Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "Anatomy of a Collapse" is the epic-saga of courage.
Watching this video-documentary of the aptly titled "Anatomy of a Collapse" was so touching. It broke my heart to see the towers go down by the blatant-misdeeds of some brash - and otherwise sadistic - "Middle Eastern" Terrorists, who maliciously used these jumbo jets "kamakazee-style," which subsequently led to the unthinkable shedding of innocent blood. It's a day that...
Published on July 17 2003 by Tagman77

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Comment on review by tagman77 from Bountiful, UT
While I appreciate tagman77's passionate editorial on the events of September 11, 2001, it lacks an actual review of the DVD.
This style of writing is more "Letter to the Editor" than anything else and didn't give me any indication as to what the DVD is actually like.
Any other reviews out there?
Published on Jan. 12 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Painfully logical, Feb. 23 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
Although I was but a few miles away from the WTC on that awful day, I was spared watching it unfold. Like many New Yorkers, it took me a couple of years to even begin to look at the videos surrounding the disaster. The first thing I watched was Ken Burns' final episode to his NEW YORK documentary. Because I had seen the previous seven parts, and had loved them, I knew this subject would be in good hands, and it was.
This documentary, ANATOMY OF A COLLAPSE, was the next I watched. It, too, struck be as well-conceived and intelligently explained. The CGI work supporting the expert analysis was an enormous aide to understanding the chain reaction that led to the implosions. Still, this is an unbearably sad documentary that seemed a little too coldly analytical, almost distant: something the Burns' documentary avoided. But I think everyone will have a different emotional response to anything about the WTC disaster. For this reason, I hope people will watch this video to gain a solid understanding of the whys and hows those beautiful silver towers crumbled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Anatomy of a Collapse" is the epic-saga of courage., July 17 2003
By 
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
Watching this video-documentary of the aptly titled "Anatomy of a Collapse" was so touching. It broke my heart to see the towers go down by the blatant-misdeeds of some brash - and otherwise sadistic - "Middle Eastern" Terrorists, who maliciously used these jumbo jets "kamakazee-style," which subsequently led to the unthinkable shedding of innocent blood. It's a day that will live in infamy. They had this pretentious notion they were being "martyrs" (with a sinister-ploy) who were hell-bent on destroying this country and the people to the core, just to fulfill thier selfish desires. Euphemistically speaking: they aren't martyrs...they're the "scum-of-the-earth" who are "cold-blooded killers," as far as I'm concerned. They had a conviction with a predisposition, conspiring to perpetuate this never-ending cycle of vile terrorist-acts on American soil. This is from the unscrupulous-minds from a couple of "good-for-nothings" with an ill will for Americans. They're jealous because of an amiable, capitalistic society, with the affulence, and the precious freedoms and liberties we enjoy as Americans. (It's pure nirvana, to have the opportunity to live in this country.) All of this is made possible by the ultimate sacrifices of the brave men and women, who have valiantly fought for the affirmitive. The sacred union of America, for which we earnestly strive to preserve, is what makes this country so great.
The bizzare turn of events which have transpired since 9/11, made an indelible mark on the world with which we live in. The ramifications that soon followed on 9/11: was the imminent grounding of all commercial and non-essential flights. The air-traffic in and around The United States, along with a staggering economy, was at a virtual standstill. "Anatomy of a Collapse" is the epic-saga of courage. This was so eloquently put together with the exclusive-interviews from world-renowned architects, heads of government and of major corporations. There are so many good people out there who made generous contributions to this story. The brilliant presentation has the narration in the background, giving it's viewers a "nuts & bolts" perspective on how The World Trade Center was built - from the ground up. And also, the ones who were directly involved in the building of the WTC explains to us in chronilogically bone-chilling detail, precisely where, when, and how the towers collapsed. It's an expose of sorts, were they put the blame on the structural-integrity (among other minuscule details) on how the Twin Towers couldn't withstand the intense heat of burning jet-fuel, which severely compromised it's dubious engineering merits. This video is a "must-have" for history buffs, or those of us with a propensity for watching a significant story unfold, like the tragic events which occured on September 11, 2001. May we all remember in our hearts, the fallen heros of that day. I'd like to express my boundless-gratitude to the NYPD, FDNY, The American Red Cross, President George W. Bush, NYC Mayor Rudolph Guiliani, N.Y. Governor George Pataki, among others, who had the undaunting task and the fortitude of selflessly volunteering their time - in such extraordinary circumstances - by ensuring the safety and the well-being of the great people of New York City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Inside Look at the Effects of a Horrific Act, Nov. 4 2002
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
Being a regular viewer of TV disaster documentaries, I checked this show out when it premiered on The Learning Channel several months after the horrific events it depicts and discusses. It goes into the history of Manhattan's World Trade Center from its initial conception to its construction through to the first WTC attack on in 1993 to the infamous attack that finally brought the massive towers down on that fateful September morning. Also shown in computer-animated demos are the innovative construction techniques (e.g. "tubes" and "trusses") that made the creation of such a huge building possible, and also unfortunately led to its eventual demise.

Some might argue that this documentary takes a too-clinical and unemotional look at the disaster. Personally, I found this to not be the case: in the many interviews of the key people behind the building's conception and creation, it is apparent that all of them are still shaken by the loss of the structure they'd spent so many years and untold millions of dollars to build and maintain. And the scenes featuring federal agents processing the WTC rubble at New Jersey's 'Fresh Kills' landfill is sure to grab your gut as well.
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the DVD offered for free, May 25 2004
By 
Michael Knorr (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
In spite of what some 'reviewers' have stated, this is not the DVD the government was giving away. That DVD is called 'Up From Zero' and can be requested at [...]
Good luck though, I requested my copy last fall and have yet to receive it, tho I got an email in December saying the demand was enormous and it should be shipped in 2 weeks (still waiting and just requested it again).
From the website:
"Up From Zero" is a documentary film that pays tribute to the brave men and women of the New York City building trades who put themselves on the line on September 11, 2001 - and for nine months afterward - to reclaim Ground Zero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See And Hear It All Explained, Jan. 9 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
For some reason this documentary seems to put that entire horrible day into perspective. To know exactly how those planes entered the towers, how they hit, why the fire was so intense, why people jumped, why the towers collapsed, seem to satify that angry, sad itch people have to just want to know "how" and "why". It is also touching at points, especially when irony is obvious when an engineer states that "even a 727 could not knock over the building". It's heavy stuff, but seems to answer some questions that are nagging at so many Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling!!!, Oct. 6 2002
By 
Mr. KnowItAll "The DVD GURU" (In a galaxy far, far away!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
This is a very powerful documentary. I saw it when it was on TV and so I bought it the day it was released on DVD. As of this writing I still have not watched it again. It's very strange how everything falls into place to make you realize that the Twin Towers NEVER had a chance. Watch it for yourself and you will awaken into a whole new world of reality. Unfortuneately....it's an EVIL world! God bless America and it's Allies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Comment on review by tagman77 from Bountiful, UT, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
While I appreciate tagman77's passionate editorial on the events of September 11, 2001, it lacks an actual review of the DVD.
This style of writing is more "Letter to the Editor" than anything else and didn't give me any indication as to what the DVD is actually like.
Any other reviews out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Kills, Dec 29 2002
By 
Joe (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
Please note that the author above mentioned New Jersey's Fresh Kills. It is in Staten Island, NYC and NOT New Jersey. I live 3 miles away and also worked across the street from tower 2 (Liberty Street) in the BT building and was there that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute cover up., Jan. 21 2007
This review is from: World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import] (DVD)
It is so funny how these government and corporate sponsored DVD's try to paint elaborate lies about what happened on September 11 and this DVD is no different. It is so funny how the laws of physics were somehow suspended on 9/11 according to this DVD. Anyone with any knowledge can see that the twin towers and especially building 7 could not have fallen in the manner that they did without explosives. The cover up will be exposed someday and I hope it is soon. I recommend 'Loose Change' for a more realistic documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Trade Center: The Anatomy of a Collapse [Import]
CDN$ 58.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews