Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
I have a love affair with vinyl and have loved techno music for years. I appreciated hip-hop and the 'scratch' technique so prevalent in hip-hop, especially the old school stuff. So I bought this primarily for its vinyl content. Can't scratch with CDs y'know.
I was pleasantly surprised. I knew a little about the roots of what is now called 'turntablism' but was...
Published on July 29 2003 by A. Ort

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat average if not insulting on certain levels....
This dvd/vhs is a subpar at best. The fact that someone on here stated," that after the old school(pre-83)Djin started dyin out?!" Its obvious the director didnt really know anything about djin until he saw Qbert at one of these turntablist venues. The fact that you give the pioneers Bambaataa,Kool Herc,Dxt,Theodore,and Jazzy Jay a meager 20 minutes let alone...
Published on Aug. 8 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat average if not insulting on certain levels...., Aug. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
This dvd/vhs is a subpar at best. The fact that someone on here stated," that after the old school(pre-83)Djin started dyin out?!" Its obvious the director didnt really know anything about djin until he saw Qbert at one of these turntablist venues. The fact that you give the pioneers Bambaataa,Kool Herc,Dxt,Theodore,and Jazzy Jay a meager 20 minutes let alone ommit Grandmaster Flash,Charlie Chase,Whiz kid, Scratch on Galaxy, Knights of the Turntables, to name a few is ridiculous! How the hell can you skip dam near 10 years of Djin and go right to Qbert! Wheres the Mixmaster Ice scratch? Howie Tee? Marly Marl?,the Kday mix show Djs?(Julio G,Dr.Dre,Joe Cooley,Aladdin or Uncle Jams Army?( keith Cooley, Dj Pooh,etc..) Oh my God,one the most influencial scratches ever was the Transformer scratch! and that was given as a out take not seen in film with Cashmoney and Jazzy Jeff, like it wasnt important enough or revelant to todays turntablist. Being from the west coast, there is no mention of Joe Cooley at all for his fast rabid scratch style L.A. was known for,even Miami(Dj Mann,Magic Mike,Ghetto style djs)didnt get any love. This is a very inovative period (1984-1990)that is extremly relevant to today,as far as scratchin is concern. Its startin to play like how rap music is viewed today,with the thought of Run Dmc being old school and nothin happen before that.
Scratchin was creative and innovative before 1991 ya'll. One more thing ,"BODY TRICKS", have ALWAYS been part of dj routines,wheres Dj Scratch on here?! check your history and do not follow every little thing that is stated to you as fact on this Dvd cause its not especially from some people who have been doing this for 3-4 years claiming to be old school but have no crates!! only those battle break records! come on!! come correct! This is NOT the complete history of scratchin in my opinion not by a long shot! If your gonna have Dj shadow(dj/producer)talkin about break beats and crate diggin,then you have to have at least prince paul,or pete rock,or marly marl, or especially mantronix on here. This dvd is probably suited for rave/college kids who like soo many are fad jockers, into it one day, out of it the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, July 29 2003
By 
A. Ort "aorto" (Youngstown, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I have a love affair with vinyl and have loved techno music for years. I appreciated hip-hop and the 'scratch' technique so prevalent in hip-hop, especially the old school stuff. So I bought this primarily for its vinyl content. Can't scratch with CDs y'know.
I was pleasantly surprised. I knew a little about the roots of what is now called 'turntablism' but was not so clear on its distinction from hip-hop and its connection to techno. I certainly know now. The movie goes all the way back to the beginning of the scratching technique.
Some of the big names are here - Qbert, Mix Master Mike (of Beastie Boys fame) and DJ Shadow stand out for me - discussing its origins and rise. Apparently turntables outsell guitars in the UK. I did not realize how popular this genre had become and how intricate its language. It is a genuine art form that risks selling out.
There is some spectacular music in this film and watching these individuals work their turntables is just unbelievable. These are not guys just ripping off beats just to rap to. That is what much of hip-hop has become and this is frowned upon by the turntablists in the film. They clearly mark what they do as distinct from today's hip-hop.
I think that is what stood out the most in this film. These guys love the music. They know this music in ways that few do. They know the best breaks in the songs and how to take these breaks and make them come to life in ways even the original artists would have to appreciate. They use this music to express their love and appreciation of it, resurrecting many songs and the vinyl on which it was recorded from the dead. It was very moving.
Yet they do it out of love and to have fun. While they may take their craft too seriously at times, they are genuinely having fun. Competitions are intense but the comraderie in the development of this art form is incredible.
I had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly moved by this film. Go for the DVD with its extras. The lessons from DJ Z-Trip reveal just how intimately he (and the others) knows and loves the music. You'll never listen to music the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just as Expected, Oct. 22 2002
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I heard a lot of people who are actually into the culture (like me) are disappointed by the film. Yes it omits alot of the really great DJs of the past and present, but what did you expect from a movie geared to the uninitiated? On the commentary track, the director and producer both say "if you want more of the history you should definitely check out WILD STYLE and...John Carluccio's BATTLESOUNDS." What their really saying is, "look if you're a part of this movement, we're sorry this movie is for old people who don't get it, go back to the movies that truly represent your culture."
I hold nothing against Doug Pray for making this movie, I think that for an outsider, he got as close as anyone could without getting the old, mostly white people completely lost. If that had happened, the film would have never been released--period.
I was really happy to see MOST of the legends on real film (and not shotty video like all my other DJ tapes) but yes, it is still inferior to Battlesounds.
Maybe when that DVD is released (I heard it should happen soon) we can direct all who enjoyed this movie to the authentic piece.
Until then, IF YOU STEP UP YOU GET HURT!! (that was dope)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for an outsider, Mediocre for an insider, Aug. 12 2002
By 
Booya (Vancouver, BC CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
SCRATCH premiered here in Vancouver last Thursday, and I got a chance to go and view it with some friends. It is a feature-length documentary film that explores the world of the hip-hop DJ. SCRATCH showcased excellent and hidden-from-mainstream talent, had a smattering of humourous quips (mostly by Jurassic 5's Cut Chemist), alot of amazing scratch footage, and overall the documentary was quite good.
SCRATCH gave an insight into the turntablist scene that we don't get to see much in these modern days - you see someone scratching in a Gap commercial or an ad for Fanta, but you never really learn much about it. SCRATCH is a good example of a proficient and poignant view into where scratch DJing started, where it's been over the last 5 years, and a bit of insight as to where different artists see it going in the future.
The documentary was quite lighthearted - started chronologically with the advent of the first scratch - something GrandWizard Theodore came up while whiffing the record back and forth during one of his mother's lectures. From there it took you on a journey of interviews and quips from DJs discussing the full gambit of flora and fauna relating to the world of turntablism - where their inspiration comes from, attempts at annotating the art, different styles from beat juggling to faderless scratching, how and why the DJ got started, what the role of a DJ is in music today, and whether or not the turntable is actually considered an instrument. Fascinating for a newcomer to the genre of scratching and turntablism, and at the same time invigorating and refreshing for the veteran - scratch DJs worldwide will become inspired by this documentary to elevate and innovate their styles and game.
It was great to see some DJs from around the world, but I think that it was focused a little too much on the american male DJ cross section. Although I understand in a documentary you can only have so many objects of information, but there could have been a greater global influence with interviews from some of the worldwide players like Dexta from Australia, DJ Shine from Denmark, A-Trak or Jr Flo from Canada, Woody, Plus One from the UK, the list goes on. The other thing that was lacking was the focus of females in the scratching scene - although DJ Faust's girlfriend Shortee was featured, there are some extremely talented female DJs out and about that put a lot of the guys in the scene to shame.
There were a couple of other things that were obviously lacking in this documentary, namely DJ Jazzy Jeff, who invented the transform and chirp scratch, and DJ D-Styles who ranks above most of the people in this documentary. I would have also liked to see some examples of where scratching is going, and where the new branches are taking the art form, but then again you only have 90 minutes. It's too bad that they had to put in 'filler' with interviewing Q-Bert's marketing manager Yoga Frog, who simply praised Q the whole time, and Tony Prince, the hardly sober man allegedly behind the DMC Championships.
In conclusion, SCRATCH was a relatively well informed look into turntablism - the artform and the culture. Although it could have been better, I was impressed with the DJs that they did use, the message they conveyed, and most importantly the footage that they showcased. This is a "must see" for those of you who don't know much about scratching or turntablism, and a "maybe see" for those of you that do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best film without sheila e or the fat boys?? - SCRATCH, Nov. 25 2002
By 
"muroks" (torrance, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Doug Pray has done an excellent job capturing the essence of the scratch dj movement. Starting with the birth of the scratch and showing many of the influential figures in the development of the culture, this documentary is entertaing, as well as informative. I can recommend this for anyone who has even the slightest interest in the genre - they will gain much insight into the oft-misunderstood hip hop/ scratch dj culture. For a dj who is already involved and knowlegeable in the culture (such as myself), this film should provide as an entertaing photo album of sorts, not to mention.. the best tool to help your family, friends, or significant other understand what the heck you've been doing all these years! (it worked for me) With the slight exception of a few key figures overlooked (djs- jazzy jeff, cash money, aladdin) this is quite possibly the finest hip-hop documentary ever!! also recommended - keepin' time by B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well made....BUT...., Sept. 12 2002
By 
-Paul E Kilianski--- (Power Kingdom, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Very well made and entertaining documentary that fails only in it's representation of the true pioneers of the craft. Far too much time is spent on Bay Area DJ's (QBert, Shadow, etc.), and while those cats certainly deserved their propers, there is absolutely no mention of Philly legends like Cash Money, Jazzy Jeff or Spinbad. These guys were absolutely pivitol in elevating the art of scratching to new hights (I'd even go so far as to say it's tantamount to ommiting Louis Armstrong from a history of Jazz). My only other criticism is that I sometimes felt the filmmakers were a bit too ambitious with their subject matter. There are far too many angles to cover (the scratch dj, the beat digger, the producer, etc.) to cover each one succinctly within it's 90 or so minutes. I've heard that there were interviews with Cash Money and perhaps others that were left on the cutting room floor. Hopefully they show up on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made lemonade out of lemons, Jan. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Ok, I wouldn't quite go so far as to call the djs in this video lemons, but, give Doug Pray credit for assembling a video based on who was accessible for his project. It probably would've been nice to see a bunch of other influential djs, as some of the other reviewers here have mentioned, however, the movie probably wouldn't have been as watchable and entertaining for the cross section of audience members who are new and old to scratchin'. After all, there aren't many movies out there about scratchin', so if you are into it, you should support it so that more funds could be aimed at making documentaries that go a little further in depth. We played this video for a group of people who had a wide range of musical interests and they all enjoyed it. This dvd's content is entertaining and educational. So you should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential viewing for the Hip-Hop generation..., Sept. 15 2003
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
I first saw this in the theater with virtually no prior knowledge about it's contents. Needless to say, I was thoroughly impressed. This DVD is a must have for anyone with even a passing interest in DJ culture. A history lesson awaits. This is an excellent product, outlining the evolution of the DJ- from the birth of the break (Kool Herc) to the modern madness of the turntablist. This is an excellent, well-constructed and very entertaining film. Even if you are not into Hip-Hop, chances are you will enjoy this documentary. If you are, I'm sure you have already seen this, if not, BUY IT NOW! This is in my top three all-time documentaries, with 'Dogtown' and 'Freshest Kids'. This is essential viewing for all hipsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hippa to the hoppa an it just dont stoppa, Jan. 27 2003
By 
"ponda_baba" (Leeds, W. Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
Well made... Very well made. This package is so well put together its almost too exhaustive (as if!). The main feature is superb, candidly portraying turntablists in a human light, letting them describe their obsessions with the beats and breaks in their own time. Oh the beats! As the quirky visual editing keeps pleasing the viewer so to does the soundtrack constantly throughout both dvds.
The other stuff includes wicked "tutorials", extra raw interviews, some of the finest looking menu's I've seen fow a while and even a sticker!
I wholeheartedly recommend esp if (like me) you loved other contemporary documentaries ie Beyond the Mat (wrestling) and Dogtown and Z-boys (skating).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars killer, March 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scratch [Import] (DVD)
That one guy who gave it 3 stars is a hater, if I've ever seen one. For a 1.5 hour documentary, they have everything right. This is not just a film for the DJ/hip hop freaks. This disc has something for everyone, especially those just starting down the road of scratching.
There is no way they could have incorporated the tons of DJs that the other poster listed, plus this film is trying to appeal to people who may have never known anything about DJing besides what little is shown on MTV.
Any one who is not a hater will really enjoy this film. Its smart, somewhat funny, and definitely enthusiastic about its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scratch [Import]
Scratch [Import] by Doug Pray (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 21.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews