Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of cartoon history....
Having viewed and purchased the Silly Symphonies and Mickey Mouse in Living Color DVD's of this same set, I have to say that The Complete Goofy is the best collection of them all to date. Containing almost twice as many cartoons as the Mickey Mouse in Living color disc, this DVD offers up one of the most hilarious and high quality cartoon collections on the market. I had...
Published on Dec 10 2002 by Gwyn Gwyrdd

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A little less than 10 dollars per hour
Now, in Canada this costs about 40 dollars total, it contains about 5 hours of Goofy cartoons. To compare, I bought old WB cartoons on a DVD disc for 10 dollars and received 4 hours worth in a 2-pack. These cartoons are great nostalgia, for anyone who saw them as a child, but it's really not necessary. Couldn't they package it at a better price?
Published on Dec 5 2002 by D.N.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Everybody loves Goofy, Jan. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
I was thrilled that Walt Disney released all of these wonderful Goofy cartoons. The only reason I gave it 4 stars out of 5, is the lack of the 'play all' feature. It keeps reverting back to the menu after every cartoon, which is rather annoying. However, I am very glad I purchased this DVD and would recommend it to any Goofy lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Menu crippled, no "play all" is anoying, Jan. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
Great toon's but you have to play them one by one, it's anoying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goofy Rules, Jan. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
This may not include the first cartoon Goofy was ever in but that's because it was before he got his own world. This is all his starring roles. His "How To's" are some of the most classic and funniest ever and Goofy's Glider is one of my favorite cartoons of all time. In the 50's when he evolved into an everyman we get some hilarious results such as the excellent "No Smoking" and "Motor Mania" but also some faithful old How To renditions including my favorite "How To be A Detective" which can't be showed on TV anymore because of its violence. Even though it is a cartoon....but ah well. This is a great collection. The extras may not be as strong as that of say, Mickey Mouse in Black & white but they are great nonetheless. Complaints? yes. One Major One. No "Play All" feature!! But that's just one flaw in this otherwise perfect DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a cartoon collection should be., Jan. 12 2003
By 
John Chadwick (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
Sure there are 2 or 3 omissions from this "Complete" collection, but this is, otherwise, a perfect assembly of classic theatrical animated shorts. Titles like "Californy or Bust" and "Victory Vehicles" are presented in their entirety, not cut for modern politically correct sensibilities. (Some of this material has been absent from The Disney Channel for years.) Now if only Disney will include "Der Fuhrer's Face" when it comes time to release a similar Donald Duck collection.
Fret not for "How to Ride a Horse". That short was originally presented in THE RELUCTANT DRAGON feature which is included on "Walt Disney Treasures - Behind the Scenes at the Walt Disney Studio". As for the absence of the "Freewayphobia" cartoons, I suggest that Disney consider an educational collection in the future that can include the Freewayphobia(s), the Jiminy Cricket shorts, "Donald in Mathmagic Land", and Ward Kimball's music series among others.
A note to the owners of Warner Bros. and MGM titles. "The Complete Goofy" is just the sort of thing we animation lovers are looking for in a collection. Please keep this in mind whenever you get around (please) to releasing DVDs of Bugs Bunny, the Roadrunner, Daffy Duck and a decent Tom & Jerry collection.
One more added note: I've noticed that many of the other reviews of this title have complained about the lack of a "play all" feature. I have found that if I use my DVD player's "shuffle" ability I can watch all of the cartoons on a disc without repeatedly pressing buttons. Sure, this throws Maltin's introduction and the featurettes into the mix, but I find that a small price to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want Freeway Phobia, parts one and two!!!..., Jan. 3 2003
By 
Schuyler V. Johnson (Lake Worth, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
I'm giving this collection 5 stars because it really is a glorious DVD and has some of my all-time Goofy favorites. I agree that the play all feature is greatly missed here, and yes, it is annoying to have to select each cartoon, however, you still get a wealth of Goofy treasures, especially Motor Mania and the How To series. I do want to have Freewayphobia parts one and two at some point in the future, and hopefully the Disney people will release some of their educational gems, (including the aforementioned Freewayphobia) now only produced for schools but available on VHS at a very high price. Freewayphobia is available, as are Windwagon Smith, Ludwig Von Drake shows, The Truth about Mother Goose, etc. etc., but again, unless you have very deep pockets, it is not economically possible to purchase all the titles you would want; Freewayphobia alone (both parts) is [less expensive] So for now, we have a terrific value in this compilation, and hopefully, the Disney Studios will produce some of these other titles on DVD at a more reasonable price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Treasures at Its Best, Jan. 2 2003
By 
John Hatch (Salt Lake City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
The Walt Disney Treasures DVD series has seen seven releases thus far, and this one easily tops them all. Considering the age of most of these Goofy shorts, the video and audio is as good as anyone can expect.
I know other reviewers have complained about the lack of "Freeway Phobia" 1 & 2. Disney considers these cartoons "standalone" pieces and not part of the Goofy collection. A technicality to be sure, but Disney isn't trying to be dishonest by not including them on this set. However, they will be included on a future release.
But the real prize here is the way Disney has chosen to present these shorts. The "Complete Goofy" really is complete! As much as I've enjoyed "Mickey Mouse in Black and White" and "Mickey Mouse in Living Color", I'd have preferred Disney to release these in chronological order, starting with the black and white cartoons and moving right on down, perhaps having a three or four volume set.
This Goofy set avoids this problem of having a themed set like Mickey. Instead of just getting "Goofy Instructional Videos" or something like that, you get it all. Not only are all the shorts available, you can list them either alphabetically or chronologically. There's even some nice extras discussing the creation of Goofy and the performer who voiced him.
Disney is also to be highly commended for not giving in to political correctness. These shorts are complete and uncensored. With Disney being considered a social representative of family entertainment, I'm extremely pleased they resisted any temptation to "clean" up the shorts or alter them as to be less "politically incorrect" for the modern viewer.
The only minor complaint I have is the lack of a "play all" feature. This feature was available on the first Mickey Mouse release. However, the only people who will be really outraged by this are soccer moms who want to plop their kids in front of the TV for 4 hours to watch the Goof. It's not that hard to just select a new short each time another is over, so again, a minor complaint.
This set is a real treat. If Disney continues the high quality of the "Treasures" series, I'll continue to buy each one that's released.
Rumored for next Christmas are: The Complete Donald Volume One (eventually comprising three volumes), and Disney at War, showcasing Disney's war ... pieces during the 1940s. If these titles are accurate - wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The "Complete" Goofy only in a limited sense, Jan. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
My five year old loves this collection, and I do too, but with some reservations. Goofy was a better co-star than star, and you get more pleasure from his turns in classic Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck cartoons than from those in which he starred on his own, the only ones collected here. Also, it is utterly infuriating that this DVD does not let you "play all" the cartoons with a single click. Each successive cartoon you watch must be separately selected and clicked on one of two menus (alphabetical or chronological). That's OK if you're only watching one or two cartoons, but is most annoying when you would like to simply kick back and watch the disk. The same mistake was made on "Mickey Mouse in Black and White," another of the "Treasures" released simultaneously with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How Can You Call This Complete?, Dec 31 2002
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
I cannot believe I bought this for one cartoon, and it's not there. I really thought that something called "The Complete Goofy" would contain Goofy's 2 Freeway cartoons, where he learns to be a safe driver. Don't get me wrong, this is a great collection, and I'm enjoying it, but I feel soooo disappointed. Why does the collection need to end in 1961, why not 1965 with Freewayphobia No. 1 and Goofy's Freeway Trouble? According to one site, these were the last two Goofy shorts until 1983, and the ONLY ones not included on the collection.
Also, I agree with the reviewer who said there needs to be a Play All option. My son loves Goofy and it's frustrating to him to have to keep going back to the menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lack of "Play All" feature is Goofy, Dec 31 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
Disney released this DVD set minus the PLAY ALL feature. This makes watching this DVD annoying. If I had known Disney was going to remove the PLAY ALL feature, then I would NOT have bought this DVD. I recommend you avoid this DVD until Disney adds the PLAY ALL feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful set -- until Disney insults your intelligence, Dec 30 2002
By 
Blake Petit "Novelist, columnist & reviewer" (Ama, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import] (DVD)
As far as Disney's animated shorts go, the Goofy cartoons are probably the funniest the studio ever did, and this mostly wonderful two-disc set collects them all -- every "How To" cartoon, every sports cartoon, every cartoon from the "George G. Geef" era -- they're all here. Some are better than others, of course. The earlier "Geef" cartoons, before Pinto Clovig returned as Goofy's voice, don't feel like the character at all.
There are also three great featurettes on this set, one about Clovig himself, one about the evolution of Goofy and an interview with Bill Farmer, the current voice of the Goof. Hearing Goofy's voice coming out of this jolly, rust-haired man is jarring and wonderful at the same time.
One complaint -- boy, has Disney gotten PC. On four of these cartoons, they found it necessary to do a disclaimer by Leonard Maltin because the cartoons contain some potentially "sensitive" material -- a World War II era cartoon has the audacity to use the term "Jap," a western send-up has stereotypical "injuns," a short about a teacher sparks fears of school violence and a bullfighting classic portrays Mexicans in an "unflattering light." All four disclaimers have essentially the same message -- "People weren't as smart then as they are now! Please don't hate us."
Please.
I'm all in favor of intros, putting cartoons in context, historical data, etc., but the way these four cartoons were singled out really insulted my intelligence. It's GOOFY, for Heaven's sake, was anybody planning to take the cartoons seriously? In my review of a previous "Treasures" DVD, "Mickey Mouse in Living Color," I said that Warner Bros should use these discs as a model for how to do Looney Tunes DVDs. If they followed the model of "The Complete Goofy," we'd have a disclaimer in front of every Speedy Gonzales short.
It's still a really good collection, but for maximum enjoyment, when you see Leonard Maltin's face pop up before these four shorts, hit the "next" button on your remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb01cae4c)

This product

Walt Disney Treasures: The Complete Goofy - His Greatest Misadventures [Import]
CDN$ 180.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews