Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singin' In The Rain (blu ray) box set...this 60th anniversary edition box set is simply priceless! (disc + book + real umbrella)
VIDEO:

'Singin' in the Rain' arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.37:1 encode. Warner Bros. is rejuvenating catalog classics with loving remasters and impressive video transfers. 'Singin' in the Rain' is given a similar treatment; just not one that lives up to the high standards set by 'Ben-Hur' and 'Casablanca'.

Positive: Colours have been...
Published 20 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grungy Audio, cuts in major dance scene
... Unfortunately, this 2-disc "improvement" is a [disappointment]. The digitally remastered sound is harsh and grungy. Worst of all, there's a horrendous piece of censorship in Gene and Cyd's classic Broadway Melody dance number, a cut so obvious that it verges on sheer, criminal stupidity. I'm returning this 2-disc edition and searching for an uncut version to...
Published on April 25 2003 by Great Movie Addict


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite!, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
If you like the classic musical movies, you'll love this one! This is among my favourite musical movies. It is a fun movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Feel-Good Movie For The Ages, Oct. 17 2012
By 
Michael J. Oldfield (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
It's hard to believe that there may be some people out there who have not seen Singin' In The Rain but if you are one of them, this new digital remastered version is an absolute treat. It's 1927 and Hollywood is in a turmoil because the first sound film has been released. Suddenly, all the silent stars must learn to speak. For Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) this is no problem but for his squeaky-voiced co-star played by Jean Hagen it is a huge problem.
With the help of his long-time pal Donald O'Connor, Gene begins to revamp his latest film into a talkie. To complicate matters, he falls for rising star Debbie Reynolds and that just irritates Jean Hagen all the more.
The problems eventually get ironed out and in the process we get some great singing and dancing numbers including O'Connors exhausting "Make 'Em Laugh" and Kelly's "Broadway Melody" fantasia which includes an appearance by Cyd Charisse. There's never a dull moment and not one second-rate song in this great film.
No wonder it is considered one of the top Hollywood musical films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make Movies Like This Anymore!, Aug. 29 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They don't make beautiful and spectacular films like "Singin' in the Rain" anymore. Now all you get is crap like "Magic Mike" and "That's My Boy". Same with movie stars. Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor are REAL movie stars. Not like rejects like Snooki and J Woww. These people can actually sing and dance.

I first saw this movie about a week ago at Cineplex Coulisseum Mississauga. I loved it so I looked for it on Amazon. I found it on Blu-ray for a great price so I bought it, and it is one of the best purchases I have ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would rather give it a 4.5 out of 5 ..., July 20 2012
By 
V. Buttino (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Something important is missing from this 60th anniversary bluray box set: a digital copy. This is why I would rather have given this product 4.5 stars instead of 5. When someone spends the money on a collector's bluray set, they should expect to see a digital copy option included. I would have loved to have uploaded the movie onto my iPad because Singin' In the Rain is one of my absolute favourite movies and I would love to have the option of watching it anywhere, at any time (especially while traveling be it on an airplane, train, or subway).

Besides the obvious omission of a digital copy, the actual box is filled with Hollywood goodness! I especially loved the inclusion of an umbrella (cute idea)! I don't know if I'll actually use it though because it might be something I want to save and hold on to. The hardcover book is filled with plenty of new information about the film and is covered with both colour and b&w shots of the cast and crew filming this iconic movie back in 1952.

Singin' In the Rain looks FANTASTIC on the new bluray release and I'm so glad that Hollywood has finally given this film its due in terms of product quality and hype. I couldn't have asked for a better product release (well, except for the missing digital copy of course lol).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand-daddy of Them All, May 16 2004
By 
dantes (York, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
Where to start? Simply put, Singin' in the Rain is the premiere "integrated" musical in cinema history -- embodying the very best of Hollywood's post-war optimism, imagination and talent. Many other musicals come close, but none quite as comprehensively captures the essence of the genre as does SitR. When folks say "they don't make 'em like they used to," SitR is the type of film to which they're referring. Anyone having even a passing interest in this quintessentially American art form simply must have this film in their collection.
Technically, Warner has provided us with an outstanding Special Edition of Singin' in the Rain. As for the feature quality, the transfer is, in a word, magnificent ("Glorious Technicolor," for sure), and the remastered audio is a sonic delight. As for extras, the feature disc contains a commentary track hosted by Debbie Reynolds that is well worth visiting, as well as some clips from the earliest "talkies" playing off of the feature's plot. For me, the crown jewel of the extras provided with this SE is the documentary located on disc 2, which concerns itself with the films emnating from MGM's Arthur Freed Unit, and the people responsible for those efforts. If you haven't yet developed a taste for the integrated musical, this documentary is virtually guaranteed to stoke the fires of interest.
Since the release of the SitR SE, Warner has continued to lavish loving attention upon its Special Edition releases and, in my opinion, now sets the standard for studio catalog releases. Although I'm always excited to see new catalog releases from any studio, it is the Warner releases (SE or not) that set me to drooling. SitR is a top-notch SE and of tremendous historical importance. There is not a single reason to pass up this wonderful set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic..., March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't know what it is about this film but classics always get to me. You cannot go wrong with this film. The quality of that movie is the best and I enjoy showing this movie to my children. Hoping a new generation will learn to love the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound--only 2/3 of the picture., Oct. 13 2002
By 
geode2000 "geode2000" (Omaha, NE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
Why anyone would release the greatest screen musical of all time in full screen format is a mystery to me. Singin' In The Rain is everything you've ever heard it is....but to have 1/3 cut off such a spectacular piece of art is just criminal. Rent this one until they decide to let you have it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could've Been, Oct. 1 2002
By 
Joel Whitmore (Simmesport, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
This movie is an absolute delight to see. The cast is tight and the music thoroughly enjoyable. It is especially fresh given today's films with dark sarcasm and anti-heros. What truely boggles the mind is the full-screen release! Was this movie originally released in a 4:3 format? I think probably not. And to see the effort that was put into restoring the soundtrack yet none was spent, seemingly, on trying to find a suitable original in the theatrical format. In this day of HDTV monitors and widescreen signals, this is unforgivable. I sincerely hope that this situation will be addressed in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No No No!! Wait for the Special Edition!, Aug. 17 2002
By 
Peter A. Greene (Franklin, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
The movie gets a five, but the package gets a zero in this cheap-o DVD edition. We know there are out-takes (an entire number by Reynolds) and we know there are other materials out there (you can find them on the anniversary VHS edition) but some chintsy exec at MGM gave us zip zero nada on this DVD version!
Yes, this IS the greatest movie musical of all time, bar none. It deserves top drawer treatment, and not the kind of packaging usually reserved for bargain B movies. Shame on MGM. Shame shame shame!
Do not settle for this bottom-of-the-line package. Hold out for a special edition of this American gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie, but no widescreen!?!, March 21 2002
By 
P. Hawley (Hollis, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (DVD)
I love this movie and bought it for that reason, but I was disappointed to find that one side of the disc is blank, and there is no widescreen version on the disc. I guess they're not making DVD's like they used to... 5 stars for the movie, 3 for the DVD so an average of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs)
CDN$ 45.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews