Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Film Performance to Date
I have seen well over a thousand films--including all the most critically acclaimed--but I have yet to see a film performance equalling Kim Stanley's in Seance on a Wet Afternoon. It is truly compelling and to highlight all the other many attributes of the film would detract from what is Stanley's astounding achievement. And just to think that Julie Andrews in Mary...
Published on Nov. 6 2003 by David B. Franklin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless as a DVD presentation
A thump on the head to Home Vision Entertainment: this expensive DVD has NO special features whatsoever - namely subtitle options, or any of the perks that normally come with DVDs.
Published on Oct. 22 2002 by Niel Rishoi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Film Performance to Date, Nov. 6 2003
By 
David B. Franklin "David Franklin historian" (Young Harris, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
I have seen well over a thousand films--including all the most critically acclaimed--but I have yet to see a film performance equalling Kim Stanley's in Seance on a Wet Afternoon. It is truly compelling and to highlight all the other many attributes of the film would detract from what is Stanley's astounding achievement. And just to think that Julie Andrews in Mary Poppins won the Academy Award over Stanley should give everyone pause to assess the real meaning of "Oscar". What more can be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seance on a Wet Afternoon (B&W), July 23 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Myra (Kim Stanley) knows she is distend for greatness and the second rate psychic she seems to be. She enlists (heavily influences) her week-willed husband Billy (Richard Attenborough) into a scheme that seems perfectly innocent; they will barrow a child Amanda (Judith Donner) and then Myra will use her psychic ability to find the child for the parents. Myra gets fame, her husband will get a new car and everyone will be happy.

Every thing will go as planned if you do not take in account that there is something strange going on. And it is snowballing.

The film was shot in black and white which gives it a spooking and depressing feel. There is sixties English background music including "Hear my Prayer" Written by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. Then again there are plenty of places where they do not play any background and the natural sounds or lack of can also be spooky.

Kim Stanley was nominated for two Oscars - one for portraying the medium with a secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTERPIECE OF MOOD......, Sept. 24 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Stunning film of the staged kidnapping of a child by a demented medium and her cuckolded, guilt-ridden husband. Beautifully photographed in b&W, the film has a grey, somber feel to it that illustrates the emptiness of the childless couple's lives. The plan is to kidnap the child then stage a seance to help "find" the child to further enhance the medium's reputation and career. The husband trembles with fright and guilt while the medium is convinced that this is the "answer". She is "guided" by Arthur---her "spirit" guide---that is actually the child they lost at birth as stillborn. ASTOUNDING performances by stage actress Kim Stanley and Richard Attenborough as the couple carry this film brilliantly to it's gripping conclusion. The subject matter is sensitive (especially today) but the film is a powerful masterwork of mood and psychological character study. I strongly recommend this for true cinema explorers. The DVD transfer is nice and crisp and the sound is clear. It's not for everyone---especially sensitive types---but it's still a must see for those who like engrossing and fascinating films that just don't come along that often. Filmed in 1964, it's as fresh and riveting now as it MUST have been back then. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific and Different, but horrible DVD treatment, Dec 2 2002
By 
T. McAuley (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a GREAT movie that could have been made only in Britain. As soon as it was over, I wanted to watch it again. Both Kim Stanley (who's American by the way, from New Mexico) and Richard Attenborough are magnificent. They were really into this movie. The DVD treatment isn't very good, though. There are many times when a couple of blips appear on the video part of the DVD and the sound is HORRIBLE. It's like they made no attempt to clean-up the sound. Watching it through a regular TV, even with stereo TV speakers, I had to turn it way up, and then it would be too loud (i.e., shrill) in parts. What a shame! No matter. At least they put it in wide-screen format. Hurray for that! If you're into good suspense movies, snap this one up (even if it is WAY OVER-priced).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loses a star for the DVD features, Jan. 2 2003
By 
M. J. Howell (Portland, OR, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a 5 star film across the board: terse screenplay, stunning performances, haunting John Barry score, wonderfully understated cinematography, but the transfer was terrible. The audio transfer is the worst. The television had to be turned way up and, as the other reviewer said, then certain parts would be very shrill and make the set vibrate. The little hairs and other things that appear when transferring old film negatives don't bother me as much as poor audio. I really wanted to hear commentary from anyone on this disc, I am also a big fan of subtitles (I don't know why). All that being said, I still have to give it 4 stars. This movie is just that good. I found myself literally on the edge of my seat at times, that's a very rare and wonderful thing.
M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chilling and moody film, Sept. 10 2002
By 
M. Keller "book sellin' girl" (Covington, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Frankly, it's one of the best films I've ever seen.
There's the rare screen performance by Kim Stanley (this alone makes the DVD worth purchasing) along with the chilly, moody & eerie story (in glorious black & white) of two con artists, one who's heart really isn't in his work.
I'm not going to give away the plot but, suffice to say, this film's worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless as a DVD presentation, Oct. 22 2002
By 
Niel Rishoi (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) (DVD)
A thump on the head to Home Vision Entertainment: this expensive DVD has NO special features whatsoever - namely subtitle options, or any of the perks that normally come with DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen)
Sance on a Wet Afternoon (Widescreen) by Bryan Forbes (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 23.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews