summer snsflyout Furniture boutiques-francophones All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars186
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2001
Singin' in the Rain is one musical that even all musical haters cannot ignore. This musical I feel has everything that a musical should have. The great songs "Good Morning," "You are my lucky Star" and of course the title track are forever timeless classics. The film is about Don Lockwood and Lina Lamont who are big movie stars of the silent era. Thank goodness for the film called The Jazz Singer because the silent movie world is all about to change. The Jazz Singer is a "talkie" and the silent movie actors find themselves undergoing singing and speech lessons so they can make their "talkie" movie. Don Lockwood passes but Lina Lamont cannot be a successful talkie actress. This film also shows us a romantic side of Lockwood and a showgirl named Kathy Seldon. Kathy pretends that she does not know who he is or anything about him, but we later find out that she knows everything about Don. Kathy and Don end up falling in love with each other. Later on Lockwood sees Kathy as a strong chorus girl who can overdue Lamont's voice, but Lamont tries her best to break them up. This films humor is hilarious but at times a bit cruel. A lot of it is at the expense of Lamont, because of her annoying voice and inability to sing and dance she is ridiculed throughout this film. Singin' in the Rain features some extraordinary dances ever filmed. One of my favorites would be during the Make 'Em Laugh scene which is performed by Cosmo Brown. This number is a reason alone to see this film. The dances choreographed by Gene Kelley are very entertaining. The film also contains plenty of humor, especially where Don is talking about his early movie career to the press as having everything, while we see images of his past that are not really glamorous at all, as Cosmo and Don are being rejected just about anywhere. This film has a rather sweet ending as Don is singing "You are my lucky Star" to Kathy in front of hundreds of movie fans. It shows his love for Kathy is so strong. I would recommend this film to anyone whether they are a musical fan or not. If you are ever in the mood for a fun and entertaining musical I would recommend you rent Singin' in the Rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2001
Singin' in the Rain is one musical that even all musical haters cannot ignore. This musical I feel has everything that a musical should have. The great songs "Good Morning," "You are my lucky Star" and of course the title track are forever timeless classics. The film is about Don Lockwood and Lina Lamont who are big movie stars of the silent era. Thank goodness for the film called The Jazz Singer because the silent movie world is all about to change. The Jazz Singer is a "talkie" and the silent movie actors find themselves undergoing singing and speech lessons so they can make their "talkie" movie. Don Lockwood passes but Lina Lamont cannot be a successful talkie actress. This film also shows us a romantic side of Lockwood and a showgirl named Kathy Seldon. Kathy pretends that she does not know who he is or anything about him, but we later find out that she knows everything about Don. Kathy and Don end up falling in love with each other. Later on Lockwood sees Kathy as a strong chorus girl who can overdue Lamont's voice, but Lamont tries her best to break them up. This films humor is hilarious but at times a bit cruel. A lot of it is at the expense of Lamont, because of her annoying voice and inability to sing and dance she is ridiculed throughout this film. Singin' in the Rain features some extraordinary dances ever filmed. One of my favorites would be during the Make 'Em Laugh scene which is performed by Cosmo Brown. This number is a reason alone to see this film. The dances choreographed by Gene Kelley are very entertaining. The film also contains plenty of humor, especially where Don is talking about his early movie career to the press as having everything, while we see images of his past that are not really glamorous at all, as Cosmo and Don are being rejected just about anywhere. This film has a rather sweet ending as Don is singing "You are my lucky Star" to Kathy in front of hundreds of movie fans. It shows his love for Kathy is so strong. I would recommend this film to anyone whether they are a musical fan or not. If you are ever in the mood for a fun and entertaining musical I would recommend you rent Singin' in the Rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2001
Singin in the Rain is perhaps the greatest movie musical ever made. I absolutely just love this film. It combines music, dance and a really witty script to make the most magnificent of MGM's musicals. The story goes like this: Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) and Lina Lamont (Jean Hagen) are the toast of 1920's Hollywood. Then The Jazz Singer comes out and all hell breaks loose when they realize that talkies are going to be the next big thing. Unfortunately, Lina has a voice that could shatter a mirror and caaaiiint seem to get anything done when a microphone is present. Don't worry though; Kathy Selden (Debbie Reynolds) saves the day and knocks Don right off his feet. She promises to dub over Lina's voice and stay at the back of the cameras. Of course while Lina believes the press that Don and her are an item, Don is falling in love with the beautiful Kathy.
All of the stars put in brilliant performances, especially Donald O'Connor, his 'Make em Laugh' scene has to be one of the best-choreographed displays ever. Jean Hagen's portrayal of the shrill blond bombshell is absolutely hilarious, which won her a Best Supporting Actress nomination that year. And of course the multi-talented Gene Kelly: he can act, sing, and dance... the triple threat. It still amazes me how Gene Kelly was also able to choreograph and co-direct while taking on the role of the main character. Debbie Reynolds is great too, but in my opinion she plays second fiddle to Ms. Hagen.
My favorite bit would have to be the trademark Singin in the Rain scene. Just watching Gene Kelly sing and dance around in the streets while it is pouring rain is just wonderful. This is a great film and I recommend it to everybody. If you haven't seen Singin in the Rain then you must go see it, if you already have seen it then watch it again, and for those who don't think highly of musicals; this one is a must for you guys cause it will change the way you view musicals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2001
Considered by many (including myself) to be one the finest musicals ever made, SINGIN' IN THE RAIN is a perennial delight for young and old alike. Based upon a catalogue of songs written by Arthur Freed and Nacio Herb Brown during the late twenties and early thirties, this delightful film spoofs the turmoils of the transition from silents to the "talkies" in the movies. Originally planned for Howard Keel, who was enormously popular at the time, it eventually shifted to accomadate the persona of Gene Kelly who also co-directed. Donald O'Connor is possibly best-remembered for his terrific song and dance solo "Make 'Em Laugh", an athletic tour-de-force - he won the Golden Globe Award in 1952 largely due to this. Nineteen year-old Debbie Reynolds was dubbed by Betty Noyes for her singing scenes and by Jean Hagen for Hagan's character Lina Lamont (for whom Debbie's character dubbed!) Generally considered as the apogee of screen musical art, its a virtually faultless film by any standards; over the years, it has surpassed AN AMERICAN IN PARIS in popularity and it is easily recognised as one of the all-time great movies. Strangely enough, when it was originally released back in 1952, it was found by some critics to be "sluggish" and "without much warmth or wit"! ............ It's terrific, folks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2001
An exhilerating and fast-moving musical comedy, SINGIN' IN THE RAIN is one of MGM's best-loved musicals.
Directed by Gene Kelly and Stanley Donen, SINGIN' IN THE RAIN tells the hilarious story of what happened when Hollywood exploded with the advent of sound pictures ("Talkies").
Jean Hagen won high praise for her riotous performance as Lina Lamont, silent screen queen with the killer looks and a voice like sulphuric acid! Her voice is the main drawback for the bigwig studio producer (Millard Mitchell). Enter Kathy Seldon (Debbie Reynolds) who offers to dub Lina's dialogue and singing to save the studio from ruin.
Along the way Kathy falls for dashing leading man Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) and cavorts with his energetic best friend Cosmo Brown (Donald O'Connor).
With the songs "Fit As A Fiddle", "You Were Meant For Me", "Would You?", "Broadway Melody", "Good Mornin'", and the show-stopping Title Song.
Interestingly enough, the voice you hear when Kathy is dubbing the song for Lina, "Would You?", is actually Jean Hagen singing, NOT Debbie Reynolds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2000
Singin' in the Rain is a top notch classic musical, filled with great music & performances. The most surprising & suberb performance though would have to be Jean Hagen as Lina Lamont, whose annoyingly screechy voice & snobiness earned her an Oscar nomination for 'Best Supporting Actress.'
The film is set in 1927, when silent movies rule, & the romantic film duo of Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) & Lina Lamont (Hagen) are the biggest stars there are. The two keep viewers in a fairy tale of romance in their films & in their 'real romance,' but little do their fans know that their little romance is really just for publicity & that Don can't stand the self centered Lina.
While driving to a party Don & his best friend Cosmo Brown (Donald O'Conner), which is the pianoist on the set of Don's movies, recieve a flat tire. In the process of fixing it Lockwood is surronded by screaming fans & in escape, Don happens to land in the car of Kathy Seldon (Debbie Reynolds.)Kathy, an aspiring young stage actress, tells off the actor & Don does the same.
Kathy & Don eventually fall in love causing jealousy with Lina when she finds of their romance & that, while the studio is converting to talking pictures, Kathy is to dub Lina's voice in the upcoming Lockwood & Lamont musical "The Dancing Cavalier."
The film features such memerable songs as "Good Morning," "The Broadway Melody," & the title song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2000
I first saw this movie when I was five years old, my parents bought it, along with Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, when they bought our first VCR. Ever since, I have watched this movie countless times and have never tired of it. My mother and I practically have all the lines memorized by now. Gene Kelly is brilliant, funny and wonderful as Don Lockwood, the silent film actor who has the attention of every girl in America. Jean Hagen plays the woman he romances in all his movies, who is known more for her looks than her voice. Donald O Connor is absolutely hilarious as Lockwood's best friend and composer, Cosmo Brown. Debbie Reynolds completes the cast as a chorus girl, Kathy Seldon, who makes Lockwood take a good look at himself. The songs are unforgettable from "Fit as a Fiddle" to "Would You" (By the way, Jean Hagen doesn't sing for Reynolds in "Would You", it's a girl named Betty Noyes). I especially love the number that Kelly and O Connor do together, Moses, and one that I will not forget is You Were Meant for Me. Cid Charisse did a cameo appearance in the Broadway Melody Ballet number, and was gracefull and excellent, as she usuall is. Did anyone recognize Kathleen Freeman as Lina's voice teacher? Don't be left out in the rain with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2000
The year : 1952. The film : Singin'in the rain! The Best film ever made, ever, and which will never be upstaged. The premise is quite simple, lots of songs, lots of dancing, lots of movie stuff too. And what great fun it is! It is just about the transition between silent and talking pictures, which occured in 1927. What's good about it is that it can be funny and witty at the same time, without any of the audience member realizing it. And any film who can do this, deserves to be called the greatest film of all-time. Take the scenes where they are shooting scenes from the film Gene kelly and Jean Hagen star in : It just cracks you up the way the microphone is placed so we hear her heartbeat or her dress,but if you think about it, it is more serious than entended to be. But this doesn't really matter anyway because it is just fun, wonderful, magical fun. Sparks, chills are created whenever a musical number starts. The whole movie just lifts you up with its bright colors and it's dleightful songs. It is absolutly enchanting. And what greater movie moment than the "Singin' in the rain" number. Nothing has ever come close to this and never will be. What this movie provides us with is a smile at the end, that warms up your heart for the rest of your life. Now, what other film can do this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2000
I absolutly adore this film. It's most definetly one of my favorite musicals. It really is close to perfect. The musical numbers are woven seamlessly into the story line. And the numbers themselves are knock-outs. Although the title dance scene is not my favorite, every time I watch it it fills my with that MGM feeling. But my favorite is without a doubt "Moses Supposes". If you want to see Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor at their best, search no more! Your jaw will drop to the flore while watching these guys give it all they've got. Real hoofers, those two. Of course, Debbie Reynolds is adorable. Not that bad a dancer either. Isn't she great in "Good Morning". Oh my, what can I say about Jean Hagen...WOW. Now that, my friends, is a performance! She's HILARIOUS! I would never ever imagine anyone else in that role but her. Jean Hagen was born to play Lina Lamont just as Vivien Leigh was born to play Scarlett O'Hara. She's fabulous. All I have to say is... Thats Entertainment! Don't wait another second, go buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2000
This movie bridges the beginning of cinema and its present: no movie had ever unmasked Hollywood's rites and reality without seeming acerbic and downright nasty (as "Sunset Boulevard" had been)... yet "Singin' In the Rain" is sweet and nurturing in its critique of Hollywood. The hand here doesn't strike at Hollywood: it strokes it. And for those whose conception of musicals is ill-informed, thinking them all quaint and harmless, there is plenty of spice here: the dance routines suggest the influence they duly exert on current urban dance, and the comedy is hysterically funny and surprisingly layered and sophisticated. This movie is often called "the musical for people who don't like musicals", or the "anti-musical"... but some of the "musical inside the musical" storylines make up the best of the genre (see "The Bandwagon"). Just don't think of it as a "musical", think of it as a great movie which beats anything at the CentroPlex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse