Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More Of A "Best - Off" Than A Greatest Hits Set
This sequel to "Hot Rocks" ranks as one of the better Stones hits compilations. However, while the first one contained big hits, this 2 - disc set contains many lesser heard songs. Of the 28 song here, only two made the top 10 ("The Last Time" and "Have You Seen Your Mother Baby, Standing In The Shadow" both peaked at number 9). But does that...
Published on July 7 2004 by Anthony Nasti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "We Love You" + "Child of the Moon" both in stereo
I liked the track listing for _The Singles Collection_ but had to return it upon discovering that the three-disc set went largely for monophonic versions of songs and, in at least a couple of cases, inferior (if once rare) takes. The B-side, "We Love You," in particular, is best heard in its stereo version, where its sound effects are more effectively deployed...
Published on Sept. 6 2002 by a discerning fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More Of A "Best - Off" Than A Greatest Hits Set, July 7 2004
By 
Anthony Nasti "Music Maniac" (Staten island New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
This sequel to "Hot Rocks" ranks as one of the better Stones hits compilations. However, while the first one contained big hits, this 2 - disc set contains many lesser heard songs. Of the 28 song here, only two made the top 10 ("The Last Time" and "Have You Seen Your Mother Baby, Standing In The Shadow" both peaked at number 9). But does that make this cd any less enjoyable? No. In fact, it actually makes it better since there are so many hardcore fans (such as myself) wanting a cd filled with rarities.
Disc 1 starts off around the same period as the first disc on the first volume of "Hot Rocks". Songs like "Tell Me", "Dandelion", "It's All Over Now" and "Lady Jane" rank among the best Stones recordings of all time, certainly as good as "Satisfaction" or "Brown Sugar". Others like "Good Times, Bad Times" and "Out Of Time" (the "Metamorphisis" version is better) are dated, but the Dylan - esque "Sittin' On A Fence" is one their bst studio efforts. On the downside, the remastering on "We Love You" is a bit muddy. Still, great cd.
Disc 2's first 5 songs continue where the disc 1 left off. "She's A Rainbow" is bright abd bouncy, and contains the rare intro taking place at a fish market. Then comes the eerie masterpiece "2000 Light Years From Home", one of Brian Jones' finest works. "Child Of The Moon" a great rocker and a rare b -side (it was used to back "Jumpin' Jack Flash"). "No Expectations" is another one of Brian Jones' finest momenst and significant for his use of the bottleneck guitar. After the jaunty title track from 1969's "Let It Bleed", we immediately go back in time to 1962. "What To Do" is a nice romp. It's nice to hear "Fortune Teller" without the live overdubs on "Got Live If You Want It", while "Posion Ivy" is a delightful cover of the Coasters hit. "Everybody Needs Somebody To Love" is nice but othing to rave about. "Come On" a cover of a Chuck Berry song and their first single ever (released in Britain only) is one of the best songs in their catalogue. "Money", "Bye Bye Johnnie", the second version of "Poison Ivy" (much more harder than the first one) and "I've Been Loving You Too Long" (minus live overdubs) are great covers. Bringing thsi et to a close is a marvelou cover of Muddy Waters' "I Can't Be Satisfied" (complete with excellent slide guitar, courttesy of Brian Jones), and "Long Long While", a great soul ballad in vein of Otis Redding.
This is a great cd for hardcore fans. New fans should wait awhile until they're more accquaintd to the Stones' material, but definitely should get it. Five stars across the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Exactly Big Hits, Feb. 14 2004
By 
anthony nasti (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
This album was originally in 1972 while The Rolling Stones were at their peak, churning out 5 consecutive classic albums. Released by ABCKO as a companion to the "Hot Rocks" collection, this cd is not exactly a collection of hits like the title promises. I actually liken it to The Beach Boys' "Greatest Hits, Volume 3 - The Best Of The Brother Years", as both albums seem to be a collection of popular album tracks than one filled with hit singles.
Disc 1 is nicely put together and features several of the best songs from their early period, including "Tell Me", "Not Fade Away" and "Lady Jane". I also enjoyed more obscure works like "Out Of Time" (though I think the version on "Metamorphisis" is better), "Good Times, Bad Times" and the Bob Dylan - ish "Sittin' On A Fence". The first disc ends with their brief voyage into physcadellia. First, there's the enlightening "Dandelion" and the screching "We Love You", which features nice harmonies, sort of like a harder - edged Beach Boys.
Disc 2 picks up where the first disc left off. The first few tracks ("She's A Rainbow", "2000 Light Years From Home", "Child Of The Moon", "No Expectations", "Let It Bleed") are from the band's mid - '60s' period, making it a powerhouse lineup of songs. But startng with "What To Do", we begin to travel backwards through the time when they were unknown in America. Here is where you'll find rare tracks like "Come On" (their first single), a cover of "Money", and versions of "Fortune Teller" and "I've Been Loving You Too Long" minus the live overdubs featured on "Got Live If You Want It". Closing the disc and the set are a rousing cover of Muddy Waters' "I Can't Be Satisfied" (featuring a great slide guitar solo by Brian Jones) and "Long Long While", a gorgeous soul ballad that was banished to b- side status in 1966 (the a - side was "Paint It Black").
Overall, this is a very well - done collection. It has some excellent songs here, some worthy of classic status. However, here's a little warning. If you already have all the songs, then there is obviously no need for this collection. Otherwise, go out and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits Is An Overstatement, But It's Still Great, April 27 2003
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
Hot Rocks Volume Two is billed as more of the band's greatest hitsm, but it does not really live up to that stature because most of it is made up of minor hits, b-sides, and album tracks. But it is still worth a listen.
Disc 1 kicks off with the eastermn acoustic strums of Tell Me
( You're Coming Back ), their first smash hit in America. This is a very tender love song. Next up is the only tune that can be considered an popular and endearing Stones classic featured on this album. The Last Time, with its familliar blues riff and stinging Mick vocal, should've been included on Hot Rocls Volume One, which features all the classics. I guess It's All Over Now
is also considered a classic by some people, but it's not a famous one. Not Fade Away, that too is considered a classic, mainly because it was their first American single. Good Times, Bad Times and I'm Free are b-sides, and Out Of Time is an album track. I kinda like it, but the version on Metamorphosis is better. Lady Jane is a b-side, and it's the most pretty, most romantic love song they ever recorded. Featuring a lovely harpsichord and Mick's best recorded vocal. Sittin' On A Fence is a Bob Dylan-style folk tune. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby is basically their first nervous breakdown. Closing out the album are Dandelion and We Love You, their two failed physcadellic effort. Most peoplehate these tunes, but I like both, especially the cheery Dandelion.
Disc 2 kicks off with the physcadellic mistrelsy of She's A Rainbow, which now includes some muffled screaming before Nicky Hopkins' signature piano tickiling. Next up is the terrifying space odyssey 2000 Light Years From Home. Kicking with a chilling sounds of Brian's mellotron and some stinging piano work. It ends with the morbid sounds of Brian's mellotron and strings. Child Of The Moon is a b-side, and it's Mick's gentle rocker about Marianne Faithfull. Next up is the brilliant No Expectations, featuring Brian's simmering bottleneck slide guitar.Brian weaves his magic one last time. Let It Bleed is an album track from the 1969 album of the same name, featuring Stu's marvelous barellhouse piano pounding. What To Do is another album track. The last few tracks. Their first single, Come On, is great, while Bye Bye Johnny sounds much better. I Can't Be Satisfied features the amazing slide guitar work of Brian. Closing the album is the magnificent soul ballad, Long Long While. Mick gives one of his most soulful vocals ever, sounding like Otis Redding.
This album is definitely amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Standby, Dec 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
...A single set with the immortal DANDELION and CHILD OF THE MOON, along with the excellent I'M FREE and WE LOVE YOU? And an alternate take of EVERYBODY NEEDS SOMEBODY...I'VE BEEN LOVING YOU TOO LONG, minus the audience noises of the 'got live if you want it!' CD ? Add WHAT TO DO, I CAN'T BE SATISFIED, AND LONG LONG WHILE ...
(I'd still like to hear the original CHILD OF THE MOON I listened to in my youth. It was on the B-side of my JUMPING JACK FLASH London 45 rpm disc. Or was it the B-side of HONKY TONK WOMEN? Still, the remix here is still great. Check lyrics sites, also.)
Yes, there are 'other' tunes people wanted to see on this disc, yet think about it: it is still useful. I am afraid, however, that we will never win the properly large-enough listening crowd for the Stones ( at least their early stuff ), until they commercially release some of their earliest jewels. "Road Runner," "Bright Lights, Big City," and " Cops and Robbers," never released commercially/legally that I am aware of, are esential. Still unavailable on a large scale, tunes like these will surely lure the bigger listening crowd that true Stones fans hope for, once released.
...other types of fans will be here pleased with COME ON, POISON IVY, BYE BYE JOHNNY, FORTUNE TELLER, MONEY, and such. However, see my recent Amazon.com reviews for LONDON YEARS (entitled "The Healing Power of Decadence"), FLOWERS ("An Overlooked Weapon") and AFTERMATH ("Its not easy Thinking What to Do? Get the UK version...") These should prove useful for clarifying audio, variety, and other issues for some customers/fans.

Also, rather than deplore the lack of notes, find your Stones' info elsewhere: it's all over the internet, with websites all over the place... and preserve your cardboard collectable Digipaks that everyone complains about, by putting them in a safe place. Buy a few inexpensive .50c plastic 'jewel' cases from the record shop to put your remastered Stones in... also, this album sounds good to me, surely enough to please most audiophiles: but spend as much 'quality time' time reading the great lyrics to some of these great tunes on the Stones' websites on the internet, to really get more satisfaction out of the deal.
I hope the additions and revisions to my review make it more useful to readers and/or customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of Vol. 2 Remastered With 3 Bonus Tracks!, Sept. 30 2002
By 
J. E FELL "boogaloojef" (Carterville, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
"More Hot Rocks" contains many of the hits not contained on the first 2 cd set but also includes somes rare material and is newly remastered with 3 bonus tracks. Even if you have the first volume or are planning on picking up the new "Forty Licks" compilation this is still a necessary purchase. The set contains 5 tracks which also appear on the first disk of "Forty Licks". However, there are still many great and interesting cuts which do not appear on that set which appear here. Among these are the underrated "I'm Free" and favorites like "Dandelion" and "2000 Light Years From Home". The set also contains rarities such as "Out Of Time", "Child Of The Moon", and great covers like "Poison Ivy", "Fortune Teller", "Bye Bye Johnny" and the Muddy Water's classic "I Can't Be Satisfied" with some great slide guitar by Brian Jones. It also contains their first single a cover of Chuck Berry's "Come On". The newly remastered set also contains 3 bonus tracks, alternate takes of "Everybody Needs Somebody To Love", "Poison Ivy" and the non audience overdubbed version of "I've Been Loving You Too Long" which originally appeared in a fake live version on the "Got Live If You Want It" lp. This set ranges from blues and r&b covers from the early days, through more folkish numbers like "Sittin' On A Fence" to the psychedelia of "2000 Light Years From Home" and "She's A Rainbow". While the new remastering is great and the 3 bonus tracks are welcome the set is still somewhat pricey considering you only get about 90 minutes worth of (great) music (disk one is only about 38 minutes). A number of cuts could have been added such as the singles "Little Red Rooster" "I Wanna Be Your Man" and "You Better Move On" from the British version of "Through The Past Darkly". Great album tracks like the concert favorites "Stray Cat Blues" and "Live With Me" are absent as well as great cuts like the covers "Down The Road Apiece" "Carol" "Mona" and "Around And Around". Personal favorites like "The Spider And The Fly", "Stupid Girl" and "Connection" could also have been added. Being a fanatic I tend to be somewhat picky about what is included. The set does provide a number of classic cuts from the "Greatest Rock and Roll Band in the World" not included on the first volume or "Forty Licks" and enough rare cuts not available elsewhere to make this an essential purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Collectors Set, Sept. 24 2002
By 
Richard R. Carlton (Ada, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
This is very much a Stones collectors album. Although it has few big hits, it completes the bulk of their well known early catalog for collectors. None of the songs on More Hot Rocks appear on the first Hot Rocks 1964-1971 album. In Addition, there are no songs on the first set of compilation albums [Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass) and Through The Past, Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2)] that are not included on the second set of compilation albums (Hot Rocks and More Hot Rocks).
This is the version of More Hot Rocks (Big Hits And Fazed Cookies) that was originally released in the U.S. on Dec 1, 1972 but was withheld from the UK until 1990 due to a lawsuit. The early Stones London Records catalog (which was their old American record company) issued both Hot Rocks and More Hot Rocks during 1972 while at the same time the British company (Decca) released a series of compilation albums in the UK (Gimme Shelter, Milestones, Rock 'n' Rolling Stones, and No Stone Unturned). None of the UK albums were released on CD. The Stones former manager Allen Klein's company ABCKO acquired the Stones' catalog after Klein became their manager in 1965. The resulting legal battles produced releases that the Stones opposed (they took out full page adds asking fans not to buy them), including the controversial Metamorphosis releases (which are now available on CD for the 1st time ever). But the sad fact is that the Stones lost control of their great early material.
The album includes 6 songs that had not appeared on an American album before (Come On, Bye Bye Johnny, I Can't Be Satisfied, Long Long While, Money, What To Do, and Poision Ivy. In addition a remix of Child Of The Moon (the B side of Jumpin' Jack Flash) was released for the first time on any album.
This US version collects the well known songs from their singles, albums, and the songs not previously released in the US or only as single B sides from 1964-1967. The songs are not on the album in the order they were released in the U.S. Those that were only released as album cuts are noted. Those that had not previously been released are marked with #.
#6-7-63 Come On (UK single - their 1st release)
#1-10-64 Money (from the UK EP The Rolling Stones)
#1-10-64 Poison Ivy (from the UK EP The Rolling Stones)
#1-10-64 Bye Bye Johnny (from the UK EP The Rolling Stones)
3-6-64 Not Fade Away (also on Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass)))
6-12-64 Tell Me (also on Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass))
7-24-64 It's All Over Now (also on Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass))
7-24-64 Good Times, Bad Times (B side of It's All Over Now) (also on Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass))
#1-15-65 I Can't Be Satisfied (from the UK album Rolling Stones No. 2)
3-12-65 The Last Time (also on Big Hits (High Tide & Green Grass)
7-14-65 Sittin' On A Fence (from the album Flowers)
7-24-65 I'm Free (B side of Get Off Of My Cloud)
#5-13-66 Long Long While (from the UK B side of Paint It, Black)
7-1-66 Lady Jane (from the album Aftermath)
7-1-66 What To Do (from the album Aftermath)
9-23-66 Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow? (also on Through The Past, Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2))
12-9-66 Fortune Teller (from the album Got Live If You Want It! - with live overdub removed)
7-14-67 Out Of Time (from the album Flowers)
8-18-67 Dandelion (also on Through The Past, Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2))
8-18-67 We Love You (single released as A side, B side was Dandelion)
12-22-67 She's A Rainbow (also on Through The Past, Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2))
12-22-67 2000 Light Years From Home (B side of She's A Rainbow) (also on Through The Past, Darkly (Big Hits Vol. 2))
5-24-68 Child Of The Moon (B side of Jumpin' Jack Flash)
8-30-68 No Expectations (B side of Street Fighting Man)
12-5-69 Let It Bleed (from the album Let It Bleed)
This information comes from "It's Only Rock And Roll: The Ultimate Guide To The Rolling Stones" by Karnbach and Bernson and from my own collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "We Love You" + "Child of the Moon" both in stereo, Sept. 6 2002
By 
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
I liked the track listing for _The Singles Collection_ but had to return it upon discovering that the three-disc set went largely for monophonic versions of songs and, in at least a couple of cases, inferior (if once rare) takes. The B-side, "We Love You," in particular, is best heard in its stereo version, where its sound effects are more effectively deployed. Fortunately, I found it and "Child of the Moon" both in stereo on _More Hot Rocks_, which, given its overlap with other hits compilations and classic original albums, I nevertheless feel ambivalent about buying. Granted, this collection has other rare songs otherwise uncollected on officially released, remastered CDs, but that material should have been consolidated for release as a separate collection. What we are left with is an overpriced luxury item, from which friends with blank media can pick and choose the worthwhile over the unnecessarily redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last laugh is on me!, Sept. 27 2002
By 
T. A. Shepherd "tas50l" (Lancaster, Ca. 93536) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
When I first heard that ABKCO was re-issuing the Decca/London albums of the sixties, I was a bit peeved that there would be no bonus tracks, no frills, just straight album versions. I decided to buy just the discs I didn't have, which included the original Hot Rocks and the live albums. Upon checking out Hot Rocks II, I found that it in fact included some bonus tracks. One in particular, the classic Otis Redding standard, I've Been Loving You Too Long, was among them. Anxious to hear this without the audience clutter on "Got Live", I was pleasantly surprised that it was in glorious stereo! E.P. version of Poison Ivy is on disc for the first time and the "harmonica" version of Fortune Teller never sounded so stellar! Hey, I'm sold--I will eventually replace the whole series! Allen Klein, I take it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some Worthy Classics And Rarities, April 19 2003
By 
G. J Wiener (Westchester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
The Rolling Stones had so many classic tunes from the early 60's that another Hot Rocks addition was necessary. The Last Time, Not Fade Away, Tell Me, Let It Bleed, Its All Over Now, and She's A Rainbow are the most familiar tunes. Howeer there are many stunning covers of old R & B tunes like Money, Poison Ivy, I Can't Be Satisfied, and I've Been Loving You Too Long. Also there are numerous hidden gems like a remix of the spooky Child of the Moon and the soulful Long Long While.
If you don't feel like collecting the individual early Stones recordings, this one is a worthy purchase. Even if you have some early Stones recordings, the rarities might make it worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just great, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
above the rest, gives me back a space in time, a great addition too my collection. there are it to ROCK AND ROLL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies
More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews