Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features
3 DISC SPECIAL EDITION
Special Features
(all special features are in French WITH English subtitles unless otherwise noted)
:: Two Commentaries (in French with NO English subs)
:by actors Samuel Le Bihan and Vincent Cassel
:by director Christophe Gans
:: Deleted Scenes
:: "The Guts of the Beast" Documentary - 78 min.
::...
Published on Jan. 6 2004 by chaddoli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but only good to a fault
If you've read my previous reviews and listmanias, you would already know that I'm quite the fantasy fan. One of my good buddies bought it and thought, perhaps, that I might enjoy it. This foreign film, directed by Christophe Gans ("Crying Freeman"), is among the few films to leave me with so many mixed emotions.
Set in 18th Century France, for over two...
Published on June 24 2004 by Axel Law


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features, Jan. 6 2004
3 DISC SPECIAL EDITION
Special Features
(all special features are in French WITH English subtitles unless otherwise noted)
:: Two Commentaries (in French with NO English subs)
:by actors Samuel Le Bihan and Vincent Cassel
:by director Christophe Gans
:: Deleted Scenes
:: "The Guts of the Beast" Documentary - 78 min.
:: "Behind the Scenes" Documentary - 78 min.
:: Filmographies
:: Trailer
:: "The Legend" Documentary
:: Storyboards
:: Photo Gallery
:: Production Notes Booklet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had to chuckle at some of these reviews!, June 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Wow! Four out of five. Three out of five. You have to be joking don't you? This movie is perfection. Pure, true, honest, stylish. Of course Americans get a bit ruffled when a 'foreign' film shows the good old US of A how 'it's done' yet again. You folk like you're movies with justification, explanation and gradification... all tied up in a bow. This movie is not sugar covered and goes in depth within (I won't give it away for those that have not seen it) an area that goes way back in time and is still happening today (Bohemiam Grove hint hint etc)which has always fascinated me. So why would you not like it? Firstly that pesky 'other' language (yes, it's in French - and so it should be) makes those of less IQ's have to read. Pesky pesky. Secondly it has many layers as a movie and does not always have to explain EVERYTHING that is going on, and instead relies on the intellect of it's viewers and allows us to progress on the journey and make up our own minds as to how, why and who. I will not go into 'explaining' the film as it is done already in the top review and you all seem to explain it over and over again. I am not French as you may all think, and instead an Aussie relieved and satisfied that a certain standard of perfection is retained in some movies in the world. Erotic, scary, action, suspense, intelligent, beautiful. Simply one of the best movies I have seen this year. (I'll put money on it that America will remake this movie very soon... and yet again bugger up another classic foreign film that should have been left well alone! Please don't! I beg you!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a breath of fresh air, Aug. 19 2004
I liked this movie alot but there are certain problems with it one being its lenght... this movie is WAY tooo long. i wish all movies would cut down there time by atleast 30 minutes to 45 minutes cuz length really isnt an advantage. ANYWAYs this movie is also subtitled which is ok just reading a movie isnt as relaxing and fun as jsut watching one in my opinon. i speak many different languages tho( 4 actually and french being oen of them) so i can watch this movie and relax unlike you mono language people.. :P.
I recommend this movie to all those you like movies that are based on folklore and myths. Its an interesting story and a very good movie but if you are a chick flick gal or gent then skip over this one which you probably could have donewith out me telling you because the cover obviously didnt have a guy and a girl on the front. I also recommend those who dont like subtitles to not take up 143 mintues of there life to read subtitles. to everyone else i recommend this movie because it has its own taint of orginality coming from a different country which is alwasy a nice breath of fresh air after being bombared with charlies angles, x men, spiderman and other overly plain and formula action flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, June 29 2004
By A Customer
I understand people have different opinions on movies, but to say this movie is 'dull' is beyond belief! I can only asume the people saying this are religious and find the movie offensive...or hate the French (American's mostly), hate reading subtitles cause they cannot read very well, or just don't understand the film and prefer Die Hard 3! All fair enough. But if you love a good erotic, mysterious, dark adventure you can't go past this movie. I adored it. Finally something intelligent. Now if you are going to anaylse it ie: how did an Indian learn kung fu etc, you need to take a breath and get a life. 'Oh, but it's a silly fable' etc. Well let me remind you, man-kind read a wee book written a long time ago that said a 'man' walked on water and we all fell for that like a tonne of bricks! Isn't THAT 'far fetched' and silly? Yet I'm refering to the bible!!
Getting back to the main topic, Brotherhood of the Wolf is an intelligent fantasy film with everything you need to love this film. The layers of the movie make it a highly enjoyable watch, and of course Mark Dacascos is brilliant yet again. * Did you know that Vincent Cassel, who plays the sly brother, is married to the beautiful Monica Belluci and they are expecting their first child! Just thought you should know that. Monica plays the mysterious sexy [woman]whore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but only good to a fault, June 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
If you've read my previous reviews and listmanias, you would already know that I'm quite the fantasy fan. One of my good buddies bought it and thought, perhaps, that I might enjoy it. This foreign film, directed by Christophe Gans ("Crying Freeman"), is among the few films to leave me with so many mixed emotions.
Set in 18th Century France, for over two years the French countryside has been raided by a savage beast (thought to be a wolf) of unknown origin. The king sends for Fronsac (Samuel Le Bihan), a French cavalier, and his companion Mani (Mark Dacascos), an American indian, to investigate the gruesome deaths by the supposedly large beast. In the meantime Fronsac falls in love with Marianne (Emilie Dequenne) while also bedding with Sylvia (Monica Bellucci).
I know that people usually dislike reviews with spoilers, but in the case of this film, I can't ignore a few spoilers. I found Mani to be the interesting character with his benevolent connection with nature and the creatures around him. I know the kung fu seemed out of place and all, but I didn't really mind it at all (although there is an aspect I disliked about it... later in the review). But I disliked his death midway into the film; he had this humongous battle with the men involved with the beast and then suddenly is killed and tossed aside. There was no dramatic impact, and I found myself disappointed with the way this potentially deep character was treated.
The beast was initially, by Fronsac, dismissed as being a wolf (although you find out that it is indeed a wolf). The director hides his appearance several times; I rather expected it to be fully visible near the end of the picture. Instead, it's revealed rather immediately; I'm not saying he should direct one way or the other, but the initially revelations of the creature are originally from the verbal pictures of the characters, followed by several quick cuts and interesting camera glances. The film spends a lot of time bouncing around the mysterious nature of the creature, and then suddenly just decides to reveal it. It seems out of place, given the context of what the director is hoping to accomplish.
Oh and by the way, the creature was made by Jim Henson's Creature Shop and unfortunately, the beast was lame.
Back to the fight scenes, the fights were fine: however, Mr. Gans often employs the typical MTV-inspired slow-down/speed-em-up editing techniques. This was an irritating drawback for me, as I wanted to admire the choreography instead of wondering they were so needlessly disrupted.
And I think the film's most fatal flaw is its overlength. Two and a half hours may not seem like much in comparison to Peter Jackson's "Lord of the Rings," but seriously, I found myself wanting the film to end after an hour has passed. It's set in a staggering pace, which sometimes isn't a bad thing (see Ridley Scott's "Blade Runner"), but it works against this film. The director employs a lot of stylistic touches to make the film seem like a period film (which is great), but on the other hand, it makes some scenes unnecessarily long (like when he's faking the creature's death, for example).
Overall, the film is not a terrible one, but you may only want to see once. The style of the film is very exotic and beautiful, much like Tim Burton's "Sleepy Hollow," which gives it a fantasy tale look to it... but some of the detractions I've mentioned will turn you off depending on what kind of film fan you are. Three stars overall; perhaps you find me overcritical. Oh well.
PROS: Lavish production, art-fantasy tale style similar to "Sleepy Hollow" and other period-type stories, captivating final fight scene.
CONS: Mani is killed way too soon and with little impact on the viewer, the beast is shown early and is lame, story is stretched to the overkill, MTV-fused fight scenes (with the exception of the final duel).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bloody and boring-save your time and $$, May 30 2004
By 
Judith Johnson "JJ" (Memphis, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kind of the DaVinci Code meets James Fenimore Cooper meets the Hound of the Baskervilles. Set in early 18th century France, the only things it has going for it other than a physically attractive cast in cool costumes is great scenery and beautiful architecture. Starts out with all these frightened, dirty, ugly peasants and that's about where it ends also. In between we have an Anerican Indian who is a better martial artist than Jackie Chan (I know they came over on the land bridge and all that but its a few centuries too soon if you know what I mean), the Catholic church and the royalty as villians and more bright red blood than a Mel Gibson flick. So after watching it for way too long my question is this-Why would a virile adult male pick some milk toast virgin to moon over instead of choosing a hot blooded Italian beauty with the bedrooom skills of a courtesean, the posioning skills of Lucretia Borgia and who is a better fighter than he too boot? Oh well, I only watched it to see Jeremie Renier (La Promesse) as an adult and I am happy to report he has matured very prettily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 18th Century French action packed monster movie., May 27 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
'Le Pacte des loups' or `Brotherhood of the Wolf' is never sure of what it really wants to be, but whenever it tries to be something - it does so very well. The movie is based on a set of real events which occurred in France around the time of the revolution. Because of this the director must satisfy everybody including his French historical peers, scholars, the general French movie-goer and horror enthusiasts........ with a hit of softcore pornography for those that want that too. What you get is a mix of love, terror, kung-fu, monster attacks and French anarchy a brew in glorious widescreen for over two hours.
The film is very French but whenever the beast is being hunted or is running amok the film goes into `super-overdrive'. This is really where the heart of the story should be but there is not enough of this as the plot drifts more into the department of seedy royal undertones and lovers who seem to sleep with everyone else but the ones they are supposed to be loyal too. But the result is pure and utter bedlam for two hours that never sits still or gets tired itself. You will be hard pressed to sit through this film without enjoying at least a good bit of it.
The director has decided that every type of film genre should have its share on the screen. The result is something that is very original, new and has never been seen before! For that 'Le Pacte des loups' scores tops marks, but alas it does have its pitfalls.
The monster does not make enough of an appearance towards the end, but the build up to it is akin to `Jaws'. The love triangles are not needed and are simply there for a taste of `Dangerous Liaisons'. The upper class characters are only explained through their dialogue and interactions but remain quite wooden apart from a good scene involving an Indian, Mani (a superbly acted Mark Dacascos!!.. can u believe it?) telling them what their animal totem is. Although Mani is one of the highlights of the film, not to mention a main character, he never seems to escape the fact that he is just another `Queequeg' from `Moby Dick'.
On the upside the editing, stunts, camera and rain is second to none. The screen violence is executed quite well (this is an extremely bloody picture in the second half) to quell the thirst of the horror fans and the investigation of the beast's species type is a cool neat coy that plays with you right up until the end.
In short, this movie is a rare opportunity to see what an `all genre' film looks like if anything else. Undoubtedly in time it will become a `cult classic'.......and it probably deserves it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it in spite of myself, May 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Despite the horrible MTV-style editing (which is a catalog of dated cliches), Enya-esque River Dance soundtrack, questionable CGI, gratuitous bordello scenes, and a crazy plotline that collapses under its own obesity, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I enjoyed it because it is so unlike the cookie-cutter movies coming out of Hollywood these days. The story seemed fresh and I really didn't have a clue as to where it was going. With a little restraint and discipline this movie could have been truly moving. I actually felt a bit sad for "the beast". As flawed as it is, this movie's originality and energy carry the day. If only the Nintendo-style production paused to fully mine the great characters and themes this unique story offers. Very little of it makes sense, in the end, but it's a fun ride. The idea of placing a Mohawk Indian amidst the provincial nobility of 18th century France is fascinating. This film reminds me of of Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow, The Last of the Mohicans, and Polanski's Tenant all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it a lot, April 29 2004
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Le Pacte des loups or Brotherhood of the Wolf in english is a fantastic movie. This movie has it all in it. There is plenty of martial arts, mystery, sexualtiy, and action in it. The story has enough twists and turns that will want you wanting to watch it again.
It's 18 Century France and the Gevaudan providence is being attacked by a beast. Hundreds of people have been killed by this beast. It's suppose to be some kind of Wolf, but no one knows because all that have seen it have been killed. All they have are the ripped up and maimed bodies.
The King of France is worried about this so he sends in Grefoire de Fronsac(Bihan) to investigate. Fronsac is quite the traveler and renassaince man and he brings his Iroquois Indian companion Manni(Dacascos) with him to help during his investigation.
During his investigation of the beast killings Fronsac discovers the Beast might not be the main problem in the town. He has fallen for one of the local woman aristocrats Marianne(Dequenne). The problem with there relationship is that her brother Jean-Francois(Cassel) is slowing the investigation. Not only does he have love for Marianne but also one of the local town prostitutes Sylvia(Bellucci). She knows to much about people in the town but Fronsac trusts her. With two woman that he loves and his blood brother Manni at his side Fronsac realizes the only problem in Gevaudan might not be a wolf like beast.
Samuel Le Bihan is the man in this movie. This is the only thing I've ever seen him in and I'm quite impressed by the Frenchmans work. He has a certain arrogance and apeal that makes him very likeable. The character that he plays Fronsac is one bad dude. Samuel plays him to perfection and I can't imagine anybody else doing this role.
Mark Dacascos is good as the martial art Indian Manni. Once again this is the first thing I've ever seen this guy in and I'm quite impressed with him. His martial art skills appear to be very good. I hope to see more of him in the future. If you like martial art films you will love Manni and Fronsac.
This is the first movie that I ever saw Monica Bellucci in. It's quite humorous to see her in this movie and then to go back and see her in The Passion of Christ. She plays a prostitute in this movie and she is hot. Oh my gosh does she look good in this film.
The film does drag in a bunch of places as they try to develop the complex myserious story. The parts don't drag all that bad though because of the awe of mystery that is still left. I must admit I was very anxious to see what the beast looked like. I was kind of disappointed when I did see it, but It was different and I respect that.
The martial arts in the film are great. One of the critics I read said it this movie is Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon except put blood into the fighting scenes. I could not agree with him any more. This is a very violent film and the fight sequences are great. Everybody loves to see good sword and fight play. This movie has a lot of it.
The cinematography is excellent in the film. The sets look like 18 century France and you get the feeling as if you are there. The costumes look great from the poor peasants to the rich aristocrats. The score is pretty good and all around it's a very well made movie.
It's a five star movie. Despite being a little long, it was good enough to keep you hooked in the awe of mystery. The fight sequences are great and the performances by the actors and actresses are great. It's a well written movie and the cinematography is Oscar caliber. Go rent this movie first and see if you like it. If you liked it then go buy it. I'm glad I did. Even if it is a French import.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The hidden meaning of The Brotherhood of the Wolf., March 9 2004
By 
"deh1338" (Detroit, MI United States) - See all my reviews
There are two movies going on in this film. One plot is the one you actually see. The other is the theme of hidden messages that most people will not get. If you get them then you will enjoy the movie much more. This is a Templar movie where the Beast being pursued symbolizes the Demonic world that takes over the world by using the face of religion--Roman Catholic Church. There is a secret brotherhood trying to thwart those who speak against the church have become self-serving.To punish the heretics a member uses a trained Lion costumed in armor to kill those who will not submit to his Holy Roman beliefs. The King hires Mon. Chevalier; the main protagonist -- a Naturalist, Illustrator, Warrior, and the Christ figure/hero. His best friend or blood-brother; an Iroquois named Mani--symbolizes man in general and his spiritual connection to nature or earth itself. The female protagonist characters that the Naturalist; Monsieur Chevalier falls for represent the pagan/ritual whore, and the pure virginal royal line ripe for childbearing and legacy building. The wolves represent the lambs. They are victimized by being blamed by the secret brotherhood for all the killing going on. So, they are hunted down and killed. There is a saying, beware of wolves dressed in sheeps clothing. In this film the wolves are dressed as sheep. And, evil men are blaming them for the problems their fanatic beliefs have given rise too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brotherhood of the Wolf (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 49.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews