Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (274)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinventing
People blast this album by citing that Beck is trying to mature. This is not a case of maturation but a natural step in the musical genius of what is "Beck". Instead of maturation, this is the same kind of reinvention Beck has done in all is previous and later albums. One of the best parts of a new beck album is that it will be different but as wonderful as his...
Published on Aug. 17 2007 by Cary Brenson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull...overrated...a big disappointment
I started listening to Beck for his humor and genre-mixing. While the idea of Beck getting serious intrigued me, the actual album didn't. Every song on the album feels the same. While others might be excited by the presence of someone who has produced for Radiohead and one of Beck's earlier albums, Mutations, the airy production only further detracts from the album...
Published on Oct. 10 2003 by ARC


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinventing, Aug. 17 2007
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
People blast this album by citing that Beck is trying to mature. This is not a case of maturation but a natural step in the musical genius of what is "Beck". Instead of maturation, this is the same kind of reinvention Beck has done in all is previous and later albums. One of the best parts of a new beck album is that it will be different but as wonderful as his previous works.

And that's what this is: wonderful. I bought this after falling in love with Beck's previous album, "Midnight Vultures" - the opposite of this album. While "Midnight Vultures" was loud and obnoxious (in a good way), "Sea Change" can be described by a title of his first album, 'Mellow Gold'. Sea change is a soft ride that ends up breaking your heart and lifting your spirits before it's through.

I read somewhere that this was inspired by a recent break-up from a long term girlfriend. You probably could have deduced that yourself if you listened to this album. With that said, this album is stunning and not emo goth kid "I hate my life" depressing fodder.

The emotion in this album is beautiful. This is due to the mix of Beck Hanson's monotone and deep voice and ambient backing music. Despite being criticized for that voice in the past, it works perfectly here. The flow and melody of this album is perfect for its type and no song seems misplaced.

I can't see anyone not liking this album. If you can accept that Beck varies his musical style with each record, you are sure to enjoy this album for what it is: unique and great in its own right. Remeber that you probably wouldn't be listening to "Sexx Laws" off 'Midnight Vultures' if a loved one just died. In the same way, your not going to be listening to 'Sea Change' while drinking beers with your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull...overrated...a big disappointment, Oct. 10 2003
By 
ARC (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
I started listening to Beck for his humor and genre-mixing. While the idea of Beck getting serious intrigued me, the actual album didn't. Every song on the album feels the same. While others might be excited by the presence of someone who has produced for Radiohead and one of Beck's earlier albums, Mutations, the airy production only further detracts from the album. Syd Barrett, one of the big influences you'll hear here, had a sound of immediacy--on his solo recordings, it's as if he's right next to you, singing and strumming his guitar. Here, the production covers up Beck and obscures the lyrics.
If you like acoustic psychedelic Syd Barrett-esque music, try Wilco's Yankee Hotel Foxtrot--it's what this album should have been like. If you still want a low-key Beck, try Mutations instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gonna lock myself inside my room and listen to this, July 4 2004
By 
K. Hughes (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
I'm gonna lock myself inside my room and listen to this--for a long, long time. That's all I can say. Its gonna be a long year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, June 23 2004
By 
J. Pytraczyk "jacek" (placek) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
This cd is truly a classic. What a bit of inspired music. And what a change for Beck from his previous 2 or 3 cds. Might take 2 or 3 listens to appreciate it but if you have gone through some serious life experiences you are bound to appreciate this stunning and sublime album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beck's Best, June 16 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
This is by far Beck's best. Hope he continues to mine the same vein for a while at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This album grows on you., June 13 2004
By 
J. Parmelee (Spring Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Thats all I can say.At first listen you probably wont like it but when youre sad and lonely and want to cry or just want to know someone is as bummed as you are this is the album to listen to you even though the last 2 songs actually sound pretty cheery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a breakup epic, June 8 2004
By 
"itscashed" (houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
this is beck at his finest hour. many people have been hesitant to call it a classic but i feel no shame. this is about as sad as it gets. but not in an angst sort of way, but in a "i miss you" sort of way. getting dumped ranks up in feeling like crap modes up there with running over an old lady nun in front of your grandmother. that was to stress how crappy it feels. now if this happens to you, and God forbid it ever does, the best thing to do besides massive alcohol and/or drug consumption is Beck's "Sea Change" because the drugs and alcohol are just about equal to the slow melting country guitar strum to Beck's given up desperate voice. this is the ultimate in late night, head phone, eyes watering, memories racing, half drunken closing your eyes in bed records.
it opens up with a guitar that breaks the listeners heart with the song the golden age. "put your hands on the wheel let the golden age begin" suggesting an ironic title to a sad ending chapter of a new life without your loved one. 'paper tiger' and 'lonesome tears' play with horns that roll across your head via your head phones like waves of sound. 'guess i'm doing fine' is a trying to move on song and lost cause is great too. 'end of the day' is a great song too touching country lines jsut as 'the golden age' did. its all in your mind is awesome. already dead is great and has its great trippy keyboard moments. sunday sun is a blast of sunshine that is unwanted in my opinion because at this point your depressed about your own problems and if your not you feel bad for beck. 'little one' is a short epic that is more of a look back on all the crap you've been through. the last track, side of the road, is a song suggesting giving up and trying to move on. but by the looks at this album and your own feelings after listening to it, you'd rather enjoy the music than move on because listening to beck is hell of a lot better than your buddy's break up advice of video games and porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Album, June 8 2004
By 
Ben D. Johnson "jungle_fvr" (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
This is definately one of my favorite albums.
A 180 in a style change from Beck's norm, and I loved it. Every song envokes so much emotion, it's almost overwhelming. There really isn't much I can say. Favorite track on the album is "Paper Tiger". Check it out, really, you should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad songs to make you happy!!!, May 31 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled by the somber threads weaved through Sea Change. Beck's best release, to me, succeeds in lifting spirits. All things are relative I guess though. I found myself listening to this CD non-stop through the hottest days of summer in 2003. It is the soundtrack to all those still and muggy driftful naps by the pool, watching the ripples of liquid air dance off the surface of the concrete. I have never really been one to pay attention to lyrics, so if Beck had a message, I missed it. I was too captivated by the melodies themselves, brilliantly interweaved with lush strings and washes of sound that sway, tip, and dance through the melody like a painter forming the semblance of a figure on a canvas with just a few thoughtful strokes. You find yourself mesmerized by the experience. Somehow, even now I just can't get sad when I listen to it. It's too interesting! Some may see it as sad, and choose to listen while curled up under the blankets with all the light out. It certainly lends itself to that type of endeavor. I choose to let it make me happy. An album with intelligence and utter creativity that doesn't get old. Listen to it on a really good sound system, or through a good pair of phones, cranked up. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MESMERIZING!, May 13 2004
By 
James Marsh (Austin Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sea Change (Audio CD)
This review is of the 5.1 SACD mix specifically. When I received this disc in the mail, my girlfriend happened to be at my place, so I popped it in my SACD player. Upon hearing the first few chords I noticed my girlfriend was fully absorbed in this music. Her ears perked up and she was mesmerized. I joined her on the couch and we both just sat there and listed to the entire album all the way through. That is the only time in my life that I have sat still in my house and listened to an entire album.
My favorite songs on this album are 5, 3, and 1, although the first six tracks are all winners but for track 2. The rest of the album is less memorable.
If you have an SACD system and are dying to flex its muscle I highly recommend this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Change
Sea Change by Beck (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews