Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "Southern State of Mind"
One cannot help but instantly fall in love with the soundtrack to "Sweet Home Alabama". Where else can you find country, bluegrass, alt-country, rock, and dance? The songs on the cd cover a broad range of musical tastes and include some of the hottest singers of today and a few of the legends from the past.
Jewel kicks off the cd with a suprisingly awesome version of...
Published on Oct. 12 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than average soundtrack
For a Reese Witherspoon titled "Sweet Home Alabama," this eclectic collection of new and recent tunes by many of today's most talented coutnry and rock musicians delivers what one would expect. For starters, there are the inevitable covers, the most obvious of them being Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Sweet Home Alabama," which Jewel takes on with disappointing...
Published on Sept. 26 2002 by Andrew Hampp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "Southern State of Mind", Oct. 12 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Savannah, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
One cannot help but instantly fall in love with the soundtrack to "Sweet Home Alabama". Where else can you find country, bluegrass, alt-country, rock, and dance? The songs on the cd cover a broad range of musical tastes and include some of the hottest singers of today and a few of the legends from the past.
Jewel kicks off the cd with a suprisingly awesome version of the legendary Lynyrd Skynyrd megahit "Sweet Home Alabama". This song has been redone in the past, but I have to say that this version is the best I've heard yet. Where most would trash the quality, Jewel adds her own special touch and the result is rockin!
Country group SHeDaisy have one of the strongest performances of the album with "Mine All Mine". Written by Kristyn Osborn, one third of the sister act, "Mine All Mine" reflects the struggle of the movie's character, who is torn between the man of her future and the man of her past. The harmony's of the Osborn sisters quite takes your breath away. Simply stunning.
The biggest surprise of the album, in my opinion, is Avril Lavigne's "Falling Down". What you expect is the punk rock riffs that have made her popular. What you get is a mature, well written, beautifully delivered song about "falling back down to Earth". It's definantely one of the highlights of the soundtrack.
One of the most enjoyable performances on the album comes from veteran rocker Sheryl Crow, who lends her voice to the legendary Hank Williams' "Long Gone Lonesome Blues". Gone is the rock queen we've all grown accustomed to hearing and in comes the laid-back, guitar-picking country diva from within. It's amazing to listen to Sheryl sing this song and you're almost transported back to the golden days of country and the Grand Ole Opry. It has all of the makings of a big radio hit if the powers that be are smart enough to release it.
A few of my favorite tracks include: Ryan Adams' and Uncle Kracker's southern-rock flavored "Gonna Make You Love Me" and "To Think I Used To Love You (DJ Homicide Remix), the sweet-voiced country/bluegrass legend Dolly Parton's "Marry Me", Jason Chain's "You Got Me", and Shannon Mcnally's "Now That I Know".
The only song that I really had a problem with was The Calling's remake of "Keep Your Hands to Yourself". Yes, their version still rocks and keeps to the original lines of The Georgia Satellites , but it almost sounds like they're trying too hard. Now don't get me wrong, it's not a bad song. I just wish that The Calling would've added their own little touch to it instead of trying to immitate the original.
If you're looking for an eclectic mix of great music, then the "Sweet Home Alabama" soundtrack is just for you. This is one soundtrack that should be played with the speakers cranked up! One of the best soundtracks I've ever heard.
Gennie Bailey-Rogers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than average soundtrack, Sept. 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
For a Reese Witherspoon titled "Sweet Home Alabama," this eclectic collection of new and recent tunes by many of today's most talented coutnry and rock musicians delivers what one would expect. For starters, there are the inevitable covers, the most obvious of them being Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Sweet Home Alabama," which Jewel takes on with disappointing results. The peppy arrangement fits the song well, but her whispered delivery is less than appropriate for such a classic song such as this. More suited for a song like this is Sheryl Crow, who appears later on on the CD with a previously released cover of Hank Williams' "Long Gone Lonesome Blues." Her wavery delivery on the country tune suggests that perhaps the producers should have switched Jewel's and Sheryl's covering duties. While the Jewel and Crow cuts are disappointing, there are several gems to be found here, among them SheDaisy's single "Mine All Mine," Avril Lavigne's new "Falling Down," and Shannon McNally's "Now That I Know." I can't completely recommend it, but perhaps if you see the movie and the music works, this CD won't be a total waste of your 17 bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you that warm, tingly feeling!, March 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
Though not your traditional source of music, I like soundtracks because they have the added value of offering the diversity often not found from a single artist. Sweet Home Alabama is definitely one of the better soundtracks out there and if you haven´¿t seen the movie, you need to! Reese Whiterspoon is absolutely darling and her ´¿small town´¿ husband is a ´¿big time´¿ hunk! The soundtrack has tunes that are refreshing and invigorating. There are also a couple tracks that are fastly becoming wedding favorites. Overall, the CD offers a mix of good old fashioned song writing, some kick off your shoes and relax beats and rhythms that leave you warm and tingly inside. I´¿m a sucker for romance flicks and after watching this oh so inspiring film, I had to get the soundtrack to cherish the memories. If not for you, for your friend who´¿s still waiting for her prince charming´¿.lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not really the music that rang in my head...., Oct. 1 2002
By 
Christi Commander (Shreveport, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
Sweet Home Alabama is one of those rare movies that has a feeling that stays with you after you've left the theatre. I think the music in the film has a good bit to do with it. The last movie I bought a soundtrack for was Practical Magic. The CD captured the magic of the movie. It was the music from the movie.
I ran out and bought the CD without really playing attention to the tracks, I knew I wanted the music from the movie. I was very disappointed when I got home and realized I only actually remembered two of these songs from the movie. Most disappointing was the fact that the two versions of 'Sweet Home Alabama' from the movie did not make the CD. No problem to find the Lynard Skynard version...but the soulful, slowed down version by the band at the Honky Tonk? Not there. The version that made the CD doesn't compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good Cd..., Oct. 5 2002
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
The main reason I bought this Cd is because I am a huge Jewel fan and I wanted to hear her version of "Sweet Home Alabama". I give that song itself probably a 3 out of 5 too. She has much better work out there. I agree with the reviewer that said Sheryl Crow and Jewel should have switched covers. Anyway, the rest of the Cd is filled with some good and mostly mediocre songs. Other good ones to check out are Avril Lavigne's "Falling Down", The Callings cover, Shannon Mcally's song, and Dolly's song is decent. Overall, it's a pretty good Cd but they could have dropped a few in favor of higher quality tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, Dec 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
Alright, I liked the movie, I loved the southern charm and eveything but what made the movie really good is the good old REDNECK songs on it.I expected a really good album from a really good movie. I found few traces of that on this Cd. Sweet Home Alabama is NOT ment to be sung By Jewel! She has a nice voice and all but Lynard Skynard was ment to sing that song!
All the good songs like A Few More Rednecks,and others were not included. I think over all the Cd didn't capture the good stuff in the movie. So if you wanted a Cd that matches the movie, and has all the good songs on it, I don't recomend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars so-so, Feb. 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
One would think that a movie about the South would at least have southern bands singing the songs. No one, not even Jewel, can top the orignial Sweet Home by Lynyrd Skynyrd, so why they didn't include the original is a mystery. Also, they left out the Charlie Daniels Band "A Few More Rednecks", which was in the movie.
The good side is that Uncle Kracker's song is hella cool, and that The Calling does a faithful cover of "Keep Your Hands To Yourself" Ya should prolly just download the good songs off the internet instead of spendin'cash on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Electic Mix, Oct. 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
Loved this CD. Bought it after I saw the movie. The movie wasn't great, but it was sweet and you left feeling good, what more could you want. The music was even better. Especially loved "Bring on the Day" by Charlotte Martin, "You Got Me", but Jason Chain, and really loved Shannon McNally's "Now that I know". They should be playing these on the radio. Great mixture of different styles of music so it wasn't boring. And, I actually liked Jewel's version of Sweet Home Alabama after I listened to it a few more times. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Home CD, Sept. 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
The soundtrack for Sweet Home Alabama is fabulously good. The 'Sweet Home Alabama' song remake by Jewel is awesome because how can you not like the Sweet Home Alabama song by anyone? The other songs on the CD are just as good to listen to, so the music is great and one to always listen to. Many of the songs are actually in the movie unlike other soundracks who just randomly put songs on the soundtrack that aren't even in the movie. The money that I spent on this CD was not wasted, I suggest you go pick one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sweet jesus alabama, Jan. 11 2003
This review is from: Sweet Home Alabama (Audio CD)
the film, cute, the story, predictable, the soundtrack, interesting. some of the songs were a real treat (the calling, Jason chain) and i love jewel as much as the next alt rock fan but a lynyrd skynyrd cover?...Please! just kinda gave me the feel they should have put the dynamite under them when they sat in the studio and decided to try it. Also, a little disappointed by the avril levigne song, but hey she's young, she'll learn. generally though, you liked the movie you will like the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Home Alabama
Sweet Home Alabama by George Fenton (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews