Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singin' In The Rain (blu ray) box set...this 60th anniversary edition box set is simply priceless! (disc + book + real umbrella)
VIDEO:

'Singin' in the Rain' arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.37:1 encode. Warner Bros. is rejuvenating catalog classics with loving remasters and impressive video transfers. 'Singin' in the Rain' is given a similar treatment; just not one that lives up to the high standards set by 'Ben-Hur' and 'Casablanca'.

Positive: Colours have been...
Published on Nov. 13 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Lousy Reproduction
5 Stars for the Musical 0 Stars for the DVD conversion. I can't say enough about the movie, I've loved it for years. However, this is one of the worst presentations of a Technicolor film available. It was as though the source media was an old faded copy that had the brightness turned up and color over driven to make up for it. Some scenes had the brightness so high it...
Published on Aug. 20 2001 by Jonathan N. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "I make more money than..., June 11 2003
By 
Melanie (Alma, AR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
Calvin Coolidge! Put together!" An odd line, by any movie standard, but downright hilarious when said by nasally Lina Lamont, as played by Jean Hagen. 'Singin' In the Rain' enjoys a rare distinction in that it has a wonderful plot in between the incredible music numbers. So many musicals skimped on the plot. But such was not the case with Arthur Freed, Gene Kelly, and Stanley Donen at the helm.
If you're reading this, you probably know the plot by now, but I must comment on the performances. Gene Kelly is at his best (which is pretty darn good if you ask me) in this movie. His performance of the title number embodies the spirit of the movie musical. Jean Hagen (an underrated actress) nearly steals the picture with her performance. Debbie Reynolds as Gene Kelly's love interest must have been intimidated (being only 19 or 20 at the time she made the film), but she holds her own against Gene and Donald O'Connor. Please don't get me started on Donald O'Connor. I think he's been given far too little credit in every way imaginable as far as movie history goes. His dancing is superb, his comic style unmatched, and his charm level is through the roof.
That being said, I must address a few things in other reviews. The "Broadway Ballet" sequence DOES NOT detract from the movie. It is an essential part of it. Besides, it's a wonderful excuse to see the incomparable Cyd Charisse. She should have been in more Gene Kelly movies. Name a woman today with talent (and legs) like that. See? I knew you couldn't do it.
On to the DVD. The extras will not disappoint. There is some rehashing in the running commentary of things already said in the documentary hosted by Debbie Reynolds, but that's a minor quibble. For true movie musical buffs the documentary about MGM's legendary Arthur Freed unit is worth the price of the DVD alone. The picture quality is wonderful (the film was not shot in Cinemascope, so you're not missing anything) and the sound is very good, too. But, even without all the extras, I'd still recommend this movie. It is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You'll be singin' even if it ain't rainin', April 21 2003
By 
Tyler Tanner (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
Like most of us, I grew up with the title song since as long as I can remember. I've seen snippets here and there, but it wasn't until over the weekend that I saw the film in its entirety. I got this one because of the AFI 100. Shallow reasons aside, I'm glad I did. This has some great stuff in these two discs. Not only did you get a great movie, but you get a wonderful education on genre of film that is uniquely American.
First, the film. I loved it. The premise was interesting and solid. As I'm sure you know by now, it's about a famous silent film romantic duo whose careers become jepordized with the arrival of a little talking film called "The Jazz Singer." The male half, played by Gene Kelley, has no problem because he comes from a vaudville background, singing and dancing with his partner, played by Donald O'conner. But the other half of the duo Lina Lamont played by Jean Hagen, has problems. Obviously hired for her looks and not screeching brooklyn whine, and thus the dilema. If you took the music out, you would still have a film. The acting and pace are strong enough to keep you interested. Jean Hagan is pricless as the self-absorbed air head. The phrase "I caaan't stend 'im!" will stick in your head well after the movie is over. "Singing" never tries to be more that it actually is. A great light hearted musical-comedy and that why it works.
The dancing is nothing short of spectacular and while I did like the title song, my favorites were "Make 'em Laugh" and "Broadway Melodie". I liked Gene Kelly in "American in Paris" and the numbers in this film blows anything offered by that movie away. I also have a high respect for Kelly. The movie is co-directed by him and he easily could have made this movie showcasing only his talent. Instead he utilizes and celebrates the talents of others. Donald O'Connor as well as Cyd Charisse (man those legs!) are a perfect examples. The sets are stunning!
Now on to the DVD Features. More than you can shake a stick at! On disc one you have a great feature that shows signifigant movies that bridge silent film to talkies, including "The Jazz Singer." When I saw this, I felt I struck gold. The digital restoration of "Singer" and the others are amazing. Nothing is done half-heartedly here. The two documentaries on disc 2 proves my point further. These are not 20 minute snippets. One feature, hosted by Debbie Reynolds is about the making "Singing in the Rain" is over 30 minutes and is great. You get Donald O'Connor's take on the amazing gymnastics of "Make 'em Laugh" as well as some great stories by Charrise and Reynolds. The other documentary "Musicals great Musicals" is a whopping hour and a half! This was by far the best gem on the disc. Going through the history of the movie musical and chronicles producer Arthur Freeds career. My wife and I soaked this one up like a sponge. This even has make-up test from the Wizard of Oz and recovered footage from "Annie Get Your Gun" with Judy Garland before she was fired.
Bottom line: Get this one. Fans of the genre will be drooling and those who want an introduction to the genre will be tapping their feet before the first number is finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is What DVD's Are For!!, March 22 2003
By 
Dave Mason (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
Aside from the widely accepted fact that this 1952 MGM Musical version of "Singin' In The Rain" is one of the finest pictures ever made, it now ranks as one of the best Special Edition DVD collections ever assembled.
Sadly, the routine packaging for this Special Edition does not communicate the exceptional preparation that went into production of this two-disc set. This collection represents the finest that MGM ever offered, and though poorly marketed and promoted, this edition is a Treasure! Two Thumbs... Five Stars... A++++!!
Ironically, this Special Edition DVD of MGM's classic film is released by... Warner Home Video. (Somewhere, Jack Warner is having a good laugh over this one!)
Disc One includes audio commentary from Debbie Reynolds, Donald O'Connor, Cyd Charisse, Kathleen Freeman (filmed shortly before her recent passing), Stanley Donen, Betty Comden, Adolph Green; with added commentary from contemporary filmmaker, Baz Luhrmann (Moulin Rouge). In addition, there are several "Easter Eggs" that allow the viewer to watch related bonus film footage on the subject at hand. The perfectly restored Technicolor film is as brilliant as the day it was filmed.
Disc Two includes two documentaries; one of which is hosted by Debbie Reynolds herself. The documentaries integrate classic interviews from Hollywood legends including Gene Kelly, Mickey Rooney, Vincent Minnelli, and many more. In addition, there is a stills gallery; film outtakes; and a magnificent collection of historic film musicals from the 1920's and 1930's.
This is film preservation at it's finest, and everyone involved deserves high praise for this wonderful collection. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph of the Imagination, March 6 2003
By 
Caponsacchi (Kenosha,, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
What is there about this movie that makes it so uniquely exhilarating, inspiring, even profound? After pitching "Broadway Melody," Don Lamont is told by his producer, "I can't visualize it. I'll have to see the movie."
"Singin' in the Rain" is a film that confronts both technique (stage elocution) and technology ("talkies") and demonstrates through its story and form that movies are a child of the human imagination. For me, the key scene is Don Lamont's sharing of his imaginative vision with Kathy on the sound stage serving as the set for his "You Were Meant for Me" number. We as spectators are witness to the entire fabrication, its basic pretense and artifice, yet we're as irresistibly drawn into Don's dream as is Kathy.
The triumph of "Singin' in the Rain" is that it constructs two levels of imaginative activity. The first is characterized by willful control and a passive surrendering to the mechanical; the second demonstrates the power of the imagination to transform artifice into art, technology into a human voice and vision. It's the "imagination" that Coleridge distinguishes from "fancy," a creative force that puts us in touch with the best parts of human nature. We exit the theater prepared for the outside blast because Kelley's encounter with it on a rainy street has provided not merely an escape but an alternative vision of reality, a realization that our dreams are capable of informing our lives.
On this DVD version, the edges are sharper than ever, the colors are richly saturated and even gaudy, the sound is full and enveloping. No film depends more on such excess and artifice to demonstrate its main point: when technology does not replace but is transformed by human imagination, we are able to see beyond our wildest dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best musicals ever. Period. No argument., Feb. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
If you like musicals and dancing, and you haven't seen Singin' In the Rain, then you should be ashamed of yourself. Just kidding (well.....). This musical has top-notch everything: dancing and musical numbers ("Moses Suposes", "Good Morning", "Make 'Em Laugh", and of course "Singin' In the Rain"), humor (the hilarious Donald O'Connor as sidekick Cosmo Brown), great acting performances (Gene Kelly as movie star Don Lockwood, and especially Jean Hagen as Don's partner in film, Lina Lamont) and a sweet if not simple plot about love and Hollywood's transition from silent to talking films. Gene Kelly is mesmerizing and magical during his "Singin' in the Rain" number, one of the best moments in cinema. The whole movie is just so much fun. The disc of special features is pretty good, with two interesting documentaries, one strictly about Singin' in the Rain (hosted by Debbie Reynolds) and one about Arthur Freed/MGM musicals. The movie was digitally remastered and looks wonderful, with bright colors and crisp clear images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Dance!, Jan. 31 2003
By 
James Hiller (Beaverton, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
"Singin' in the Rain" has the now infamous scene with Gene Kelly himself, dancer extraordinaire, splashing through puddles and singing about the bubbly feeling that love brings you. Everyone knows that scene, and many have imitated it since. I wonder how many people have sat down and truly had a good looksee at this extraordinary picture.
First, what's amazing is that this film was written just to string together a set of songs. The story of Hollywood's transition from silent films to talkies is showcased simply but brilliantly with grand comic overtones. The comedy works, the songs add to the story, and it is seemless. Oddly, even the "Broadway number", a ballet added to the middle of the film, seems out of place but wonderfully innovative and compelling.
Gene Kelly pulls off a tour de force performance as Don Lockwood, smitten star who shined brightly on a young Debbie Reynolds in her first starring role. Equally impressive, Donald O'Connor in an invisible but wonderfully played role of Cosmo, and Jean Hagen as the horrible Lena Lamont.
The transfer to DVD is impressive. The movie's never looked better and comes loaded with extras. The commentary track was interesting to listen to, but ultimately disappointing. If you watch the "Making of..." documentary on disk 2, you end up hearing many of the same comments, so it seems they just took comments and stuck them through the movie. Why not put Donald O'Conner and Debbie Reynolds in front of the movie and have them comment throughout? The winner of disk 2 is an hour and a half documentary on Arthur Freed and his impact on movies, which had me mesmerized. Also, film clips of the orginial songs as they were first performed was delightful.
Overall, this is a great buy. I love being able to jump to my favorite scenes (Good Morning and Moses Supposes get played the most!), and never tire of this classic. Voted the 10th best movie ever made, watch "Singin' in the Rain" and see why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE most famous musical and it deserves it., Jan. 22 2003
This review is from: Singin in the Rain (VHS Tape)
"Singin' In The Rain" was one of the oldest musical films I first saw, and I'm glad one of them was this. I first saw it when I was 6 and watched dozens of times since. If you have to pick one single MGM musical, let it be this one. You won't regret it at all, and it is far beyond execellently made! Neatly crafted scenery, great songs and score, super-star cast, great storyline which is like a parody storyline that shows you the days of the first talking pictures and every studio's difficulty with that new technology since this film is set then. The whole movie is very colorful, and the two best secnes in the picture are probably in full agreement with every other amatuer and advanced movie review. They are: Gene Kelly walking down a street lit with streetlights in the pouring rain, not having a care singing the title song, and doing a classic song-and-dance routine that is matched at #1 on my list with the end dancing sequence in "An American In Paris". The other best scene in "Singin' In The Rain" is the extravagant, exuberant, spectacular "Broadway Melody". Full of nothing but music, music, MUSIC throughout with a lot of great songs sung by Gene Kelly and extras throughout. That sequence itself has a little story built on to the plot of "Singin' In The Rain" itself making it complex. There are many adjectives to describe this picture. I have 8: excellent, exuberant, joyful, carefree, spectacular, smashing, perfect, and fabulous! "Gotta dance!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "There has never been anything between us. Just air.", Dec 31 2002
This review is from: Singin in the Rain (VHS Tape)
Don Lockwood: Cosmo, call me a cab.
Cosmo Brown: OK, you're a cab.
So what's the greatest movie musical of all time? Well, The Wizard of Oz is good. The songs from The Sound of Music are still being hummed to this day. Credit must also be given to the demented but widly entertaining South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut. But the granddaddy of the genre has to be Singin' in the Rain. Seeing Gene Kelly dancing drenched down the street has become one of the most iconic of movie images. Never has there been a better leading man for the Hollywood musical. The movie chronicles the transition period when silent films evolved into talkies by showing all the amusing growing pains producers, directors, and actors experienced. You can't help but smile when you see microphones being hidden wherever there was room or shudder when you hear the shrill voice of a silent film star who's career will come to an abrupt end with the advent of the voice track. Mix brilliant supporting turns by Donald O'Connor and Debbie Reynolds into the equation and the result is classic cinema. The Good Morning number and the Make 'em Laugh number still amaze but what can top the Singin' in the Rain number? It's timeless and a fitting legacy to the great Gene Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ON DVD.. What a Glorious Feeling, I'm Happy Again !!!, Dec 11 2002
By 
Christopher J. Jarmick "Word Lover" (Seattle, Wa. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
One of the greatest movie musicals of all time, is also an affectionate spoof of show business and a very enjoyable old fashioned romantic comedy. It's got a greatest hits of Freed/Brown songs throughout (with the almost plageristic Make
'Em Laugh turned into a classic with Donald O'Connor's tour de force performance). Kelly's great but O'Connor and Hagen are even better and then there's Cyd Charisse. c. The color, choreography, performances, pacing, were all as good as some real masters of musical film (Donen/Kelly/MGM) could do in 1952.
The DVD is probably as good as it possibly could be for 2002 in terms of restoration, image and sound presentation.
The extras are more than generous with newly recorded commentaries from several surviving contributors to the film, a 35 minute love-fest of a new documentary letting you see how those still with us look today.
There is also the 90 minute PBS doc from a few years back that is a keeper featuring some archive footage, out-takes and more.
And yes there's more !!!
A classic treat. What are you waiting for?
----Christopher J. Jarmick is the author of the mystery suspense thriller, The Glass Cocoon (with Serena F. Holder).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Rain' reigns as year's best, Dec 3 2002
By 
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs) (DVD)
"Singin' in the Rain," the favorite Hollywood musical of just about every movie critic who matters, comes splish-splashing back in a splendid 50th anniversary DVD edition.
Anyone still on the fence about getting a copy of this vividly restored gem can get their feet tapping on down to the software shop: This is one of the year's best DVD packages, quite possibly the best.
Warner's two-disc special edition features significant improvements over the images on its 2000 DVD. The older disc had its charms in a Good Guys kind of way - especially the cartoon-like Technicolor images on the fantasy dance sequences -- but suffered from major speckling and flatness. The new version, from restored elements, removes virtually all signs of wear and delivers the ever-changing color schemes with authority.
Viewers don't have to wait long to see the upgrades. Check out the shot of the aging fan at 2:14 and of star Gene Kelly at 9:35: Flesh tones look perfect and contrasts are rock solid; just amazing for a film made in 1951. Or the men's tuxedos and white shirts not long after that. Further proof: take a look at the Vixen's stockings in chapter 30 -- there's plenty of detail over the vast geography of Cyd Charisse's legs.
As with the older DVD, the film comes full screen (1.33:1). The remastered 5.1 Dolby Digital sounds fine, conservative in its surround mix -- it's basically all up front. Viewers may want to see if they prefer the original mono track.
Two contrasting documentaries anchor the extras.
"Musicals, Great Musicals: The Arthur Freed Unit at MGM," from 1998, tells the story of the legendary musicals maker and his "untouchable" stable of song and dance talent. Producer Freed, a longtime songwriter, wanted "integrated musicals," in which the tunes no longer popped up out of nowhere, but served the plot. Freed, says Charisse, "changed the look of musicals -- suddenly we're not old-fashioned looking any more." Stanley Donen, the co-director with Kelly of "Singin' in the Rain," says of Freed: "He wanted to do something quite remarkable. He didn't approach it as if he were going to blow up the system." "Singin' in the Rain" came somewhat near the end of Freed's remarkable career and is one of the best expressions of his uplifting, upbeat aesthetic.
The new "What a Glorious Feeling" making-of featurette has a nice breezy tone, but is far less ambitious than the Freed docu. It trots out some fun trivia: Kelly's iconic "Singin' in the Rain" solo wasn't in the original script; Judy Holliday suddenly became too famous for the squeaky actress part then memorably played by Jean Hagen; Oscar Levant had the Donald O'Connell role but couldn't handle the dance parts. There is a great clip of Kelly's stunt double leaping from a bus into a jalopy on the Sunset Boulvevard scene. "Rain" love interest Debbie Reynolds hosts the piece and seems right if quite fluffy.
Less successfully, Reynolds introduces the often-awkward audio commentary pieced together from interviews with key surviving talent and commentators. The speakers' comments come in at appropriate times, but they are not reacting to the film as it unspools, as has become customary. The DVD set has a lot of duplication, so some of the audio clips will sound familiar if you've been through the other features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singin' in the Rain (Full Screen Special Edition, 2 Discs)
CDN$ 36.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews