Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gave me a case of the willies that's into its 3rd year...
I don't actually like horror flicks, and this movie is one of the main reasons why. Not because it sucked, but because it did its job too well (on me at least). It's creepy and smart and suspenseful and creepy and gripping and creepy... I saw this thing purely by accident a few years ago on a sunny summer afternoon and I STILL have nightmares about the ending (the movie's...
Published on Feb. 7 2006 by Ian Anderson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great on atmosphere and setting, weak on plot
About ten minutes into Session 9, I was completely prepared to love this movie. The setting, an old, empty insane asylum with its own morgue and cemetary, was creepy as hell; and the premise about a cleanup crew hired to eliminate asbestos tiles and other toxic materials had real potential. Also, the characters and the acting were above average for a modern horror...
Published on Oct. 30 2002 by Brian J. Hardin


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gave me a case of the willies that's into its 3rd year..., Feb. 7 2006
By 
Ian Anderson "moviestar222" (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
I don't actually like horror flicks, and this movie is one of the main reasons why. Not because it sucked, but because it did its job too well (on me at least). It's creepy and smart and suspenseful and creepy and gripping and creepy... I saw this thing purely by accident a few years ago on a sunny summer afternoon and I STILL have nightmares about the ending (the movie's not called Session 9 for nothing). Minimal violence/gore, true, but you know the old adage abut how "less is more"? Brrrr, I've got the heebie-jeebies all over again just thinking about it. To conclude, I may have been permanently traumatized by Session 9, and if that doesn't deserve a 5-star rating I don't know what does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great on atmosphere and setting, weak on plot, Oct. 30 2002
By 
Brian J. Hardin (Garland, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
About ten minutes into Session 9, I was completely prepared to love this movie. The setting, an old, empty insane asylum with its own morgue and cemetary, was creepy as hell; and the premise about a cleanup crew hired to eliminate asbestos tiles and other toxic materials had real potential. Also, the characters and the acting were above average for a modern horror flick. For these reasons, I give the movie three stars.
The problem with this movie is, it never quite delivers on what the first few minutes promises you. This asylum offers a lot of scare potential that the movie doesn't take advantage of. And I really don't mind a scary movie starting slow, but Session 9 STAYS slow. It doesn't pick up the pace until the last fifteen minutes or so...and the ending, designed to be a shocking twist, just isn't.
So, bottom line: if you're a hardcore horror fan, check this one out. It might work better for you than it did for me. Other movie viewers should probably steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY!, May 7 2004
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
This is a very disturbing film! Creepy special effects, excellent (yet creepy) cinematography, and a VERY creepy soundtrack that will send chills down your spine. The acting (for the most part) was nothing to brag about, but the performance on behalf of Peter Mullan was excellent.
This is not a movie for people who are without a brain; you will have to put your thinking caps on for this one. I strongly recommend watching it more then once because there are things that you will probably miss the first time around. This truly is a psychological thriller, and one that will most likely freak you out! I found the amount of profanity in this movie to be both unnecessary and annoying, but other then that....it's pretty clean. If you like intelligently made horror movies (they are rare today) you will love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, but missed the mark with unanswered questions, Oct. 6 2002
By 
Just Bill (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
I watched Session 9 last night before I went to bed. It was around 11:30, and I didn't turn off the set until after 1:00.
Big mistake.
I went to sleep on edge, feeling really weird, like all the dark shadows contained some sort of...I don't know.
And that's just it: I don't know.
I don't now what the antagonist was in Session 9. I don't know what the point of the movie was. I don't know what to make of the ending. Was it supernatural, like The Shining? Or was it merely psychological, like any guy-under-pressure-kills-people movie?
I don't know.
The asylum was way beyond creepy. It, alone, deserves the three stars I gave this movie. But the plot is weak, and the wrap-up was even weaker. More spookiness could have been wrung out of this movie if the writer/director had utilized the setting more effectly and shown flashbacks to when the asylum was in full use. Or shown ghosts. Or shown things moving in the asylum that weren't human. Or something.
I can't recommend Session 9 -- although I wish I could. It's a great idea. But it was flawed in its execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Creepy location + no suspense = complete underacheiver, Sept. 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
This movie had potential. Still frames of the Danvers hospital will send a chill up your spine. However, the story just does not create any suspense.
The movie has the typical formula of 95% introduction, 5% climax and ending with no middle section. No gradual building of suspense that keeps you at the edge of your seat.
Nothing related to the story really happens in the first 95% of the movie, and then in the last 5%, a chain of events occurs. The only problem is that most viewers probably know exactly who is behind the chain of events the minute the first event happens. So there is no "whodunnit" supspense whatsoever (watch the deleted scenes and director's commentary and you will see this is the type of suspense he was going for). The only suspense is that you are waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting for something to happen. Then it does and you know exactly who did it and why. It is like watching 3 hours of convenience store surveilence tape in anticipation of a robbery and then the thief walks in, waves to the camera, and takes off his mask.
The setting is awesome, the acting is pretty good, and the characters are likeable... but the story [stinks]!!!
Even though it is a suspense film (which are not believable to begin with, but that is the point), certain things do have to add up to for the film to have any credibility. One huge thing doesn't! Why doesn't Mike just take the tapes home instead wasting the whole work week listening to them, especially when they are trying to get the project done in one week! The movies does a pretty good job of depicting him as a bright, hard-working guy. So why, you ask, would he do something so stupid? Why? Because the sessions are creepy and the director wants to distract you from the fact that nothing is really happening. The result? The whole film seems contrived.
[weak].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This movie has "DIRECT TO VIDEO" written all over it, Sept. 12 2002
By 
TallGuyMe (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
The creepiest thing about this movie are the images of the asylum itself, however, the director fails to use the creepiness to it's full extent. Showing eerie rooms in wide angle, and blinding broad daylight hardly adds to the suspense. Take a few pages out of David Fincher's playbook, and get back to us.
This movie really is just weak. The acting is awful (Especially the young kid with the mullet), the direction is juvenile, the script is pretty bad, and the casting... well... it's no surprise that David Caruso is the "big named talent" for this piece of junk.
The worst part of this movie, is the extra footage, showing an interview with the writer-slash-director, who talks about "his creation" like he created the next "Citizen Kane". Talk about being pompous. This guy needs to get a clue. He is one inch away from directing "10-10-321" commericals (come to think of it, I can safely say, that at least would hold the audience attention more than this steaming pile of clap-trap!)
The big mystery previously left unanswered is this:
I gave it 2 stars, instead of 1, because I live close to Danvers, MA, where this film takes place. That's it folks. That's the reason. Locale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sorry folks..., March 21 2002
By 
Larry L. Looney (Austin, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
...I always enjoyed David Caruso's work on television, but I have yet to see him in a film that I feel truly showcases his talents. Also, I rarely write negative reviews -- of films, books, or music -- but after watching this last night, I feel like I've been insulted.
The building in this film -- an abandoned mental hospital -- is definitely possessed of a personality of its own, but I can't say much for the charcters or plot. Several interesting avenues are approached -- but none of them are explored at any length or with any intelligence. One of the characters in the film stumbles upon a cache of tapes relating to a notorious sexual abuse case, involving efforts of doctors to awaken repressed memories in a multiple-personality disorder patient -- but other than listening to a few of the tapes and making some notes, that's as far as this is explored.
I also found it a little hard to swallow that the haz-mat team featured in the film, pressed to do what they admit is at least a two-to-three week job in a week's time, finds so much opportunity to sit around and irritate each other and explore the various rooms and corridors of the hospital.
The atmosphere depicted in the film was nicely portrayed, but that's about the only plus I could find in it. I was left feeling like I had wasted an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gothic thriller , Rubbish!!, March 19 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
I rented this DVD the other day thinking it would be a scary movie. The only thing scary about this movie is that it was put on film in the first place. It could have been a good movie if Alfred Hitchcock had come back from the grave to direct it. The movie starts out so well but by the time it ends you have spent so much time trying to figure out who the killer is that you are not paying attention to subtle clues in the movie. The only unsettling thing about this movie is the time I wasted watching it. The movie never comes together.The story was a good one, it was just a shame the movie wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars much more realistic than i expected, May 20 2004
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
i thought this would be a supernatural movie. its not. its about these several guys who go to an abandoned mental asylum to clean it from its old, old...stuff. 2 of the cleaners in particualr are alittle off from the begining. one of them keeps having flashbacks and suffers a hidden mental breakdown, while the rest endure odd happenings inside the creepy asylum. throughout the entire movie it somehow keeps you interested. i guess because its so confusing and you just want to figure out what the hells going on! theres very few scary parts, which makes those few parts even more impactful. at the end, the film reveals, somewhat, what all the twists in the movie were about and what exactly was going on with the characters. they all go alittle crazy by the end, yet one in particular just loses it and...well, youll see. the first time i watched it, and so far the only time i watched it, i hated the movie because it gave all of this suspense which lead up to a completely confusing dud ending. but then, after i thought about it for hours, i figured it out...partially. i do believe they shouldve left the alternate subplot in there about the homeless lady. yes, it would have made it even more confusing, but still, it was a better ending. and by the way, for those of you who didnt understand what was going on with the alternate footage---turn the commentary on! my suggestions is dont buy it at first. rent it. then, dont judge it at first. think about it till your head falls off. but heres a hint: the only reason its so complicated, is because its so simple. oh, and i forgot to mention one of the best addons in the movie---the very believable mary hobbes. shes the woman in the session tapes that has multiple personalities. at the end we finally get to hear simon speak as he infests our imagination with lines that tie the movies plots all together...kind of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The weak and the wounded..., April 26 2004
By 
Deckard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Session 9 [Import] (DVD)
I can forgive the guy who said that the Session 9 tape after which the film is title, was 'Ultimately, a Macguffin', because I assume that he thinks a Macguffin is something served at McDonalds with egg and bacon.. Quite obviously to anyone who experiences the film with their eyes and ears, the 'session 9' tape is the complete embodiment of the psycholoogical theme of the film. It's the recorded session where the personification of the patient's potential repressed capability for evil finally manifests - the trait of humanity that the voice describes as living in 'the weak and the wounded'. So there's a huge and blindingly obvious parallel between the patient's final session, and Gordon - even to the extent that the final tape plays out as we begin to uncover the truth about him. And as for 'confusing sub-plots', what sub plots? Is someone really complaining about a subplot about a vagrant woman that was REMOVED in it's entirity from the film by the director because he felt it didn't work? Erm... what? Incidently, these scenes are available as extras along side a nice documentary and a superb commentary from some great filmmakers. The film expertly straddles the line between psychological and supernatural horror intermingling the two with creepy and disturbing expertese. It's superb, a great story that is brilliantly performed, and directed. If you're not afraid to engage your brain, give it a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Session 9 [Import]
Session 9 [Import] by Brad Anderson (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 16.36
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews