Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Simpsons
I eagerly have watched the episodes of this series when I can find where the local PBS affiliate has found to hide them. In the US the series is identified as "The Industry". I wanted to offer another review because I suspect if someone were to expect something like the Simpsons he might be confused or disappointed. If analogy is desired I would compare it with...
Published on March 14 2003 by Steven D. Bryan

versus
10 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware ordering this disk
If you are an international customer and you choose Standard International Shipping for your purchases in order to minimise cost and avoid additional taxes and duties at the country of destination, beware ordering from Amazon Canada. They have been known to disregard shipping instructions and send items by Priority International Courier even if you haven't selected that...
Published on Oct. 2 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Simpsons, March 14 2003
By 
Steven D. Bryan (Edina, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
I eagerly have watched the episodes of this series when I can find where the local PBS affiliate has found to hide them. In the US the series is identified as "The Industry". I wanted to offer another review because I suspect if someone were to expect something like the Simpsons he might be confused or disappointed. If analogy is desired I would compare it with "Yes Minister" which offered an insider's comic view of another part of society (the interaction of elected officials with civil servants in the UK). Although willing to use slapstick humor I would suggest it provides more subtle humor in most cases. The actor who portrays the boss is just perfect. In this series it is TV production but he could be from any industry.
I was particularly pleased to see that there are now no fewer than five seasons in existence. I hope everyone who is interested buys this first season to encourage the producers to continue making them available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think that went well, Jan. 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
This is Canadian satire at its best. Rick Mercer's writing is brilliant as always. The back stabbing antics of these television/movie executives kept me coming back for more. It has been likened to the Gary Shandling show, but I found this to be far more biting in its humor, and more universal (even though it was called Made in Canada, it could just have easily been about the film industry almost anywhere)
I loved this show and wanted to cry last year when it was cancelled. I hope that the other seasons do make it to DVD even though Salter Street Films is no longer. If I counted right there are 4 more seasons that are currently running in syndication on Bravo here in Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need the other Seasons, Jan. 24 2006
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
Come on, get the rest of the show on DVD!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Sir... I'd like some more, April 3 2006
By 
O. Johnson (Nowheresville, Yo Mama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
One of the well done character driven comedies out there, this show offers a well-balanced taste of dark-comedy vs. satirical wit. My only complaint (as many have previously stated) is that the rest of this show is not already on DVD. I eagerly await that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Feb. 4 2004
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
Sharp witty comedy about self-centred people at a television show production company named Pyramid. Very smartly written, charcters you will love and love to hate as they work to stab each other in the back and to gain the approval of their boss (Alan Roy); a man who got his start in producing trashy soft porn flicks and thinks The Sting 2 was a great movie. Highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where are the other seasons?, July 12 2004
By 
Amanda Reno "Twitch City fan" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
I caught this show on late-night PBS in the US and immediately loved it. I've always been a fan of Rick Mercer's intelligent rants anyway, and it was great to see him playing a character with a darker side than the Quinlan Quints. If you haven't seen the show, it involves Richard, a lowly script reader at a bad Canadian TV production company whose plan to climb the corporate ladder just happens to require destroying the careers of his co-workers. But hey, to make an omelet you've got to break a few eggs. And the comeuppance he receives at the end of the season is one of the funniest cliffhangers you'll ever see.
Actually, the whole show is very funny--I would not have thought backstabbing and double-dealing could be that humorous. It's also got enough plot twists that I did not see coming, to keep you on your toes. I've read interviews in which the writers said they modeled the scheming Richard on Shakespeare's "Richard III", and he does show the same mixture of drama and dry humor. The only real drawback to the show is that it makes the all-too-numerous crappy sitcoms out there look even crappier.
The subsequent seasons of this show weren't quite as tight as the first one, but they're still really good. So when are they going to be released on DVD? The first season seems to have a pretty high sales rank considering how long it's been released, and the tapes I made are starting to wear out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I think that went well...", Jan. 11 2006
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
Rick Mercer stars as the morally corrupt Richard Strong, script reader for the fictitious Canadian entertainment company, Pyramid Productions. In an attempt to climb his way to the top of the corporate ladder, Richard, along with fellow employees Victor and Veronica (Dan Lett and Leah Pinsent) participate in backstabbing, sabotage, and of course, a series of office affairs that are sure to leave you laughing out loud. All in a days work when you’re in The Industry. For American and Canadian viewers alike, Made In Canada is a satirical farce that is not to be missed.
Awaiting for the remaining seasons to be released to DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly funny, April 21 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
Truly one of the funniest shows ever. Sharp dialogue, hilariously outrageous yet realistic portrayal of the TV industry. When are the other seasons being released?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, Jan. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
I can watch these episodes over and over and over! Funny, smart (and true) every time. So sad the show didn't go on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Kanata, Aug. 19 2012
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made in Canada: Season One [Import] (DVD)
Great comedy! Too bad the other seasons aren't available. I have seen other seasons on VHS and the episodes after season one seem even more funny and polished to me. Hey CBC
are you listening?
Great service from the supplier. They even put a strip of bubble wrap inside the plastic cover to make sure the disc stays put during shipping.
Thanks for that ; attention to detail IS CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Item arrived on standard shipping within about 6 days.
Completely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made in Canada: Season One [Import]
Made in Canada: Season One [Import] by Rick Mercer (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 60.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews