Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The oddest stones collection you'll ever find
Well here they are the Brian Jones collection. Weren't big hits because they were too eclectic for Stones audiences. Money is the exception, also greater than great are We Love You, their dark anti love song of 1967 complete with Brian's studio genius, Also note 1000 Light years from home, Standing in the Shadows, Lady Jane, Not Fade Away, She's a Rainbow, Child of the...
Published on June 13 2009 by Dean Wirth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just great
above the rest, gives me back a space in time, a great addition too my collection. there are it to ROCK AND ROLL
Published 7 months ago by gary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just great, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
above the rest, gives me back a space in time, a great addition too my collection. there are it to ROCK AND ROLL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The oddest stones collection you'll ever find, June 13 2009
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
Well here they are the Brian Jones collection. Weren't big hits because they were too eclectic for Stones audiences. Money is the exception, also greater than great are We Love You, their dark anti love song of 1967 complete with Brian's studio genius, Also note 1000 Light years from home, Standing in the Shadows, Lady Jane, Not Fade Away, She's a Rainbow, Child of the Moon, Let it Bleed, and many others. Even their throwaways like Out of Touch are worth a listen. The London Years with Brian, whether leading the band or as a resident studio genius adding final touches to songs, were their finest. And they flaunted free sexuality, disregard for authority and individuality without becoming part of any "pack" movement.
Digitally remastered with Everybody Needs Somebody to Love (version never before released)as well as 2 other tracks added.
Hot Rocks I was their standards we all know, Hot Rocks II is the songs mostly forgotten, which is why anyone interested in the most creative period of the Stones (when Brian left, they just repeated repeated repeated)has to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Of A "Best - Off" Than A Greatest Hits Set, July 7 2004
By 
Anthony Nasti "Music Maniac" (Staten island New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
This sequel to "Hot Rocks" ranks as one of the better Stones hits compilations. However, while the first one contained big hits, this 2 - disc set contains many lesser heard songs. Of the 28 song here, only two made the top 10 ("The Last Time" and "Have You Seen Your Mother Baby, Standing In The Shadow" both peaked at number 9). But does that make this cd any less enjoyable? No. In fact, it actually makes it better since there are so many hardcore fans (such as myself) wanting a cd filled with rarities.
Disc 1 starts off around the same period as the first disc on the first volume of "Hot Rocks". Songs like "Tell Me", "Dandelion", "It's All Over Now" and "Lady Jane" rank among the best Stones recordings of all time, certainly as good as "Satisfaction" or "Brown Sugar". Others like "Good Times, Bad Times" and "Out Of Time" (the "Metamorphisis" version is better) are dated, but the Dylan - esque "Sittin' On A Fence" is one their bst studio efforts. On the downside, the remastering on "We Love You" is a bit muddy. Still, great cd.
Disc 2's first 5 songs continue where the disc 1 left off. "She's A Rainbow" is bright abd bouncy, and contains the rare intro taking place at a fish market. Then comes the eerie masterpiece "2000 Light Years From Home", one of Brian Jones' finest works. "Child Of The Moon" a great rocker and a rare b -side (it was used to back "Jumpin' Jack Flash"). "No Expectations" is another one of Brian Jones' finest momenst and significant for his use of the bottleneck guitar. After the jaunty title track from 1969's "Let It Bleed", we immediately go back in time to 1962. "What To Do" is a nice romp. It's nice to hear "Fortune Teller" without the live overdubs on "Got Live If You Want It", while "Posion Ivy" is a delightful cover of the Coasters hit. "Everybody Needs Somebody To Love" is nice but othing to rave about. "Come On" a cover of a Chuck Berry song and their first single ever (released in Britain only) is one of the best songs in their catalogue. "Money", "Bye Bye Johnnie", the second version of "Poison Ivy" (much more harder than the first one) and "I've Been Loving You Too Long" (minus live overdubs) are great covers. Bringing thsi et to a close is a marvelou cover of Muddy Waters' "I Can't Be Satisfied" (complete with excellent slide guitar, courttesy of Brian Jones), and "Long Long While", a great soul ballad in vein of Otis Redding.
This is a great cd for hardcore fans. New fans should wait awhile until they're more accquaintd to the Stones' material, but definitely should get it. Five stars across the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Exactly Big Hits, Feb. 14 2004
By 
anthony nasti (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
This album was originally in 1972 while The Rolling Stones were at their peak, churning out 5 consecutive classic albums. Released by ABCKO as a companion to the "Hot Rocks" collection, this cd is not exactly a collection of hits like the title promises. I actually liken it to The Beach Boys' "Greatest Hits, Volume 3 - The Best Of The Brother Years", as both albums seem to be a collection of popular album tracks than one filled with hit singles.
Disc 1 is nicely put together and features several of the best songs from their early period, including "Tell Me", "Not Fade Away" and "Lady Jane". I also enjoyed more obscure works like "Out Of Time" (though I think the version on "Metamorphisis" is better), "Good Times, Bad Times" and the Bob Dylan - ish "Sittin' On A Fence". The first disc ends with their brief voyage into physcadellia. First, there's the enlightening "Dandelion" and the screching "We Love You", which features nice harmonies, sort of like a harder - edged Beach Boys.
Disc 2 picks up where the first disc left off. The first few tracks ("She's A Rainbow", "2000 Light Years From Home", "Child Of The Moon", "No Expectations", "Let It Bleed") are from the band's mid - '60s' period, making it a powerhouse lineup of songs. But startng with "What To Do", we begin to travel backwards through the time when they were unknown in America. Here is where you'll find rare tracks like "Come On" (their first single), a cover of "Money", and versions of "Fortune Teller" and "I've Been Loving You Too Long" minus the live overdubs featured on "Got Live If You Want It". Closing the disc and the set are a rousing cover of Muddy Waters' "I Can't Be Satisfied" (featuring a great slide guitar solo by Brian Jones) and "Long Long While", a gorgeous soul ballad that was banished to b- side status in 1966 (the a - side was "Paint It Black").
Overall, this is a very well - done collection. It has some excellent songs here, some worthy of classic status. However, here's a little warning. If you already have all the songs, then there is obviously no need for this collection. Otherwise, go out and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fortune Teller, Aug. 30 2003
By 
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
It's a good album, but I wish the songs had been arranged chronologically. Mainly, this is the only way to get your hands on "Fortune Teller." I'm pretty sure the version on "Got Live if You Want It" has overdubbed screaming to make it sound "live." But this is "Fortune Teller" just the way it sounded coming out of my transistor radio back in the day. That harmonica lick drives me crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits Is An Overstatement, But It's Still Great, April 27 2003
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
Hot Rocks Volume Two is billed as more of the band's greatest hitsm, but it does not really live up to that stature because most of it is made up of minor hits, b-sides, and album tracks. But it is still worth a listen.
Disc 1 kicks off with the eastermn acoustic strums of Tell Me
( You're Coming Back ), their first smash hit in America. This is a very tender love song. Next up is the only tune that can be considered an popular and endearing Stones classic featured on this album. The Last Time, with its familliar blues riff and stinging Mick vocal, should've been included on Hot Rocls Volume One, which features all the classics. I guess It's All Over Now
is also considered a classic by some people, but it's not a famous one. Not Fade Away, that too is considered a classic, mainly because it was their first American single. Good Times, Bad Times and I'm Free are b-sides, and Out Of Time is an album track. I kinda like it, but the version on Metamorphosis is better. Lady Jane is a b-side, and it's the most pretty, most romantic love song they ever recorded. Featuring a lovely harpsichord and Mick's best recorded vocal. Sittin' On A Fence is a Bob Dylan-style folk tune. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby is basically their first nervous breakdown. Closing out the album are Dandelion and We Love You, their two failed physcadellic effort. Most peoplehate these tunes, but I like both, especially the cheery Dandelion.
Disc 2 kicks off with the physcadellic mistrelsy of She's A Rainbow, which now includes some muffled screaming before Nicky Hopkins' signature piano tickiling. Next up is the terrifying space odyssey 2000 Light Years From Home. Kicking with a chilling sounds of Brian's mellotron and some stinging piano work. It ends with the morbid sounds of Brian's mellotron and strings. Child Of The Moon is a b-side, and it's Mick's gentle rocker about Marianne Faithfull. Next up is the brilliant No Expectations, featuring Brian's simmering bottleneck slide guitar.Brian weaves his magic one last time. Let It Bleed is an album track from the 1969 album of the same name, featuring Stu's marvelous barellhouse piano pounding. What To Do is another album track. The last few tracks. Their first single, Come On, is great, while Bye Bye Johnny sounds much better. I Can't Be Satisfied features the amazing slide guitar work of Brian. Closing the album is the magnificent soul ballad, Long Long While. Mick gives one of his most soulful vocals ever, sounding like Otis Redding.
This album is definitely amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ********* BEST ********* STONES CD I OWN, April 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
...
MY REVIEW- WOW! I JUST GOT IT TODAY AND I LOVE IT! I HAD AN 8-TRACK OF IT THAT COULD NOT BE PLAYED AND I REALLY WANTED IT. THIS IS THE BEST OF THE FIVE STONES CD'S I HAVE. I'M A HUGE FAND OF THE STONES. I LOVED THE REMASTERED VERSIONS OF ALL THE SONGS. TO ME, THE BEST REMASTERED SONG WAS "NO EXPECTATIONS." IT SOUNDED 100X BETTER THAN THE VERSION I HAVE ON THE 1989 "SINGLES COLLECTION."
BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some Worthy Classics And Rarities, April 19 2003
By 
G. J Wiener (Westchester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
The Rolling Stones had so many classic tunes from the early 60's that another Hot Rocks addition was necessary. The Last Time, Not Fade Away, Tell Me, Let It Bleed, Its All Over Now, and She's A Rainbow are the most familiar tunes. Howeer there are many stunning covers of old R & B tunes like Money, Poison Ivy, I Can't Be Satisfied, and I've Been Loving You Too Long. Also there are numerous hidden gems like a remix of the spooky Child of the Moon and the soulful Long Long While.
If you don't feel like collecting the individual early Stones recordings, this one is a worthy purchase. Even if you have some early Stones recordings, the rarities might make it worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Investment, March 22 2003
By 
Amazon.com Customer (Huntsville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
Another excellent ABKCO remastering job with three bonus tracks. You also get hard to find tracks in stereo that aren't on the Singles Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential!, Feb. 27 2003
By 
rockin'@50+ "northbayer" (North Bay Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies (Audio CD)
Don't even question the quality of the remastering as it is stellar considering the masters are 30 yrs old. If you are a casual listener and don't own any Stones I recommend you buy More Hot Rocks or 40 Licks as they are both similar and you are sure to hear songs you recognize from radio.If you want to hear some lesser known songs that were popular on the vinyl then buy this as it is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies
More Hot Rocks: Big Hits & Fazed Cookies by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews