Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cult - Sleepaway 3 "Teenage Wasteland"
Finally, at long last, the Sleepaway sequels are soon to be released, and it's about time (on DVD format, not to mention the VHS versions are long out of print).
Pamela Springsteen returns as the "angel of death" Angela, in this 3rd installment of the Sleepaway series. A group of select teenagers, some from wealthy families, some from lower class families are pulled...
Published on July 18 2002 by BuddyBlue76 @ MySpace

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sleepaway Camp III - Teenage Wasteland
Sleepaway Camp III was overall decent but it was missing what the second one had; don't ask me because I don't know what.The characters weren't extremely likeable as they were in the second one.Angela is still quirky and funny as usual though thanks to a great performance from Pamela Springsteen.The dialogue is not original but above average for an 80's slasher sequel.The...
Published on June 5 2004 by Mac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars SO bad...(ZERO stars!...), July 2 2004
By 
Xanadu (New Lenox, ILL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
What a dissapointment! After the fun of "Sleepaway Camp 2: Unhappy Campers", theres this; one of the worst and stupidest movies I've ever seen. It just SUCKS! It could have been better if there had been more campers. Also, if the little campers there were weren't actually out camping the whole time in tents. And most of the deaths take place during the day, and there are no likeable charectors; well, except Angela, but she just seems depressed thorughout the whole thing. She barely says anything or acts funny at all! There are survivors in this one, a guy and a girl, but I didn't even care becuase they weren't even all that likeable. Why couldin't they have let Molly, a good charector survive in the last one, but had stupid Marsha and the Mexican guy survive in this one??? And it's just very borng for the most part, and the deaths are weak, and there's barely any gore. There IS another dead-bodies-ina-cabin thing at the end, but it's so dark in there, you can't even see anything! SOOOO not reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll camp until I die, June 23 2004
By 
Colin (Out of town) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
Angela is back in the second sequel to 1983's "Sleepaway Camp." As this film begins, she kills a girl heading to Camp New Horizons and impersonates her for the rest of the film. Camp New Horizons is an experimental camp, as half of the campers are from the upper-class portions of society, and half are from the lower-class. But economic status doesn't really matter, because they're all dumb as dirt, willing to show skin whenever possible, and all have loose morals and like to sin a lot, which we all know Angela is not happy about.
The campers are supposed to be young teens, but all look about 26. And there's only about ten campers in the whole gosh-durn camp, which seems illogical, but whatever. We come to see teens dying! And teens dying you shall see. As Angela gets to know her fellow campers, she soon sees what evil individuals they really are - some curse at her, some use firecrackers for bad purposes, and others fornicate when they're supposed to be fishing and doing other wholesome activities. So Angela has to do what she thinks is right and clean up the camp. There's even a wistful moment as Angela recalls what camp used to be, when she won the award for camper of the week (from SC2). "You like me! You really, really like me!"
There's humor and silliness, and a ton of funny throwaway jokes. For instance, while fishing Angela hooks a hockey mask that looks suspiciously like one used by that villain in that other horror film franchise. "What day is this?" she asks. Why it's Saturday...Saturday the 14th, someone alerts her.
It ain't Citizen Kane, but that doesn't really matter, does it? It's just a fun slasher film that'll have you laughing and groaning, and isn't that what life's about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sleepaway Camp III - Teenage Wasteland, June 5 2004
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
Sleepaway Camp III was overall decent but it was missing what the second one had; don't ask me because I don't know what.The characters weren't extremely likeable as they were in the second one.Angela is still quirky and funny as usual though thanks to a great performance from Pamela Springsteen.The dialogue is not original but above average for an 80's slasher sequel.The plot is nothing really original either, but it has individual good scenes and some humorous dialogue.That's all I can really think to say about Sleepaway Camp III- Teenage Wasteland.Check this one out if you have the time.Welcome to Camp New Horizons, where an autumn retreat brings together a group of obnoxious rich kids and surly city thugs for an experiment in sharing.But when notorious transsexual psychopath Angela Baker joins the teens, she shares a lesson in butchery with axes, trucks, firecrackers, lawnmowers, and more.Tracy Griffith co- star in this third wild installment of the cult body- count saga, packed with all the cruel killings you love and a bloody cabin full of exclusive extras you've only imagined.Welcome to Sleepaway Camp III: Teenage Wasteland!(6/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cult - Sleepaway 3 "Teenage Wasteland", July 18 2002
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
Finally, at long last, the Sleepaway sequels are soon to be released, and it's about time (on DVD format, not to mention the VHS versions are long out of print).
Pamela Springsteen returns as the "angel of death" Angela, in this 3rd installment of the Sleepaway series. A group of select teenagers, some from wealthy families, some from lower class families are pulled together by new owners, Herman and Lilly Miranda, for an experiment in "caring and sharing" at Camp New Horizons, formerly Camp Rolling Hills.
Angela disguises herself as a registered camper for this camping trip (that's why the campers will know her as "Maria" in this one), and that's how she grabs the opportunity to take part in this project. Upon arrival, the campers are split into 3 diverse groups, and they go seperate ways to set up campsites for a few days of camping, and are supposed to meet up afterwards before they leave. Of course Angela finds that these campers are no different than the previous campers that she's dealt with before, so she sets to do what she does best - disposing of immoral teenagers. When she's finished with her original group of campers, she trades places with another camper from another group to join them, and then finally joins in on the third group when she's done with group #2. Of course the final night of camp is a thrilling adventure with the final 4 surviving campers, so I'll save that part for you to see. All I'll say is like in the "abandoned cabin sequence" in Sleepaway 2, you will get to see all the corpses of the dead campers one last final time in the "find Marsha" game that she sets up for Tony, Anita and Greg. The end of the film is a battle to the death fight between Angela and Marsha.
Definitely a cult horror favorite, as it's a no holds barred film...almost. About 20 minutes of film was cut from the finished version, but you will get to see the extras in the DVD release. For instance, if you remember the scene where Angela kicks Arab into the tent, and when Arab starts to crawl out of the tent, yelling obscenities at Angela, then Angela decapitates her, and all you see is a closeup of Arab, axe between her head and body, and hands twitching. You will get to see what was cut from the film, where Angela kicks the head towards the screen, Arabs hands still twitching in the background. Another scene that was cut was when Angela tied Bobby to the tree while enticing him with "S&M talk". All you got to see was Angela hopping into the jeep (where the rope was tied to), Angela flooring the jeep, watching the rope pulling along the ground and Bobby screaming, blood around his shoulder area and him dropping slowly down the tree. You will get to see the edited part, where his arms actually get ripped off as she's speeding away. Most of these scenes were cut to earn a "rated R", but you'll soon get to see what wasn't originally available. Interviews are also included on this disc. Definitely a treat for the Sleepaway fan! Be sure to check out the "Survival Kit" DVD Boxed set which includes all 3 Sleepaway movies. Enjoy and happy camping!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's the THIRD Sleepaway Camp, and this is a THIRD-rate DVD, July 12 2006
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3 (DVD)
This is the Legacy Entertainment edition of Sleepaway Camp 3. I wouldn't have bought this edition if I knew it was so inferior (compared to the Anchor Bay edition). First of all, the Legacy edition is in full screen and it has no special features. The "trailer" is just an advertisement for other Legacy DVDs. The Anchor Bay edition is a lot better - it has the film's theatrical trailer, an enjoyable audio commentary, and all the extra gore footage that they were forced to cut. Apparently, Sleepaway Camp 3 would've been given an X rating unless the gore was toned down. That goes to show just how draconian the MPAA can be. You won't get to see that extra footage on the Legacy edition. So if you like special features, and if you want to see that gore footage, you'll need to see the Anchor Bay edition. And the Anchor Bay edition is shown in widescreen. I like all three Sleepaway camp movies, but this Legacy edition doesn't cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THIS FILM IS TEENAGE WASTELAND FUN !!!!!!, Sept. 9 2002
By 
Scott MacPherson (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
SLEEPAWAY CAMP III - TEENAGE WASTELAND is much like the second film. Pamela Springsteen is back as Angela only this time, she kills a girl, steals her identity and goes to the new camp with a new set of campers on the same grounds where Angela murdered her victims the year before. An appropiate subtitle, this is a good film to watch if youhave an hour and a half to waste. Teenage Wasteland fun !!!!
This film is presented for the first time in 1.85:1 widescreen and the sound and picture quality are good for a film that was made on a very low budget.
Get your copy today!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was a happy camper for once again, April 16 2004
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
And you should be too.If you love this flicks then you must have this third part.It wont dissapoint you.You have once again lovely Angela,autumn wood,and inventive murders.It is not very scary,but very funny and nostalgic and there is no cure for it:you must love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOTHIN' BUT TALK, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Mable J. Rowan "Mable Jean Dixon Rowan" (ST FRANCISVILLE, LOUISIANA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
I WATCHED THIS ENTIRE DVD AND SAW NOTHING. IT'S ONLY DIRECTORS NARRATING WHAT IS HAPPENING AND WHY. THIS IS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED AT ALL. I THINK THIS WAS A WASTE OF MY MONEY AND TIME. I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS ONE TO ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing, but clearly not as good as the first two films, Aug. 18 2012
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) (DVD)
Filmed back-to-back with Sleepaway Campers 2: Unhappy Campers, this third installment in the series falls quite a bit short of its predecessor and the unforgettable original. To the filmmakers' credit, they once again adapt their stylistic approach, refusing to merely copy what they had done before. As we enter this Teenage Wasteland (a nod to director Michael Simpson's fondness for The Who), we are now fully in horror-comedy mode. In that context, the movie is successful, as our killer tops off each kill with a one-liner and, but this approach ultimately lessens the impact of this film on the viewer. This is something of a robotic experience, lacking any of the emotion that attached itself to the nascent comedic aspects of the first sequel. Despite her prolific and heinous crimes, the Angela of Sleepaway Camp 2 was a somewhat sympathetic character. There was a depth and a degree of sadness to her character - if only those campers hadn't misbehaved and broken the rules, then she wouldn't have had to kill them. Only at the end of Teenage Wasteland does that kind of ambivalence reappear; up to that point, she's just a killing machine.

Angela is a true anti-hero this time around, and you won't even have to feel guilty for rooting her own once you meet the gang at Camp New Horizons. Set in the very location of Camp Rolling Hills (where Angela massacred all the campers a year ago), Camp New Horizons is an "experiment in sharing," bringing together six underprivileged teens alongside six teens from wealthy homes. Stereotypes abound. By and large, the poor kids are all juvenile delinquents of one kind or another, and the rich kids are snooty, racist brats. Only two out of the bunch are even remotely likeable. The camp itself is the brainchild of lecherous oddball Herman (Michael J. Pollard) and Lily Miranda, with Officer Barney Whitmore (Cliff Brand) volunteering as the third counselor. This presents a possible problem for Angela (who killed and took the place of one of the underprivileged campers) because Barney's son was one of her victims a year ago.

The storyline is pretty simple. The campers divide up into three groups, which makes it a lot easier for Angela to take out her victims one by one. She employs various killing tools and techniques, from the basic (beating) to the sublime (flagpole). She seems to enjoy the killings this time around (even putting together a rap song at one point), but her heart just doesn't seem to be in it the way it was in the previous sequel. The same could be said of the film as a whole, as Angela just seems to be going through the motions this time around. Pamela Springsteen still turns in another good performance, but there's nothing about this film that really sets it apart from the crowd of similar films in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars this is the cut version.(2.5/5) for the uncut version Check out the Anchor Bay edition, Oct. 20 2007
This review is from: Sleepaway Camp 3 (DVD)
this movie is not good.the first one almost sucked,but had that unreal
ending to make it worth watching.this one has nothing.there's zero
scare,zero tension or suspense.this isn't really a horror movie.most of
the kills don't show anything.there's no gore to speak of.this could
almost be a TV,except for a bit of nudity and a bit of violence.the
acting is not very good,either.and don't get me started on the
dialogue.as for the surprise ending,surprise,there isn't one.i suppose
it could have been worse,although i don't see how.but then again,it is
less than 80 minutes long,so i guess that's a good thing.although it
felt a lot longer. apparently this is the cut version of the film.i
found it for a very cheap price,but it still not worth it.if you want
the uncut more graphic version,check out the Anchor Bay
edition.anyway,this version of Sleepaway Camp II:Unhappy Campers gets a
big fat 1/10 from me. p.s.if you watch this movie,you will probably be
a bored and unhappy camper.if you are a real fan,you might want to pick
up Anchor Bay's Sleepaway Camp(with survival kit) three disc collection
containing the first three movies uncut and with special features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen)
Sleepaway Camp 3: Teenage Wasteland (Widescreen) by Michael A. Simpson (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 78.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews