Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars killer
That one guy who gave it 3 stars is a hater, if I've ever seen one. For a 1.5 hour documentary, they have everything right. This is not just a film for the DJ/hip hop freaks. This disc has something for everyone, especially those just starting down the road of scratching.
There is no way they could have incorporated the tons of DJs that the other poster listed,...
Published on March 25 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat average if not insulting on certain levels....
This dvd/vhs is a subpar at best. The fact that someone on here stated," that after the old school(pre-83)Djin started dyin out?!" Its obvious the director didnt really know anything about djin until he saw Qbert at one of these turntablist venues. The fact that you give the pioneers Bambaataa,Kool Herc,Dxt,Theodore,and Jazzy Jay a meager 20 minutes let alone...
Published on Aug. 8 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars killer, March 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
That one guy who gave it 3 stars is a hater, if I've ever seen one. For a 1.5 hour documentary, they have everything right. This is not just a film for the DJ/hip hop freaks. This disc has something for everyone, especially those just starting down the road of scratching.
There is no way they could have incorporated the tons of DJs that the other poster listed, plus this film is trying to appeal to people who may have never known anything about DJing besides what little is shown on MTV.
Any one who is not a hater will really enjoy this film. Its smart, somewhat funny, and definitely enthusiastic about its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made lemonade out of lemons, Jan. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Ok, I wouldn't quite go so far as to call the djs in this video lemons, but, give Doug Pray credit for assembling a video based on who was accessible for his project. It probably would've been nice to see a bunch of other influential djs, as some of the other reviewers here have mentioned, however, the movie probably wouldn't have been as watchable and entertaining for the cross section of audience members who are new and old to scratchin'. After all, there aren't many movies out there about scratchin', so if you are into it, you should support it so that more funds could be aimed at making documentaries that go a little further in depth. We played this video for a group of people who had a wide range of musical interests and they all enjoyed it. This dvd's content is entertaining and educational. So you should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential viewing for the Hip-Hop generation..., Sept. 15 2003
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I first saw this in the theater with virtually no prior knowledge about it's contents. Needless to say, I was thoroughly impressed. This DVD is a must have for anyone with even a passing interest in DJ culture. A history lesson awaits. This is an excellent product, outlining the evolution of the DJ- from the birth of the break (Kool Herc) to the modern madness of the turntablist. This is an excellent, well-constructed and very entertaining film. Even if you are not into Hip-Hop, chances are you will enjoy this documentary. If you are, I'm sure you have already seen this, if not, BUY IT NOW! This is in my top three all-time documentaries, with 'Dogtown' and 'Freshest Kids'. This is essential viewing for all hipsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat average if not insulting on certain levels...., Aug. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
This dvd/vhs is a subpar at best. The fact that someone on here stated," that after the old school(pre-83)Djin started dyin out?!" Its obvious the director didnt really know anything about djin until he saw Qbert at one of these turntablist venues. The fact that you give the pioneers Bambaataa,Kool Herc,Dxt,Theodore,and Jazzy Jay a meager 20 minutes let alone ommit Grandmaster Flash,Charlie Chase,Whiz kid, Scratch on Galaxy, Knights of the Turntables, to name a few is ridiculous! How the hell can you skip dam near 10 years of Djin and go right to Qbert! Wheres the Mixmaster Ice scratch? Howie Tee? Marly Marl?,the Kday mix show Djs?(Julio G,Dr.Dre,Joe Cooley,Aladdin or Uncle Jams Army?( keith Cooley, Dj Pooh,etc..) Oh my God,one the most influencial scratches ever was the Transformer scratch! and that was given as a out take not seen in film with Cashmoney and Jazzy Jeff, like it wasnt important enough or revelant to todays turntablist. Being from the west coast, there is no mention of Joe Cooley at all for his fast rabid scratch style L.A. was known for,even Miami(Dj Mann,Magic Mike,Ghetto style djs)didnt get any love. This is a very inovative period (1984-1990)that is extremly relevant to today,as far as scratchin is concern. Its startin to play like how rap music is viewed today,with the thought of Run Dmc being old school and nothin happen before that.
Scratchin was creative and innovative before 1991 ya'll. One more thing ,"BODY TRICKS", have ALWAYS been part of dj routines,wheres Dj Scratch on here?! check your history and do not follow every little thing that is stated to you as fact on this Dvd cause its not especially from some people who have been doing this for 3-4 years claiming to be old school but have no crates!! only those battle break records! come on!! come correct! This is NOT the complete history of scratchin in my opinion not by a long shot! If your gonna have Dj shadow(dj/producer)talkin about break beats and crate diggin,then you have to have at least prince paul,or pete rock,or marly marl, or especially mantronix on here. This dvd is probably suited for rave/college kids who like soo many are fad jockers, into it one day, out of it the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, July 29 2003
By 
A. Ort "aorto" (Youngstown, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I have a love affair with vinyl and have loved techno music for years. I appreciated hip-hop and the 'scratch' technique so prevalent in hip-hop, especially the old school stuff. So I bought this primarily for its vinyl content. Can't scratch with CDs y'know.
I was pleasantly surprised. I knew a little about the roots of what is now called 'turntablism' but was not so clear on its distinction from hip-hop and its connection to techno. I certainly know now. The movie goes all the way back to the beginning of the scratching technique.
Some of the big names are here - Qbert, Mix Master Mike (of Beastie Boys fame) and DJ Shadow stand out for me - discussing its origins and rise. Apparently turntables outsell guitars in the UK. I did not realize how popular this genre had become and how intricate its language. It is a genuine art form that risks selling out.
There is some spectacular music in this film and watching these individuals work their turntables is just unbelievable. These are not guys just ripping off beats just to rap to. That is what much of hip-hop has become and this is frowned upon by the turntablists in the film. They clearly mark what they do as distinct from today's hip-hop.
I think that is what stood out the most in this film. These guys love the music. They know this music in ways that few do. They know the best breaks in the songs and how to take these breaks and make them come to life in ways even the original artists would have to appreciate. They use this music to express their love and appreciation of it, resurrecting many songs and the vinyl on which it was recorded from the dead. It was very moving.
Yet they do it out of love and to have fun. While they may take their craft too seriously at times, they are genuinely having fun. Competitions are intense but the comraderie in the development of this art form is incredible.
I had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly moved by this film. Go for the DVD with its extras. The lessons from DJ Z-Trip reveal just how intimately he (and the others) knows and loves the music. You'll never listen to music the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your into any type of hip hop you need this dvd, July 18 2003
By 
R. Libby "RRHL" (Portland, ME) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Wow!
history of hip hop in the truest.
lessons on how to scratch.
deep looks into the thoughts of famous dj's.
excellent production.
Cop this Dvd ... NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, May 8 2003
By 
Something (Poway, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (VHS Tape)
Very informative and interesting video with a great soundtrack. My only complaint is that I bought it for Dj Krush, seeing as how his name was on the front cover, only to find that he was in the video for about 15 seconds. No interview with him, either. I was dissapointed in the 'false advertising', but the movie was entertaining anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be in every Library, Feb. 5 2003
By 
"emceejunk" (Anchorage, AK USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I will get to the point. This film is for anyone who likes music. This film is for anyone who enjoys film. Rent this film from the video rental. Buy it from a store and pass it on, once you're done watching. Tell your public library to add it to the collection because everybody should see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hippa to the hoppa an it just dont stoppa, Jan. 27 2003
By 
"ponda_baba" (Leeds, W. Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Well made... Very well made. This package is so well put together its almost too exhaustive (as if!). The main feature is superb, candidly portraying turntablists in a human light, letting them describe their obsessions with the beats and breaks in their own time. Oh the beats! As the quirky visual editing keeps pleasing the viewer so to does the soundtrack constantly throughout both dvds.
The other stuff includes wicked "tutorials", extra raw interviews, some of the finest looking menu's I've seen fow a while and even a sticker!
I wholeheartedly recommend esp if (like me) you loved other contemporary documentaries ie Beyond the Mat (wrestling) and Dogtown and Z-boys (skating).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great flick!, Dec 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Loved this movie! Does anyone know the name of the DJ Krush song that features towards the end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scratch [Import]
Scratch [Import] by Doug Pray (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 22.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews