Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's just a jump to the left...,"
It was a cold and rainy night Brad and Janet, had a flat and needed to find shelter and a phone. There was a light. Unknown to them was the particular caste was a meeting place of a unique other worldly crowd. Soon they will have realized their mistake; but will it bee too late?

And where have all the actors gone?

Susan Sarandon from Janet Weiss to...
Published on July 2 2006 by bernie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't get too excited about the features...
The audience participation prompter sounds like a bigger deal than it is.. it really only advises on the major prop participation, and is only a few directions scattered throughout the film.
The audio of the audience is much more intensive, but was apparently just taped from a viewing, for a vast majority of it is simply audience members trying to outscream each...
Published on Nov. 25 2002 by L. Ciaccio


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't get too excited about the features..., Nov. 25 2002
By 
L. Ciaccio "Harvard Law School 1L" (Cambridge, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The audience participation prompter sounds like a bigger deal than it is.. it really only advises on the major prop participation, and is only a few directions scattered throughout the film.
The audio of the audience is much more intensive, but was apparently just taped from a viewing, for a vast majority of it is simply audience members trying to outscream each other with their own lines, which results in a jumble of sounds that I cannot decipher. When they do come together simultaneously, it's great (witty, and great if you're trying to learn), but you have to suffer through the random screaming of inaudible comments to get there.
I have had a major problem with this, which is the features keep turning themselves off. The multi-view experience inevitable shuts off if you try to add anything else (like English subtitles to understand the dialogue during the cacophany). The subtitles and participation prompter also shut themselves off, so that you end up with nothing but the audeience audio time and time again. This has happened on two seperate DVD players, so I would assume it's a problem with the dvd itself.
OTOH, the commentary from the stars makes a unique and entertaining show in and of itself, even to the causal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's just a jump to the left...,", July 2 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It was a cold and rainy night Brad and Janet, had a flat and needed to find shelter and a phone. There was a light. Unknown to them was the particular caste was a meeting place of a unique other worldly crowd. Soon they will have realized their mistake; but will it bee too late?

And where have all the actors gone?

Susan Sarandon from Janet Weiss to Jackie Harrison in "Stepmom" (1998).

She took her screen daughter to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Tim Curry (who likes to play doctor) from Doctor Frank-N-Furter to Dr. Thornton Poole in "Oscar" (1991).

Oscar is still available from amazon.co.uk

Barry Bostwick from Brad Majors to Det. Tucker Pendleton to himself in "Hollywood Squares" (1998) [TV-Series]

Meatloaf from Eddie to himself in "Meat Loaf - Bat Out of Hell" (1999)

Richard Milhouse Nixon from Himself (archive audio: resignation speech) to "Speeches of Richard Nixon, The (1995) (V)" (archive footage) he will always be with us.

And where is Denton now?

Do your homework and be sure to get these movies first:

Day the Earth Stood Still, The (1951)

Flash Gordon (1936)

Invisible Man, The (1933)

King Kong (1933)

It Came From Outer Space (1953)

Doctor X (1932)

Forbidden Planet (1956)

Tarantula (1955)

Day of the Triffids, The (1962)

Night of the Demon (1957)

When Worlds Collide (1951)

House in Nightmare Park, The (1973)

Reptile, The (1966)

Brides of Dracula, The (1960)

Man in Black, The (1949)

Night of the Demon (1957)

Forbidden Planet (1956)

First time or 100th time, have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure, Joy and no Limits, March 7 2004
By 
This is great entertainment. First of all it is a good musical in the rock style with good songs and at times funny lyrics. Second it is a good visual show where gags and tricks are constantly bombarding us with great creativity. I particularly liked the RKO Radio Pictures' Eiffel Tower falling down into some swimming pool. Third it is absolutely delirious and crazy as for the « adventure » the young couple lives in this castle. They both manage to taste the forbidden fruit, the girl with both the host and his male creature Rocky, and the boy with the host himself. Ambiguity and absolute freedom are the two rules of this perverse universe of transexual Transylvanians from outer space. That sure is a joy ride for those two newly engaged young people who got trapped during a rainstorm on a dead end road with a flat tyre and no spare tyre to repair the flat. Next time remember that you must always have a spare in your trunk, but don't think that such an adventure is going to happen to you just because you're going to forget to put a spare in your trunk. It would be too easy. Nightmares of fear and pleasure only happen when you do not expect them at all.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wild and an untamed thing..., March 4 2004
By 
Scott Boland (Woodridge, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This video is far more deserving than any other review the rocky horror picture show could get. I like to think of this version as perfect for halloween kareoke. The video has interviews with cos players at the theater about their performance mimicking the movie. After the movie is over, we are shown just how much fans love the time warp at the theater performance. Also, the words are silenced at "Oh brad" (as in when they also say janet), "Creature of the night" (all the characters except rocky at the end) Riff Raff's dazzling "it's all over" song thingy, and the music at the beginning of the floor show (as frank is prepping the performers) is lowered significantly.
Each Rocky Horror video has it's own charm, everything in a certain place. The 25th anniversary, for example, has the two songs that were cut. As for the dvd's, the basic grey covered one I've noticed is exactly the same as disc one of the two disc set, so as far as dvd's go, the two disc set is the way to go (although the dvd version of the movie sucks because the audio tracks are different, it just doesnt seem right, but the extras are great) If you're a newcomer to the Rocky Horror Picture Show, and you need other people to tell you just how great it is, this video is for you (it does include the movie by the way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freaky Flesh-Fest Is No Family Friendly Film, But It Is Fun!, Feb. 28 2004
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
Way back in the summer of 1978 I talked a bunch of my friends into going with me to a midnight showing of THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW. We were dumb teenagers, hiding beer in our clothes, sitting in the balcony of the theater. When those huge red lips hit the screen, we were hooked! I remember going every friday and saturday night for months after that. TRHPS became our religion and weekend entertainment in one! We threw the rice etc. Looking back, the alcohol was responsible for much of our fervor, as I see Rocky Horror as being about half of a good movie. Don't get me wrong, I'll always have a warm place in my heart for it, but sober, it's a completely different movie! The first half hour is priceless. It starts with those aforementioned lips, crooning the "Science Fiction Double Feature" track, much to the glee of my B-movie addicted heart. Next are Brad (Barry Bostwick) and Janet (Susan Saranden) singing "Dammit Janet" after the wedding ceremony. This is followed by the classic "Over At The Frankenstein Place" accentuated by the eerie warblings of Riff Raff (Richard O'Brien) as he watches out a castle window. When Brad and Janet arrive at the manor, they are greeted by Riff Raff and are soon joined by Magenta (Patricia Quinn) to the building tune of "The Time Warp". The doors are thrown open on a ballroom full of transylvanian weirdos, including Columbia (Little Nell), the tap dancing girlfriend of Eddie (Meatloaf). If this isn't glorious enough, the entrance of Frank N. Furter (Tim Curry) singing "Sweet Transvestite" is the show-stopper! Alas, for me it's all downhill from there. There are some great numbers, like Eddie singing "Hot Patootie" or Frank N. Furter's sorrowful "I'm Going Home", but a lot of it sort of drags on aimlessly at many points. When no one's singing, it can get a little dull. I still recommend seeing Rocky Horror at least once. I also recommend getting the soundtrack. It helps if you're a schlocky / cheesey film fanatic like myself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Antares (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you want to see this film, see it first in a theater where audience participation is a must. Then buy the movie! The gothic nature of the film creates a comical balance with the all-american-sweethearts (played by Susan Sarandon and Barry Boswick), when a predictable flat tire brings together the characters of the Rocky Horror Picture Show. During the course of one night innocence is lost, sensuality runs amuck, and the dark humor never ends. From the moment Tim Curry appears in the movie, I knew I would be a fan for life. Meatloaf also has his brief moment to shine in this dark comedy. There is a narrator, so no viewers can loose site of the plot, and some lively costume undressing. There is a sci-fi undertone, several sloppy choreographed scenes (which play terribly well in this gothic toned movie), and even a dance you are sure to learn and use at your next theater viewing to impress friends that are virgins to the knowledge of this film.
On my second visit to a theater showing, I was fortunate enough to win a collectors item poster of the film. Though this was the icing on the cake, I later found that my enthusiasm for the Rocky Horror Picture Show was shared with many, making this movie a cult classic.
If you like this film, I reccommend Velvet Goldmine, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, and Trainspotting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've one thing to say and it's live the Rocky Horror Legend, Dec 3 2003
By 
Carrie (Dobson, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
Often referred to as "Richard O'Brien's little slice of weirdness", Rocky lives up to it's legend as a cult classic. At fits when you see this movie, you're thinking "Weird, but are lips really THAT weird?" As it goes along, you don't know what you're in for. When Brad and Janet {the hero and heroine} have their car break down, they go to a castle a mile back to use the phone. What they find is a cast of colorful characters, but little do they know that nothing will ever be the same! Featuring oscar winner Susan Sarandon, it's a fun, strange journey. Not for everyone, though. Exclude kids under 15 and religious fanatics from this one! Still, everyone besides the above exclusions should make a trip to Transylvania to visit Dr. Frank N Furter, Barry Bostwick, and the rocker Meatloaf. Be prepared, when it's all over, you'll be feeling done in, so give yourself over to absolute pleasure and don't judge this book by it's cover {Tim Curry resting on a large pair of lips may already scare you} and see The Rocky Horror Picture Show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's no crime in giving yourself over to pleasure. ;D, Oct. 28 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Ah, yes! How can I possibly forget to provide a Halloween review for one of the greatest cult films of all time? What can I say about "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" that hasn't been said already? I can best describe this as a spooktacular musical extravanganza! A monstrous creation brought to life by genius Richard O'Brian, this movie is a decadent amalgamation of sex, science fiction, and horror. Don't worry about the R-rating, kiddies; "Rocky Horror" is one of the few provacative pictures that doesn't stretch across the borders of bad taste. And of course, the film has become even more incredible thanks to its infamous audience participation. Despite having debuted in theaters way back in 1975, "Rocky Horror's" infectious songs and fashion trends never get old!
Here's a brief synopsis for all you virgins: Barry Bostwick and Susan Sarandon play Brad and Janet, a pair of wholesome lovers who planned to announce their engagement to their former science teacher, Dr. Everett Scott (Johnathan Adams). But on a dark stormy night, after suffering a flat tire, Brad and Janet enter a castle owned by the film's star, Dr. Frankenfurter (Tim Curry), a delighfully evil scientist/ transvestite from the planet Transexual in the galaxy of Transylvania! Put on your makeup and fishnet stockings! Let's do the Time Warp (again) with creepy handyman Riff Raff (Richard O'Brian), sultry maid Magenta (Patricia Quinn), and rock & roll groupie Columbia (Nell Campbell). Even Meatloaf gets his own rock solo as the Doctor's motorcycling zombie Eddie (a rebel who ends up getting served for dinner!) Let's not forget also that "Rocky Horror's" unforgettable soundtrack and hilarious dialogue are all narrated by the dignified Criminologist (Charles Gray-RIP). This cult film is a must-have for all horror and musical lovers alike! Enter at your risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cult classic, Oct. 6 2003
By 
magellan (Santa Clara, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
Incredibly, I only just saw this movie about 10 years ago, after hearing about it for almost 20 years, and I was amazed at how well it stood up. The wacky blending of sci-fi, horror, blatent sex themes, and campy humor, (including some pretty kinky themes for the time) became one of the greatest cult movies of all time. Not far from me there was a theater that played the movie at midnight three nights a week, and this went on for years, but I never saw it during all that time.
Then there's the fact that the movie is actually a musical with some very catchy music--another thing I hadn't realized until I saw the flick--and again, I was surprised at how well the music had stood the test of time. Tim Curry is superb in the main role as Dr. Frank N. Furter, the brilliant mad scientist from an advanced civilization of cross-dressers, and the other performances are good as well. Meatloaf does a standup job blasting out his hit song on the sax in his scene. It's still a wonderfully entertaining movie after all these years, which is all the more amazing since when it was released initially it was a flop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Rocky Horror Show' Movie, Aug. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) (DVD)
There is one reason why everyone should see "The Rocky Horror Picture Show": it is the best cult film ever made. There are also three reasons why everyone should want to watch it: 1) It is one of the only 'R' rated musicals in existence. 2) It has strong science-fiction overtones. 3) It is very funny. The movie starts Barry Bostwick and Susan Sarandon (before they were stars) as the recently engaged Brad and Janet. However, they are upstaged in nearly every scene by Tim Curry who plays Frank N. Furter, the mad doctor. The cast delightfully performs many memorable songs including "Over at the Frankenstein Place" and, of course, the "Time Warp". To fully enjoy RHPS, one must not be closed minded or the picture could prove to be quite offensive. Don't think it's gratuitously violent- it isn't. Merely, the situations the characters find themselves in could shock or appall overly sensitive viewers. If you think you won't enjoy RHPS, going to a midnight screening might be your best bet. The live audience participation will guarantee you a good time, despite your opinion of the actual film. So overall, RHPS is quite a good adaptation of Richard O'Brien's original concept, which always honors its roots on the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen)
Rocky Horror Picture Show (Widescreen) by Jim Sharman (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 5.00
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews