Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
Only the best trans-sexual alien cannibalism movie ever!
The songs are great, the lines are memorable , and the plot is to die for.

It will live forever!
Published 9 months ago by eeyoore

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't get too excited about the features...
The audience participation prompter sounds like a bigger deal than it is.. it really only advises on the major prop participation, and is only a few directions scattered throughout the film.
The audio of the audience is much more intensive, but was apparently just taped from a viewing, for a vast majority of it is simply audience members trying to outscream each...
Published on Nov. 25 2002 by L. Ciaccio


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't get too excited about the features..., Nov. 25 2002
By 
L. Ciaccio "Harvard Law School 1L" (Cambridge, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The audience participation prompter sounds like a bigger deal than it is.. it really only advises on the major prop participation, and is only a few directions scattered throughout the film.
The audio of the audience is much more intensive, but was apparently just taped from a viewing, for a vast majority of it is simply audience members trying to outscream each other with their own lines, which results in a jumble of sounds that I cannot decipher. When they do come together simultaneously, it's great (witty, and great if you're trying to learn), but you have to suffer through the random screaming of inaudible comments to get there.
I have had a major problem with this, which is the features keep turning themselves off. The multi-view experience inevitable shuts off if you try to add anything else (like English subtitles to understand the dialogue during the cacophany). The subtitles and participation prompter also shut themselves off, so that you end up with nothing but the audeience audio time and time again. This has happened on two seperate DVD players, so I would assume it's a problem with the dvd itself.
OTOH, the commentary from the stars makes a unique and entertaining show in and of itself, even to the causal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, June 30 2013
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
Only the best trans-sexual alien cannibalism movie ever!
The songs are great, the lines are memorable , and the plot is to die for.

It will live forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not much for speaial features., March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had never seen it, so somewaht shocking since I did not do any research! Anyhow, I was ecpecting more for this limited edition. Not esay to navigate,not clear on speaical features either. It took several tries and still i am disapointed. Oh well, I am sure others will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, Feb. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is sooo awesome! Even better in bluray with the image quality and the remastered sound.

Highly recommended! +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used to Cost a Fortune, Feb. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
This used to cost a fortune to buy.... was a cult favourite in our local Repeatory Cinema... they used to play it at midnight around Halloween. Patrons would dress up like the characters, join in the songs and light lighters at the right scenes... until fire regulations nixed that! :) Tim Curry fans who have seen some of his other movies, like Annie, Muppet Pirates and Fern Gully are in for a big suprise if they haven't seen this one.... this was (in my opinion) his defining role of both his youth and his theatrical versatility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Comes in a nice little book with some neat, high quality pictures and a message from the fan club and producer of the film, Lou Adler. The special features are also what you'd expect. There's not really any behind the scenes but they didn't bother with that back when they were making it. There's some nice things in there, but some of it is kind of pointless, like the callouts portion. But I'd say that if you're a big fan of rocky horror like myself, than you'll like having a high quality copy like this to watch at home, for a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love RHPS, give yourself over to this edition., Dec 2 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's Rocky Horror Picture Show. It's a cult classic you either love or hate. This movie requires no review. If you're a fan of RHPS, you'll want this edition for all the bonuses. It also looks fantastic on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Oct. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 15 year old daughter loved it. So campy, yet so funny. Still a classic and brings back many memories from my own youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Cult Classic, June 18 2013
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
First off, I've never see this production live, I intend to at some point in my life but have yet to experience it. Secondly, I absolutely am astonished by Tim Curry as an actor, his ability to change personality, character and especially voice is riveting. Thirdly, The Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of my favorite (if not favorite) musical. It's certainly dark, gritty--sure the plot is far-fetched but for 1975 the songs, the acting and the characters have such charismatic depth and perception which is what made the film so enjoyable. I first saw this at the age of roughly 14-15, I didn't appreciate it as much as I do now at the age of 20. I recommend it, most definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a Friend..., June 6 2013
By 
Leah-S - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
My friend asked me to order this for her because Amazon had the best price & it's one of her favorite movies.

She said the DVD works great, there were no problems & the menu was straight forward & easy to use.

Sorry I can't say more than that, but I don't know from personal experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6d06cc)

This product

Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen)
Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) by Jim Sharman (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews