Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singin' In The Rain (blu ray) box set...this 60th anniversary edition box set is simply priceless! (disc + book + real umbrella)
VIDEO:

'Singin' in the Rain' arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.37:1 encode. Warner Bros. is rejuvenating catalog classics with loving remasters and impressive video transfers. 'Singin' in the Rain' is given a similar treatment; just not one that lives up to the high standards set by 'Ben-Hur' and 'Casablanca'.

Positive: Colours have been...
Published 17 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, TERRIBLE EDITION
"Singin' in the Rain" is one of my favorite films, and I am in good company with that opinion -- everyone from Roger Ebert to Francois Truffaut has rated the film in their top ten. So why such shoddy treatment in this "Special Edition"?? 95% of the "commentary" is audio cribbed from the documentaries on Disk 2 (did they think we wouldn't watch both?) and the other 5% is...
Published on Oct. 21 2002 by Sondra K Russell


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singin' In The Rain (blu ray) box set...this 60th anniversary edition box set is simply priceless! (disc + book + real umbrella), Nov. 13 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

'Singin' in the Rain' arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.37:1 encode. Warner Bros. is rejuvenating catalog classics with loving remasters and impressive video transfers. 'Singin' in the Rain' is given a similar treatment; just not one that lives up to the high standards set by 'Ben-Hur' and 'Casablanca'.

Positive: Colours have been granted new life. Primaries are gorgeous. Skintones are lovely (albeit a touch over-saturated now and again). Black levels are rich and savory, and contrast does not falter. Moreover, print scratches and blemishes are nowhere to be found. Grain, though light, is pleasant and consistent.

Negative: The film's inherent softness can be prohibitive, and a noticeable waxiness afflicts a number of closeups and midrange shots, probably due to artificial sharpening. Mild to moderate edge halos are present throughout the film.

Overall, it is still a vast improvement over previous DVD releases (4/5)

AUDIO:

The high point of Warner's AV presentation is undoubtedly its carefully mixed DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track, which retains the humble qualities of the film's original monoaural sound design while allowing Nacio Herb Brown and Arthur Freed's music to flourish across the entire soundfield. Dialogue and song lyrics are clean, clear and perfectly prioritized, be it Gene Kelly's dulcet singing voice, Donald O'Connor's chirpy quips and verbal gymnastics, or Debbie Reynolds' velvet-smooth tone. Various songs, from 'Good Morning' to 'Moses Supposes' to 'Make 'Em Laugh' to 'You Were Meant for Me' are a joy to listen to. The orchestra's instrumentation is also extremely well done, just a full, utterly satisfying sound from beginning to end. (5/5)

LIMITED BOX SET PACKAGING:

If you own the Ultimate Collector's Editions of either 'The Wizard of Oz,' 'Gone With the Wind,' or 'Ben-Hur,' you'll be familiar with the scope and size of this limited and numbered 60th Anniversary package (mine 32059/75000). Measuring a hefty 8" wide-x-11-1/2" long-x-2-3/4" deep, the simply illustrated white box is sheathed in a clear plastic slide-on cover that lists specs and supplement info. Inside lies a full-size, 48-page, lavishly illustrated hardcover book that features many rare photos, shooting logs, and well-written text. The film's production history, an overview of the famed Freed Unit and its accomplishments, brief bios of the principals and key supporting players, a behind-the-scenes look at many of the movie's numbers, and a list of both changes to the script and deletions after the picture's previews are all included within the pages of this absorbing and beautifully designed volume. Also in the box is an envelope containing miniature reproductions of three posters (called lobby door panels) for the film, as well as a commemorative, fully operational umbrella adorned with a silver umbrella charm dangling off the handle. I am going to show off this special umbrella to my friends in the future (on a sunny day of course). This handsome box set will be displayed prominently outside my home theatre, next to `Gone with the Wind', `Ben Hur', `The Sound of Music', `The Wizard of Oz', `The Ten Commandments', and `Cinderella' box sets.

The three discs are housed in a fold-out, full-colour case, featuring publicity photos of Kelly and Reynolds, as well as various scenes from the film. The Blu-ray disc houses the main, an audio commentary, the original theatrical trailer, and an all-new documentary, while a DVD disc contains the film in standard definition. A second DVD disc houses all the supplements that were included on the 2002 special edition DVD release.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

When this limited edition box set was announced, the price was $54.99. Then, it shot up to as high as $63.74, when it was finally released. I waited and waited, and now finally, the price has dropped to $48.49, which I immediately ordered. It proves once again patience is a virtue. A movie edition only blu ray disc is also available at a much cheaper price. For me, this limited edition box set is simply priceless. When it was compared to my previous much higher priced laser disc box set purchases, this price is simply a steal! This box set is very highly recommended for this enduring classic. Get it before it is sold out.

UPDATE (May 2, 2013):

Attention! The price has just dropped to $34.99. Wow! what a good price! It is definitely worth the price. If you like this movie, and like all the goodies (including the cute real umbrella, etc), buy it NOW before this 60% off sale is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, TERRIBLE EDITION, Oct. 21 2002
By 
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
"Singin' in the Rain" is one of my favorite films, and I am in good company with that opinion -- everyone from Roger Ebert to Francois Truffaut has rated the film in their top ten. So why such shoddy treatment in this "Special Edition"?? 95% of the "commentary" is audio cribbed from the documentaries on Disk 2 (did they think we wouldn't watch both?) and the other 5% is Baz Lurhmann promoting his own films. While brilliance is floating across the screen, the commentary treats us to such prescient details as the flower preference of the producer (orchids) and how one of the minor actors in the film felt about Clark Gable (loved him very much). Since neither orchids nor Clark Gable have anything to do with this extremely influential film classic, couldn't we have given those comments a miss? As a huge fan of this film, I bought the edition knowing a fair amount about the making of and history surrounding it -- if it is possible, I left this viewing of the film with "commentary" actually knowing less. Give this edition a miss and buy a cheaper one. (Added note: another person has complained about the aspect ratio being altered -- in fact, Singin' in the Rain was NOT shot in "Cinemascope" and has been transferred with the full picture intact. See? Now THAT'S the sort of stuff they should have mentioned in the commentary!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic..., March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't know what it is about this film but classics always get to me. You cannot go wrong with this film. The quality of that movie is the best and I enjoy showing this movie to my children. Hoping a new generation will learn to love the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grungy Audio, cuts in major dance scene, April 25 2003
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
... Unfortunately, this 2-disc "improvement" is a [disappointment]. The digitally remastered sound is harsh and grungy. Worst of all, there's a horrendous piece of censorship in Gene and Cyd's classic Broadway Melody dance number, a cut so obvious that it verges on sheer, criminal stupidity. I'm returning this 2-disc edition and searching for an uncut version to replace my ancient home-made VHS tape from the early 80's off a PBS station, where this dance scene is complete (and really gorgeous). What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No No No!! Wait for the Special Edition!, Aug. 17 2002
By 
Peter A. Greene (Franklin, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
The movie gets a five, but the package gets a zero in this cheap-o DVD edition. We know there are out-takes (an entire number by Reynolds) and we know there are other materials out there (you can find them on the anniversary VHS edition) but some chintsy exec at MGM gave us zip zero nada on this DVD version!
Yes, this IS the greatest movie musical of all time, bar none. It deserves top drawer treatment, and not the kind of packaging usually reserved for bargain B movies. Shame on MGM. Shame shame shame!
Do not settle for this bottom-of-the-line package. Hold out for a special edition of this American gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Lousy Reproduction, Aug. 20 2001
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
5 Stars for the Musical 0 Stars for the DVD conversion. I can't say enough about the movie, I've loved it for years. However, this is one of the worst presentations of a Technicolor film available. It was as though the source media was an old faded copy that had the brightness turned up and color over driven to make up for it. Some scenes had the brightness so high it was dificult to make out the facial features of a sweet Debbie Reynolds. They should have presented it faded. Seriously consider waiting for a restored version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Points off for half-hearted presentation, May 14 2001
By 
M. Cho (NY, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
First off, let me reiterate that this truly is one of the best movies, musical or otherwise, of all time. My issue is with the utter lack of respect with which Warner now treats this movie. There are three things I have to say: 1) I love this movie; 2) I love DVD; 3) seek out the old widescreen VHS (which also has a good, long interview with writers Comden & Green as well as Debbie Reynolds singing "You are My Lucky Star", a great sequence unfortunately cut from the final version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Musical; Lousy Edition, Nov. 14 2000
By 
Michael Silver "a professional reviewer" (Mountain View, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
This musical is wonderful; it's one of my family's favorites. The DVD, however, doesn't do it justice. It is in pan and scan format with poor video transfer. I cast my vote for a proper DVD that this classic film deserves. Criterion?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Lousy DVD, Oct. 22 2000
By 
"songbear" (Ashburn, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
Classic film. No one can dispute that. So why are there virually no extras on a DVD of the greatest movie musical ever made? Why are there no bios on anyone associated with the film? Why does the color for the first half of the film look like faded Technicolor? Why did the studio not choose to take the time or spend the money needed to digitally restore the film that was spent on Sound of Music or My Fair Lady? OK. It would cost more, but fans of this movie would be willing to pay for it, and all the other wonderful MGM movies musical of the 50s.
...Give us the extras - let us know the story of the movie, produce a feature length documentary, give us the re-mixed isolated soundtrack, do something besides this. Correct the color, and remix the ST in DTS. Package in in a two DVD set and charge me 30 bucks. I'd buy it. But the current release version is a real disappointment. The singin', dancin', and actin' in this film deserve better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pity the DVD doesn't have the EXTRAS that are available!, Sept. 28 2000
By 
Brendan Roberts "Aussie boy" (GEELONG, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
I have the "40th Anniversary edition" video tape of this great movie, released in 1992 (in Australia at least), which features (along with the theatrical trailer), a deleted sequence of Debbie Reynolds singing "You Are My Lucky Star" and reminiscences from writers Betty Comden and Adolph Green (which are wonderful!). The lack of these is the only reason I'm taking a star off my rating for the DVD. The film is suberb (and sounds and looks great on DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaae37918)

This product

Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs)
CDN$ 49.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews