Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Work
Another Terentino addition to my library of favourites !!! If you like Terentino stuff then you'll like this one, for sure!
Published 16 months ago by Gregory McCamis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not widescreen, less than fullscreen.
I love this movie, but the widescreen version isn't widescreen, it is fullscreen with black bars that erase the top and bottom of the picture. See also my reviews of the Shawshank Redemption DVD as it is also flawed. Compare the two versions of Jackie Brown. It is easy enough to see in the scene where Bridgit Fonda services Robert DeNiro. Her buns disappear in the...
Published on June 12 2000 by Bill Richards


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not widescreen, less than fullscreen., June 12 2000
By 
Bill Richards (Laguna Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
I love this movie, but the widescreen version isn't widescreen, it is fullscreen with black bars that erase the top and bottom of the picture. See also my reviews of the Shawshank Redemption DVD as it is also flawed. Compare the two versions of Jackie Brown. It is easy enough to see in the scene where Bridgit Fonda services Robert DeNiro. Her buns disappear in the widescreen version but are fully visible in the fullscreen version. I took both these "widescreen" items back to the point of purchase, demonstrated the difference and was promptly granted a refund. We should check our 1.85-1 ratio videos to see what other movies are flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Work, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jackie Brown (Collector's Edition, Bilingual) (DVD)
Another Terentino addition to my library of favourites !!! If you like Terentino stuff then you'll like this one, for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you saying?....Tarantino's world is a cool place, Dec 10 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you were to take this film, and compare it to Tarantino's earlier work, you'd never guess they came from the same director and yes baby he did a great job with "Jackie." This is one of those films which is strange but yet captivating. You'll definitely feel as though you are watching a "Blaxploitation" flick to the point that you'll be wondering what corner Richard Roundtree was hiding behind.

Tarantino slows down a little and shows his skill at plotting an entertaining tale that doesn't tax your patience. In here, you do get less blood and more characterizations than usual and is unlike either of his first 2 movies. In Jackie Brown, Tarantino takes us for a ride as we follow Jackie Brown (Pam Grier), a flight attendant helping an arms dealer named Ordell Robbie (Samuel L. Jackson) get money where it needs to be. After a flight, she is pull aside by two cops, one being Ray Nicolet (Michael Keaton), who find the cash she is smuggling in for Ordell. Now she faces jail time and Ordell must get rid of somebody who might snitch. What happens now is the bail bondsman Max Cherry (Robert Forster) and Brown team up to mess with Ordell and his two pot smoking companions, Melanie (Bridget Fonda) and Louis Gara (Robert De Niro). Now it's a nice plot of how Ordell wants the half a million dollars he has coming to him with these arms deals and how Jackie Brown is the only connection between Ordell and the police and Cherry.

This movie received an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actor (Robert Forster) and many good reviews. Forster isn't the only one giving a great performance. De Niro, Fonda, Jackson, Grier, Keaton, even Chris Tucker who is in the movie for probably less than five or ten minutes gives a notable performance. The whole ensemble is incredibly well casted and deserves to be recognized.

However, this movie is uniquely Quentin T. and exhibits his versatile film making style. When he directs he allows his imagination free rein to experiment and explore. Each of his directorial efforts has been unique, and "Jackie Brown" is another successful experiment. This movie does have great dialogue. Not surprising considering this WAS an Elmore Leonard book with Tarantino doing the scripting. Both men have quite a talent for what they do. It is also clear that Tarantino loves what he does, sometimes a little too much.

I have the soundtrack and just loved it. If you own it you will see how great the songs fit in and the dialogue. Loved the scene when they're all going to the mall at the end, and DeNiro's car is playing "Midnight Confession," and Forster's car is playing the Delfonics, "Didn't I Blow Your Mind" (a song that desperately needed re-discovery, thank you Quentin), and Jackie's car is playing "Street life!" and when Robert Forster first meets Jackie as he's bailing her out and "Natural High" comes on!!!!. Yes, QT is BRILLIANT when it comes to the use of music in his films and soundtracks. At the end of this, all the adventures and bizarre paths taken by these characters converge into a great film. What more can I say but to highly recommended this film along with the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino's world does seem like cool a place!,, June 26 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jackie Brown (Collector's Edition, Bilingual) (DVD)
Tarantino did a great job with Jackie Brown. This is one of those films which is strange but yet captivating. You'll definitely feel as though you are watching a "Blaxploitation" flick from the 1970's. Almost to the point that you'll be wondering what corner Richard Roundtree was hiding behind.

Pam Grier, Samuel L. Jackson, Robert Forster, Michael Keaton and De Niro are all stellar as the extreme characters they play in this movie which focuses on lost drug money. Tarantino slows down a little and shows his skill at plotting an entertaining tale that doesn't tax your patience. In here, you do get less blood and more characterizations than usual and is unlike either of his first 2 movies.

However, this movie is uniquely Quentin T. and exhibits his versatile film making style. When he directs he allows his imagination free rein to experiment and explore. Each of his directorial efforts has been unique, and "Jackie Brown" is another successful experiment. This movie does have a very good dialogue. Not surprising considering this WAS an Elmore Leonard book with Tarantino doing the scripting. Both men have quite a talent for what they do. It is also clear that Tarantino loves what he does, sometimes a little too much.

At the end of this, all the adventures and bizarre paths taken by these characters converge into a great film. Highly recommended along with the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatest movie ever, Sept. 30 2004
By 
Lauren (Halifax, Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jackie Brown (Collector's Edition, Bilingual) (DVD)
i really enjoyed this movie, the plot is really slick and its on my top 25 list. The way jackie manuvers her plan throughout the movie puts Tarantino on the top of my director/writers list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Awesome! Fantastic!, July 13 2004
By A Customer
Nobody and I mean nobody makes movies like Quentin Tarantino. JACKIE BROWN is one of the greatest movies of all time. Personally, This is my favorite of Quentin Tarantino's films. So get your copy of JACKIE BROWN today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, De Niro is fun, July 5 2004
By 
M. Buisman (Amstelveen, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jackie Brown is certainly not Tarantino's best but it is amusing. As in pretty much every movie Samuel L Jackson plays a pretty important part as a gunrunner. He lives in a LA house with the very hot Bridget Fonda. A friend who just came out of jail lives with him and helps him. This is absolutely the funniest character in the movie, played by De Niro. He is a little dumb, lazy and slow but funnily played.
Key to the movie is Pam Grier as Jackie Brown, the smartest person in the movie because she can play both sides, the feds and the criminals and ends up with a lot of dough.
Not a super movie and with 150 minutes definitely too long, but still fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite PULP FICTION, but certainly worthy Tarantino, June 18 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Quentin Tarantino. You watch him speak about his art in interviews, and while I realize what I'm responding to might simply be a cleverly-wrought public persona, his energy and enthusiasm for his craft is just so infectious that one cannot help but be energized too. That energy certainly carries over into his movies, and while he may not be the most thrillingly visual director, his undeniable gift for dialogue more than compensates in his films.
PULP FICTION, as of now, is my favorite movie; the dialogue sparkles with wit, and I could hear those lines over and over again without ever getting tired of them. JACKIE BROWN, his follow-up to PF, is just as good as PF, if not quite its superior. Many complained upon its release that this movie was too sluggish and slow-moving (the above Editorial Review calls it "decaffeinated"). Sure, the plot of this movie certainly could become a taut, exciting thriller under another director's hands. But clearly writer-director Tarantino isn't aiming merely for action-movie thrills. He is also focused on his characters, particularly with the two older characters, Jackie Brown (Pam Grier) and Max Cherry (Robert Forster), two characters who have an unspoken attraction to each other that brings an intriguing undertone to a majority of the crime story. If Tarantino takes his time developing his characters and laying out the plot...well, the characters' dialogue is consistently full of life; the characters are interesting (and the performances terrific across the board, particuarly Forster's); and the convoluted plot, when it kicks into high gear, is a source of fascination as well. Watching it, I hardly ever felt that it was too slow for its own good: I was too fascinated by what I was seeing and hearing to notice any possible deficiencies in pacing. (Another Elmore Leonard adaptation, Steven Soderbergh's OUT OF SIGHT, took a similarly leisurely approach to its crime plot, and it worked just as well in that film, too.)
In short, JACKIE BROWN is an underrated Tarantino masterpiece. It may not be quite the film PULP FICTION is (since it had a more palpably energetic feel to it, despite both films' running 154 minutes), but it is certainly a worthy follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino is the man, June 17 2004
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jackie Brown is the third film from Quentein Tarantino. The pop cultre master has made another perfect film, and put simply this guy is the man.
Jackie Brown(Grier) is a flight attendant for the worst air line in the U.S.. She doesn't like her job alot, but it pays her bills and lets her work. Ordell(Jackson) is a guns dealer. He sells guns to whoever will buy them and he's not shy about it. He has $500,000 in Mexico and he's slowly smuggling it into the U.S. with Jackie bringing in some on each of her trips. Ordell has just had one of his old prison buddies Louis(De Niro) get out of jail and the ex-con starts working for him. He meets Ordells' stoned out beach bunny girl friend Melanie(Fonda) who knows a lot about Ordell and about his plans.
After Beaumont(Tucker) gets arrested Ordell goes to bail him out. He uses Max Cherry(Forester) as the bails bondman to get Beaumont out. Ordell gets him out and quickly kills him before to much can be said about their link together. The next day Jackie is arrested outside the airport by ATF officers Ray(Keaton) and Mark(Bowen). They know she has the money on her from the tip from Beaumont and they take her to jail. Ordell bails her out using Cherry again.
Cherry goes to get Jackie out and almost instantly falls in love with her. He offers to help her in any way that he can. Jackie being the smart woman she is knows Ordell wants her dead. After she stops his attempt at it thye cut a deal on how to get his money back into the U.S. where neither will have to go to jail. The plot quickly turns into a race where everybody is involved in getting the $500,000. Who is playing who and who will end up with the money. That's the master tail of Jackie Brown.
This movie has the perfect cast in it. Once again Tarantino puts the perfects cast there and everyone shines. They all hold their own with each other and they all give a memorable performance. Tarantion has written the perfect script and the dialouge in the movie is perfect.
Samuel L. Jackson is the man. I laughed so hard watching his performance. His character Ordell might be my favorite one that he has ever played. You just have to love it.
Robert Forrester gives the most memorable performance of the film. He deserved his Oscar nomination and should have one it. He is the odd ball in the movie. Somebody described him as the guy you know you've seen in a movie, you just can't remember what movie it was. That holds true in this. You just love his performance. You can read the sadness in his eyes in one scene, then see the absolute joy in them in another. He should have one the Oscar and this is one of the best performances I've ever seen in a movie.
The rest of the cast is great. Pam Grier rocks in the lead role as the sassy middle aged black woman. I like Grier a lot and this is her at her best. De Niro's performance isn't quite what you'd expect from him. You can argue him as the greatest living actor, but his character and performance doesn't add to that statement. He isn't bad, it's just not memorable like so many of his other movies.
The DVD specials are great. I loved the Chicks with Guns video. All the specials on the making are great. Tarantino had a blast making it, and the interviews are great with him. There are a ton of extras. This is one of the best DVDs that I've ever viewed.
If you like Tarantino you have to pick this one up. Don't compare it Pulp Fiction or Resvoir Dogs because if you do you won't enjoy it as much. It's a different kind of movie from Tarantino. This is an influential movie, and without it I don't think we'd have some of the crime robbery thrillers that have been popular the last couple of years. Buy this movie and prepare yourself for a great ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Profanity Probably Cost Robert Forster an Oscar, May 31 2004
By 
Randy Keehn (Williston, ND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I happened to watch this movie in an un-cut version and I must admit that I was bothered by the overwelming use of vulgar profanity. OK, I didn't turn it off but I spent the whole movie with the sound down hoping that no one would wake up and hear what I was listening to. I have come to understand that this is part of the stock in trade for a Quentin Tarantino movie. Too bad, I have seen some of his work that I thought was very good (except for...). "Jackie Brown" turned out to be an excellent movie with a plot that moved along quick enough to keep our interest and slow enough so as to follow the plot line and character development. There is a lot of good acting in this movie. Samuel L. Jackson does his standard delivery that commands the screen, Robert DeNiro actually seems to deliver a rare, sub-par preformance, Pam Grier does very well in her title role and others help out effectively as well. However, when the movie is over, the lasting impression is the role of the bail bondsman played by Robert Forster. This is an actor we recognize but we can't remember from where. I saw this after the acadamy awards came out in 1998 and I couldn't believe that Forster didn't win the award (especially in light of the dismal preformance that DID win the award). See it for yourself and see if you agree. The movie is worth watching as well for its' intricate plot development as well
I have a suggestion for viewing this movie; watch it on regular TV after the censors have done their duty. I caught it the other night in just such a format. I'm not saying that the movie would be good for the whole family. However, at least you won't have to turn the sound down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackie Brown (Collector's Edition, Bilingual)
Jackie Brown (Collector's Edition, Bilingual) by Quentin Tarantino (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews