance) Get It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As it should be, Nov. 22 2002
By 
S. Hawkins "SMH" (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For many of us (myself included), this is one of the few opportunities we get to hear Simon and Garfunkel live at their prime.
The performance itself is wonderful - their voices blend together beautifully as I had hoped, and the recording quality is stellar (I understand they oversaw remastering it).
However, what makes this CD so special for me is the lack of any other instruments. The two of them are up there with only a guitar and their voices, and they just fly with the songs. In their stripped down nature, the songs become even more intimate and personal. Added to this is commentary from the duo about each song they perform.
Listening to this CD was just wonderful, and it's become very special to me as I grew up listening to a vinyl of their greatest hits. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Those Times, Sept. 20 2002
By 
Thomas Barrett (Holyoke, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simon and Garfunkel first appeared at UMass Amherst in the Fall of 1965 as the opening act for The Four Seasons. I guess no one knew where it was exactly that they fit. They were folkies but their hit, "Sounds of Slilence," was pumped up after the fact to sound like folk/rock. Anyway, I missed that concert but saw them at UMass in the Fall of 1966 as headliners. The concert was very similar to this - Artie, Paul, and Paul's guitar. The audience was very much like the one on the CD, attentive and enthralled. Artie and Paul were also very much like on this CD, in good, pure voice. This CD takes me back to those times, but even if you weren't there, this is one of the best evocations of those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but nothing special, Sept. 19 2002
By 
Sacha (Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
This CD comes 15 years late: Throughout these years over a dozen concert CDs of the duo have been released through labels different to CBS, Geffen and Warner.
This CD has a great sound, a magnificent "Hazy shade of winter" acoustic version but that's it. The most valuable things in a CD of this kind would be new songs never recorded buy the duo, and them talking about aneccdotes. But you won't find much of it here, except for "You don't know where your interest lies".
If you buy other live CDs from the duo (Far East, Live in Ohio, Live in Haarlem -Holland, Live in Monterrey....) you'll find great songs that they never recorded together (Red Rubber Ball, That silver haired daddy of mine, Cuba si Nixon No) and wonderful speeches (like the one where Garfunkel introduces "a new song we just finished called bridge o.t.water which I hope you like it".).
In short: This is a nice CD for everyone, but nothing special for Simon and Garfunkel collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simon And Garfunkel Unplugged, Aug. 31 2002
By 
Michael King "Mike" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Four elements make up this classic live recording: Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel, an acoustic guitar and an enthusiastic audience. As the liner notes state, seats were set up on stage behind the duo to allow for more people. Thus, the concert sounds very intimate, particularly when Paul and Art talk to the audience between songs. For example, Art goes into a lengthy discussion of taking pictures for their first album cover. Hundreds of pictures were taken of them in a New York subway, standing in front of a wall as subway trains speed by. It wasn't until the photo session was over that they finally noticed what was written on the subway wall. According to Art, it was "the old, familiar suggestion." This elicits laughter and applause. He goes on to explain how a couple of years later Paul's recollection of the incident inspired him to write the song "A Poem On The Underground Wall." Their moving performance of that song is a highlight of this concert.
I especially enjoyed their live version of "A Hazy Shade Of Winter." With only the acoustic guitar for accompaniment, the song took on a folk-rock feel missing in its studio version. A real rarity is their performance of "You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies." Only available as a single B-side, the studio version was finally included in the "Old Friends" box set. Another rare song in the box set is a live version of Paul's song "Red Rubber Ball," which was taken from the same 1967 concert. Why Columbia Records chose not to add it to this CD is a mystery to me, since there was plenty of time left to include it. For that matter, I can't understand why it took them 35 years to release this CD. Whatever the reasons, I'm very glad they remastered the recording and released this CD. Like a bottle of fine wine, this intimate concert recording has improved with age. Savor every minute of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb22b8fc0)

This product

1967 Live From New York City
1967 Live From New York City by Simon and Garfunkel (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews